Floyd County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Floyd County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Floyd
Organized: 01 Feb 1831[1]
Parent County(s): Montgomery
Neighboring Counties
Carroll  • Franklin  • Montgomery  • Patrick  • Pulaski  • Roanoke
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaFloydCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Floyd County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Floyd County is located in the southwestern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for then Governor John Floyd.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Floyd County Courthouse
100 East Main Street
Floyd, Virginia 24091
Phone: 540-745-9330
Floyd County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records from 1852-1872, marriage, divorce, probate and court and land records from 1831[3]

Floyd County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1831 1852 1831 1831 1831 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

John Floyd.JPG

The county was named after Virginia Governor John Floyd (1783-1837).

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Floyd County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 4,453
1850 6,458 45.0%
1860 8,236 27.5%
1870 9,824 19.3%
1880 13,255 34.9%
1890 14,405 8.7%
1900 15,388 6.8%
1910 14,092 −8.4%
1920 13,115 −6.9%
1930 11,698 −10.8%
1940 11,967 2.3%
1950 11,351 −5.1%
1960 10,462 −7.8%
1970 9,775 −6.6%
1980 11,563 18.3%
1990 12,005 3.8%
2000 13,874 15.6%
2010 15,279 10.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1840

  • 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. 2001. By James L. Douthat. Signal Mountain, TN : Mountain Press. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press.

1890

  • 1890 Census, Floyd County, Virginia. 1890. By Marjorie Fluor Moore. Santa Ana, CA : McGinnis Printing Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Library of Virginia's Chancery Record Index includes digital images for Floyd County chancery records 1828-1916. Original chancery causes are maintained by the Floyd County Circuit Court Clerk.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Burton, Charles T. Botetourt County, Virginia, Early Settlers: From the Earliest Times through 1795, in the Area that was Botetourt County in 1782, Covers Parts of Present-day Counties of Montgomery, Bath, Giles, Floyd, Alleghany, Roanoke, Craig and Monroe. Troutville, Va.: n.p., 1979?. FHL Fiche 6015637-6015638.
  • Shelor, Sue Jefferson. Pioneers and Their Coat of Arms of Floyd County: Genealogies of Prominent Early Settlers of the Blue Ridge Plateau of Virginia. Winston-Salem, North Carolina: Hunter Publishing, 1961. FHL Book 929.273 Sh44s.
  • As of November 2010, a query for individuals born in Floyd, Virginia at World Connect, results in more than 80,000 entries.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Radford (Independent City)Galax (Independent City)Pulaski CountyMontgomery CountyRoanoke CountyFranklin CountyPatrick CountyCarroll CountyVA FLOYD.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Online at: U.S. Census Bureau, Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Floyd County on page 134.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. 1997. By Mary B. Kegley. n.p.: M.B. Kegley. FHL Collection

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Floyd County, p. 79. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Floyd County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company I (1st).[7]
- 14th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company A
- 21st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G 2nd.[8]
- 24th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Floyd Riflemen).[9]
- 25th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F.[10]
- 42nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Henry Volunteers), Company F (Leatherwood Fencibles), and Company G (Second Company of Volunteers).[11]
- 47th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.[12]
- 54th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies A, B, D, H, and I.[13]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Online Floyd County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Personal Property 1831 - - - 1831 -
Personal Property - - - - 1832-1850 -

Bibliography

  • 1831 The 1831 Floyd County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List; index online at New River Notes.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Beth Fridley has published abstracts of the following Floyd County birth record online at Ancestry:

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Beth Fridley has published abstracts of the following Floyd County death records online at Ancestry:

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Floyd County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Floyd County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Bassett Historical Center, Bassett, Virginia.
Website includes descriptions of collections. Excellent resource for family history research in Henry, Patrick, Floyd, Franklin and Pittsylvania counties in Virginia, the city of Martinsville, Virginia, and Rockingham, Stokes and Surry counties in North Carolina.[14]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Floyd County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Floyd County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 10, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1966):74-75. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Bassett Historical Center. By Alice J. Sweeney. The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 28, No. 4 (Aug. 2002):1-3. Available at FHL; online at: Virginia Genealogical Society.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://visitfloydva.com/about-floyd-county/
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Floyd_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Floyd_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 8 January 2020.
  7. The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
  8. John E. Olson, 21st Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 57.
  9. Ralph White Gunn, 24th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 34.
  10. Dobbie E. Lambert, 25th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 106.
  11. John Chapla, 42nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1983). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 5.
  12. Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
  13. George L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 54th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 91.
  14. Alice J. Sweeney, "Bassett Historical Center," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 28, No. 4 (Aug. 2002):1-3, available online at: http://www.vgs.org