Frederick County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Frederick County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Winchester
Organized: 1743[1]
Parent County(s): Orange[2]
Neighboring Counties
Berkeley (WV)  • Clarke  • Hampshire (WV)  • Hardy (WV)  • Jefferson (WV)  • Morgan (WV)  • Shenandoah  • Warren  • Winchester (Independent City)
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaFrederickWinchesterCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Frederick County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Frederick County is located in the northwestern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and shares a border with West Virginia. The county was named for Frederick, Prince of Wales (1707-51), eldest son of King George II of Great Britain and father of King George III.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Frederick County Courthouse
5 North Kent Street
Winchester, VA 22601-5037
Phone: 540-722-7208
Frederick County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1853-1912, marriage records from 1782, death records 1853-1896, divorce records from 1870 probate and land records from 1743[4]

Frederick County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1782 1853 1743 1743 1743 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1880
  • Frederick Parish Register baptisms, marriages, and burials are lost
  • Pre-1764 Frederick Parish Vestry Minutes are lost
  • No court records 1738 to 1743[6]


For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Frederick Prince of Wales.JPG

The county is named after Prince Frederick of Wales (1707-1751), the son of King George II of Great Britain.

  • Nine square miles of Frederick County were annexed to the City of Winchester
  • The southern portion of the county was taken in 1772 to form Dunmore County (later called Shenandoah County).

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Winchester silversmiths.]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Frederick County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

  • 1800-1986 Virginia, Jewish Cemetery Records Index, ca. 1800-1986 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • Rosenberger, Fietta. "St. John's Lutheran Church Cemetery (Old Furnace), Frederick County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1976):275-279; Vol. 21, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1977):36-42. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Triplett, Ralph L. "Frederick County, Virginia, Cemeteries," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1971):97-98. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Triplett, Ralph L. "Rock Enon Cemetery, Frederick County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 16, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1972):63-64. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Triplett, Ralph L. "The Old Johnson Graveyard, Frederick County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1975):45. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Triplett, Ralph L. "Triplett Cemetery, Frederick County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1971):9-10. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 19,681
1800 24,744 25.7%
1810 22,574 −8.8%
1820 24,706 9.4%
1830 26,046 5.4%
1840 14,242 −45.3%
1850 15,975 12.2%
1860 16,546 3.6%
1870 16,596 0.3%
1880 17,553 5.8%
1890 17,880 1.9%
1900 13,239 −26.0%
1910 12,787 −3.4%
1920 12,461 −2.5%
1930 13,167 5.7%
1940 14,008 6.4%
1950 17,537 25.2%
1960 21,941 25.1%
1970 28,893 31.7%
1980 34,150 18.2%
1990 45,723 33.9%
2000 59,209 29.5%
2010 78,305 32.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782

1790 - Lost. 1800 - Lost.

1810

  • 1810 Frederick County, Virginia Census. Beverly, W. Va.: Crickard, 1970., 1979. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

1890 Union Veterans

  • Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. By Ronald Ray Turner. FHL book 975.5 X2t 1890; film 1425065, item 14. Includes residents of this county.
  • 1890 Veterans Schedules of the U.S. Federal Census. Online at: Ancestry ($). Includes residents of this county.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Bethel (1808)[9]
  2. Buck Marsh (1772)[9]. James Ireland served as pastor 1788-1806. He was buried at Buckmarsh Cemetery.[10]
  3. Happy Creek (1783)[9]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Frederick County fell within the bounds of the Ketocton Association.

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Beckford Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Frederick Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Norborne Parish

  • Frederick Parish was organized in 1744. It was renamed in 1866.[11]
  • Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Frederick County is available online.[12]

Histories

  • Chambers, Benjamin Duvall. Old Chapel and the Parish in Clarke County, Virginia: A History from the Founding of Frederick Parish, 1738 to the Centenary of Christ Church, Millwood, 1932. Washington: unknown, 1932. FHL Collection; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • "Frederick Parish And Its Divisions," Proceedings of The Clarke County Historical Association, Vol. XIV (1956-1957):16-26; digital version at Clarke History.
  • Meade, Everard Kidder. "Frederick Parish, Virginia, 1744-1780, Its Churches, Chapels, Ministers and Vestries," Proceedings of the Clarke County Historical Association, Part I: Vol. 5 (1945):18-38 (FHL Collection 975.598/B1 C4c v. 5 ([1945]); digital version at Clarke History); Part II: Vol. 6 (1946):24-46 (FHL Collection 975.598/B1 C4c v. 6 ([1946]); digital version at Clarke History). See also "Appendix I: Legislative Record of Frederick Parish," in Vol. 6 (1946):47-49.
    • Reviewed by G. MacLaren Brydon in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 56, No. 1 (Jan., 1948), pp. 102-104. Review: FHL Collection; digital version of review at JSTOR ($).

Records
A register of baptisms, marriages, and burials cannot be found for Frederick Parish.[13] Vestry minutes, dating from 1764 to 1818, are kept at the Virginia Theological Seminary, near Alexandria, Va. The Library of Virginia has a photocopy, which FHL has microfilmed: FHL Collection 31331. Noted Virginia genealogist Victor S. Dunn published abstracts of the records in Volumes 43 to 48+ of the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Indexes may be found at the end of each volume:

  • Dunn, Victor S. "Frederick Parish, Frederick County, Virginia Vestry Book, 1764-1818 (Overseers of Poor)," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 3 (Aug. 2005), 179-198; Vol. 43, No. 4 (Nov. 2005):281-290; Vol. 44, No. 1 (Feb. 2006):23-44; Vol. 44, No. 2 (May 2006):119-130; Vol. 44, No. 3 (Aug. 2006):241-260; Vol. 45, No. 1 (Feb. 2007):32-38; Vol. 45, No. 2 (May 2007):156-166; Vol. 45, No. 3 (Aug. 2007):215-222; Vol. 46, No. 1 (Feb. 2008):51-60; Vol. 46, No. 3 (Aug. 2008):222-230; Vol. 46, No. 4 (Nov. 2008):309-319; Vol. 47, No. 4 (Nov. 2009):310-318; Vol. 48, No. 1 (Feb. 2010):71-79; Vol. 48, No. 2 (May 2010):141-150; Vol. 48, No. 3 (Aug. 2010):235-246.

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Back Creek Monthly Meeting (1759-1869) aka Jesse Pugh's Meeting[14]
  • Centre Monthly Meeting (begun 1734), Winchester, Va.[14]
  • Gravel Springs Monthly Meeting (1700s)[14]
  • Hopewell Monthly Meeting (begun 1732) aka Opequon.[14] Monthly meeting records (1748-1869) and abstracts of minutes (1759-1791) have been microfilmed: FHL Film 441486. Monthly meeting minutes and certificates of removal (1777-1835) have also been microfilmed: FHL Film 2261259. A history and early records have been published: FHL Film 1000634 Item 2.[15] Hinshaw also published the early records: FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.[16]
  • Hopewell (Orthodox) Monthly Meeting (1829-1935).[14] Early records have been microfilmed (1829-1895): FHL Film 31346.
  • Mount Pleasant Monthly Meeting (1771-1809) aka Fawsett's aka Cedar Creek.[14] The cemetery is still in use:
Mount Pleasant Meeting House Cemetery database at Find A Grave. (126+ entries)
  • Ridge Monthly Meeting (1735-1920) aka Apple Pie Ridge aka Upper Ridge aka Lupton's[14]
  • Ridge Monthly Meeting, Whitehall, Va. (1777-1830) aka Hackney's aka Lower Ridge[14]
  • Brown, Jane Douglas Summers and Jones Memorial Library. Jane Douglas Summers Brown (1903-) Quaker Records: Jones Memorial Library (Lynchburg, Virginia); MS 1515. MSS, Jones Memorial Library, Lynchburg, Va. Available on 26 microfilms through FHL Collection [Includes records of Frederick County Quakers; Brown assisted "William Wade Hinshaw in the writing of the Virginia volume of the Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy."]
  • Hutton, James V. "The Quakers Exiled in Winchester and Frederick County, Virginia, 1777-1778," Journal [Winchester-Frederick County Historical Society], Vol. 17 (2005). FHL Collection
  • Joint Committee of Hopewell Friends. Hopewell Friends History 1734-1934: Frederick County, Virginia: Records of Hopewell Monthly Meetings and Meetings Reporting to Hopewell. Strasburg, VA, USA: Shenandoah Publishing House, 1936. FHL Collection; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
The Family History Library has a good microfilm collection of Frederick County court order books. The quality of the microfilm; however, obscures the page numbers in some early volumes, making them difficult to use.

  • Frederick County Chancery Cases Index, 1860-1912 - digitized and available online via the Library of Virginia. Index information is available for Frederick County chancery records for the years 1745-1926. Microfilm records available for years 1745-1859. Post-1912 chancery records index is incomplete and only the records indexed are located at the Library of Virginia. Additional original post-1912 chancery cases can be found at the Frederick County Circuit Court Clerk's office. The index may reference court designations (CC for Circuit Court, CSC for Circuit Superior Court, SC for Superior Court, DC for District Court, and no abbreviations indicates County Court.)

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes will of a resident of Frederick County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.
  • Wayland, John Walter. The German Element of the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. n.p.: J.W. Wayland, 1979. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Bly, Daniel W. From the Rhine to the Shenandoah: Eighteenth Century Swiss and German Pioneer Families in the Central Shenandoah Valley of Virginia and Their European Origins. 3 vols. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, c1993. FHL Book 975.595 D2b v. 1, v. 3 (FHL is missing Vol. 2)
  • Cartmell, T. K. Shenandoah Valley Pioneers and Their Descendants: A History of Frederick County, Virginia (Illustrated) from Its Formation in 1738 to 1908, Compiled Mainly from Original Records of Old Frederick County, Now Hampshire, Berkeley, Shenandoah, Jefferson, Hardy, Clarke, Warren, Morgan and Frederick. n.p.: n.p., c1909. FHL Book 975.59 H2c 1963; FHL Film 1000634 Item 1; digital versions at Ancestry ($); FamilySearch Digital Library and World Vital Records ($). [3 copies at FHL.]
  • Clark Cather Records, 399 WFCHS: Stewart Bell Jr. Archives, Handley Regional Library, Winchester, Virginia. MSS. Microfilmed 2005: VAULT Film 1734939.
  • Daisy Amick Collection, 144 WFCHS: Stewart Bell Jr. Archives, Handley Regional Library, Wincester, VA. MSS. Microfilmed 2005: FHL Films 1782601-1782604.
  • Garner, Grace Kelso. Earliest Settlers, Western Frederick-Eastern Hampshire Counties in Virginia, Their Descendants. 1978. FHL Collection
  • Hammond, Gene Paige. Shenandoah Valley Pioneer Settlers: A Few of Them and Some Notes of Interest: Includes Genealogical Sketches on the Bucher, Dellinger, Eye, Hammond, Sauvage and Walter(s) and Allied Families. Strasburg, VA.: Hammond Printing and Publishing, 1988. FHL Fiche 6101451.
  • Kerns, Wilmer L. Frederick County, Virginia: Settlement and Some First Families of Back Creek Valley 1730-1830. Baltimore: Gateway Press, Inc., 1995. FHL Book 975.5992 H2k. Includes a large section of family histories for the following families: Thomas, Smith, Babb, Malin, Julian, White, Pugh, Rogers, Lewis, Jenkins, Wright, Walker, Lupton, Barrett, Griffith, Ruble, McCool, Pearson, Scarborough, Chapman, Harris, Bevan, Fisher, Wickersham, Waln, Kackley, Rinker, Bageant, Coe, Larrick, Printzler, Secrist, Marple, Allemong, Purtlebaugh (Bartlebaugh), Sirbaugh, Trowbridge, and many others.
  • Lucy Hardesty Collection, 1460 WFCHS, Stewart Bell Jr. Archives, Handley Regional Library, Winchester, Virginia. MSS. Online description. Microfilmed 2005: VAULT Films. Notes on hundreds of Frederick County families.
  • Norris, J.E. History of the Lower Shenandoah Valley Counties of Frederick, Berkeley, Jefferson and Clarke: Their Early Settlement and Progress to the Present Time, Geological Features, A Description of Their Historic and Interesting Localities, Cities, Towns and Villages, Portraits of Some of the Prominent Men, and Biographies of Many of the Representative Citizens. Chicago: A. Warner & Co., Publishers, 1890. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Internet Archive. Includes a chapter on Genealogy and Biography (pages 556-804).
  • O'Dell, Cecil. Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia. Marceline, Mo.: Walsworth Pub. Co., 1995. FHL Collection. One of the most impressively researched one-place studies in the United States. In a review, Dorman stated "Comprehensive studies such as this appear only rarerly. This volume should be in every Virginia genealogical collection."[17]
  • Pollock, Michael E. and Lineage Search Associates. Frederick Findings. Mechanicsville, Va.: Lineage Search Associates, 1988-1997. FHL Book 975.59 D25f.
  • Strickler, Harry M. Forerunners, A History or Genealogy of the Strickler Families, Their Kith and Kin: Including Kauffmans, Stovfrs [i.e. Stovers], Burners, Ruffners, Beavers, Shavers, Brumbachs, Zirkles, Blossers, Groves, Brubakers, Neffs, Rothgebs and Many Other Early Families of Shenandoah, Rockingham, Augusta, Frederick and Page Counties of the Shenandoah Valley: A Memorial to All Who Have Gone Before from About 1700 to the Present Time, 1924 Present Time, 1924. Harrisonburg, Va.: H.M. Strickler, 1925. FHL Fiche 6046689.

The Stewart Bell Jr. Archives Room in the Handley Regional Library in Winchester has collected many published genealogies about local families. For manuscript descriptions, see: Index to Inventories. Major manuscript collections that have been microfilmed include:

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents

  • Dunn. 165 patents dated 1734-1790 in what is now Clarke and Frederick Counties, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2004. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
  • 1742-1775 Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants, 1742-1775. Vol. II. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1997. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants, 1775-1800. Vol. III. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1993. FHL Collection; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Frederick County.]
  • Massanutten Area Atlas. Original records, Shenandoah County Archives, Woodstock, Va. Microfilmed reproduction: FHL Collection [This is a bound book of hand drawn maps showing property boundaries for grant map, ca. 1748-1915. It covers parts of Shenandoah, Warren and Page counties.]
  • Sims, Edgar Barr. Sims Index to Land Grants in West Virginia. [Springfield, Virginia]: Genealogical Books in Print, c1992. FHL Collection [Includes Frederick County, Virginia.]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Cartmell, T. K. Shenandoah Valley Pioneers and Their Descendants: A History of Frederick County, Virginia (Illustrated) from Its Formation in 1738 to 1908, Compiled Mainly from Original Records of Old Frederick County, Now Hampshire, Berkeley, Shenandoah, Jefferson, Hardy, Clarke, Warren, Morgan and Frederick. n.p.: n.p., c1909. FamilySearch Digital Library, FHL Collection 975.59 H2c 1963;FHL US/CAN Film 1000634 Item 1; digital version at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($). [3 copies at FHL.]
  • Clem, Gladys Bauserman. Stories of the Shenandoah. Staunton, Va.: n.p., 1948. FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Davis, Julia. The Shenandoah. New York: Farrar & Rinehart, c1945. FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Gordon, Armistead C. In the Picturesque Shenandoah Valley. Richmond: Garrett &Massie, c1930. FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Hutton, James Vernon. Local History Articles, Frederick County, Virginia. Winchester, Virginia: n.p., 1979. FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Ingersoll, Ernest. To the Shenandoah and Beyond: The Chronicle of a Leisurely Journey through the Uplands of Virginia and Tennessee, Sketching Their Scenery, Noting Their Legends, Portraying Social and Material Progress, and Explaining Routes of Travel. New York: Leve & Alden, 1885. FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • MacDonald, Rose Mortimer Ellzey. Clarke County, a Daughter of Frederick: A History of Early Families and Homes. Berryville, Va.: Blue Ridge Press, 1979. Original edition and supplement available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1885-1940 U.S., Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940 at Ancestry ($)
  • Norris, J. E.. History of the Lower Shenandoah Valley Counties of Frederick, Berkeley, Jefferson and Clarke: Their Early Settlement and Progress to the Present Time, Geological Features, a Description of Their Historic and Interesting Localities, Cities, Towns and Villages, Portraits of Some of the Prominent Men, and Biographies of Many of the Representative Citizens. Chicago: A. Warner, 1890. Original edition available at FHL; 1972 reprint available at FHL; digital version of original edition at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($).
  • Paxton, Alexander Sterret. Memory Days in which the Shenandoah Valley is Seen in Retrospection: With Glimpses of School Days and the Life of Virginia People of Fifty Years Ago. New York: Neale Pub. Co., 1908. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Strickler, Harry Miller. Massanutten, Settled by the Pennsylvania Pilgrim, 1726: The First White Settlement in the Shenandoah Valley. n.p.: n.p., c1924. FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Historic Residences

  • Quarles, Garland Redd. Some Old Homes in Frederick County, Virginia. Winchester, Virginia Winchester-Frederick County Historical Society, 1990. FHL Collection

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Winchester (Independent City)Clarke CountyWarren CountyShenandoah CountyJefferson CountyBerkeley CountyMorgan CountyHampshire CountyHardy CountyVA FREDERICK.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
  • Geertsema, Galtjo and Cecil O'Dell. Northern Neck of Virginia, Old Frederick County: A Historical Map Emphasizing the Period from 1725 to 1745: To Illustrate Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia by Cecil O'Dell. C. O'Dell, 1995. Available at FHL.
  • Massanutten Area Atlas. Original records, Shenandoah County Archives, Woodstock, Va. Microfilmed reproduction available at FHL. [This is a bound book of hand drawn maps showing property boundaries for grant map, ca. 1748-1915. It covers parts of Shenandoah, Warren and Page counties.]
  • FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. Online at: Ancestry ($). Identifies some Frederick County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Internet Archive. Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Frederick County, see pp. 79-82, 108.
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.
  • Milbourne, Anna. "Records of the Frederick County, Virginia, Militia in the French and Indian War Period," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 27 (1939):52-60.
  • Ward, Flora Lusk et al. Officers and Men of Frederick County, Virginia, Militia in the Year 1756. MSS., available at FHL.

Revolutionary War

  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. FHL Collection; digital version at Internet Archive. Includes a chapter titled "A Partial List of Capt. Daniel Morgan's Rifle Company of Winchester, Frederick Co., Va., July 14, 1775," see p. 171.
  • Hale, Laura Virginia. A Bicentennial Remembrance: The Revolutionary Years, 1776-1781, in Old Frederick County, Virginia. L.V. Hale, 1978. Available at FHL.
  • Winchester-Frederick County Historical Society. Men and Events of the Revolution in Winchester and Frederick County, Virginia. Winchester, Virginia, 1975. Available at FHL.
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Frederick County on page 134.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War. By J.T. McAllister. 1913. Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Internet Archive

Regiments. Service men in Frederick County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Frederick County supplied soldiers for the:

- 8th Virginia Regiment
- 11th Virginia Regiment
- 12th Virginia Regiment

War of 1812
Frederick County men served in the 31st, 51st, and 122nd Regiments.[18]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; online at Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). See Vol. 5, Virginia, Frederick County, p. 81. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Frederick County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 1st Battalion, Virginia Cavalry, Local Defense (Confederate). Company A (Newtown Troop)
- 1st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).
- 2nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (Winchester Riflemen)
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Marion Rifles) and Company K (Continental Morgan Guards).[19]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry. Company A (The Wildcat Company) and Company H.[20]
- 12th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company C.[21]
- 13th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (The Winchester Boomerangs).[22]
- 18th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F.[23]
- 24th Battalion, Virginia Partisan Rangers (Scott's). Company C.[24]
- 39th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company A.[25]

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Frederick County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861 and 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers
Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007

  • [Barton] Davis, Bruce G. "Barton Family Bible, Frederick County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1964):28-30. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • [Byrd] Meade, Everard Kidder. "The Papers of Richard Evelyn Byrd, I, of Frederick County, Virginia. A Note on a Valuable Collection of Family Letters and Other Documents with Extracts Therefrom," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 54, No. 2 (Apr., 1946), pp. 106-118. Available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Local Court
SamPubCo has created a free online resource that serves as a good starting place to search for Colonial Frederick County wills:

Other Frederick County probate resources include:

  • Kangas, M. N. Frederick County, Virginia, Wills & Administrations, 1795-1816. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1995. Available at FHL. Digital book available at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($).
  • "Wills in Frederick County, Va., Prior to 1805," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 18, No. 2 (Apr. 1910):204-212. FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).

London Courts

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes will of a resident of Frederick County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • 1639-1850 Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 at Ancestry — index, incomplete ($)
  • 1743-1751 Virginia Pioneers ($) Images of Wills and Estates plus Index to Wills and Deeds, Book 15. and Book 16.
  • 1773-1775 Virginia Pioneers ($) Index to Deeds
  • Digital Images of Wills, Inventories and Estates, Book 2, 1752-61; Book 3, 1761-1700; Book 4, 1770-1783; Book 5, 1783-1794; Book 6, 1795-1802; Book 7, 1802-1804 ($) Virginia Pioneers $

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1746 Frederick County 1746 rental, Library of Virginia, Miscellaneous Microfilm 4,624.[33]
  • 1750 Frederick County 1750 rental, Library of Virginia, Miscellaneous Microfilm 4,624.[34]
  • 1758 Quisenberry, A.C. "Election of Col. Geo. Washington, 1758," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 6(1898):162-173. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1759 Frederick County 1759 rental, Library of Virginia, Miscellaneous Microfilm 4,624.[35]
  • 1764 Frederick County 1764 rental, Library of Virginia, Miscellaneous Microfilm 4,624.[36]
  • 1782 Personal Property Tax Lists, 1782, Frederick Findings, Vol. 3, No. 4 (Fall 1990):253-262; Vol. 4, No. 1 (Winter 1991):15-20. FHL Book 975.59 D25f.
  • 1782-1802 Frederick County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1802 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782-1802 Heinegg, Paul. "Frederick County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1802," Free African Americans.com, available online. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1782-1821 Frederick County Land Tax Lists 1782-1821 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Frederick County is included in Vol. 1.]
  • 1787-1841 Winchester Personal Property Tax Lists 1787-1841 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1791 Indexed images of the 1791 Personal Property Tax Lists of Frederick County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Images of the 1800 Personal Property Tax List of Frederick County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 "Frederick County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1979):8-14; Vol. 23, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1979):97-103; Vol. 23, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1979):168-172; Vol. 23, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1979):266-270; Vol. 24, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1980):5-8; Vol. 24, No. 2 (Apr. 1980). Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [Vol. 24, No. 2 refers to the City of Winchester.]
  • 1803-1836 Heinegg, Paul. "Frederick County Personal Property Tax List 1803-1836," Free African Americans.com, available online. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1815 land tax. Frederick County is included in Vol. 4.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Vital Record Substitutes

  • Dr. Alexander Balmain, Rector of Frederick Parish, recorded details of more than 750 marriages he performed between 1781 and 1821 in his journal:
  • Tylor, Dola S. "Marriages from 'The Journal of Dr. Alexander Balmain,' Rector, Frederick Parish, Winchester, Virginia, 1781-1821," Frederick Findings, Vol. 6, No. 2 (Spring 1993):121-124; Vol. 6, No. 3 (Summer 1993):179-182; Vol. 6, No. 4 (Fall 1993):273-278; Vol. 7, No. 1 (Spring 1994):61-67. FHL Book 975.59 D25f.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Frederick County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Frederick County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Stewart Bell, Jr. Archives Room, Handley Regional Library, Winchester, Virginia [Collection includes a vast amount of genealogical material.]Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Frederick County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Frederick County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 10, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1966):174-178. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Good, Rebecca H. and Rebecca A. Ebert. Finding Your People in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia: A Genealogical Guide. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1998. 4th ed. FHL Book 975 D27e 1998

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Newberry
  3. https://www.fredericksburgva.gov/index.aspx?NID=202
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Frederick County, Virginia. Page 714 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Frederick County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 10, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1966):174-178. FHL Book; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($); Victor S. Dunn, "Using Lawsuits to Identify Family Origins: George Cunningham of Virginia," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 98, No. 4 (Dec. 2010), 253.
  7. Newberry
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Frederick _ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frederick_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 15 January 2020.
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Richmond, Va.: Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 386-387. Digital versions atFamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive.
  10. Nancy Chappelear, "Berryville Baptist Church Cemetery Records," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 10, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1966):66. Digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 10 (1966).
  11. "Frederick Parish And Its Divisions," Proceedings of The Clarke County Historical Association, Vol. XIV (1956-1957):16-26; digital version at Clarke History.
  12. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  13. Victor S. Dunn, "Frederick Parish, Frederick County, Virginia Vestry Book, 1764-1818 (Overseers of Poor)," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 3 (Aug. 2005), 179.
  14. 14.0 14.1 14.2 14.3 14.4 14.5 14.6 14.7 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  15. John W. Wayland, Hopewell Friends History, 1734-1934, Frederick County, Virginia: Records of Hopewell Monthly Meetings and Meetings Reporting to Hopewell, Two Hundred Years of History and Genealogy (Strasburg, Va.: Shenandoah Pub. House, 1936). FHL Film 1000634 Item 2.
  16. William Wade Hinshaw, Thomas W. Marshall and John Cox, Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy (Ann Arbor, Mich.: Edwards Bros., 1950). Vol. 6. FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.
  17. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 39, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1995):236.
  18. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 87. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  19. Lee A. Wallace, 5th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.:H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 40.
  20. Richard L. Armstrong, 11th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 52.
  21. Dennis E. Frye, 12th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 42.
  22. David F. Riggs, 13th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 49.
  23. Roger U. Delauter, 18th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 18.
  24. Robert J. Driver and Kevin C. Ruffner, 1st Battalion Virginia Infantry, 39th Battalion Virginia Cavalry, 24th Battalion Virginia Partisan Rangers (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1996). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 119.
  25. Robert J. Driver and Kevin C. Ruffner, 1st Battalion Virginia Infantry, 39th Battalion Virginia Cavalry, 24th Battalion Virginia Partisan Rangers (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1996). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 119.
  26. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August, 2012)
  27. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  28. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  29. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  30. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August, 2012)
  31. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  32. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August 2012).
  33. Victor S. Dunn. "Using Lawsuits to Identify Family Origins: George Cunningham of Virginia," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 98, No. 4 (Dec. 2010), 255.
  34. Victor S. Dunn. "Using Lawsuits to Identify Family Origins: George Cunningham of Virginia," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 98, No. 4 (Dec. 2010), 255.
  35. Victor S. Dunn. "Using Lawsuits to Identify Family Origins: George Cunningham of Virginia," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 98, No. 4 (Dec. 2010), 255.
  36. Victor S. Dunn. "Using Lawsuits to Identify Family Origins: George Cunningham of Virginia," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 98, No. 4 (Dec. 2010), 255.