Floyd County, Indiana Genealogy

United States

Indiana

Floyd County

Guide to Floyd County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Indiana Online Genealogy Records

County Facts County seat: New Albany Organized: January 2, 1819 Parent County(s): Clark, Harrison Neighboring Counties Washington  • Clark  • Harrison  • Jefferson (KY) See County Maps Courthouse Location Map Adoption Adopt-a-wiki page This page adopted by: Indiana Genealogical Society who welcome you to contribute. Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

Floyd County was named for Colonel John Floyd, the distinguished Virginian killed by the Indians on the Kentucky side of the Ohio River. It is located in the south-central area of the state.

County Courthouse

Floyd County Courthouse
311 W 1st Street
New Albany, IN 47150-3501
Phone: 812-948-5413
County Website

Floyd County Health Department
1917 Bono Road
New Albany, IN, 47150
Health Officer: Thomas Harris, MD
Phone Number: 812-948-4726
Fax: 812-948-2208
Email: cbass@floydcounty.in.gov
Health Department

County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage records from 1819, divorce and court records from 1863 and probate records from 1819.
Health Department has birth records and death records.
Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Floyd County, Indiana Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth*	Marriage	Death*	Court	Land	Probate	Census
1882	1819	1882	1863	1818	1819	1807
*Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Parent Counties: Formed January 2, 1819 from Clark and Harrison Counties. County Seat: New Albany Interactive Map of Indiana County Formation History (1790-1897) - animated maps illustrating Indiana county boundary changes Indiana Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:

Cities
New Albany
Towns
Floyds Knobs	Georgetown	Greenville
Census-designated places
Galena
Townships
Franklin Georgetown	Greenville Lafayette	New Albany

Resources

Biographies

• Indiana Biography Index at Indiana State Library

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Floyd County, Indiana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online	Find A Grave INGenWeb INGenWeb Archives Tombstone Project Indiana Interment Billion Graves
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)	Family History Library WorldCat
List of Cemeteries in the County	Findagrave.com FamilySearch Places
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Floyd County census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Historical populations
Census	Pop.	%±
1820	2,776	—
1830	6,361	129.1%
1840	9,454	48.6%
1850	14,875	57.3%
1860	20,183	35.7%
1870	23,300	15.4%
1880	24,590	5.5%
1890	29,458	19.8%
1900	30,118	2.2%
1910	30,293	0.6%
1920	30,661	1.2%
1930	34,655	13.0%
1940	35,061	1.2%
1950	43,955	25.4%
1960	51,397	16.9%
1970	55,622	8.2%
1980	61,169	10.0%
1990	64,404	5.3%
2000	70,823	10.0%
2010	74,578	5.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

• Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Floyd County, Indiana (1880) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes

• FamilySearch Places
  

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

• 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Floyd County courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Floyd County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.

• Biographical and Historical Souvenir for the Counties of Clark, Crawford, Harrison, Floyd, Jefferson, Jennings, Scott and Washington, Indiana. 1889. Compiled by John M. Gresham & Company. Chicago : Chicago Printing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).

Maps and Gazetteers

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

• Historic Indiana Maps at IUPUI University Library
• Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana
• FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Military Records

• Military Record Series Index at Indiana Digital Archives
• Floyd County Veterans at State Soldiers Home, Lafayette, Indiana (1906) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
• African-American Veterans in Floyd County, Indiana (1890) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)

Civil War
Civil War service men from Floyd County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Floyd County

• 1st Regiment, Indiana Heavy Artillery, Company B
• 4th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company D
• 6th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company M
• 10th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
• 12th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
• 13th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies B, D, and E
• 16th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
• 17th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
• 22nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
• 23rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, C, D, E, F, G, and K
• 38th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
• 49th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
• 52nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company D
• 66th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
• 81st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, and C
• 93rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
• 117th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (6 months, 1863-4), Company E
• 139th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company B
• 144th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, G, and K
• 146th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
• 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops

World War I

• 1919 Indiana, World War I, Enrollment Cards, 1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection

Naturalization and Citizenship

• Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.

Newspapers

Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.

• 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
• Selected Extracts from Newspapers in New Albany (1852) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
• Hoosier State Chronicles

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Floyd County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.

• 1798-1999 Indiana Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry $

School Records

• Directory of Teachers for Floyd County (1936) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)

Social Security Records

• 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
• 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.

Tax Records

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Marriage

• 1780-1992 Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
• 1800s-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at Findmypast $
• 1802-1892 Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry $
  
• 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
• 1811-2007 Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection

Death

• Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
• 1750-1993 Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
  
• 1882-1920 Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
  
• 1899-2011 Indiana, Death Certificates, 1899-2011 at Ancestry ($)

Research Facilities

Archives

Listed below are archives in Floyd County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

• Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
• FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
  

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

• New Albany Indiana Family History Center
• Shawnee Kentucky Family History Center
• Jeffersonville Township Public Library - an affiliate library.
• New Albany-Floyd County Public Library - an affiliate library.

Libraries

Listed below are libraries in Floyd County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.

Societies

Listed below are societies in Floyd County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.

Floyd County Historical Society
P.O. Box 455
509 West Market Street
New Albany, IN 47151-0455
Phone: 812-590-2798 or 540-745-3247
Email: info@floydhistoricalsociety.org
Facebook
Website

Southern Indiana Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 665
180 West Spring Street
New Albany, IN 47150
Email: sigsvolunteer@gmail.com
Website
The Society's collection of genealogical materials is housed in the Indiana History Room of the New Albany-Floyd County Public Library.

Websites

• Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
• Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Search by county or keyword
• Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
• List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
• Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Free and Members-only. Select a county
• EveryNameIndex.com for Indiana Free online genealogy indexes for county histories. Select a county.
• Floyd County INGenWeb USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
• Floyd County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
• FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

The collection is free on this subscription website.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.