Gwinnett County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to Gwinnett County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Button Gwinnett, one of the signatories of the Declaration of Independence. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Gwinnett County Courthouse
75 Langley Drive
PO Box 880
Lawrenceville, GA 30046
Phone: 770.822.8100
Gwinnett County Website
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records[3]
Gwinnett County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1919 | 1871 | 1919 | 1858 | 1871 | 1818 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1871 The courthouse at Lawrenceville burned the morning of 12 September 1871 at the hands of an arsonist gang. Almost all of the county records were lost.[5] For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
Gwinnett County is included in the Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
| Census-designated places | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Gwinnett County Bible Recordsat Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 4,589 | — |
| 1830 | 13,289 | 189.6% |
| 1840 | 10,804 | −18.7% |
| 1850 | 11,257 | 4.2% |
| 1860 | 12,940 | 15.0% |
| 1870 | 12,431 | −3.9% |
| 1880 | 19,531 | 57.1% |
| 1890 | 19,899 | 1.9% |
| 1900 | 25,585 | 28.6% |
| 1910 | 28,824 | 12.7% |
| 1920 | 30,327 | 5.2% |
| 1930 | 27,853 | −8.2% |
| 1940 | 29,087 | 4.4% |
| 1950 | 32,320 | 11.1% |
| 1960 | 43,541 | 34.7% |
| 1970 | 72,349 | 66.2% |
| 1980 | 166,903 | 130.7% |
| 1990 | 352,910 | 111.4% |
| 2000 | 588,448 | 66.7% |
| 2010 | 805,321 | 36.9% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- Flanigan, James C. Gwinnett Churches: A Complete History of Every Church in Gwinnett County, Georgia, With Short Biographical Sketches of Its Ministers. 1911. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Baptist
Haynes Creek Baptist Church
- 1826-1885 - Haynes Creek Baptist Church Baptism Index 1826-1885. Batch C712984 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1826-1895 - Haynes Creek Baptist Church Marriage Index 1826-1895. Batch M712984 at FamilySearch - free.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1819-1861 Minute Books of Inferior Court - 1820-1832 (images); 1819-1861 (images) at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1819-1867 Minutes of the Inferior Court, 1819-1867 [Gwinnett County, Georgia](*); Inferior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1852-1917 Wills, 1852-1917 [Gwinnett County, Georgia](*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1858-1914 Minutes, 1858-1878; Homesteads, 1868-1914(*); Court of Ordinary and Inferior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1862-1906 Court of Ordinary Minutes, 1862-1906(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1871-1902 Superior Court Minutes, 1871-1902(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- Genealogical Resources in the Atlanta Area. 1994. By Gary M. Palgon. Atlanta, GA : Custom Enterprises, Ltd. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
- The Georgia Researcher - v. 3, no. 3 (Sept. 1965). 1965. By Allstates Research Company. West Jordan, Utah : Allstates Research Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Bill Head Funeral Homes and Crematory, Inc. in Duluth
- Byrd and Flanigan Crematory and Funeral Service in Lawrencewille
- Crowell Brothers Funeral Home in Buford
- Eternal Hills Funeral Home, Cremation and Memory Gardens in Snellville
- Flanigan Funeral Home and Crematory in Buford
- Lee's Funeral Home and Crematory in Norcross
- Tim Stewart Funeral Home in Lawrenceville
- Tom M. Wages Funeral Service in Lawrenceville and Snelville
- Wages and Sons Funeral Homes and Crematories in Lawrenceville
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- 1735-1866 Georgian Colonial and Headright Plat Index, 1735-1866 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - alpha index
- 1783-1909 Headright and Bounty Plats, 1783-1909 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1805-1833 District Plats of Survey at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images organized by county and district
- Colonial Plats and Warrants at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- Georgia Land Lottery winners who drew lots in Gwinnett County.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Gwinnett County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- 1740s-? Historic Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1866 - 1935 County Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- Maps of Georgia (1758-1932)
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
Online Records
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry— index (free)
- 1861-1865 Confederate Enlistment Oaths and Discharges at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images and alphabetical index
- 1861-1865 Confederate Muster Rolls at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images; filter by commanding officer, service branch and regiment
- 1861-1865 Confederate Pension Application Supplements - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
- 1864 Militia Enrollment Lists, 1864 - images; filter by county
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
- 1879-1920 Georgia, Confederate Pension Rolls, 1879-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1879-1960 Confederate Pension Applications - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
Regiments. Service men in Gwinnett County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Gwinnett County:
- - 3rd Battalion, Georgia Sharpshooters (Confederate)
- - 12th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company C
- - 16th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies H and I
- - 24th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- - 35th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies F and H
- - 36th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Broyles') (Confederate), Company K
- - 42nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies A and B
- - 55th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- Pharr, Mary Ogletree. 1995. Woodward's Mill: its history in deeds, stories, pictures and memories. [Place of publication not identified]: [publisher not identified]. (page 10-11) 975.8223 H2p
- Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Gwinnett County). 1963. Confederate roster, 1861-1865; Confederate pension rolls, 1890-1935. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah.film 310884
Spanish-American War
- 1898 Spanish-American War Service Summary Cards - images and alphabetical index; filter by residence, muster location and unit
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Casualties Scrapbooks - images and alphabetical index
- 1920-1929 Georgia, World War I, Statement of Service Cards, 1920-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940-1942 Georgia World War II Draft Registration Cards 1940-1942 at findmypast - index ($))
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Georgia Historic Newspapers at Digital Library of Georgia
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voting Records
- 1867-1868 - Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1733-1753 Colonial Wills at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1742–1992 - Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1742-1990 Georgia Probate Records, 1742-1990(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1754-1776 Colonial Will Books at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1846-1886 - Wills 1846-1886, Book D (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
- 1852-1917 Wills, 1852-1917 Gwinnett County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Gwinnett County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1856-1866 - Index to Inventories and Appraisements 1856-1866 Georgia Pioneers $
- 1856-1878 - Probate Records (Index) - Estates (Bench Docket) 1856-1878; 1874-1885; Accounts, Annual Returns 1869-1876; 1874-1878 at Georgia Pioneers $
- 1856-1866, 1886-1912 Inventories and appraisments, 1856-1866, 1886-1912(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Gwinnett County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1856-1902 Annual returns and vouchers, 1856-1902(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Gwinnett County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1856-1920 Estate records marked bench docket, 1856-1920(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Gwinnett County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1867-1923 Sales bills, 1867-1923(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Gwinnett County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1871-1901 Guardians' bonds, 1871-1901, of Gwinnett County Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Gwinnett County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1871- 1912 Letters of administration, dismission, guardianship, testamentary, 1871- 1912 Gwinnett County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Gwinnett County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1871-1930 Temporary and permanent administrators' bonds 1871-1930, of Gwinnett County Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Gwinnett County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1872-1895 - Index to Inventories and Annual Returns, Books 10-14, 1872-1895 Georgia Pioneers $
- 1886-1897 - Index to Inventories and Appraisements 1886-1897 Georgia Pioneers $
- 1888-1916 - Images of Wills 1888-1916 at Georgia Pioneers $
- 1959-1964 Record of wills, book H, 1959-1964(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Gwinnett County) at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
- 1787-1900 Georgia, Tax Digests, 1787-1900 at FamilySearch — How to use this collection, index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1870 - 1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1560 - 1993 - Georgia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1699 - 1944 - Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $
- 1754 - 1960 - Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1785 - 1950 - Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1787 - 1962 - Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index
- 1808 - 1967 - Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1828 - 1978 - Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1827 - 1837 - Marriage Book 3, 1827-1837 Georgia Pioneers $
- 1835-1837 - Loose Marriages (images) at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1837 - 1895 - Gwinnett County Marriage Index 1837-1895. Batch M712983 at FamilySearch - free.[8]
- 1843 - 1882 - Gwinnett County Marriage Book 4 Index 1843-1882. Batch M712981 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1843 - 1864 - Index to Marriages 1843-1864 Georgia Pioneers $
- 1871 - 1882 - Index to Marriages 1871-1882 Georgia Pioneers $
- 1878 - 1892 - Gwinnett County Marriage Books 5 and 6 Index 1878-1892. Batch M712982 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1885 - 1886 - Marriages 1885-1886 (from newspapers) Georgia Pioneers $
- 1892-1910 - Marriages 1892-1910 (index); 1895-1908 (index) at Georgia Pioneers ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1859-60, 1869-70 Gwinnett County, Georgia Genealogy Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
- 1870 - 1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images
- 1914 - 1927 Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1919 - 1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1919-1930 Georgia Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - index and images
- 1928-1930 Georgia Non-Indexed Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1928 - 1942 Georgia Deaths, 1928-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1933 - 1998 Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Flanigan Funeral Home Obituaries Buford, Gwinnett County, Georgia Free from GenealogyBuff.com.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Gwinnett County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Gwinnett County. For state-wide library facilities, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Gwinnett County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Georgia Societies.
Gwinnett Historical Society
PO Box 261, 221 North Clayton
185 West Crogan Street
Lawrenceville 30246
Phone: 770-822-5174 (office)
770-237-5616 (office line 2)
Email: ghs@gwinnetths.org
Gwinnett Historical Society
Gwinnett Historical Society Facebook
Sons of the American Revolution
Button Gwinnett Chapter
Lawreceville, Georgia
Sons of the American Revolution
Sons of Confederate Veterans Camp 96
Lawreceville, Georgia
Sons of Confederate Veterans Camp 96
Snellville Historical Society
2145 North Road
Snellville, GA 30078
Phone: 678-691-8187
Email: snellvillehistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Snellville Historical Society
Sugar Hill Historic Preservation Society
5039 West Broad Street
Street, Sugar Hill, GA
Phone: 770-945-6716
Email: shhps@cityofsugarhill.com
Sugar Hill Historic Preservation Society
East Georgia Genealogical Society, Inc.
PO Box 117
Winder, GA 30680
East Georgia Genealogical Society, Inc.
East Georgia Genealogical Society, Inc. Facebook
Southern Appalachian Genealogy
Email: genealogicalme@gmail.com
Southern Appalachian Genealogy Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb Gwinnett County, Georgia project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- GAGenWeb Archives
- Gwinnett County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Gwinnett County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gwinnett_County,_Georgia accessed 31 Oct 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gwinnett County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
- ↑ Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 34-35. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Gwinnett County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gwinnett_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 19 Febuary 2019.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
