Franklin County, Vermont Genealogy
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Franklin County, Vermont ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Benjamin Franklin. The County is located in the northwest area of the state. [1]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Franklin County Courthouse
36 Lake Street
Saint Albans, VT 05478
Phone: 802-524-7997
Fax: 802-524-7996
Franklin County Courts
Franklin County Chamber of Commerce
County Clerk has divorce and court records from 1900.
Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial and land.
Probate Judge has probate records.[2]
Franklin County, Vermont Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| at town creation | at town creation | at town creation | 1900 | 1797 | 1796 | 1790 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Villages | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
Extinct Towns[6]
|
Towns Organized Before 1800:
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| |
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1800 | 8,282 | — |
| 1810 | 16,615 | 100.6% |
| 1820 | 17,192 | 3.5% |
| 1830 | 24,525 | 42.7% |
| 1840 | 24,531 | 0.0% |
| 1850 | 28,586 | 16.5% |
| 1860 | 27,231 | −4.7% |
| 1870 | 30,291 | 11.2% |
| 1880 | 30,225 | −0.2% |
| 1890 | 29,755 | −1.6% |
| 1900 | 30,198 | 1.5% |
| 1910 | 29,866 | −1.1% |
| 1920 | 30,026 | 0.5% |
| 1930 | 29,975 | −0.2% |
| 1940 | 29,601 | −1.2% |
| 1950 | 29,894 | 1.0% |
| 1960 | 29,474 | −1.4% |
| 1970 | 31,282 | 6.1% |
| 1980 | 34,788 | 11.2% |
| 1990 | 39,980 | 14.9% |
| 2000 | 45,417 | 13.6% |
| 2010 | 47,746 | 5.1% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Franklin County for European settlers included:[8]
- Hudson River pre-historic
- Lake Champlain pre-historic
- Lake Champlain Trail pre-historic
- Champlain Canal 1823
- Erie Canal 1825
- Chambly Canal and the Richelieu River 1843
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
- 1861-1867 Vermont, Enrolled Militia Records, 1861-1867 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
Regimients. Regiments and Companies:
- - 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- - 13th Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- - 5th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Company A and C
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1749-1999 Vermont Wills and Probate Records 1749-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1796-1921 Vermont, Franklin County Probate Records, 1796-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1800-1921 Vermont Probate Files, 1800-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Town Records[edit | edit source]
- 1850-2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Early Vermont vital records were kept on the town level, and beginning dates varied from place to place. Statewide requirements started in 1779. Statewide registration began in 1857, with town clerks sending copies of the previous year’s vital events to the secretary of state. For online indexes, collections, and more information, see Vermont Town Records and Vermont Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1732-2005 Vermont, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-1954 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-1954 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-2008 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-2008 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1765-1908 Vermont Births and Christenings, 1765-1908 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1850-2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1732-2005 Vermont, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-1954 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-1954 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-2008 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-2008 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1791-1974 Vermont Marriages, 1791-1974 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1850-2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1732-2005 Vermont, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-1954 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-1954 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-2008 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-2008 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1850-2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1871-1965 Vermont Deaths and Burials, 1871-1965 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Franklin County. For state-wide facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Essex Vermont Family History Center
- Montpelier Vermont Family History Center
- Newport Vermont Family History Center
- Plattsburgh New York Family History Center
- Vermont French-Canadian Genealogical Society - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Franklin County. For state-wide library facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Franklin County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Vermont Societies.
- Franklin Historical Society
Log Cabin Museum
Hanna Road
Franklin, VT
802-285-6523
Email: Historical@franklinvt.net
Website - Berkshire Historical Society
367 Montgomery Rd (no mail)
East Berkshire, VT 054767
802-848-3459
Email: jagljoweld@yahoo.com
Facebook - Enosburgh Historical Society
PO Box 98
Depot Street
Enosburg Falls, VT 05450
802-933-4421
Email: enosburghhistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Facebook - Fairfax Historical Society
PO Box 145
Fairfax, VT 05454
802-242-1047
Email: fairfaxvthistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Website
Facebook - Fairfield Historical Society
25 North Road
Fairfield, VT 05455
802-309-3764
Email: fairfieldhistoryvt@gmail.com
Website
Facebook - Bakersfield Historical Society
80 East Bakersfield Rd.
P.O. Box 70
Bakersfield, VT 05441
802-827-3042
Facebook - Georgia Historical Society
Brick Museum, Georgia Center
Gordon's Mill Ag Museum
Georgia Library
US Rte 7 @ I-89 Exit 18
PO Box 2072
Georgia, VT 05468
Facebook - Highgate Historical Society
Museum
3181 VT Route 78
PO Box 222
Highgate Center, VT 05459
802-868-4619 - Isle La Motte Historical Society
4 Quarry Road
Isle La Motte, VT 05463
(802) 928-3392
Email:ilmhistoric@gmail.com
Facebook - Montgomery Historical Society
2044 Maiin St.
P.O. Box 47
Montgomery Village, VT 05470
802-326-4404
Email: pratthall@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Franklin County VTGenWeb Project, a member of The VTGenWeb Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Franklin, Vermont" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_County,_Vermont accessed 6 Dec 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Franklin County, Vermont . Page 698-699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 686-687.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vermont.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Franklin County, Vermont," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_County,_Vermont, accessed 28 June 2022.
- ↑ Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook, 847-61.