Franklin County, Maine Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Franklin County, Maine ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Farmington
Organized: March 20, 1838
Parent County(s): Oxford, Kennebec, Somerset
Neighboring Counties
Oxford  • Androscoggin  • Kennebec  • Somerset  • Frontenac (QB)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Maine, Franklin County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Me-franklin.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Franklin County was named for Benjamin Franklin. The county is located in the western area of the state.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Franklin County Courthouse
129 Main Street, Suite 1
Farmington, Maine 04938
Phone: 207-778-2119
Franklin County Website

Town clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records. Clerk Superior Court has divorce records from 1852 and court records. Register of Deeds has land records. Probate Judge has probate records. [2]

Franklin County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1892 1892 1892 1838 1838 1838 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1892. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

MaineFranklin CountyQuébecOxford CountyKennebec CountyAndroscoggin CountySomerset CountyGorham GoreBeattie TownshipLowelltown TownshipMerrill StripSkinner TownshipCoburn GoreMassachusetts GoreChain of Ponds TownshipKibby TownshipSeven Ponds TownshipAlder Stream TownshipJim Pond TownshipStetsontown TownshipTim Pond TownshipEustisWyman TownshipCoplin PlantationLang TownshipDavis TownshipCarrabassett ValleyRangeleyDallas PlantationRedington TownshipMount Abram TownshipKingfieldRangeley PlantationSandy River PlantationTownship DTownship EMadrid TownshipSalem TownshipFreeman TownshipTownship 6 North of WeldPhillipsWeldAvonStrongNew VineyardIndustryCarthagePerkins TownshipTempleFarmingtonNew SharonWashington TownshipWiltonChestervilleJayBowmantown TownshipParmachenee TownshipOxbow TownshipLynchtown TownshipUpper Cupsuptic TownshipParkertown TownshipLower Cupsuptic TownshipLincoln PlantationAdamstown TownshipMagalloway PlantationRichardsontown TownshipUptonTownship CC SurplusGrafton TownshipAndover North SurplusAndover West Surplus TownshipAndoverByronRoxburyRiley TownshipNewryBethelHanoverRumfordMexicoMilton TownshipDixfieldPeruSumnerHartfordCantonLivermoreLivermore FallsFayetteWayneReadfieldManchesterMount VernonBelgradeViennaRomeMercerSmithfieldNorridgewockStarksMadisonAnsonNew PortlandEmbdenSolonBinghamConcord TownshipLexington TownshipMoscowPleasant Ridge PlantationHighland PlantationCaratunkCarrying Place TownshipCarrying Place Town TownshipDead River TownshipBigelow TownshipFlagstaff TownshipSpring Lake TownshipPierce Pond TownshipBowtown TownshipThe Forks PlantationEast MoxieSquaretown TownshipMoxie GoreWest ForksLower Enchanted TownshipSpencer TownshipKing and Bartlett TownshipHaynestown TownshipHobbstown TownshipUpper Enchanted TownshipJohnson Mountain TownshipChase Stream TownshipSaplin TownshipMisery TownshipMisery GoreParlin Pond TownshipBradstreet TownshipRayton TownshipAppleton TownshipHoleb TownshipAttean Pond TownshipJackmanLong Pond TownshipSandwich Academy GrantRockwood StripBrassua TownshipThorndike TownshipMoose RiverDennistownForsyth TownshipSaint-Augustin-de-WoburnPiopolisMarstonLac-MéganticFrontenacNantesAudetSainte-Cécile-de-WhittonLac-DroletSaint-LudgerSaint-Robert-Bellarmin
Modern town borders in Franklin County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.


For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:[6]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Unorganized territories
  • For further details see Maine Townships.
  • East Central Franklin
    • Freeman (aka Little River Plantation)
    • Salem
    • Madrid
    • Twp 4 R1 Bingham's Kennebec Pur. W. of the Kennebec Riv. (Mt. Abram)
    • Township 1 R2 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Redington)
  • Mooselookmeguntic
  • North Franklin
    • Township 2 R3 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Lang)
    • Township 3 R3 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Davis)
    • Township 2 R4 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Tim Pond)
    • Township 3 R4 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Stetsontown)
    • Township 1 R5 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Jim Pond)
    • Township 2 R5 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Alder Stream)
  • North Franklin (continued..)
    • Township 3 R5 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Seven Ponds)
    • Township 1 R6 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Kibby)
    • Township 2 R6 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Chain of Ponds)
    • Township 3 R6 West of Bingham's Kennebec Pur. (Massachusetts Gore)
    • Township 1 R7 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Skinner)
    • Township 2 R7 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Merrill Strip)
    • Gore N. of Twp 2 & 3 R6 W. of Bingham's Kennebec Pur. (Coburn Gore)
    • Township 1 R8 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Lowelltown)
    • Township 2 R8 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Beattie)
    • Gore N. of Twp 1 R8 West of Bingham's Kennebec Pur. (Gorham Gore)


Plantations: Coplin Plantation | Dallas Plantation | Rangeley Plantation | Sandy River Plantation. For further details see Maine plantations.

Extinct Towns and Plantations:[7] Berlin | Bloomfield Plantation | Freeman | Greenvale Plantation | Jackson Plantation | Jerusalem Plantation | Lang Plantation | Letter E Plantation | Little River Plantation | Madrid | Number 6 Plantation | Perkins Plantation | Salem | Washington Plantation | Wyman Township[8]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Biographical review; this volume contains biographical sketches of leading citizens of Oxford and Franklin counties, Maine, by Biographical Review Publishing Company, Boston, MA, 1897. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, and Ancestry.com ($)

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Occupations

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Franklin County, Maine online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maine Cemeteries for more information.

 

Avon Valley Road Cemetery

  • Take the Avon Valley Road, off Route 4, in Avon. Go to the old school house. Cemetery is about 1/2 mile beyond the schoolhouse on the left. Can be seen from the road.

Day Mountain Cemetery

  • Located on Day Mountain Road near Avon/Temple Line. In Terrible Condition No Roads in to it. Must Hike About 2 1/2 Miles

Knott Burial Plot

  • On the left North of the Townhouse 1.4 miles South of Phillips Townline

Mile Square Cemetery

  • Dates after 1986 taken from Franklin Journal

Mount Blue Cemetery

  • Going North on Route #4 Take Left at Town House. Go 1.8 Miles Up The Hill. Cemetery On Left in Good Condition

Pease-Thompson Cemetery

  • Located On Route #4 Just South Of The Town House

Spinney Cementery

  • Cemetery located on State Route 4 about 1 mile West of the Strong Town line.

Sprague-Howland Cemetery

  • Leave Phillips On Route #149 South Toward Strong, Maine. Go 2.6 Miles, Cemetery Down Over the Banking On Right. In Pasture of "Old Voter Farm"

Carthage Cemetery

  • Leave Weld Village heading toward Carthage. Go about 3 miles to Podunk Pond Rd. Take this Rd. for about 3 miles onto Storer Hill. The Cemetery is on the left.

Storer Hill Cemetery

  • Leave Weld Village heading toward Carthage. Go about 3 miles toPodunk Pond Rd. Take this Rd. ofr about 1.5 miles onto Storer Hill. The Cemetery is on the left at the crest of the hill. Old fencing around cemetery.

Tainter Corner Cemetery

  • The Cemetery is located off Route 2 west of Wilton toward the Village of East Dixfield. Three (3) miles out of the East Dixfield toward Rumford is the Town Line between Wilton & Carthage. One (1) mile beyond the town line marker is a right turn. Take this turn - cemetery is located just a short distance on the right. Somewhat overgrown with stones broken and down. Old house beyond cemetery was onece the Tainter Corner Post Office.

Newman Cemetery

Berry Mills Cemetery

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 20,801
1850 20,027 −3.7%
1860 20,403 1.9%
1870 18,807 −7.8%
1880 18,180 −3.3%
1890 17,053 −6.2%
1900 18,444 8.2%
1910 19,119 3.7%
1920 19,825 3.7%
1930 19,941 0.6%
1940 19,896 −0.2%
1950 20,682 4.0%
1960 20,069 −3.0%
1970 22,444 11.8%
1980 27,098 20.7%
1990 29,008 7.0%
2000 29,467 1.6%
2010 30,768 4.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records
Online Court Indexes and Records

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Maine Land and Property for databases, early land grants to individuals, and more information.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Franklin County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information, see Maine Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

OxfordAndroscogginKennebecSomersetFranklinQuebec, CanadaME Franklin.jpg
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]


Revolutionary War


Civil War


Regiments. Civil War service men in Franklin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Maine Cavalry


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Maine Newspaper Archive. Indexes free; Digital page images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. For databases and more information, see Maine Taxation

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Wilton Free Public Library
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Franklin County Maine Genealogy
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Franklin County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_County,_Maine."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 304, Franklin County, Maine. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Franklin County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Massachusetts.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Franklin_County, Maine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_County,_Maine, accessed 4 March 2019.
  7. Before an extinct town (or plantation) was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
  8. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 97. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.