Greene County, Indiana Genealogy
Guide to Greene County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Greene County was named for Gen. Nathanael Greene, who commanded the southern theater in the Revolutionary War, eventually forcing the British army under Charles Cornwallis to retreat to Yorktown. There it was forced to surrender, ensuring American independence.[1] The county is located in the southwestern area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Green County Courthouse
1 East Main Street / PO Box 229
Bloomfield, IN 47424
Phone: 812-384-8532
County Website
Greene County Health Department
217 East Spring Street, Suite #1
Bloomfield, IN, 47424
Health Officer: Peter Powers, MD
Phone Number: 812-384-4496
Fax: 812-384-2037
Email: jennifer.brinegar@co.greene.in.us
Health Department
County Clerk has marriage, divorce and court records from 1821, probate records from 1823, and naturalization records 1854-1906.
County Recorder has land records from 1824, military records and some cemetery records. County Health Department has birth records from 1885 and death records from 1893. [3]
Health Department has birth records and death records.
Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Greene County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1885 | 1821 | 1893 | 1821 | 1824 | 1823 | 1807 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographical Memoirs of Greene County, Ind. 3 volumes. 1908. Indianapolis, Indiana : B.F. Bowen. Online at: Vol. 1 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 2 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 3 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vols. 1-3 - Hathitrust, Vol. 1 - Internet Archive, Vol. 2 - Internet Archive, Vol. 3 - Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Indiana Biography Index at Indiana State Library
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Occupations
- Roster of Civilian Conservation Corps, Jasonville, Greene County, Indiana (1938) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Roster of Civilian Conservation Corps, Worthington, Greene County, Indiana (1938) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Greene County census records online, see: Indiana Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1830 | 4,242 | — |
| 1840 | 8,321 | 96.2% |
| 1850 | 12,313 | 48.0% |
| 1860 | 16,041 | 30.3% |
| 1870 | 19,514 | 21.7% |
| 1880 | 22,996 | 17.8% |
| 1890 | 24,379 | 6.0% |
| 1900 | 28,530 | 17.0% |
| 1910 | 36,873 | 29.2% |
| 1920 | 36,770 | −0.3% |
| 1930 | 31,481 | −14.4% |
| 1940 | 31,330 | −0.5% |
| 1950 | 27,886 | −11.0% |
| 1960 | 26,327 | −5.6% |
| 1970 | 26,894 | 2.2% |
| 1980 | 30,416 | 13.1% |
| 1990 | 30,410 | −0.0% |
| 2000 | 33,157 | 9.0% |
| 2010 | 33,165 | 0.0% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Greene County, Indiana (1880) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.
For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Linton
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.
After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Greene County courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Greene County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.
- Biographical Memoirs of Greene County, Ind. 3 volumes. 1908. Indianapolis, Indiana : B.F. Bowen. Online at: Vol. 1 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 2 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 3 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vols. 1-3 - Hathitrust, Vol. 1 - Internet Archive, Vol. 2 - Internet Archive, Vol. 3 - Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat). Biographies include much of the history of Greene County.
- Early History of Greene County, Indiana. 1875. By Jack Baber. Worthington, Indiana : N.B. Milleson. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Greene and Sullivan Counties, State of Indiana. 1884. Chicago : Goodspeed Bros. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Historic Indiana Maps at IUPUI University Library
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Military Record Series Index at Indiana Digital Archives
- African American Veterans in Greene County, Indiana (1890) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Civil War
Civil War service men from Greene County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Greene County
- 1st Regiment, Indiana Heavy Artillery, Company I
- 2nd Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 11th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company B
- 13th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company F
- 20th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C, and Reorganized Company H
- 29th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
- 31st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies F, and H
- 43rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 59th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companied A, D, and E
- 80th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 85th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Compank K
- 97th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, C, E, F, G, and I
- 115th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (6 months, 1863-4), Company A
- 133rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company I
- 140th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
- 145th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, and I
- 146th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 147th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company E
- 149th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C, F, G, and K
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Civil War Book:
- "Military History of Greence County" Chaper 8, 9, 10, in History of Greene and Sullivan Counties, State of Indiana1884. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL Collection. (page 115-181, Regiment, Companies, Names)
World War I
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Hoosier State Chronicles
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Greene County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.
- 1798 – 1999 Indiana Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry $
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1992 Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1800s-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at Findmypast $
- 1802-1892 Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry $
- 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
- 1811-2007 Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
- 1750-1993 - Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1882-1920 - Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 - FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Greene County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Bloomington Indiana Family History Center
- Linton Indiana Family History Center
- Vincennes Indiana Family History Center
- Knox County Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Monroe County History Center - an affiliate library.
- Monroe County Public Library - Elletsville Branch - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Greene County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Bloomfield-Eastern Greene County Public Library
125 South Franklin Street
Bloomfield, IN 47424
Phone: 812-384-412
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Greene County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.
Greene County Historical Society
P.O. Box 301
27 S. Washington Street
Bloomfield, IN 47424
Phone: 812-384-8400
Email: greenecountyhistoricalsociety@yahoo.com
Facebook
Website
Wabash Valley Genealogy Society
P.O. Box 7012
Terre Haute, IN 47802-7012
Email: wvgs@inwvgs.org
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
- Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Search by county or keyword
- Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
- List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
- Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Free and Members-only. Select a county
- EveryNameIndex.com for Indiana Free online genealogy indexes for county histories. Select a county.
- Greene County INGenWeb May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Greene County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Greene County Obituary Index taken from Greene County newspaper micofilms.
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Greene County, Indiana Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ind/greene/ accessed 3/28/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Greene County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greene_County,_Indiana 3/28/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Greene County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greene_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Greene County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greene_County,_Indiana, accessed 11 December 2019.
