Fremont County, Colorado Genealogy
Guide to Fremont County, Colorado ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Fremont County Courthouse
615 Macon Rm 100
Canon City, CO 81212
Fremont County Website
County Clerk has marriage and land records;
Clerk district Court has divorce, probate and court records 
Fremont County, Colorado Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Other links to Cities and towns found in Fremont County include:
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
In 1860, present-day Colorado was enumerated in the Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, and Utah Territories. Colorado Territory was created in 1861 and was enumerated as such in the 1870 Census. A state census was taken in 1885 for Colorado. See links listed below.
State and Territory Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1860 United States Census, 1860 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Colorado was included in the 1860 Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, and Utah Territories Censuses - How to Use this Collection
- 1870 United States Census, 1870 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Colorado Territory Census - How to Use this Collection
- 1885 Colorado State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch - Index and images
- 1885 Colorado State Census, 1885 at Ancestry - ($), Index and images
Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1860-1940 Colorado Census Records from 1860 to 1940 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1880 Mortality Schedule for Fremont County. This schedule is available at Ancestry.com.
- Persons who died the year ending May 31, 1880.
- Name; age; sex; color; whether single, married, widowed, or divorced
- place of birth; where father born; where mother born;
- profession, occupation, or trade;
- month in which the person died;
- disease or cause of death;
- how long a resident of the county?;
- place where disease was contracted, if not Fremont County;
- name of attending physician.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.
Online Church Records
- 1743-1970 U.S., Presbyterian Records, 1743-1970 at Ancestry — ($); Index and images; Dates vary for each county
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Canon City
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Numerous records are available at Colorado Archives. To use this link scroll down the page to where it asks for Record Type. Click there and scroll down the list to the records you want and select. The next field asks for county. Select the county you want and then click on Search. You can narrow the search by adding the additional information it asks for.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.
Online Land Records
- Colorado DPA Land Records - Index only; Choose Record Type, and search either "Land Patents" or "Land Records."
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796-1907 U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1863-1908 U.S. Homestead Records 1863-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
- 1862-1908 Denver Land Office Records, 1862-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index only
For more information see Colorado Land and Property
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
1813-1890 The county is named for explorer and presidential candidate John C. Fremont (1813-1890), called by historians the Great Pathfinder.
Crossing The Plains in 1864 and Early History of Fremont County, by William H. Callen.
Online County Histories
- Experiments in Colorado Colonization, 1869-1872. c1926. Edited by James Field Willard and Colin B. Goodykoontz. Boulder, Colorado : University of Colorado. Online at: Hathitrust; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of the Arkansas Valley, Colorado. (Includes History of Fremont County, by B. F. Rockafellow.) 1881. Chicago : O.L. Baskin & Co. Online at: Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Pioneers of Fremont County, Colorado. 2003. By Barbara Ahart. Canon City, Colorado : B. Ahart, 2003. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Colorado - shows boundary changes for Colorado Counties
- Colorado Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Online Collections[edit | edit source]
- Colorado State Archives Veterans Grave Registration Index at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Military - Grave
- Colorado Civil War Casualties Index at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Civil War Casualty
- 1861-1865 Colorado State Archives Volunteers Transcript of Record Index (1861-1865) at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Transcript of Record
Spanish-American War (1898)
- 1898 Colorado Volunteers in the Spanish American War, 1898 - at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Span-Am War Soldiers
World War I
- 1916-1919 Colorado State Archives Denver War Risk Insurance Applicants, 1916-1919 - at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, War Risk Insurance
- 1917-1922 Colorado State Archives World War I Civilian Service Questionnaires, 1917-1922 - at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, WWI Questionnaire
- 1917-1918 Colorado Soldiers in WWI, 1917-1918 at Ancestry.com — ($), index
World War II
- 1940-1945 Colorado, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1966 & 1968 Colorado State Archives Vietnam War Casualties - June-December 1966 & January-December 1968 - at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Vietnam Deaths
For further information see Colorado Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1868-1990 Colorado, State and Federal Naturalization Records, 1868-1990 at Ancestry ($); Index and images
- 1876-1990 Colorado Naturalization Records, 1876-1990 at FamilySearch — index and images; District Court records - How to Use this Collection
See the FamilySearch wiki page for Colorado Naturalization and Citizenship.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
For more information, see Colorado Newspapers.
Colorado Newspapers Online
- Colorado Online Historical Newspapers online - in the Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection by the Colorado State Library
- Colorado Newspapers at Ancestry.com - ($)
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of Colorado newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of Colorado newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some Colorado newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
Colorado Newspaper Catalogs
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Microfilm of years of the Canon City Daily Record are housed at the Royal Gorge Museum and History Center. Contact them for specific years.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
- 1933-1936 Fremont County Old Age Pensions 1933-1936 at Colorado State Archives - index, select record type for search
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
- The Colorado Magazine was published by the Colorado Historical Society from 1923 to 1980 and contains hundreds of articles about significant Colorado and Western people and events. Since 1980, the quarterly has been titled Colorado Heritage. (Denver)
- Pinon Whispers, published quarterly by the Southeastern Colorado Genealogy Society. (Pueblo)
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.
You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1875–1974 Colorado Wills and Probate Records 1875-1974 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.
- 1913-1943 Colorado State Archives has put the Fremont County Inheritance Tax Records Index for 1913-1943 on-line.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. 
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1784-2007 Colorado, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1809-2011 Western States Marriage Index, 1809-2011 - Index, incomplete, list of counties included
- 1853-2006 Colorado Statewide Marriage Index, 1853-2006 at FamilySearch.org - Index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1858-1939 Colorado Marriages 1858-1939 at Denver Public Library - index
- 1862-2006 Colorado, County Marriages and State Indexes, 1862-2006 at Ancestry ($), Index and images
- 1864-1995 Colorado, County Marriages, 1864-1995 at FamilySearch - Index and images
- 1900-1939 Colorado, Statewide Marriage Index, 1900-1939 at Ancestry.com - ($); Browseable images of original index - How to Use this Collection
- 1874-1876 Marriage certificates and licenses, 1874-1876
- 1925-1929 Marriage certificate index, 1925-1929
- 1975 - 2004 Colorado, Marriages, 1975 - 2004 at MyHeritage - index and images ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. 
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1851-1985 Colorado, Divorce Index, 1851-1985 at Ancestry - ($); Index only
- 1861-1941 Denver Public Library Colorado Divorce Index 1861-1941 at Denver Public Library - index
- 1878 - 2004 Colorado, Divorces, 1878 - 2004 at MyHeritage - index ($)
- 1900-1930 Colorado Statewide Divorce Index, 1900-1930. These records are found at FamilySearch. The index is arranged in alphabetical order.
- 1900-1939 Colorado Statewide Divorce Index, 1900-1939 at FamilySearch - Browseable images of original index - How to Use this Collection
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Fremont County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Colorado Archives and Libraries.
The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Fremont County, Colorado Genealogy in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
1880-1939 Divorce Index
1883-1900 Mine Accidents, Non - fatal
1936-1942 Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments
1966-1968 Vietnam Deaths
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Fremont County. For state-wide library facilities, see Colorado Archives and Libraries.
Canon City Public Library
516 Macon Ave
Canon City, CO 81212
Cotopaxi School/Community Library
345 County Road 12
Cotopaxi, CO 81223
John C. Fremont Library District (Florence)
130 Church Ave
Florence, CO 81226
Penrose Community Library District
35 7th Avenue
Penrose, Colorado 81240
Museums[edit | edit source]
Florence Pioneer Museum
100 E Front St
Florence, CO 81226
Museum of Colorado Prisons
201 N 1st Street
Cañon City, CO
Royal Gorge Regional Museum and History Center
612 Royal Gorge Blvd
Cañon City, CO 81212
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Fremont County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Colorado Societies.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- History Colorado Center, Denver, Colorado
- Fremont County, Colorado Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Fremont County, Colorado Genealogy and History, part of the Genealogy Trails Group
- Lone Pine Ancestors, a Fremont County website written and maintained by Mary Ann Thomas, copyright 2001. Some information may not be updated.
- Southeastern Colorado Genealogical Society, Pueblo, Colorado
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, "Fremont County, Colorado Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/colo/fremont/ 6/28/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Fremont, Colorado," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fremont_County,_Colorado 6/28/2017.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fremont County, Colorado. Page 98 ; .
- Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 92.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Fremont County, Colorado," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fremont_County,_Colorado, accessed 28 May 2017.
- William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 51-54; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 86. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
- William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 54.
- Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov