Hampshire, England Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Hampshire Wiki Topics
Image:Hampshire county flag.png|border|250x150px|Hampshire flag.png
Beginning Research
  • Guided Research
  • Hampshire Research Tips and Strategies
  • Hampshire Record Finder
Record Types
Background
Cultural Groups

Guide to Hampshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Hampshire England

County Information[edit | edit source]

Hampshire, also known as Southamptonshire, is principally a maritime and agricultural county located on the south coast of England. The Isle of Wight was originally part of Hampshire but is now a county in it's own right. In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Hampshire like this:

"Hampshire, Hants, or Southampton, maritime co. (including the Isle of Wight), in S. of England; bounded N. by Berks, E. by Surrey and Sussex, S. by the English Channel, and W. by Wilts and Dorset; greatest length (exclusive of the Isle of Wight), N. to S., 46 miles; greatest breadth, E. to W., 46 miles; 1,037,764 ac., pop. 593,470. (The figures of ac. and pop. include the Isle of Wight.) Hampshire is undulating, finely wooded, and fruitful. Its coast line is very irregular. . . ."

Parishes[edit | edit source]

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Hampshire parishes:
A B C D E F G H I K L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Hampshire.

Civil Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

List of hampshire Civil Registration Districts

Websites[edit | edit source]