Glamorgan, Wales Genealogy
|Glamorgan Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Glamorgan County, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1542-1911 - Wales Court and Miscellaneous Records, 1542-1911 at FamilySearch — images
- 1570-1994 - Glamorganshire, Wales, Anglican Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1570-1994 at Ancestry.com - index & images, ($)
- 1650-1900 - Wales, Marriage Bonds, 1650-1900 at FamilySearch — index
- 1678-2001 - Wales, Parish Registers, 1678-2001 at FamilySearch — index
- 1832-1978 - Glamorganshire, Wales, Electoral Registers, 1832-1978 at Ancestry.com - index & images, ($)
- 1845-1920 - Glamorganshire, Wales, Glamorgan County Ayslum Records, 1845-1920 at Ancestry.com — index & images, ($)
- 1850-1920 - Glamorgan, Wales, Workhouse Registers, 1850-1920 at Ancestry.com — index & images, ($)
- 1904-1920 - Cardiff, Wales, Index to Police Constabulary Registers, 1904-1920 at Ancestry.com — index, ($)
Background[edit | edit source]
Glamorgan was sometimes, incorrectly, known as Glamorganshire. A shire is a traditional term for a partition of land. In the United Kingdom, a shire often referred to ancient counties with names that ended in “shire.” These counties are usually, but not always, named after their county town. In Wales, the county Glamorgan is occasionally referred to with the “shire” suffix. Records for this area can be searched using both names.
The county was abolished in 1974.
Historic Glamorgan[edit | edit source]
Glamorgan, or occasionally Glamorganshire, (Welsh: Sir Forgannwg or Morgannwg) was one of the thirteen historic counties of Wales. It was a maritime county bounded to the north by Breconshire, to the east by Monmouthshire, to the south by the Bristol Channel, and to the west by Carmarthenshire.
The county was created following the Act of Union of 1536, between Wales and England, and was formed from the ancient Lordship of Glamorgan, Gower and Kilvey.
The administrative county of Glamorgan was created in 1889 by the Local Government Act 1888. The county was governed by an elected county council, who took over the functions of the Quarter Sessions courts. However, the county boroughs of Cardiff, Swansea and later Merthyr Tydfil had their own civic administrations.
The 1971 census recorded the population of Glamorgan as 1,264,800.
Motto: A Ddioddefws A Orfu (English: He who suffered has conquered).
Chapman Code: GLA
1974-1996 Glamorgan[edit | edit source]
Under the Local Government Act 1972, the county and administrative county of Glamorgan was abolished on April 1, 1974, with three new counties being established, West Glamorgan, Mid Glamorgan and South Glamorgan.
Glamorgan Abolished and Subdivided[edit | edit source]
- Following further local government reorganisation, the counties of West Glamorgan, Mid Glamorgan and South Glamorgan were abolished on April 1, 1996.
- The county of West Glamorgan was divided into the newly created county boroughs of:
- Swansea and
- Neath Port Talbot.
- The county of Mid Glamorgan was divided into the county boroughs of:
- Merthyr Tydfil,
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
- and part of Caerphilly.
- The county of South Glamorgan was divided into the county of:
- the Vale of Glamorgan and
- the county and city of Cardiff.
Parishes[edit | edit source]
- See a list of the historic parishes in Glamorgan with links to their pages.
- Interactive map of Glamorgan Parishes.
Hundreds[edit | edit source]
Topics[edit | edit source]
- Glamorgan Archives
- Glamorgan Family History Society Pedigree Collection
- The Aberkenfig Resource Centre at Bridgend.
- Register of Cottage Leases Dowlais Iron Company 1818 to 1877
- Glamorgan Censuses
- Glamorgan Electoral Registers
- Glamorgan Estate Rentals
- Glamorgan Maritime Records
- Glamorgan Nonconformist Records
- Parishes of Historic Glamorgan
- Glamorgan Police Records
- Glamorgan Poor Law Unions
- Municipal cemeteries in Glamorgan
- Glamorgan Societies
Research tools[edit | edit source]
- The Glamorgan Record Office in Cardiff.
- The West Glamorgan Archive Service in Swansea.
- Swansea Wills
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Wales, Glamorgan, Parish Register Marriages - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Wales, West Glamorgan, Elecorral Registers - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Wales, Glamorgan Parish Registers - FamilySearch Historical Records
- 1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor
- Parish map
- 1885 Borough Map of Swansea: Courtesy of London Ancestor
- Maps and other information around Old Merthyr Tydfil
- Glamorganshire Resources and Help pages RootsChat Glamorganshire Resources and Help pages. (Free).
- Dissenter Index for Glamorgan & Monmouthshire
- Rootsweb Glamorgan board
- Wales south-east genealogy
- Boundary Commission Map 1885 Use this for determining which division a family lived in when searching electoral registers. Petty session divisions are also included.
- Cardiff Merchant Marine Indexes, Agreement & Crew Lists
- St. Bride's Super Ely
- Swansea Wills
- Glamorgan Archives