Greenwood County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Greenwood County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Greenwood
Organized: March 2, 1897[1]
Parent County(s): Abbeville, Edgefield[2]
Neighboring Counties
Abbeville  • Edgefield  • Laurens  • McCormick  • Newberry  • Saluda
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Greenwood County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-greenwood.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for its county seat, Greenwood. This had been named around 1824 after a plantation owned by John McGehee, an early resident. The area was developed largely for cotton plantations and was dependent on slave labor. It has continued to be agricultural in the 21st century. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Greenwood County Courthouse
528 Monument Street
Greenwood, SC 29646
Phone: 864-942-8546
Greenwood County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken[4]

Greenwood County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1897 1897 1897 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Callison
  • Kirksey
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Greenwood County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1900 28,343
1910 34,225 20.8%
1920 35,791 4.6%
1930 36,078 0.8%
1940 40,083 11.1%
1950 41,628 3.9%
1960 44,346 6.5%
1970 49,686 12.0%
1980 57,847 16.4%
1990 59,567 3.0%
2000 66,271 11.3%
2010 69,661 5.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Greenwood County Churches identifies dozens of churches in the area, courtesy: South Carolina Genealogical Society.

Baptist

  • Siloam - records (1799-1853) available on microfilm at the University of NC Davis Library.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans
United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png African American Resources for South Carolina
Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Barratt House - also called Chinaquin Ridge
  • Chinaquin Ridge - also called Barratt House
  • J. Wesley Brooks House - also called Scotch Cross
  • Jew's Land
  • Leaside
  • Murrays Hard Labor - also called White Hall
  • Roselands
  • Scotch Cross - also called J. Wesley Brooks House
  • Stony Point
  • White Hall - also called Murrays Hard Labor
  • Winterseat

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

Bibliography

  • Dorn - Wood, Willie Mae G. Old Families of McCormick County, South Carolina and Dorn Families of Edgefield, Greenwood and McCormick Counties. 2 vols. 1982. FHL 975.736 D2w v. 1

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification. All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative. Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Greenwood County with Parent Counties and Districts [9]
Date Government Office
1897-present Greenwood County
1873-1897 Abbeville County
1868-1873 Abbeville County Records Lost *
1800-1865 Abbeville District Records Lost *
1769-1800 Abbeville County (old) Records Lost *
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Bowen, Anne Herd. Greenwood County: a History (Greenwood, South Carolina: The Museum, 1992, c1992, Kingsport, Tennessee: Arcata Graphics), 400 pages. Concerns the very earliest people, institutions, and events. Book found at FHL Book 975.733 H2bWorldCat 27166213

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Laurens CountyNewberry CountySaluda CountyEdgefield CountyMcCormick CountyAbbeville CountySC GREENWOOD.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • "Battle of Ninety Six note," SAR Magazine, Winter 2001, Volume 95, Issue 3. National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution: Louisville, KY. FHL Book 973 B2sa
  • "Veterans list, (sel.)," Genealogical Roots and Branches, Winter 2001, Volume 22, Issue 4. Old Ninety-Six Chapter, SCGS: Greenwood, SC.
  • "War in back country," Periodical: Journal of America's Military Past, Fall 1996, Volume 23, Issue 3. Council on America's Military Past Ft. Myer, VA.

Civil War

Regiments. Greenwood County did not exist during the Civil War. During the Civil War, men from the area of Greenwood County mostly would have served in various regiments recruited in Abbeville and Edgefield counties. Counties were called districts during the Civil War.

Other Resources

  • Eaton, Lafayette Claud. Butler Guards: Company B, 2nd South Carolina Infantry Regiment, Confederate States army (Vallejo, Calif.: L.C. Eaton, 1996?), 151 pages. Civil War pages. Includes index. Includes the final roll call of the original Butler Guards present at the surrender at Greensboro.The Butler Guards were originally a South Carolina state militia that became the core of Company B of the 2nd South Carolina Infantry Regiment. They later became a part of the United Confederate Veterans. Book found at FHL Book 975.727 M2e
  • Cook, H. T. The Hard Labor Section. (S.l. W.C. Kirkland?, 1993). 90 [40] pages. The Hard Labor area includes Greenwood & McCormick counties. Includes lists of militiamen and confederate soldiers. Book at FHL 975.73 D2c and Other Libraries.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Greenwood County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Current

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

  • Genealogical Roots and Branches

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
South Carolina Genealogical Records: Volume 1, Abbeville County and parts of Greewood and McCormick Counties by Elizabeth Wood Thomas. Tuscaloosa, Alabama: Willo Publishing Co., C1964. FHL Book 975.73 P2t Includes will book l (1787-1809), will book II (1815-1839) and index to equity records, 1791-1906.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Greenwood County.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Greenwood County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Greenwood County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Libraries
Greenwood County Library
Address:
106 N. Main St.
Greenwood, SC 29646
Telephone: 864-941-4650
Hours: Sunday 2:00 p.m. to 5:30 p. m., Monday to Wednesday 9:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Thursday to Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Genealogy/Local History LinkWebsite

Ninety Six Branch Library
Address:
118 Cambridge St. South
Ninety Six, SC 29666
Telephone: 864-543-4749
Hours: Monday 9am-7:30pm, Tuesday-Friday 9am-5:30pm

Ware Shoals Community Library
Address:
54 South Greenwood Ave.
Ware Shoals, SC 29692
Telephone: 864-456-2813
Hours: Monday 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Tuesday 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m., Wednesday-Friday 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

South Carolina Digital Library (SCDL) is a collaborative effort that includes South Carolina’s schools, libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. Collaborating groups are encouraged to create, maintain, and promote digital collections that represent South Carolina's historical and cultural resources. A number of Greenwood County items are in the collection. To see images from Greenwood County, Click Here.Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Greenwood County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Greenville County Chapter SCGS
Box 16236
Greenville, SC 29606
FacebookWebsite

Greenwood County Historical Society
Greenwood, SC 29649
(864) 942-2456
Email: missylowery@pobox.com
Website Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  2. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, Greenwood County, South Carolina in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greenwood_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 27/06/2019
  4. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Greenwood County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  6. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Greenwood County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greenwood_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 24 December 2019.
  9. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  10. Herd, Jr., E. Don, Marriage and Death Notices from the Abbeville Banner, 1846-1860, [S.l.: s.n.], c1980.
  11. Lucas, Jr., S. Emmett, Abbeville District, South Carolina Marriages, 1777-1852, Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.
  12. South Carolina, Probate Court (Greenwood County), Greenwood County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2003.