Guthrie County, Iowa Genealogy
Guide to Guthrie County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Guthrie County was named for Capt. Edwin B. Guthrie and is located in southwestern Iowa.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Guthrie County Courthouse
200 North 5th Street
Guthrie Center, Iowa 50115
Phone: 641-747-3415
Guthrie County Website
Guthrie County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1880 | 1852 | 1880 | 1916 | 1852 | 1881 | 1847 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1857 All county records were destroyed. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Guthrie County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.
- Emmons Family Bible at IAGenWeb Project
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Centennial History of Guthrie County, Iowa. 1876. Sadie B Maxwell. Des Moines, IA: Carter, Hussey & Curl Printers. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive; Hathitrust — index & images.
- History of Guthrie and Adair counties, Iowa Together With Sketches of Their Towns, Villages and Townships;... Portraits of Prominent Persons, and Biographies of Old Settlers and Representative Citizens. 1884. Springfield, IL: Continental Historical Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Hathitrust — index & images; Internet Archive; Ancestry — index & images ($)
- Past and Present of Guthrie County, Iowa Together With Biographical Sketches of Many of its Prominent and leading Citizens and Illustrious Dead. 1907. Chicago, IL: S.J. Clarke Publishing Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet archive.
- A Record, History, Biography, Memory, Pioneer Times and Peoples, Guthrie Center, Iowa. 1932. Elbert Wright Weeks. Self Published. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Ancestry — index & images ($)
- Guthrie County, Iowa Biographies Project at RootsWeb — links to biographies and local histories
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 3,058 | — |
| 1870 | 7,061 | 130.9% |
| 1880 | 14,394 | 103.9% |
| 1890 | 17,380 | 20.7% |
| 1900 | 18,729 | 7.8% |
| 1910 | 17,374 | −7.2% |
| 1920 | 17,596 | 1.3% |
| 1930 | 17,324 | −1.5% |
| 1940 | 17,210 | −0.7% |
| 1950 | 15,197 | −11.7% |
| 1960 | 13,607 | −10.5% |
| 1970 | 12,243 | −10.0% |
| 1980 | 11,983 | −2.1% |
| 1990 | 10,935 | −8.7% |
| 2000 | 11,353 | 3.8% |
| 2010 | 10,954 | −3.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1885 Iowa State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1895 Iowa State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1905 Iowa State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images (individual cards, not family context)
- 1915 Iowa State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1925 Iowa State Census, 1925 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
Lutheran
- 1781-1969 U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Church Records, 1781-1969 at Ancestry ($)
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Dahn and Woodhouse Funeral Home in Coon Rapids
- Johnson Family Funeral Home and Cremation Services in Stuart
- Ohde Funeral Home and Cremation Services in Bayard/Coon Rapids
- Schmidt Family Funeral Homes in Adair
- Twigg Funeral Home in Guthrie Center and Panora
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.
Online Land and Property Records
- 1852-1939 Deed records, 1852-1939; general index, 1852-1902 at FamilySearch Catalog - images and indexes
- 1861-1903 Village deed records, 1861-1903; general index, 1870-1904 at FamilySearch Catalog - images and indexes
- 1862-1917 Miscellaneous land records, 1862-1917, 1957-1962; general index, 1870-1893, 1902-1934 at FamilySearch Catalog - images and indexes
- 1866-1926 Transfer of town lots, 1866-1926 at FamilySearch Catalog - images and indexes
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Guthrie County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.
- 1851-1951 Guthrie County Centennial 100 Years of Progress, 1851-1951. 1951. Guthrie Center, IA: Guthrie County Historical Society. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library
- Centennial History of Guthrie County, Iowa. 1876. Sadie B Maxwell. Des Moines, IA: Carter, Hussey & Curl Printers. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive; Hathitrust — index & images.
- History of Guthrie and Adair counties, Iowa Together With Sketches of Their Towns, Villages and Townships;... Portraits of Prominent Persons, and Biographies of Old Settlers and Representative Citizens. 1884. Springfield, IL: Continental Historical Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Hathitrust — index & images; Internet Archive; Ancestry — index & images ($)
- Past and Present of Guthrie County, Iowa Together With Biographical Sketches of Many of its Prominent and leading Citizens and Illustrious Dead. 1907. Chicago, IL: S.J. Clarke Publishing Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet archive.
- A Record, History, Biography, Memory, Pioneer Times and Peoples, Guthrie Center, Iowa. 1932. Elbert Wright Weeks. Self Published. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Ancestry — index & images ($)
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.
for more resources
- 1860-1918 U.S., Indexed County Land Ownership Maps, 1860-1918, Guthrie County at Ancestry ($) - index.
- 1875-2007 Guthrie County 1875-2007 at Historic Map Works - may include names of land-owners.
- 1883-1933 Fire Insurance Maps for Guthrie County, Iowa at Library of Congress - various years between 1883 and 1933.
- Atlas and Plat Book of Guthrie County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- Guthrie County Maps at FamilySearch Catalog.
- IAGenWeb - Guthrie County.
- Iowa Digital Library, Guthrie County at Iowa University Libraries.
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collections, Guthrie County at State Library of Iowa.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places.
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- 1835-1998 Iowa, Armed Forces Grave Registrations, ca. 1835-1998 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index only
- 1862-1910 Iowa, Records of Persons Subject to Military Duty, 1862-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1949 Iowa, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1949 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War service men in Guthrie County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:
- - 4th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- - 29th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I and K
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1859-1990 United States, Iowa Naturalization Records, 1859-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1906-1920 Naturalization Card File Index, 1906-1920(*); Clerk of the District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1884-1977 Bayard News. Bayard, Iowa, United States Of America. Online at Ancestry ($)
- 1951-1972 The Guthrian. Guthrie County, IA, USA. Online at Ancestry ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1758-1997 Iowa, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1758-1997 at Ancestry — index & images ($)
- 1859-1932 Probate Records, 1859-1932(*); Clerk of the District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- 1859-1933 Register of Wills, 1859-1933 [Guthrie County, Iowa](*); Clerk of the District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- 1872-1966 Probate Records Card Index, 1872-1966(*); Clerk of the District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- 1934-1958 Iowa, Old Age Tax Assistance Records, 1934-1958 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1939 Iowa, Delayed Birth Records, 1850-1939 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1935 Iowa, County Births, 1880-1935 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1921-1942 Iowa, Birth Records, 1921-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1518-1996 Iowa, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1809-1992 Iowa, Marriages, 1809-1992 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- 1836-1926 Iowa, Marriages, 1836 - 1926 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- 1838-1934 Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1951 Iowa, U.S., Marriage Records, 1880-1951 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1990 Iowa Deaths and Burials, 1850-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and some images; Also at: MyHeritage($)
- 1880-1992 Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1900-1939 Iowa Death Index, 1900-1939 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- 1904-1951 Iowa, Death Records, 1904-1951 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1920-1967 Iowa, U.S., Death Records, 1920-1967 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Guthrie County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Danish Immigrant Museum - an affiliate library
- Iowa Genealogical Society Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Guthrie County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Mary J. Barnett Memorial Library
400 Grand Street
Guthrie Center, IA 50115
641-747-8110
Email: mjblib@guthriecenter.lib.ia.us
Website
Facebook
Museums[edit | edit source]
Guthrie County Historical Village and Museum
206 W South Street
Panora, IA 50216
641-755-2989
Email: gchv@netins.net
Website
Facebook
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Guthrie County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.
Guthrie County Genealogical Society, IAGenWeb Project
PO Box 96B
Jamaica, IA 50128-0096
641-429-3362
E-mail: chnwsltrguth@outlook.com
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Guthrie County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
- Guthrie County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
- Guthrie County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
- Guthrie County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
- State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
- State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 6/15/2021.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Guthrie, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guthrie_County,_Iowa."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.</rbr>
- ↑ Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 6/15/2021.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.</rbr>
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Guthrie County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guthrie_County,_Iowa, accessed 8 September 2019.