Gloucester County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Gloucester County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Gloucester
Organized: 1651[1]
Parent County(s): York[2]
Neighboring Counties
James City  • King andQueen  • Mathews  • Middlesex  • York
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaGloucesterCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Gloucester County Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Gloucester County is located in the eastern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for Henry, Duke of Gloucester, third son of Charles I.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Gloucester County Courthouse
7400 Justice Drive/P.O. Box 873
Gloucester, VA 23061-0873
Phone: 804-693-4860
Gloucester County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1863-1890 and 1912-1916, death records from 1865-1890, marriage records from 1853, divorce, probate, court, and land records from 1865[4]

Gloucester County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1863 1853 1865 1865 1865 1865 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • All Gloucester County courthouse records were destroyed by fire in 1820; in 1865 most Gloucester County records were destroyed by fire on April 3, 1865.[6]
  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
  • Weisiger, Benjamin B. Burned County Data 1809-1848 As Found in the Virginia Contested Election Files. Richmond, Va., 1986. FHL Book 975.5 P2w.[7]


Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns
  • Werowocomoco


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Henry Stuart, 1st Duke of Gloucester (1640-1660)

The county is named after Henry Stuart, 1st Duke of Gloucester (1640-1660), third son of King Charles I of England.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (Together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. Includes a section on Abingdon silversmiths.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Gloucester County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Cemeteries of Lower Gloucester County, Virginia, by Harry R. Jordan. Available at FHL.
Epitaphs of Gloucester and Mathews Counties in Tidewater Virginia through 1865, 1959, The Virginia State Library, Richmond, Virginia. FHL US/CAN Book 975.53 V3e.
More Cemeteries of Gloucester County, Virginia, by Harry R. Jordan.
Tyler, Lyon G. "Old Tombstones in Gloucester County," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 2, No. 4 (Apr. 1894):219-229; Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jul. 1894):28-43; Vol. 3, No. 2 (Oct. 1894):115-120; Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jan. 1895):182-189; Vol. 3, No. 4 (Apr. 1895):253-255. Digitized by JSTOR - free. [Alternate title: "Inscriptions on Old Tombs in Gloucester Co., Virginia."]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 13,498
1800 8,181 −39.4%
1810 10,427 27.5%
1820 9,678 −7.2%
1830 10,608 9.6%
1840 10,715 1.0%
1850 10,527 −1.8%
1860 10,956 4.1%
1870 10,211 −6.8%
1880 11,876 16.3%
1890 11,653 −1.9%
1900 12,832 10.1%
1910 12,477 −2.8%
1920 11,894 −4.7%
1930 11,019 −7.4%
1940 9,548 −13.3%
1950 10,343 8.3%
1960 11,919 15.2%
1970 14,059 18.0%
1980 20,107 43.0%
1990 30,131 49.9%
2000 38,293 27.1%
2010 36,858 −3.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782-1783 Enumeration

  • James, Edward Wilson. "Census Gloucester County, 1782-83, Free and Slave, Gloucester County," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Jul. 1904):14-16; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Oct. 1904):185-187; Vol. 12, No. 3 (Jan. 1905):269-271; Vol. 12, No. 4 (Apr. 1905):414-416. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Gloucester County Heads of Families - 1783 at U.S. Census Bureau - free. County begins on page 53.

1784 Enumeration

1890 Union Veterans

  • Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. By Ronald Ray Turner. FHL book 975.5 X2t 1890; film 1425065, item 14. Includes residents of this county.
  • 1890 Veterans Schedules of the U.S. Federal Census. Online at: Ancestry ($). Includes this county.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

A Guide to Church Records in the Library of Virginia

Anglican
(Also known as Church of England and Episcopal Church)
Gotoarrow.png See also Abingdon Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Kingston Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Petsworth Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Ware Parish

Axelson, Edith F. A Guide to Episcopal Church in Virginia. Iberian Publishing Company, Athens, Georgia, ISBN 0-935931-45-7.
Mason, George Carrington. "The Colonial Churches of Gloucester County, Virginia," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul. 1939):325-346; Vol. 19, No. 4 (Oct. 1939). Available at JSTOR ($).
Mason, George Carrington. Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. Richmond, Virginia: Whittet & Shepperson, 1945. Available at FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL(Includes Gloucester County.)
Abingdon Parish
The Register of Abingdon Parish, Gloucester County, Virginia, 1677-1780, Compiled by Robert W. Robins, Honford House, Arlington, Virginia, (c)1981, Library of Congress Catalog Card Number 80-85448
Abingdon Church: A Chronology of its History, 1650-1970. (c)1972, Gloucester County, Virginia.
Kingston Parish
Matheny, Emma R. and Helen K. Yates. Kingston Parish Register, Gloucester and Mathews Counties, Virginia, 1749-1827, Richmond [Virginia]: E.R. Matheny and H.K. Yates, c1963. Reprinted 2004. Original is available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
Mason, George Carrington. "The Colonial Churches of Kingston Parish, Gloucester County, Virginia," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 20, No. 2 (Apr. 1940):261-264. Available at JSTOR ($).
The Vestry Book of Kingston Parish, Mathews County, Virginia (until May 1, 1791, Gloucester County), 1679-1796. Transcribed, annotated, and indexed by C.G. Chamberlayne. Originally published Richmond, Virginia, 1929. ISBN 0-8063-4842-9; available at FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL; digital versions at Ancestry ($)
Petsworth Parish
Chamberlayne, Churchill Gibson. The Vestry Book of Petsworth Parish, Gloucester County, Virginia, 1677-1793 Richmond [Virginia]: Library Board, Division of Purchase and Printing, 1933. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
Ware Parish
The World of Ware Parish in Gloucester County, Virginia, by Spotswood Hunnicutt Jones, The Dietz Press, Richmond, Virginia, (1991). ISBN 0-87517-063-3. Library of Congress Number: 91-91176

Baptist Church

  • Dover Association
The Baptists of Virginia, 1699-1926, by Garnett Ryland, The Virginia Baptist Board of Missions and Education, Richmond, Virginia, 1955
A Chronicle of Christian Heritage, Dover Baptist Association: 1783-1983. by William L. Lumpkin. Skipworth Press, Inc. Richmond, Virginia. (c) 1983, ISBN 0-931804-11-6
A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia, by Robert B. Simple. Revised and extended by Rev. G. W. Beale, Pitt and Dickinson, Publishers, Richmond, Virginia, 1894.
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.

Methodist Church

Gloucester County, Virginia, Methodist Records, by Michael Pollock, New Papyrus Publishing, Athens, Georgia, (c)2007.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Chancery Court
Indexed images of Gloucester County, Virginia Chancery Records 1866-1931 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. Includes wills of residents of Abingdon Parish, Ware Parish, and Gloucester County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Native American
The Chickoyackes Tribe lived in the area in the late 1600s.[10]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Boddie, John Bennett. Southside Virginia Families. 2 vols. 1955-1956; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1976. FHL Book 975.5 D2bs 1976-1996 v. 1-v. 2.
  • Robins, Sally Nelson. History of Gloucester County, Virginia, and Its Families. Richmond, Virginia: West, Johnston & Co., 1893. Reviewed in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 1, No. 4 (Apr. 1894):477-481. Review available at JSTOR ($). Also reviewed in The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 2, No. 3 (Jan. 1894):216. Review available at JSTOR ($).
  • Yurechko, John Otto. Virginians Along and Near the Lower Rapphahannock River, 1607-1799. 2 vols. Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1997-1998. FHL Book 975.5 D2yj v. 1-v. 2. Contents: v. 1. Blake, Brooks (Brook), Churchill, Cook (Cock), Daniel, Dixon, Gore, Kidd, Lewis, Martin, Montague, Taylor and Wood -- v. 2. Brown, Clark, Elliott, Fox (Fowkes, Vaulx), Harrison, McTyre, Moore, Pate, Rawlins (Rollins), Rhodes, Sanders (Saunders) and Williams.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

  • Mason, Polly Cary. Records of Colonial Gloucester County Virginia. 2 vols. 1946-1948; reprint, Baltimore: Clearfield, 2003. Original edition and 1965 reprint available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($). Includes land patent abstracts, 1704/05 rent roll, Gloucester County tax lists 1770-1782, Mathews County tax lists 1774-1791, burgesses, council, and court, county officials, etc.
  • Nugent, Nell Marion. Cavaliers and Pioneers: Abstracts of Virginia Land Patents and Grants 1623-1666. Vol. I (1934; reprint, Baltimore:Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1991). Available at FHL; online at: Hathitrust, Ancestry ($).

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to Gloucester County, Virginia Historical Manuscripts, 1651-1865. Compiled by Charles A, Bodie and William H. Steriner. Archives Divisionn, Virginia State Library, Richmond, Virginia, September 1976. Available at FHL.
  • Mason, Polly Cary. "The Story of Elmington: Gloucester County, Virginia," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 55, No. 3 (Jul. 1947):247-258. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • "...past is prologue", Gloucester County, Virginia, A publication of Gloucester County and The Gloucester Historical and Bicentennial Committee, (c)1973, Library of Congress Card Catalog Number 73-87-914. Reviewed by William M.E. Rachal in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Apr. 1975):214. Review available at JSTOR ($).
  • Sinclair, Caroline Baytop. Gloucester's Past in Pictures. Reviewed by David C. Holly in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 100, No. 3, The Home Front and Beyond: Virginians in the World War 2 Era (Jul. 1992):462-463. Review available at JSTOR ($).
  • Six Periods in the History of Gloucester County. DeHardit Press.
  • Swem, E.G. "Views of Yorktown and Gloucester Town, 1755," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 54, No. 2 (Apr. 1946):99-105. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • With Reverence for the Past: Gloucester County, Virginia. by Martha W. McCarthney, The Dietz Press, Richmond, Virginia.(c)2001.ISBN 0-9710690-0-X. Reviewed by Emily Salmon in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 109, No. 4 (2001):419-420. Review available at JSTOR ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

James City CountyYork CountyMathews CountyMiddlesex CountyKing and Queen CountyVA GLOUCESTER.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. Online at: Ancestry ($). Identifies some Gloucester County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some Gloucester County militia officers; see place name index.
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Internet Archive. Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Gloucester County, see p. 82.

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshals of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital versions at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Eastern District, Gloucester County on page 130.
  • Clayton, Jasper. "Officers Appointed by the Gloucester Co. (Va.) Committee of Safety in 1775," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Oct. 1906):123-124. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Hatch, Charles E. "Gloucester Point in the Siege of Yorktown 1781," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 20, No. 2 (Apr. 1940):265-284. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • The Governors' Island, Gwynn's Island, Virginia, During the Revolution. By Peter Jennings Wrike.(c) 1993, The Gwynn's Island Museum, Gwynn, Virginia. ISBN 1-883911-00-1 (pbk.). ISBN 1-883911-01-X (cloth).

Regiments. Service men in Gloucester County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Gloucester County supplied soldiers for the:

- 7th Virginia Regiment

Revolutionary War - Gloucester District Battalion

  • A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787, Compiled by E. M. Sanchez-Saavedra, Willow Bend Books, Westminster, Maryland, ISBN 1-58549-652-9.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). See Vol. 5, Virginia, Gloucester County, p. 81. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Regiments. Gloucester County men served in the 21st Regiment.[11]


Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Gloucester County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 1st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12 months, 1861-62) (Mullins') (Confederate). Company A (Gloucester Light Dragoons).[12]
- 24th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company C (Chesapeake Rangers).[13]
- 26th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (The Gloucester Invincibles) and Company K (The Gloucester Grays).[14]
- 34th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Gloucester Artillery).[15]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

  • "Family Account of Mrs. Lucy Ann Page, Dec'd, Late of Gloucester County, Virginia," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 11, No. 4 (Apr. 1903):251-260. Available at JSTOR ($).

Officials

  • Mason, Polly Cary. Records of Colonial Gloucester County Virginia. 2 vols. 1946-1948; reprint, Baltimore: Clearfield, 2003. Original edition and 1965 reprint available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($). Includes land patent abstracts, 1704/05 rent roll, Gloucester County tax lists 1770-1782, Mathews County tax lists 1774-1791, burgesses, council, and court, county officials, etc.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

The Gloucester Genealogical Society of Virginia publishes a journal called The Family Tree Searcher. Most volumes are available for free in PDF format on their Gloucester County, Virginia Genealogy website. Some volumes are in FamilySearch Digital Library: FamilySearch Digital Library Vol 11 & FamilySearch Digital Library Vol 12

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
Local Court

  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. Richmond, Virginia: W.L. Hopkins, 1987. Available at FHL. [Includes Gloucester County.]
  • King, George H.S. "Will of Robert Singleton of Gloucester County," [1725] The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 64, No. 1 (Jan. 1956):103-104. Available at JSTOR ($).

London Courts

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Abingdon Parish, Ware Parish and Gloucester County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 Ancestry — index, incomplete ($)
  • 1862-1896 Images of Wills. Virginia Pioneers ($)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Online School Indexes and Records

  • Bagby, George F. "William G. Price and the Gloucester Agricultural and Industrial School," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 108, No. 1 (2000):45-84. Available at JSTOR ($).

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1704 "Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 28 (1920):207-218, 328-339; Vol. 29 (1921):18-28, 337-343, 402-412; Vol. 30 (1922):21-30, 280-285, 341-347; Vol. 31 (1923):70-75, 153-163, 215-231, 314-318; Vol. 32 (1924):69-75, 144-158, 281-287, 338-343; Vol. 33 (1925):47-50, 359-370; Vol. 34 (1926):113-119, 252-258, 313, 321. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of VMHB at JSTOR ($). [Gloucester County appears in 32:281-287, 338-343.]
  • 1704 Hansford, Thelma. Tax Lists York County 1782, 1783, 1784; Rent Roll York County 1704, Gloucester 1704, Warwick 1704; James City County Taxes 1768. Virginia?: T.I. Hansford?, 1950. Available at FHL.
  • 1704/05, 1770-1782] Mason, Polly Cary. Records of Colonial Gloucester County Virginia. 2 vols. 1946-1948; reprint, Baltimore: Clearfield, 2003. Original edition and 1965 reprint available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($). Includes land patent abstracts, 1704/05 rent roll, Gloucester County tax lists 1770-1782, Mathews County tax lists 1774-1791, burgesses, council, and court, county officials, etc.
  • 1770-1771, 1774-1775] Woodson, Robert F. and Isobel B. Woodson. Virginia Tithables from Burned Record Counties: Buckingham, 1773-1774; Gloucester, 1770-1771, 1774-1775; Hanover, 1763 and 1770; James City, 1768-1769; Stafford, 1768 and 1773. Richmond, Virginia: I.B. Woodson, 1970. Available at FHL. ISBN 0-89308-306-2.
  • 1774-1775 Billups, John R. Tithables, 1774-1775, of Kingston Parish, also Billups' Accounts, 1787-1842. MSS., Library of Virginia, Richmond, Virginia; also available at FHL. [Kingston Parish was located in Gloucester County at the time, but later fell within the bounds of Mathews County.]
  • 1782-1799 Gloucester County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1799 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782 Land Tax Records, 1782, Tidewater Virginia Families, Vol. 1, No. 4 (Feb. 1993); Vol. 2, No. 1 (May 1993).
  • 1782 1782 Land Tax Records online at Genealogy Trails - free.
  • 1782-1820 Land Tax Lists, 1782-1820, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 35, No. 2 (Spring 1997).
  • 1782-1815 Heinegg, Paul. "Gloucester County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1815," Free African Americans.com, available online. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Gloucester County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • 1789, 1799 Indexed images of the 1789 and 1799 Personal Property Tax Lists of Gloucester County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1790, 1800 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1800 Land Tax Lists of Gloucester County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1794 James, Edward Wilson. "Carriage Owners, Gloucester County, 1784," [or 1794] The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 13, No. 3 (Jan. 1906):313-314. Available at JSTOR ($). [Abstracted from 1794 Personal Property Tax Lists.]
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 24, No. 3 (Jul. 1980); Vol. 24, No. 4 (Oct. 1980).
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Gloucester County is included in Vol. 3.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Gloucester County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Gloucester County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Middle Peninsula African-American Genealogical & Historical SocietyWebsite

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Gloucester County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to Gloucester County, Virginia Historical Manuscripts, 1651-1865, Archives Division, Virginia State Library, Richmond, September 1976. FHL US/CAN Book 975.532 A3b.
  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. "Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t [For Gloucester County, see pp. 57-58]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Newberry
  3. Gloucesterva
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 2, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  7. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Burned County Data 1809-1848," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 31, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1987):60-61.
  8. Newberry
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Gloucester _ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gloucester_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 15 January 2020.
  10. Charles Campbell, History of the Colony and Ancient Dominion of Virginia (Philadelphia, Pa.: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1860), 267-268. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  11. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 91. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  12. Robert J. Driver, 5th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 127.
  13. Darryl Holland, 24th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 128.
  14. Alexander Lloyd Wiatt, 26th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 13.
  15. Johnny L. Scott, 34th Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1999). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 135.