Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Fluvanna County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Palmyra
Organized: 01 Jul 1777[1]
Parent County(s): Albemarle[2]
Neighboring Counties
Albemarle  • Buckingham  • Cumberland  • Goochland  • Louisa
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaFluvannaCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Fluvanna County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Fluvanna County is located in the central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for the Fluvanna River, the name given to the James River west of Columbia, Virginia. Fluvanna means "Annie's River" in honor of Queen Anne of England.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Fluvanna County Courthouse
72 Main Street
Palmyra, Virginia 22963
Phone: 434-591-1970
Fluvanna County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1853-1896, marriage, divorce, probate court and land records from 1777 and some burial records[4]

Fluvanna County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1777 1853 1777 1777 1777 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Parent County: Created from Albemarle County on 01 July 1777.[6]
County seat: Palmyra

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Fluvanna County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 3,921
1800 4,623 17.9%
1810 4,775 3.3%
1820 6,704 40.4%
1830 8,221 22.6%
1840 8,812 7.2%
1850 9,487 7.7%
1860 10,353 9.1%
1870 9,875 −4.6%
1880 10,802 9.4%
1890 9,508 −12.0%
1900 9,050 −4.8%
1910 8,323 −8.0%
1920 8,547 2.7%
1930 7,466 −12.6%
1940 7,088 −5.1%
1950 7,121 0.5%
1960 7,227 1.5%
1970 7,621 5.5%
1980 10,244 34.4%
1990 12,429 21.3%
2000 20,047 61.3%
2010 25,691 28.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782 Enumeration

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Fork (1774)[8]
  2. Lyle's (1798), Wilmington, Va.[8] A history, which includes membership lists 1799-1815, 1877-1974, was published in 1974: FHL Book 975.547 K2t.[9] Another history was published in the Fluvanna County Historical Society Bulletin, Issue 59 (Spring 1995), as well as back in Issue 18 (April 1974).
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Fluvanna County fell within the bounds of the Albemarle Association.
  • First Minute Book, Upper Beaver Dam Church, Fluvanna, Virginia. By Mrs. James E. King." [1830s-1850s] The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1970):99-104. FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Fluvanna Parish Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Fluvanna County is available online.[10]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Library of Virginia's Chancery Record Index includes digital images of Fluvanna County chancery records for the years 1779-1882. Additional unindexed chancery records are available via the Fluvanna County Circuit Court Clerk's office.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 1 British alien living in Fluvanna County.[11]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Hudgins et al. 713 patents dated 1721-1855 in what is now Fluvanna County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2008. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Albemarle CountyLouisa CountyGoochland CountyCumberland CountyBuckingham CountyVA FLUVANNA.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL.


Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Online at: U.S. Census Bureau, Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Eastern District, Fluvanna County on page 130.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data. c1913. By J. T. McAllister. Hot Springs, Virginia : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).

Regiments. Service men in Fluvanna County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Fluvanna County supplied soldiers for the:

- Fluvanna County Militia


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Fluvanna County, pp. 79-80. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
  • Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. By James L. Douthat. 2007. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).

Regiments. Fluvanna County men served in the 12th Regiment.[12]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Fluvanna County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 14th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Fluvanna Rifle Guard).[13]
- 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Ambler Grays), Company F (Fluvanna Hornets) and Company K (Fluvanna Guards).[14]
- 46th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Scottsville Grays).[15]


Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1782-1812 Fluvanna County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1812 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782-1850 Fluvanna County, Virginia Personal Property Tax Lists, 1782-1850. Original records, Library of Virginia, Richmond, Va.; also available on microfilm at FHL.
  • 1782-1818 Fluvanna County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1818. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans.
  • 1782-1800, 1863-1864, 1892 Fluvanna County, Virginia Land (Tax) Books, 1782-1800, 1863-1864, 1892. Original records, Fluvanna County Courthouse, Palmyra, Va.; also available on microfilm at FHL.
  • 1783 Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
  • 1787 The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16; Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle; Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). Fluvanna County is included in Vol. 1.
  • 1790, 1802 Images of the 1790-1802 Personal Property Tax List of Fluvanna County, Virginia - Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1800 Fluvanna County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1978):16-22. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • 1815 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL 975 E4w. At various libraries (WorldCat). Fluvanna County is included in Vol. 1.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Vital Record Substitutes

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Fluvanna County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Fluvanna County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Fluvanna County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Fluvanna County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 10, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1966):76-77. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Fluvanna County Research. By Marie Martin Murphy. The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 23, No. 6 (Jun. 1999):1-3. Available at FHL; digital version at Virginia Genealogical Society.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Newberry
  3. https://www.fluvannacounty.org/ced/page/fluvanna-county-history
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Newberry
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Fluvanna County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fluvanna_County,_Virginia, accessed 17 June 2020.
  8. 8.0 8.1 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 221. Digital version at Google Books.
  9. Archie Paul Thompson, Lyles Baptist Church, 1774-1974, Fluvanna County, Virginia (Va.: A.P. Thompson and Trustees of Lyles Baptist Church, 1974). FHL Book 975.547 K2t.
  10. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  11. Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  12. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 84. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  13. Edward R. Crews and Timothy A. Parish, 14th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 117.
  14. Kevin C. Ruffner, 44th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 39.
  15. Darrell L. Collins, 46th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 85.