Greene County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Greene County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Jefferson
Organized: 25 August 1854[1]
Parent County(s): Unorganized territory[2]
Neighboring Counties
Boone  • Calhoun  • Carroll  • Dallas  • Guthrie  • Webster
See County Maps
Courthouse
Iowa, Greene County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Iowa Greene Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Greene County was named for Nathanael Greene and is located in central Iowa.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Greene County Courthouse
114 N. Chestnut Street
Jefferson, IA 50129
Phone: 515-386-5680
Greene County Website

Greene County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1854 1880 1880 1854 1854 1847
* Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths January 1891. General compliance by 1924.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Greene County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.


Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • 1846-1956 History of Rippey, Greene County, Iowa: a century of progress, 1849-1956 1956. Hazel E Drake and Alice Grow. Greene County, IA: Alice Grow. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Biographical and Historical Record of Greene and Carroll Counties, Iowa: Containing Engravings of Prominent Citizens in Greene and Carroll Counties, with Personal Histories of Many of the Leading Families. 1887. Chicago, IL: Lewis Pub. Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Hathitrust — index and images.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Greene County, Iowa online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.


Census Records[edit | edit source]

Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 1,374
1870 4,627 236.8%
1880 12,727 175.1%
1890 15,797 24.1%
1900 17,820 12.8%
1910 16,023 −10.1%
1920 16,467 2.8%
1930 16,528 0.4%
1940 16,599 0.4%
1950 15,544 −6.4%
1960 14,379 −7.5%
1970 12,716 −11.6%
1980 12,119 −4.7%
1990 10,045 −17.1%
2000 10,366 3.2%
2010 9,336 −9.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Lutheran

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.

Online Land and Property Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Greene County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Record of Greene and Carroll Counties, Iowa. 1887. Chicago, IL: Lewis Pub. Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Hathitrust. Index at: Iowa Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com.
  • History of Rippey, Greene County, Iowa: a Century of Progress, 1849-1956. 1956. By Hazel E. Drake and Alice Grow. Greene County, IA: Alice Grow. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Northwestern Iowa, Its History and Traditions, Comprising the Counties of ...Greene.... 1927. By Arthur Francis Allen. Chicago, IL: S.J. Clarke Publishing Co. Vol III Online at: HathiTrust.
  • Past and Present of Greene County, Iowa. 1905. By Ed Miner. Chicago, IL: S.J. Clarke Publishing Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.

Calhoun CountyWebster CountyCarroll CountyGuthrie CountyDallas CountyBoone CountyIA GREENE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Multiple Wars

Civil War

Civil War service men in Greene County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 10th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • 1952-1955 The Jefferson Herald. 1952 and 1954-55. Jefferson, IA, USA. Online at Ancestry ($)
  • 1952-1964 The Jefferson Bee. 1952, 1955, 1957-59, 1961, and 1964. Jefferson, IA, USA. Online at Ancestry ($)

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1974 Nineteen Seventy-four, Green Community Highschool Yearbook. 1974. Greene, Iowa: Greene Community School. online at: Internet Archive.
  • 1975 Ramgreene 1975, Green Community Highschool Yearbook. 1975. Greene, Iowa: Greene Community School. online at: Internet Archive.
  • 1977 Nineteen Seventy-seven Greene, Green Community Highschool Yearbook. 1977. Greene, Iowa: Greene Community School. Online at: Internet Archive.
  • 1978 Nineteen Seventy-eight Memories, Green Community Highschool Yearbook. 1978. Greene, Iowa: Greene Community School. Online at: Internet Archive.
  • 1980 Nineteen Eighty Rambler, Green Community Highschool Yearbook. 1980. Greene, Iowa: Greene Community School. Online at: Internet Archives

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Greene County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Greene County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.

Greene Public Library
231 W Traer Street
PO Box 280
Greene, IA 50636-0280
641-816-4803
E-mail: gpl@myomnitel.com
Website
Facebook

Rippey Public Library
224 Main Street
PO Box 184
Rippey, IA 50235-0184
515-436-7714
E-mail: rippeyli@windstream.net
Website

Scranton Public Library/Marchant Memorial Library
1110 Main Street
PO Box 68
Scranton, IA 51462-0068
712-652-3453
E-mail: admin@scranton.lib.ia.us
Website
Facebook

Museums[edit | edit source]

Greene County Historical Society Museum
219 E Lincoln Way
Jefferson, IA 50129
515-386-8544
E-mail: gchsmuseum@windstream.net
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Greene County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.

Greene County Genealogical Society, IAGenWeb Project
PO Box 133
Jefferson, IA 50129-0133
E-mail: gcgsiowa@hotmail.com
Website

Greene County Historical Society
219 E Lincolnway Street
PO Box 435
Jefferson, IA 50129-0435
Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Greene County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
  • Greene County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
  • Greene County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
  • Greene County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
  • Greene County, Iowa at Linkpendium - genealogy and family history
  • State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
  • State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
  • The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 6/16/2021.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 200<2.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Greene, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greene_County,_Iowa."
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 200<2.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 200<2.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Greene County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greene_County,_Iowa#Cities_and_towns, accessed 7 September 2019.