Halifax County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Halifax County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Halifax
Organized: 10 May 1752[1]
Parent County(s): Lunenburg[2]
Neighboring Counties
Campbell  • Caswell NC  • Charlotte  • Granville (NC)  • Mecklenburg  • Person (NC)  • Pittsylvania
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaHalifaxCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Halifax County Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Halifax County is located in the south-central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and shares a border with North Carolina. The county was named for the second Earl of Halifax, George Montagu Dunk, a friend of Virginia’s colonial governor Robert Dinwiddie.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Halifax County Courthouse
8 Couth Main Street #200
P.O. Box 458
Halifax, VA 24558
Phone: 434-476-3385
Halifax County Website

Halifax County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1753 1853 1752 1761 1762 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1810, 1890

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • Parent County: Created from Lunenburg County, 10 May 1752[5].
  • County seat: Halifax [6]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

George Montagu-Dunk, 2nd Earl of Halifax (1716-1771)


Halifax County, Virginia is named after George Montagu-Dunk, the second Earl of Halifax (1716-1771). (The same can be said for Halifax (NC).) He was a British statesman and was president of the Board of Trade from 1748 to 1761. He was also a friend of Robert Dinwiddie, who was governor of the colony of Virginia.

The first county seat was Peytonsburg (now in Pittsylvania County). The current county seat of Halifax County is Halifax, which has served as such since 1800. The county was established in May, 1752 from Lunenburg County. Halifax County originally extended as far west as the Blue Ridge Mountains.

The counties of Henry, Patrick, and Pittsylvania Counties were formed out of Halifax County, as well as the southern half of Franklin County. In addition, parts of Bedford and Floyd Counties were formed from Halifax.

Pittsylvania County was formed in 1766 or 1767 (sources differ) as a subdivision of Halifax. The other counties mentioned were then formed out of Pittsylvania. At the time that Pittsylvania County broke away from Halifax County, the latter county took on its present outline.

The boundaries of Antrim Parish were identical to those of Halifax County when the county was formed in 1752. After Pittsylvania County was formed, the boundaries of Antrim Parish were adjusted to match those of the present form of Halifax County.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Halifax County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Additional Cemetery Resources

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 14,722
1800 19,377 31.6%
1810 22,133 14.2%
1820 19,060 −13.9%
1830 28,034 47.1%
1840 25,936 −7.5%
1850 25,962 0.1%
1860 26,520 2.1%
1870 27,828 4.9%
1880 33,588 20.7%
1890 34,424 2.5%
1900 37,197 8.1%
1910 40,044 7.7%
1920 41,374 3.3%
1930 41,283 −0.2%
1940 41,271 −0.0%
1950 41,442 0.4%
1960 33,637 −18.8%
1970 30,076 −10.6%
1980 30,599 1.7%
1990 29,033 −5.1%
2000 37,355 28.7%
2010 36,241 −3.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782 Enumeration

1785 Enumeration

1790

  • Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation

1800

  • Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation

1810

  • Halifax is one of 18 VA counties for which the 1810 census was lost when the British occupied Washington and burned census reports. Tax lists are available; see Taxation.

1820

  • 1820 Census (Ancestry.com)
  • 1820 Census Index (S-K Publications)
  • Exists, but is defective. See "Halifax County, Virginia, 1820 Census: A Comment," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1959):26. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [Explains that in 1820, census takers skipped entire Halifax County communities.]
  • Williams, Mike K. 1820 Halifax County, Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, TN: Mountain Press, 1989. WorldCat

1850

  • 1850 census (scroll to "Census" section) (US GenWeb Archives)
  • Chiarito, Marian Dodson. 1850 Census of Halifax County, Virginia. Nathalie, VA: Clarkton Press, 1982. WorldCat

1860

  • 1860 census (selected; scroll to "Census" section) (US GenWeb Archives)

1870

  • 1870 census (images; scroll to "Census" section) (US GenWeb Archives)

1900

  • 1900 census (partial; scroll to "Census" section) (US GenWeb Archives)

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Arbor (1785)[8]
  2. Buffaloe (1776)[8]
  3. Catawba (1773)[8]
  4. Childrey (1783)[8]
  5. County Line aka Sandy Creek. Some records and membership lists for the 1780s were published in Piedmont Lineages, Vol. 16, No. 2 (May 1994) and in Vol. 20, No. 2 (May 1998). FHL Book 975 D25b.
  6. Dan River (1802)[8]
  7. Hunting Creek (1775)[8]
  8. Liberty (1802)[8]
  9. Mayo (1774)[8]
  10. Millstone (1787)[8]
  11. Miry Creek (1803)[8]
  12. Musterfield (1779)[8]
  13. Polecat (1790)[8]
  14. Twelve Corner (1803)[8]
  15. Wynn's Creek (1773)[8]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Halifax County fell within the bounds of the Roanoke Association.

Church of England

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Banister Monthly Meeting (1758-1811) aka Halifax aka Kirby's[9]
  • Brown, Jane Douglas Summers and Jones Memorial Library. Jane Douglas Summers Brown (1903-) Quaker Records: Jones Memorial Library (Lynchburg, Virginia); MS 1515. MSS, Jones Memorial Library, Lynchburg, Va. Available on 26 microfilms at FHL. [Includes records of Halifax County Quakers; Brown assisted "William Wade Hinshaw in the writing of the Virginia volume of the Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy."]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

  • Chiarito, Marian Dodson. Plea Book 1, Halifax County, Virginia, 1752-1755. Nathalie, VA: Clarkton Press, 1988. WorldCat
  • Court Records (scroll to "Court" section) (US GenWeb Archives)
  • Halifax County, Virginia Court Orders. Miami Beach: T.L.C. Genealogy, 1992, 2000. WorldCat
  • Halifax County, Virginia Court Orders, 1759-1762 (Plea Book No. 3). Miami Beach: T.L.C. Genealogy, 1998. WorldCat
  • Halifax County, Virginia Court Orders, 1763-1764 (Plea Book No. 4). Miami Beach: T.L.C. Genealogy, 1998. WorldCat
  • Halifax County, Virginia Court Orders, 1767-1770 (Plea Book No. 6). Miami Beach: T.L.C. Genealogy, 2000. WorldCat
  • Library of Virginia's Chancery Record Index can be used to search digital images of Halifax County chancery records for the years 1753-1913.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American
In 1860, Halifax County had the largest enslaved population in the state (14,897 slaves). Ten years late in 1870, it had one of the largest African American populations in Virginia (16,266).[10]

Native Americans

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

General

  • Dodson, Roger C. Property Lines from an Old Survey Book: Halifax County, Virginia, 1741 to 1901. Danville, VA: VA-NC Piedmont Genealogical Society, 1998. At other libraries

Grants and Patents
Online Land Indexes and Records
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Deeds

  • Chiarito, Marian Dodson. Deed Book 7, 1767-1770, Halifax County, Virginia. Athens, GA: New Papyrus, 2005?. WorldCat
  • Chiarito, Marian Dodson. Halifax County, Virginia Deed Book 1, 1752-1759. Nathalie, VA: Clarkton Press, 1985. WorldCat
  • Chiarito, Marian Dodson. Halifax County, Virginia Deed Book 7, 1767-1770. Nathalie, VA: Clarkton Press, 1990. WorldCat
  • Chiarito, Marian Dodson. Halifax County, Virginia Deed Books. Nathalie, VA: Clarkton Press, 1985, 1986. WorldCat
  • Deeds (scroll to "Deeds" section) (US GenWeb Archives)
  • Halifax County, Virginia Deed Book 9, 1773-1775. Miami Beach: T.L.C. Genealogy, 1990. WorldCat
  • Halifax County, Virginia Deed Book 10, 1775-1778. Miami Beach: T.L.C. Genealogy, 1991. WorldCat
  • Halifax County, Virginia Deed Book 15, 1790-1793. Miami Beach: T.L.C. Genealogy, 1996. WorldCat
  • Halifax County, Virginia Deed Book 16 (1793-1796). Miami Beach: T.L.C. Genealogy, 1997. WorldCat
  • Halifax County, Virginia Deeds. Miami Beach: T.L.C. Genealogy, 1989, 1997. WorldCat
  • Hamlin, Charles Hughes, comp., Virginia Ancestors and Adventurers, 3 vols. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Company, 1973. Reprinted in one vol., Baltimore: Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Company, 2003. This title includes a number of Halifax County, Virginia land records. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry ($).

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Aaron, Larry G.. The Race to the Dan: The Retreat that Rescued the American Revolution. Halifax County, Virginia: Halifax County Historical Society, and Lynchburg, Virginia: Warwick House Publishing, 2007. At the Library of Virginia.
  • Altman, Forrest. Adventures in the Dan River Basin (pdf)
  • Carrington, Wirt Johnson. A History of Halifax County [Virginia]. Richmond, Virginia: Appeals Press, 1924; Baltimore: Regional Publishing Co., 1969. FHL| 1959 reprint at FHL | WorldCat. Digital editions: Ancestry ($) | World Vital Records ($). Index at EveryNameIndex.com - free.
  • Edmunds, Pocahontas White. History of Halifax. 2 vols. Halifax, Virginia: P.W. Edmunds, 1978. Reviewed by Susan L. Bracey in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 87, No. 3 (Jul., 1979):365-367. Review available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Estabrooks, Henry L. Adrift in Dixie or, a Yankee Officer Among the Rebels. South Boston, Virginia: South Boston-Halifax County Museum of Fine Arts and History, 2007. At the Library of Virginia.
  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Halifax County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 4, 1968.
  • Halifax County Chamber of Commerce. The Halifax County Story. Lynchburg, VA: Progress Publishing, 1974. WorldCat
  • Halifax County, Virginia Heritage 1752-2007, Waynesville, NC: County Heritage, Inc., 2007. WorldCat | Library of Virginia.
  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of North Carolina, Virginia, and South Carolina from the Colonial Period to About 1820, 5th ed., 2 vols. Despite the title, this work discusses Native American families of Halifax County as well as African-American families. An updated edition of this publication is available for free at FreeAfricanAmericans.com.
  • The History of Halifax County
  • History of Halifax County, Virginia (YouTube video)
  • The History of Halifax County, Virginia 1750-1940
  • A History of the Halifax County Assembly, 1975. WorldCat
  • History of the Indians of Halifax County, Virginia
  • Young, Henry Preston. Country Folks: The Way We Were Back Then in Halifax County, Virginia: A Collection of Stories. Lawrenceville, VA: Brunswick, 1999. WorldCat
  • Virginia Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Danville (Independent City)Pittsylvania CountyCampbell CountyCharlotte CountyMecklenburg CountyGranville CountyPerson CountyCaswell CountyVA HALIFAX.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Bell, Mary McCampbell. "Some Migrations from Virginia to South Carolina," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 9, No. 3 (Summer 1981): 143-144; Vol. 9, No. 4 (Fall 1981): 183-190; Vol. 10, No. 1 (Winter 1982): 37-42; Vol. 10, No. 2 (Spring 1982): 70-77. Includes records of Halifax County residents who migrated to South Carolina. Links to digital versions on South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research.
  • Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also at FHL. (Includes individuals who migrated out of Halifax County to other parts of the country)

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. Identifies some Halifax County militia officers and veterans; see place name index.
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Internet Archive. Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Halifax County, see pp. 83-85, 108-110.
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.


Revolutionary War

  • Abercrombie, Janice L. and Richard Slatten. Virginia Publick Claims: Halifax County. Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company.
  • Carrington, Wirt Johnson. "Revolutionary Soldiers, Halifax County Records, Court of Pleas, 1774-1777," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan., 1927):60. Available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($). Recommendations for military officers.
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital versions at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). 1967 reprint: FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Eastern District, Halifax County on page 131.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War. By J.T. McAllister. 1913. Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Internet Archive

Regiments. Service men in Halifax County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Halifax County supplied soldiers for the:

- 7th Virginia Regiment
- 14th Virginia Regiment


War of 1812
Halifax County men served in the 69th and 84th Regiments.[11]

  • Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Mountain Press provides online surname index. FHL Book 975.5 M2djL. Includes Halifax County.
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Book 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). See Vol. 5, Virginia, Halifax County, pp. 82-83. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.


Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Halifax County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 1st Regiment, Virginia Artillery (Confederate). Company C (3rd) (Halifax Light Artillery)
- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company C (Black Walnut Dragoons or Light Dragoons), Company H (Catawba Troop).[12]
- 6th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G (Flournoy Troop).[13]
- 14th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Mount Vernon Guard), Company H (Meadville Greys), and Company K (Dan River Rifles).[14]
- 20th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Clover Rifles) and Company K (South of Dan Rebels).[15]
- 23rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Brooklyn Grays).[16]
- 34th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (Halifax Heavy Artillery).[17]
- 38th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Pittsylvania Regiment) (Confederate). Company F (Davis Rifle Guards).[18]
- 53rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies A (Halifax Light Infantry) and C (Edmunds Guards).[19]

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Halifax County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

  • Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.
  • South Boston News & Record

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records

  • Chiarito, Marian Dodson. Lists of Voters for Elections of Burgesses, 1764-1769, Halifax County, Virginia. Nathalie, VA: Self-published, 1986. WorldCat
  • Warren, Mary Bondurant. Halifax County, Virginia Colonial Poll [1764-1769] and Tithables Lists [1755-1780]. Danielsville, Georgia: Heritage Papers, 1991. Available at FHL.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

The Blount Journal
Genealogical articles with abstracts of Halifax County, Virginia records have been published in The Blount Journal, the publication of the Blount County Genealogical and Historical Society. Began in 1985, still in print. An index is available online. Purchase back issues through the society. The Family History Library has acquired most volumes FHL 976.8885 B2b.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

  • 1633-1800 Wills and Estate Records Index at Library of Virginia.*Chiarito, Marian Dodson. Will Book 0, 1752-1773, Halifax County, Virginia. Nathalie, VA: Clarkton Press, 1982. WorldCat
  • Chiarito, Marian Dodson. Will Book 1, 1773-1783, Halifax County, Virginia. Nathalie, VA: Clarkton Press, 1984. WorldCat
  • Chiarito, Marian Dodson. Will Book 2, 1783-1792, Halifax County, Virginia. Nathalie, VA: Clarkton Press, 1989?. WorldCat
  • Chiarito, Marian Dodson, and James Hadley Prendergast. Halifax County, Virginia Will Book 2, 1783-1792. Athens, GA: Iberian, 1996. WorldCat
  • Chiarito, Marian Dodson, and James Hadley Prendergast. Will Books, Halifax County, Virginia. Nathalie, VA: Clarkton Press, 1984. WorldCat
  • Halifax County, Virginia Wills, 1792-1797. Miami Beach: T.L.C. Genealogy, 1991. WorldCat
  • Digital Images of Halifax County Wills 1792-1797; 1798-1804. See names of Testators. Virginia Pioneers
  • 1639-1850 Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 at Ancestry — index, incomplete ($)
  • 1773-1854 Images of Wills, Inventories, Accounts Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1783-1792; 1792 – 1797; 1798 – 1804 – Images of Wills and Estates. Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1753-1772; 1773 – 1782 – Images of Wills and Estates. Virginia Pioneers ($)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • General: Warren, Mary Bondurant. Halifax County, Virginia Colonial Poll and Tithables Lists. Danielsville, GA: Heritage Papers, 1991. WorldCat
  • 1752-1790 Tithables, 1752-90, Southsider [Charlotte Court House, Va.], Vol. 19, No. 1 (2000). (Note: This article lists only totals of tithables from the plea books, no names.)
  • 1755-1780 Warren, Mary Bondurant. Halifax County, Virginia Colonial Poll [1764-1769] and Tithables Lists [1755-1780]. Danielsville, Georgia: Heritage Papers, 1991. Available at FHL.
  • 1771 Halifax Tithables, 1771, Piedmont Lineages, Vol. 23, No. 3 (Aug. 2001).
  • 1771 Tithables, 1771, Southside Virginian, Vol. 3, No. 2 (Jan. 1985); online at Internet Archive - free.
  • 1782 1782 Halifax County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List; index online at New River Notes - free.
  • 1782-1821 Halifax County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1821 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782 1782 Tax List (US GenWeb Archives)
  • 1782 Tax List, 1782, District 2, Halifax County Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 11, No. 3 (Dec. 2001). [Halifax County, Virginia or North Carolina? check]
  • 1782 Weaver, Jeffrey C. 1782 Halifax County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List. Saltville, VA: New River Notes Books, 2005. WorldCat
  • 1782-1791 Halifax County, Virginia Personal Property Tax Lists, 1782-1791. Miami Beach: T.L.C. Genealogy, 1998. WorldCat
  • 1782-1832 Heinegg, Paul. "Halifax County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1832," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records. This list includes some families with Native American ancestry as well.]
  • 1783 Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available through the FamilySearch Catalog ; FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Halifax County is included in Vol. 1.]
  • 1789, 1798 Indexed images of the 1789 and 1798 Personal Property Tax Lists of Halifax County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 26, No. 4 (Oct. 1982); Vol. 27, No. 1 (Jan. 1983); Vol. 27, No. 2 (Apr. 1983); Vol. 27, No. 3 (Jul. 1983); Vol. 27, No. 4 (Oct. 1983). Available at FHL.
  • 1810 Schreiner-Yates, Netti. A Supplement to the 1810 Census of Virginia: Tax Lists of the Counties for which the Census is Missing. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1971. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1810 personal property tax lists. Halifax County is included because the 1810 Census for that county has been destroyed.]
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Halifax County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • 1867 Internal Revenue Tax Warning Notice, 1867, Piedmont Lineages, Vol. 29, No. 3 (Aug. 2007).
  • 1901 Delinquent Tax List, 1901, Piedmont Lineages, Vol. 29, No. 3 (Aug. 2007).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Halifax County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Halifax County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Halifax County Regional Library
Multiple branches
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

L.E. Coleman African-American Museum
3011 Mountain Road
Halifax, VA 24558
Website

South Boston-Halifax County Museum of Fine Arts and History
1500 Wilborn Avenue
South Boston, VA 24592
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Halifax County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Halifax County Historical Society
Website

South Central Virginia Genealogical Society, Inc.
P.O. Box 295
Charlotte Court House, VA 23923
Email: vascvgs@yahoo.com
Website

The Virginia-North Carolina Piedmont Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 2272
Danville, VA 24541

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • Dorman, John Frederick. "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Halifax County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1968):184-187. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Newberry
  3. http://www.gohalifaxva.com/about-halifax-va/a-sketch-history
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Halifax _ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halifax_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 20 January 2020.
  8. 8.00 8.01 8.02 8.03 8.04 8.05 8.06 8.07 8.08 8.09 8.10 8.11 8.12 8.13 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 303-304. Digital versions at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive.
  9. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  10. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  11. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 98. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  12. Thomas P. Nanzig, 3rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 61.
  13. Michael P. Musick, 6th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 66.
  14. Edward R. Crews and Timothy A. Parish, 14th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 117.
  15. G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 20th and 39th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 105.
  16. Thomas M. Rankin, 23rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 14.
  17. Johnny L. Scott, 34th Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1999). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 135.
  18. G. Howard Gregory, 38th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 46.
  19. G. Howard Gregory, 53rd Virginia Infantry and 5th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1999). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 132.
  20. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  21. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.