Grappenhall, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Grappenhall, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St. Wilfrid Church Grappenhall
|County||Cheshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Warrington|
|Parish registers: 1574|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1596|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
GRAPPENHALL, is a township and a parish in the district of Warrington and county of Chester. The township lies on the Bridgewater Canal, near the North-western railway and the River Mersey, it is 2¾ miles SE by S of Warrington; and has a post office under Warrington. The parish includes also the township of Latchford. There two dissenting chapels.
Grappenhall St Wilfrid was an ancient parish, originally serving the townships of Grappenhall and Latchford. The church is Norman in origin, built probably in the earlier part of the 12th century.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
|Grappenhall Online Parish Records|
|Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Cheshire ($)|
|Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)||
|Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage|
|Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)|
|National Burial Index-FMP (Free)|
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Cheshire ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Cheshire ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at Findmypast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
- 1671-1900 England, Cheshire Non-conformist Records, 1671-1900 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Runcorn (1837–45)
- Warrington (1845–96)
- Runcorn (1896–1974)
- Warrington (1974+)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Grappenhall has been included in the following Poor Law Unions from 1834:
- Runcorn (1837–45)
- Warrington Poor Law Union, Lancashire Genealogy (1845–96)
- Runcorn (1896–1930).
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Grappenhall on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 5 March 2013
Bibliography[edit | edit source]
Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 39, ISBN 1871731232
Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 167–170
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) , The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 225–226, ISBN 0 300 09588 0