Graham County, Arizona Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Graham County, Arizona ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Safford
Organized: March 10, 1881
Parent County(s): Apache, Pima
Neighboring Counties
Apache  • Cochise  • Gila  • Greenlee  • Navajo  • Pima  • Pinal
Courthouse
Arizona, Graham County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Az-graham.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named after the mountain which was named after Lt. Col James Duncan Graham. It was the first Arizona county to break the tradition of naming counties for Native Americans. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Graham County Courthouse
800 W Main Street
Safford, AZ 85546
Phone: 928-428-3100
Graham County Courthouse

Clerk of Superior Court has marriage, probate, divorce and court records from 1881 and naturalization records 1907-1973.
County Recorder has land records.[2]

Graham County, Arizona Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1889 1881 1889 1881 1881 1881 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in July 1909. General compliance by 1926

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Native American communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns
  • Camp Goodwin

  • History Timeline[edit | edit source]

    1852, New Mexico Territory
    Arizona is in yellow, left of the dotted line

    See also Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

    Resources[edit | edit source]

    Bible Records[edit | edit source]

    Biographies[edit | edit source]

    Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

    Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

    Cemeteries of Graham, Arizona online and in print
    Tombstone Transcriptions Online
    Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
    List of Cemeteries in the County
    See Arizona Cemeteries for more information

    Census Records[edit | edit source]

    For tips on accessing Census records online, see: Arizona Census.

    Historical populations
    Census Pop.
    1890 5,670
    1900 14,162 149.8%
    1910 23,999 69.5%
    1920 10,148 −57.7%
    1930 10,373 2.2%
    1940 12,113 16.8%
    1950 12,985 7.2%
    1960 14,045 8.2%
    1970 16,578 18.0%
    1980 22,862 37.9%
    1990 26,554 16.1%
    2000 33,489 26.1%
    2010 37,220 11.1%
    Source: "Wikipedia.org".

    Church Records[edit | edit source]

    Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For more about Arizona denominations, see Arizona Church Records.

    Church and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints: Artesia, Ashurst, Bryce, Central, Eden, Emery, Ft. Thomas, Graham, Hubbard, Kimball, Layton (Safford), Lebanon, Mathews, Pima, Safford, Solomonsville, Thatcher, Thatcher East and Thatcher West.

    List of Churches and Church Parishes

    Court Records[edit | edit source]

    Directories[edit | edit source]

    Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

    Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

    American Indians

    Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

    Genealogies[edit | edit source]

    Guardianship[edit | edit source]

    Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

    Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

    See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse. Graham County Recorders Office
    921 Thatcher Blvd
    Safford AZ 85546
    (928) 428-3560

    Online Land Indexes and Records

    Local Histories[edit | edit source]

    County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

    Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

    Navajo CountyApache CountyGreenlee CountyCochise CountyPima CountyPinal CountyGila CountyAZ GRAHAM.PNG
    Click a neighboring county
    for more resources


    Migration[edit | edit source]

    Military Records[edit | edit source]

    Civil War

    World War II

    Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

    Newspapers[edit | edit source]

    Obituaries[edit | edit source]

    Green check.png
    The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


    Other Records[edit | edit source]

    Periodicals[edit | edit source]

    Probate Records[edit | edit source]

    From 1850 to 1864, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. From 1864 to 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. 1912 to present, records such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

    Online Probate Indexes and Records

    School Records[edit | edit source]

    Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

    Tax Records[edit | edit source]

    Vital Records[edit | edit source]

    Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services or the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

    Birth[edit | edit source]

    Marriage[edit | edit source]

    Death[edit | edit source]

    Divorce[edit | edit source]

    Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

    Archives[edit | edit source]

    Listed below are archives in Graham County. For state-wide facilities, see Arizona Archives and Libraries.

    Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

    Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

    • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
    • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

    Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

    Libraries[edit | edit source]

    Listed below are libraries in Graham County. For state-wide library facilities, see Arizona Archives and Libraries.

    Museums[edit | edit source]

    Societies[edit | edit source]

    Listed below are societies in Graham County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Arizona Societies.

    Graham County Historical Society and Museum
    3430 W. Main St. (Hwy 70)
    Thatcher, AZ 85552
    Telephone: 928-348-0470
    Hours 10-4:00 M,T, Sat.
    Website

    Websites[edit | edit source]

    • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

    Research Guides[edit | edit source]

    References[edit | edit source]

    1. Wikipedia contributors, "Graham, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graham_County,_Arizona 7/10/2017.
    2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gila County, Arizona p. 56. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
    3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Graham County, Arizona. Page 56-57 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 52.
    4. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1909, 25th assy./ pp. 43-56
    5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
    6. Wikipedia contributors, "Graham County, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graham_County,_Arizona, accessed 23 February 2019.
    7. Beers, 100; "Mexican War of Independence," New Handbook of Texas, 4:698
    8. Williams 108-110
    9. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
    10. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
    11. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map).
    12. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
    13. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, pp. 1031-1037; Van Zandt, 11, 29, 162
    14. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, ch. 245[1854]/p. 575; Van Zandt, 162; Walker and Bufkin, 21-22
    15. N.M. Terr. Laws 1854, 4th assy. /p. 57
    16. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
    17. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
    18. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1879, 10th assy./ pp. 96-97
    19. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1881, 11th assy./ pp. 155-157
    20. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1909, 25th assy./ pp. 43-56