Georgetown County, South Carolina, Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Georgetown County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Georgetown
Organized: 29 Jul 1769[1]
Parent County(s): Craven
Neighboring Counties
Berkeley  • Charleston  • Horry  • Marion  • Williamsburg
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Georgetown County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-georgetown.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

King George II of Great Britain (1683-1760)

It is named for George III of the United Kingdom. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Georgetown County Courthouse
401 Cleland Street
Georgetown, SC 29440
Phone: 843-545-3215
Georgetown County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken [3]

Georgetown County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1783 1866 1862 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

In 1862 during the Civil War, Georgetown's records were sent to Chesterfield courthouse for safekeeping. They were destroyed there by fire during General Sherman's Union army occupation of that city in March 1865. Deed books have suffered heavy record loss.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Porter, A. Toomer. Led On!: Step by Step; Scenes from Clerical, Military Educational, and Plantation Life in the South, 1828-1898; an Autobiography. New York, N.Y.: The Knickerbocker Press, 1898. FamilySearch Digital Library, FHL Collection 1033568 Item 2.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Georgetown County, South Carolina, online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 22,122
1800 22,938 3.7%
1810 15,679 −31.6%
1820 17,603 12.3%
1830 19,943 13.3%
1840 18,274 −8.4%
1850 20,647 13.0%
1860 21,305 3.2%
1870 16,161 −24.1%
1880 19,613 21.4%
1890 20,857 6.3%
1900 22,846 9.5%
1910 22,270 −2.5%
1920 21,716 −2.5%
1930 21,738 0.1%
1940 26,352 21.2%
1950 31,762 20.5%
1960 34,798 9.6%
1970 33,500 −3.7%
1980 42,461 26.7%
1990 46,302 9.0%
2000 55,797 20.5%
2010 60,158 7.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1790

  • Grant, Marvin A. 1790 Census Georgetown District South Carolina: A Full Transcription of the 1790 Census of the Georgetown District, South Carolina. Kinston, N.C.: M.A. Grant, 2004. FHL Collection 975.789 X2g 1790

1810

  • Teel, Dorothy Owens and Three Rivers Historical Society (Hemingway, S.C.). The 1810 Census of Georgetown District and the 1810 Census of Horry District, South Carolina. 199-?. FHL Collection 975.78 X2t 1810

1850

  • Three Rivers Historical Society. Georgetown County [South Carolina] 1850 Census. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1985. FHL Collection 975.789 X2g 1850

1860

  • Wyndham, Melissa J. The 1860 Census of Georgetown County, South Carolina. n.p.: n.p., n.d. FHL Collection 975.789 X2w

1880

  • Tell, Dorothy Owens. 1880 Census, Georgetown County, South Carolina. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society (South Carolina), 1985. FHL Collection 975.789 X2t 1880

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

  • Mitchell, Thomas R. An Oration Delivered in the Baptist Church in Georgetown, S.C. on Wednesday, the 24th of June, 1818: In Commemoration of St. John the Baptist: By Appointment of the Members of Winyaw Lodge No. 69, Ancient Free Masons. Georgetown, S.C.: Winyaw Intelligence Press, 1818. Digital version at Internet Archive.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Georgetown

Methodist
The following Georgetown County church records have been indexed on the International Genealogical Index:[8]

Episcopal Church
Before 1785, residents of what is now Georgetown County were served by these colonial parishes.[9]

After 1785, residents of Georgetown County were also served by this parish. Click the link to see a description of the parish records held by the South Carolina Historical Society:

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

  • Bridwell, Ronald E. "... That We Should Have a Port..." A History of the Port of Georgetown, South Carolina, 1732-1865. 2 vols. Georgetown, S.C.: The Georgetown Times, 1982. Volume I reviewed by Arthur P. Wade, The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 84, No. 3 (Jul., 1983), p. 182; digital version at JSTOR ($). Volume II reviewed in The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 92, No. 3 (Jul., 1991), p. 224; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1904-1942 South Carolina, Georgetown, Passenger Lists, 1904-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans
Gotoarrow.pngGeorgetown (includes a detailed list of plantations)

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

  • Fairbourn, Joann Carroll. Georgetown Families Containing Families Living in Georgetown, South Carolina, 1750-1850. Austin, Texas: J.C. Fairbourn, n.d. FHL 975.789/G1 D2f

Family Histories

  • Andress Andress, Gerald McCormack, Guy Andress, and Mary F. Andress. The Andress Family. Welland, Ontario: G. Andress, (1985?). FHL Collection 929.271 An25a
  • Baxter - Baxter, Lionel Francis and John William Baxter. A Baxter Family from South Carolina: Scotch-Irish Pioneers from Ulster. Los Altos, Calif.: J.W. Baxter, 1989. FHL Collection 929.273 B335b
  • Bingham - Marsh, Mary Bingham. Bingham or Bigham - Ancestry and De[s]cendants of James Bingham or Bigham Sr. of Marion District, S.C. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1995. FHL Collection 929.273 B513ma
  • Bird - Haidek, Martha Da Lee. The Descendants of Stephen, Jeptha, and Moses Byrd: From South Carolina and Alabama to Texas. Oklahoma City, Okla.: M. Haidek, 1994. FHL Collection 929.273 B996hm
  • Bossard - Riggs, Lucie Donalson and Earl M. Richards. Genealogical Data on Bossard, Bosart, Buzzard, Halsey, Henshaw and Shackleford Families, ca. 1574-ca. 1941. MSS. Microfilmed 1967. FHL Collection 483562 Item 3
  • Coggeshall - Coggeshall, Robert Walden. Ancestors and Kin: Coggeshall (Throckmorton, Billings, Collin, Cahoone), Pawley (Shorey, Alston, Temple, Neville), Wilds (Lide, Kolb, Terrel, Pledger), Walden (Caldwell), Hanson (Hage, Lupient, Crely, Benter), Thomas (Wailes, Howard, Fullwood, Gray), Pennington (McDade), Chaplin (Ladson, Stanyarne, Fripp, Toomer), Palmer (Bellinger, Sams, Brewton, Barnwell), Ebbett (Barnes, Frye, Putnam, Rogers). Spartanburg, S.C.: R.W. Coggeshall, 1988. FHL Collection 929.273 C656cr
  • Dubose - Wells, Laurence K. "A Note on the Dubose Family," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Spring 1987):111-112. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 15
  • Durant Andrea, Leonardo. Durant. Typescript, 1961, Polk County Historical Library, Bartow, Fla. FHL Collection 978080 Item 2
  • Edwards Hargrett, Felix. The Edwards Family of Tattnall County and Bryan County, Georgia: A Sketch: With Notices of Allied Families, Mikell, O'Neill, Sands, Archer. Athens, Ga.: Georgian Press, 1984. FHL Collection 929.273 A1 no. 4429
  • Ford - Patillo, Edward. "Ford of the Low Country," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Reseach, Vol. 32, No. 2 (Spring 2004):63-72; Vol. 32, No. 3 (Summer 2004):133-142; Vol. 33, No. 1 (Winter 2005):44-52. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 32-33
  • Gibbons Hersperger, Laura Gibbons. Michael Gibbons of South Carolina and His Descendants: History and Genealogy of the Gibbons Family and Related Families. Ann Arbor, Mich.: McNaughton-Gunn, Inc., 1988. FHL Collection 929.273 G352h
  • Gourdin - Gourdin, John Raymond. Gourdin the History and Genealogy of a French-African-American Family from Georgetown County, South Carolina (1830-1994). Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1995. FHL Collection 929.273 G742gj
  • Green - Green, W. Hughson. The Green Family of South Carolina: An Account of Some of the Ancestors and Descendants of Major John Thompson Green of the American Revolution and, in Particular, an Account of the Descendants of William Green (Second Son of Major John Thompson Green), Who Married Eliza McDonald: Together with an Account of Some of the Ancestors of Eliza McDonald and Some of the Ancestors of Her Mother, Elizabeth English. [Spartanburg, S.C.]: W.H. Green, 1958. FHL Collection 929.273 G823a
  • Hamil - Hamil, Betty. From Ireland to Texas (History of the Hamil Family). Abilene, Texas: B. Hamil, 1984. FHL Collection 929.273 H18hb
  • Jones The Jones, Skipper and Davis Family of England, Wales and America. Reprint, Salem, Mass.: Higginson Genealogical Books, 199_? FHL Collection 929.273 A1 no. 7120
  • Lewis Lewis, J.D. My Neck of the Woods: The Lewis Families of Southeastern North Carolina and Northeastern South Carolina. Little River, S.C.: J.D. Lewis, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 L585Ljd; CD-ROM no. 1036
  • Marion - Salley, A.S. Belle Island Plantation. Typescript. Microfilmed 1974. FHL Collection 954251 Item 6
  • Potts Revised Pedigree, Potts of Georgetown, S.C. MSS., South Carolina Historical Society, Charleston, S.C. Microfilmed 1952. FHL 22795 Item 28
  • Rigdon - Gillett, Jean Thomson. Descendants of Ephraim Rigdon and the Southern Migration. 1998. FHL Collection 929.273 R448g
  • Rogers Brown, William Morgan. Rogers--Rodgers Family Newsletter. Archbold, Ohio: W.M. Brown, 1997-. FHL Collection 929.27305 R631rr
  • Stanley - Guttery, Florence and Mrs. John McQueen Guttery. Stanley and Kindred Families. Jasper, Ala.: F. & J.M. Guttery, 1960. FHL Collection 929.273 St25g
  • Swan - Pearce, Helen Thomas. Swan Family Record. Typescript, National Library, D.A.R. Microfilmed 1971. FHL Collection 875395 Item 8
  • White - Strawn, Anne White. The Ancestors and Descendants of John White and Sarah Elizabeth Green: With Allied Lines. Spartanburg, S.C.: A.W. Strawn, 1984. FHL Collection 929.273 W584s

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Tracing Land Currently in Georgetown County with Parent Counties and Districts [10]
Date Government Office
1868-Present Georgetown County
1865-1868 Georgetown District
1769-1864 Georgetown District Records Lost
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants

Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification.All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative. Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Bull, Henry DeSaussure. The Society of Colonial Wars in the State of South Carolina. 1935. Digital version at Internet Archive. [Address about the history of Colonial Georgetown.]
  • Rogers, George C. The History of Georgetown County, South Carolina. Columbia, S.C.: University of South Carolina Press, 1970.
  • Gregg, Alexander.History of the Old Cheraws Containing an Account of the Aborigines of the Pedee, the First White Settlements, their Subsequent Progress, Civil Changes, the Struggle of the Revolution, and the Growth of the Country Afterward, Extending from About A.D. 1730 to 1810 with Notices of Families and Sketches of Individuals (Baltimore, Maryland Genealogical Pub. Co., 1967 ), 629 pages. Book at FHL 975.7 F2g 1967
  • Rogers, George C. The History of Georgetown County, South Carolina (Columbia, South Carolina University of South Carolina Press, c1970 ), 565 pages. Book found at FHL 975.789 H2r and Other Libraries

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Marion CountyHorry CountyCharleston CountyBerkeley CountyWilliamsburg CountySC GEORGETOWN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Georgetown County for European settlers included:[11]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Georgetown County, p. 185. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Georgetown County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Georgetown County:

- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company D
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company D, Company E, Company F, and Company I
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Ferguson's), Company E
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Ward's), Company F Roster
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company A and Company F
- 9th Battalion, South Carolina infantry (Smith's) (Pee Dee Legion), Company G
- 10th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A (also known as Georgetown Rifle Guards) Roster, Roster
- 10th Regiment South Carolina Volunteer Infantry. Internet site. Gives a brief history of the regiment and a roster for Company A.
- Company A, 10th South Carolina Infantry Regiment Marker. Historical Marker Database. Internet site. Gives information about the marker and shows pictures.
- 15th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company G and Wm. Mcagne Company (also known as Carvers Bay Palmetto Rifle Guards)
- South Carolina State Troop Regiments Seed Corn Units, Junior Reserves, 3rd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia)

Other Resources

  • Rogers, George C. The History of Georgetown County, South Carolina, (Columbia, South Carolina University of South Carolina Press, c1970 ), 565 pages. Civil War pages 387-415. Book found at FHL 975.789 H2r and Other Libraries

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Georgetown County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

  • South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
Abstracts of wills, Georgetown County, South Carolina: will books A and B [ca. 1838-1929] By Elizabeth J. Ashford ; transcribed by Dorothy O. Teel. FHL Book 975.789 P2a

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Georgetown County.

Published abstracts

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Marriages - Indexes

  • 1791-1861 Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861 by Brent H. Holcomb [12]FHL Collection WorldCat
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found insome counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths - Indexes and Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Georgetown County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Georgetown County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

The Georgetown County Public Library System has four branches which are listed below.
To view their catalog online Click Here.
Their Digital Library contains collections of digitized photographs.
They offer their patrons access to a Digital Media Library through the Palmetto Library Consortium where they can download audio and e-books. Georgetown County Library - Main Branch
Address:
405 Cleland Street,
Georgetown, South Carolina 29440
Telephone: (843)545-3300
Fax: (843)545-3392
Hours: Monday to Thursday 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., Friday to Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Sunday (Sept. - May) 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
The Patricia Doyle Local History Room of the Georgetown County Public Library provides access to information regarding the history of Georgetown County and the genealogy of its citizens. It has county, state, and federal censuses, cemetery and burial records, obituaries, and a variety of newspapers on microfilm. There are also vertical files on a variety of topics, enlarged photographs from their Digital Library, area high school yearbooks, and city directories. Waccamae Neck Branch
Address
:
24 Commerce Lane
Pawley's Island, South Carolina 29585
Telephone: (843)545-3623
Fax: (843)545-3624
Hours: Monday to Wednesday 9:00 am to 6:00 p.m., Thursday 9:00 a. m. to 7:00.pm., Friday to Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Andrews Branch
Address:
105 North Morgan, Andrews, South Carolina 29510
Telephone: (843)545-3621
FAX: (843)545-3622
Hours: Monday 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., Tuesday 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Wednesday 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., Thursday 10:00 a.m., to- 6:00 p.m, Friday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Saturday 9:00 a.m.to 1:00 p.m. Carcers Bay Branch
Address:
13048 Choppee Road
Hemingway, South Carolina 29554-3318
Telephone: (843)545-3515
FAX: (843)558-6680
Hours: Tuesday 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., Wednesday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Thursday toFriday 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Museums[edit | edit source]

See information about the Georgetown County Museum below in connection with the Georgetown Historical Society.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Georgetown County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Wikipedia contributors, Georgetown County, South Carolina in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Georgetown_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 27/06/2019
  3. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgetown County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  5. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Georgetown County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Georgetown_County%2C_South_Carolina#Communities, accessed 24 December 2019.
  8. Hugh Wallis, IGI Batch Numbers for South Carolina, USA, accessed 14 September 2010.
  9. "South Carolina Districts and Parishes 1770" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_districts_parishes_1770.html (accessed 11 May 2011).
  10. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  11. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  12. Holcomb, Brent H., Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861, Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.