Grafton County, New Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Grafton County, New Hampshire ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: North Haverhill
Organized: March 19, 1771
Parent County(s): Colonial lands
Neighboring Counties
Belknap  • Caledonia (VT)  • Carroll  • Coös  • Essex (VT)  • Merrimack  • Orange (VT)  • Sullivan  • Windsor (VT)
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Hampshire, Grafton County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nh-grafton.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Grafton County is located in the west central region of the state. The county was named for named for Augustus FitzRoy, 3rd Duke of Grafton, who had been a supporter of American causes in Parliament, and who was serving as British Prime Minister at the time.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Grafton County Courthouse
3855 Dartmouth College Hwy
N. Haverhill, NH 03774
Phone: 603-787-6941 or 1-855-212-1234
Grafton County Website

Town Clerks have birth, marriage and death records.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
Probate Judge has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records.[2]

Grafton County, New Hampshire Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1773 1773 1773 1773 1773 1773 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1866. General compliance by 1901.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

New HampshireVermontGrafton CountyMerrimack CountySullivan CountyBelknap CountyCarroll CountyCoos CountyWindsor CountyOrange CountyWashington CountyCaledonia CountyEssex CountyGraftonEnfieldLebanonHanoverCanaanOrangeAlexandriaBristolBridgewaterHebronGrotonDorchesterLymePlymouthAshlandHoldernessCamptonRumneyWentworthOrfordPiermontWarrenEllsworthThorntonWaterville ValleyLivermoreWoodstockBentonHaverhillLincolnEastonLandaffBathMonroeLymanLisbonSugar HillFranconiaBethlemenLittletonCornishPlainfieldCroydonGranthamSpringfieldSunapeeNew LondonWilmotAndoverDanburyHillSanborntonNew HamptonMeredithLaconiaGilfordAltonCenter HarborMoultonboroughTuftonboroSandwichTamworthAlbanyBartlettHart's LocationJacksonHadley's P.Sargent's Pur.Cutt's G.Bean's GrantChandler's PurchaseCrawford's PurchaseCarrollThompson & Meserve's Pur.Low and Burbank's G.RandolphJeffersonWhitefieldDaltonLancasterKilkennyBerlinHartlandHartfordNorwichSharonThetfordStraffordFairleeWest FairleeVershireBradfordCorinthWashingtonNewburyTopshamOrangeRyegateGrotonPlainfieldMarshfieldCabotWoodburyPeachamBarnetWaterfordSaint JohnsburyKirbyDanvilleWaldenHardwickConcordLunenburg
Modern town borders in Grafton County, New Hampshire. Cities and towns are named in black and have town records. Green places are unincorporated, and do not keep records.


For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
Ghost towns


Towns Organized Before 1800:

  • Alexandria 1782
  • Bath 1761
  • Benton 1764
  • Bethlehem 1799
  • Bridgewater 1788
  • Campton 1761
  • Canaan 1761
  • Danbury 1795
  • Dorchester 1761
  • Enfield 1761
  • Franconia 1764
  • Grafton 1778
  • Groton 1796
  • Hanover 1761
  • Haverhill 1763
  • Hebron 1792
  • Hill 1778
  • Holderness 1761
  • Landaff 1764
  • Lebanon 1761
  • Lisbon 1768
  • Lincoln 1764
  • Littleton 1784
  • Lyman 1761
  • Lyme 1761
  • Orange 1780
  • Orford 1761
  • Plymouth 1763
  • Rumney 1761
  • Thornton 1781
  • Warren 1763
  • Wentworth 1766
  • Woodstock 1786

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Grafton County, New Hampshire online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Hampshire Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 13,468
1800 23,093 71.5%
1810 28,462 23.2%
1820 32,989 15.9%
1830 38,682 17.3%
1840 42,311 9.4%
1850 42,343 0.1%
1860 42,260 −0.2%
1870 39,103 −7.5%
1880 38,788 −0.8%
1890 37,217 −4.1%
1900 40,844 9.7%
1910 41,652 2.0%
1920 40,572 −2.6%
1930 42,816 5.5%
1940 44,645 4.3%
1950 47,923 7.3%
1960 48,857 1.9%
1970 54,914 12.4%
1980 65,806 19.8%
1990 74,929 13.9%
2000 81,743 9.1%
2010 89,118 9.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Hampshire denominations, view the New Hampshire Church Records Wiki page. For tips on how to determine denomination, view the New Hampshire Research Tips and Strategies Wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Genealogy - Town Histories often have Genealogical Sections
For many Grafton County towns someone has published a town history that includes a good deal of genealogical information. The Family History Library has these books for the following towns: Bethlehem, Bristol, Canaan, Enfield, Haverhill, Hebron, Lebanon, Lisbon, Littleton, Lyme, Monroe, Orford, Piermont, Plymouth, Warren, and Wentworth. For Hanover the Familiy History Library has a genealogical collection on fifteen rolls of microfilm.

Check the FamilySearch Catalog to see if the book listed above is available online. If it is not available online, you may be available to view the book on microfilm through a Family History Center.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See New Hampshire Land and Property for additional information about early New Hampshire land grants. A

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Hampshire Local Histories.

Local history books are available for many towns in Grafton County. The Family History Library has history books for the following towns: Bethlehem, Bristol, Canaan, Haverhill, Hebron, Lebanon, Lisbon, Littleton, Lyme, Monroe, Orford, Piermont, Plymouth, Rumney, Warren, and Wentworth. Most of these books have genealogical information. For Hanover the Family History Library has a microfilmed genealogical collection on fifteen reels of microfilm.

See the Family HIstory Library Catalog, and go to the Place search. Type in the name of the town or city, and also New Hampshire. You will see a list of sources. Click on the one for Genealogy or History.

Many libraries with large genealogical collections will very likely have the books listed, and perhaps books for other Grafton County towns.

  • Named for Augustus Henry FitzRoy, 3rd Duke of Grafton, KG, PC (28 September 1735 – 14 March 1811), styled Earl of Euston between 1747 and 1757, was a British Whig statesman of the Georgian era. He was one of a handful of dukes who served as Prime Minister. He was a son of Lord Augustus FitzRoy and Elizabeth Cosby, daughter of Colonel William Cosby, who served as a colonial Governor of New York.
  • For an online history of this county go to the Internet site of New Hampshire Genealogy and History. At that site you can also select a town, and read online a history of the town. Using the Shift key then the F3 key you can do a word search.
  • For many Grafton County towns someone has published a town history that includes a good deal of genealogical information. The Family History Library has these books for the following towns: Bethlehem, Bristol, Canaan, Enfield, Haverhill, Hebron, Lebanon, Lisbon, Littleton, Lyme, Monroe, Orford, Piermont, Plymouth, Warren, and Wentworth. For Hanover the Familiy History Library has a genealogical collection on fifteen rolls of microfilm.

A good online source for town histories can be found at the Grafton County page of the New Hampshire Genealogy and History website.

The New Hampshire State Library in Concord, New Hampshire has a vast collection of books about New Hampshire towns and counties. Check their internet catalog for a town of interest.

The New Hampshire Historical Society also in Concord has a very large collection of local history books and other publications.

  • Inventory of the county archives of New Hampshire, no. 5, Grafton County. Prepared by the New Hampshire Historical Records Survey Project, Division of Professional and Service Projects, Work Projects Administration, 1940. Online at:FamilySearch Digital Library

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Essex CountyCaledonia CountyOrange CountyWindsor CountySullivan CountyMerrimack CountyBelknap CountyCarroll CountyCoös CountyNH GRAFTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


For historical publications and online resources for the state, see the pages: New Hampshire Maps and New Hampshire Gazetteers.

  • Hamilton Child's Gazetteer of Grafton County, New Hampshire, published in 1886, is found at Archive.org. You can type in a surname, or a place name, and search the gazetteer.

The Town and City Atlas of the State of New Hampshire published in 1892 has maps for almost every city, town, and village in New Hampshire, and gives the name of the person who lived in the home in 1892. This atlas is available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City (FHL Folio book 974.2 E3).

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
The most complete listing of New Hampshire Revolutionary War soldiers is found in volumes 14-17 of the New Hamsphire State Papers. You can go to google.com, and look for New Hampshire State Papers with the link to ancestry.com. There you will find a name index to voloumes 14-17, then you can go to the needed volume and page for information on the soldier. Often the place of residence is given.

For a military history of New Hampshire, see: Potter, Chandler Eastman, The Military History of the State of New Hampshire. Concord, N.H.: McFarland and Jenks, 1866. (Family History Library film 1033664; fiche 6046858.) You can search this book on-line by going to google.com. Look for ancestry.com as the internet way to search this book. This history comprises events from the first settlements in New Hampshire to the rebellion in 1861. It includes biographical notices of many of the officers and explanatory notes.

War of 1812
See Potter's book above for information on the War of 1812.

Civil War
Online Civil War Indexes and Records

  • 1861-1866 The Revised Register of the Soldiers and Sailors of New Hampshire in the War of the Rebellion, 1861-1866.

FamilySearch Digital Library,

Regiments.' Civil War service men from Grafton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Grafton County:

- 1st Regiment, New Hampshire Cavalry, Troops A, B, C, E, H, I, and L.
- 1st Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company I.
- 1st Regiment, New Hampshire Heavy Artillery, Companies H, I, L, and M.
- 2nd Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies B, G, and I.
- 3rd Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company E.
- 4th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company I.
- 5th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A, C, E, and I.
- 6th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A and B.
- 8th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company H.
- 9th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A, B, and I.
- 11th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies B, G, and H.
- 12th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A, C, D, E, and K.
- 13th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A, C, and D.
- 14th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company H.
- 15th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies B, C, F, and H.
- 16th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company A.
- 18th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies B, E, F, and G.
- New Hampshire Sharpshooters, 2nd Company F.


World War I
1917-1918 A very helpful source for World War I is an index at www.ancestry.com of World War I draft registration records, 1917-1918. All men between ages eighteen and forty-five were required to register. Their birth date and place, address, and sometimes the name of nearest kin, are listed on the card. Many of these men served in the war.

World War II
1942 There is an index on www.ancestry.com of the 1942 World War II draft registrations for New Hampshire, of men forty-five to sixty-five. Some of these men served in that war. The records contain name, address, birth date and place, name of kin or friend, name and address of employer, and signature. (See www.ancestry.com for further information.)

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The New Hampshire Newspaper Project began microfilming newspapers in the early 1990's. A list of the titles filmed, the range of date of publication, and the reel number can be found at the New Hampshire State Library. Films of newspapers may be able to be borrowed on interlibrary loan through your local public library or university library.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in New Hampshire, probate records have been kept by the county. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Grafton County probate records began in 1773 shortly after the county was established. Records are kept at the County Courthouse at 3785 Dartmouth College Hwy., North Haverhill, NH 03774. The probate volumes, 1-114, for 1773-1933, are available on Family History Library films. On films there is an index to administrators for 1773-1950.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Online Tax Indexes and Records
Many town tax records have been preserved by town clerks and town tax officials. Town tax records were generally taken each year. The Family History Library has many town records on microfilms. For film numbers see the FamilySearch Catalog under New Hampshire - Grafton County - [name of town] - Town Records.

Town Records[edit | edit source]

Town records are an important source of family history information from the 1600s to about the 1940s. The early New Hampshire town records to about 1850 have an every-name index. The index and film numbers are listed just above in the Taxation section. Many town records are availabe on Family History Library films. The original records are very likely still in the town offices.

If on an index card you find the abbreviation F.R., this indicates there is a record of family members. If you find M.R. on a card, this tells you there is a marriage record.

To see the types of family history information you might find in town records please go to the heading Town Records in our New Hampshire wiki article.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Fortunately, most of the New Hampshire birth records to 1915, and marriage and death records to 1947, are on the internet at familysearch.org. You can view a digital image of the actual record. Certified copies of of birth, death, and marriage records are available from the State Division of Vital Records Administration or from the local city and town clerk where the event took place. Original records are kept by the city or town clerk and copies are sent to the state. In 1905, when the state created the Bureau of Vital Records and Health, printed cards were distributed to the local clerks and earlier vital records were transcribed onto the cards and submitted to the state.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Libraries
There are libraries in most towns in Grafton County. They often have local history books. They may have family history books or collections. You may wish to check the internet to find their address, phone number, email address, and see what they list in the way of family history and genealogy materials.

Lebanon Public Library has two branches, one in Lebanon, and the other in West Lebanon: first is the Lebanon Public Library, 9 East Park St., Lebanon, NH 03766, tel. 603-448-2459, fax 603-448-0696. This library has local histories for the region, some family genealogies, Civil War records, cemetery records, newspapers, and photographs. The other is the Kilton Library, 60 Main St., West Lebanon, NH 03784, tel. 603-298-8544.

Website

Dartmouth College Library is the Baker-Berry Library, 6025 Baker-Berry Library, Hanover, NH 03755, tel. 603-646-2704. The library has family history books and collections, as well as local historical maps. They do not provide a family history research service, but can answer reference type questions about their books and collections. Their internet site has information about the books and collections.

Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Grafton County Historical Societies as listed by CountyOffice.orgWebsite

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

1. Check familysearch.org and see if your ancestor's information is listed there.

2. Check familysearch.org and see if your family's vital records of births, marriages, and deaths are listed.

3. Check familysearch.org and see if your family is listed on the U. S. census records of 1850-1940. You can also see those censuses at the Family History Center using Heritage Quest, and ancestry.com.

4. If you know the county where your ancestor lived, take a look at the free internet site USGenweb Project. A volunteer helper gathers information about ancestors who lived in that county. You might find biographies, cemetery records, deeds, obituaries, queries, vital records, etc. You can leave a query.

5. If you know the town where they lived, look for a town history with a genealogical section. See the section below for how to find out if there is a town history.

6. Read the wiki articles on Grafton County, and on New Hampshire, for ideas of sources. Study the Records Selection Table in the New Hampshire article. This can help you think of new sources to try.

7. Enter your ancestor's information on new.familysearch.org., genforum.com, or ancestry.com. You can also share your quest with the local historical society, genealogical society, or town library and ask for help. Send them a family group form and a pedigree chart.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Grafton County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grafton_County,_New_Hampshire accessed 25 September 2018.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grafton County, New Hampshire page 452, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grafton County, New Hampshire. Page 452-453. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 436.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Hampshire.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Grafton County, New Hampshire," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grafton_County,_New_Hampshire, accessed 20 November 2018.