Hamilton County, Iowa Genealogy
Guide to Hamilton County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Hamilton County was named for William W. Hamilton and is located in central Iowa.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Hamilton County Courthouse
2300 Superior Street
Webster City, IA 50595
Phone: 515-832-9600
Hamilton County Website
Hamilton County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1880 | 1880 | 1880 | 1880 | 1854 | 1880 | 1847 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Hamilton County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- A Biographical Record of Hamilton County, Iowa. 1902. Chicago, IL: S.J. Clarke Publishing Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Ancestry.com — index & images ($)
- Biographical Record and Portrait Album of Hamilton and Wright Counties, Iowa. 1889. Chicago, IL: Lewis Biographical Publishing. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Hathitrust — index & images.
- Biographical Record and Portrait Album of Webster and Hamilton Counties, Iowa. 1888. Chicago, IL: Lewis Publishing Company. Online at: Hathitrust — index & images; Ancestry — index & images.
- History of Hamilton County, Iowa. 1912. Jesse W. Lee. Chicago, IL: S.J. Publishing Company. Vol I Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive; Hathitrust — index & images; Vol II Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive; Hathitrust — index & images.
- Reminiscences of Newcastle, Iowa, 1848; a History of the Founding of Webster City, Iowa. 1921. Sarah Brewer Bonebright. Des Moines, IA: Historical Department of Iowa. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive; Hathitrust — index & images.
- Hamilton County, Iowa Biographies Project at RootsWeb — links to biographies and local histories
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 1,699 | — |
| 1870 | 6,055 | 256.4% |
| 1880 | 11,252 | 85.8% |
| 1890 | 15,319 | 36.1% |
| 1900 | 19,514 | 27.4% |
| 1910 | 19,242 | −1.4% |
| 1920 | 19,531 | 1.5% |
| 1930 | 20,978 | 7.4% |
| 1940 | 19,922 | −5.0% |
| 1950 | 19,660 | −1.3% |
| 1960 | 20,032 | 1.9% |
| 1970 | 18,383 | −8.2% |
| 1980 | 17,862 | −2.8% |
| 1990 | 16,071 | −10.0% |
| 2000 | 16,438 | 2.3% |
| 2010 | 15,673 | −4.7% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1885 Iowa State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1895 Iowa State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1905 Iowa State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images (individual cards, not family context)
- 1915 Iowa State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1925 Iowa State Census, 1925 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
Lutheran
- 1781-1969 U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Church Records, 1781-1969 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1886 Directory of Webster City and Hamilton County(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Boman Funeral Home in Webster City
- Foster Funeral Home in Webster City
- Schroeder-Stark-Welin Funeral Home in Stratford
- Soderstrum - Reimers Funeral Home in Jewell
- Surls Funeral Home and Sietsema Funeral Home in Williams
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.
Online Land and Property Records
- 1854-1871 Abstract of original entries, 1854-1871 ; Descriptive book of lands, book A, 1865-1868 ; Record of homesteads, book 1, 1857-1971 at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- 1855-1945 Deed records, 1855-1945 at FamilySearch Catalog - images and indexes
- 1856-1936 Miscellaneous records, 1856-1936 at FamilySearch Catalog - images and indexes
- 1857-1932 Town lot deed record, 1857-1932 at FamilySearch Catalog - images and indexes
- 1857-1984 Land transfer records at FamilySearch Catalog - images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Hamilton County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.
- 1673-1976 History of Randall, Iowa and adjoining area, 1673-1976. 1976. Mrs Albert Holt. n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
- A Biographical Record of Hamilton County, Iowa. 1902. Chicago, IL: S.J. Clarke Publishing Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Ancestry.com ($)
- Biographical Record and Portrait Album of Hamilton and Wright Counties, Iowa. 1889. Chicago, IL: Lewis Publishing, Chicago. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry.com ($)
- History of Hamilton County, Iowa. 1912. Jesse W. Lee. Chicago, IL: S.J. Publishing Company. Vol I Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive; Hathitrust — index & images; Vol II Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive; Hathitrust — index & images.
- Iowa Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.
for more resources
- 1851-1897 Old Hamilton County History and Maps, 1851-1897(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- 1860-1918 U.S., Indexed County Land Ownership Maps, 1860-1918, Hamilton County at Ancestry ($) - index.
- 1875-2007 Hamilton County 1875-2007 at Historic Map Works - may include names of land-owners.
- 1885-1950 Fire Insurance Maps for Hamilton County, Iowa at Library of Congress - various years between 1885 and 1950.
- Hamilton County Maps at FamilySearch Catalog.
- IAGenWeb - Hamilton County.
- Iowa Digital Library, Hamilton County at Iowa University Libraries.
- Standard Atlas of Hamilton County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collections, Hamilton County at State Library of Iowa.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places.
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- 1835-1998 Iowa, Armed Forces Grave Registrations, ca. 1835-1998 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index only
- 1862-1910 Iowa, Records of Persons Subject to Military Duty, 1862-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1949 Iowa, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1949 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War service men in Hamilton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:
- - 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company F
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1859-1990 United States, Iowa Naturalization Records, 1859-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1871-1930 Naturalization Records, 1871-1930 ; Index to Naturalization Records, ca. 1868-1928(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — 1 index, images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1957 Daily Freeman Journal. Webster City, IA, USA. Online at Ancestry ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1758-1997 Iowa, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1758-1997 at Ancestry — index & images ($)
- 1865-1985 Probate Records, 1865-1934; Probate Index, 1884-1985(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- 1934-1958 Iowa, Old Age Tax Assistance Records, 1934-1958 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1939 Iowa, Delayed Birth Records, 1850-1939 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1935 Iowa, County Births, 1880-1935 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1921-1942 Iowa, Birth Records, 1921-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1518-1996 Iowa, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index ($)
- 1809-1992 Iowa, Marriages, 1809-1992 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- 1836-1926 Iowa, Marriages, 1836 - 1926 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- 1838-1934 Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1951 Iowa, U.S., Marriage Records, 1880-1951 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1990 Iowa Deaths and Burials, 1850-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and some images; Also at: MyHeritage($)
- 1880-1992 Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1900-1939 Iowa Death Index, 1900-1939 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- 1904-1951 Iowa, Death Records, 1904-1951 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1920-1967 Iowa, U.S., Death Records, 1920-1967 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Hamilton County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Ames Public Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Hamilton County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Ellsworth Public Library
1549 Dewitt
PO Box 338
Ellsworth, IA 50075-0338
515-836-4852
E-mail: director@ellsworth.lib.ia.us
Website
Kendall Young Library
1201 Willson Avenue
Webster City, IA 50595
515-832-9100
E-mail: info@kylib.org
Website
Facebook
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Hamilton County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.
Hamilton Heritage Hunters Genealogical Society
2209 350th Street
Stanhope, IA 50246-7518
E-mail: patiowagenie@gmail.com
Website
Jewell Historical Society
PO Box 2
Jewell, IA 50130-0002
Director: Dick Steffen 515-310-0413
E-mail: bm.johnson@globalccs.net
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Hamilton County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
- Hamilton County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
- Hamilton County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
- Hamilton County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
- State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
- State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 6/15/2021.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Hamilton, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hamilton_County,_Iowa."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Hamilton County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hamilton_County,_Iowa, accessed 8 September 2019.
