Florence County, South Carolina Genealogy

United States

South Carolina

Florence County

Guide to Florence County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

South Carolina Online Genealogy Records

County Facts County seat: Florence Organized: December 22, 1888 Parent County(s): Marion, Darlington, Clarendon, Williamsburg Neighboring Counties Clarendon  • Darlington  • Dillon  • Lee  • Marion  • Marlboro  • Sumter  • Williamsburg See County Maps Courthouse Location Map Adoption This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for the daughter of General W. W. Harlee. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.

County Courthouse

Florence County Courthouse
180 North Irby Street
Florence, SC 29501-3431
Phone: 843-665-3031
Florence County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken

Florence County, South Carolina Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth*	Marriage	Death*	Court	Land	Probate	Census
1915	1911	1915	1889	1889	1889	1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss

1890 Lost census For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see: Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill at 24-7 Family History Circle. When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle at Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Blog. Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.

Boundary Changes

Parent Counties: created from Clarendon, Darlington, Marion, and Williamsburg counties on 22 December 1888. CountySeat: Florence. Interactive Map of South Carolina County Formation History (1790-1897) - animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes Florence County, South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:

Cities
Florence	Johnsonville	Lake City
Towns
Coward Olanta	Pamplico Quinby	Scranton Timmonsville
Unincorporated communities
Effingham	Mars Bluff

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Florence County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online	Find A Grave SCGenWeb USGenWeb Archives Interment.net BillionGraves
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)	Family History Library WorldCat
List of Cemeteries in the County	Find A Grave FamilySearch Places
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

• To view a cemetery list, see Florence County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
• National Cemetery Administration

Census Records

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

• 1829-1920 South Carolina, State and Territorial Censuses, 1829-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images

Historical populations
Census	Pop.	%±
1890	25,027	—
1900	28,474	13.8%
1910	35,671	25.3%
1920	50,406	41.3%
1930	61,027	21.1%
1940	70,582	15.7%
1950	49,710	−29.6%
1960	84,438	69.9%
1970	89,636	6.2%
1980	110,163	22.9%
1990	114,344	3.8%
2000	125,761	10.0%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1900

• Tanner, Vernon M. 1900 Census of the United States, State of South Carolina, County of Florence. 2 vols. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, n.d. FHL Collection 975.784 X2t 1900

Church Records

Episcopal Church
Before 1785, residents of what is now Florence County were served by these colonial parishes.

• Prince Frederick Parish 1734
• St. Mark's Parish 1757
• St. David's Parish 1768

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

• Florence

List of Churches and Church Parishes

• FamilySearch Places
  

Directories

• U.S. City Directories, 1822-1995

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans
United States African Americans African American Resources for South Carolina
Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

• Blooming Grove - Florence
• Claussen House - Florence - also called Jeffries Creek
• Columns - Mars Bluff - also called Rankin-Harwell House
• DeBerry - Pamplico
• Evander Gregg House - Mars Bluff - also called Red Doe
• Gregg - Mars Bluff - also called Wallace House
• Jeffries Creek - Florence - also called Claussen House
• Pauls - Pamplico
• Rankin-Harwell House - Mars Bluff - also called Columns
• Red Doe - Mars Bluff - also called Evander Gregg House
• Roseville - Florence
• Wallace House - Mars Bluff - also called Gregg

Genealogies

General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Learn more.

Bibliography

• Chisolm - Horn, John Chisolm and Ruth Marguerite Horn Thompson. The Ancestors and Descendants of Edward Traill Horn (1850-1915) - Harriet Chisolm (1861-1946), Henry Eyster Jacobs (1844-1932) - Laura Hewes Downing (1852-1936). Huntingdon, Pa.: J.C. Horn Associates, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 H783ho.
  
• The Darlington Flag (Lydia, SC) 1851-1852
• Haynes Christensen, Celia Langford. Haynes Heritage. Yorba Linda, Calif.: C.L. Christensen, 1998. FHL Book 929.273 H333c.
  
• Keeffe - Hanna, Muriel K. Keeffe/Keefe/Keith Family of Florence and Marion Counties, South Carolina. Summerton, S.C.: M.K. Hanna, 2004. FHL 929.273 K243h
• LaMotte - Gault, Charles B. Portrait Album of the Family of Mr. and Mrs. Francis Beers Gault of Lake Waccamaw and Wilmington, North Carolina. Typescript. Microfilmed 1971: FHL Film 844967 Item 6.
  
• Lee - Brown, Gerald D. A Genealogy of a Lee Family Ancestry and Descendants of David Lee, Sr.: Mainly of Old Williamsburg District - Present Day Florence County, South Carolina. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1995. FHL 929.273 L51br
• Lewis Lewis, J.D. My Neck of the Woods: The Lewis Families of Southeastern North Carolina and Northeastern South Carolina. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2002. FHL Collection book 929.273 L585Ljd, CD-ROM no. 1036
• McCown - Clement, Louise McCown. The McCown Family of the Peedee Section of South Carolina. Columbia, S.C.: R.L. Bruan, 1966. FHL Book 929.273 M137cL.
• O'Cain - Hegg, Sadie Catherine Leach. The Cain Tree and Tangled Branches: A Genealogical Record. n.p.: S.L. Hegg, 1990. FHL Book 929.273 C123h.
• Stone - Rogers, Dorothy Lee and Louis Benjamin Rogers.Stone Works: Descendants of Old Austin Stone of the Three Rivers Area, with Related Families. Garden City, S.C.: D.L. Rogers, 2004. FHL Book 929.273 St71rd.
  
• Taylor - House, D.J., Norma House, and Danny House. Cox--Wheeler: and Related Families. West Columbia, S.C.: D.J. ; N. House, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 C839hd.
  

Land and Property Records

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following charts show where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Florence County with Parent Counties and Districts orignating in Williamsburg County

Date	Government Office
1888-present	Florence County
1868-1888	Williamsburg County
1804-1865	Williamsburg District
1868-1888	Marion County
1800-1868	Marion District
1769-1800	Georgetown District Records Lost
1719-1769	Charleston District
1710-1719	Proprietary Land Grants

Tracing Land Currently in Florence County with Parent Counties and Districts originating in Clarendon County

Date	Government Office
1868-present	Clarendon County (new)
1855-1868	Clarendon District
1801-1855	Sumter District
1800-1801	Sumter District Records Lost*
1792-1800	Salem County Records Lost*
1785-1800	Claredon County (old) Records Lost*
1769-1785	Camden District
1719-1769	Charleston District
1710-1719	Proprietary Land Grants

• Sumter District records destroyed by fire 27 Nov 1801

Tracing Land Currently in Florence County with Parent Counties and Districts originating in Marion County

Date	Government Office
1868-present	Marion County
1800-1865	Marion District
1769-1800	Georgetown District Records Lost
1719-1769	Charleston District
1710-1719	Proprietary Land Grants

• Many colonial deeds for Marion County are recorded in deed records after 1800.

Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification.All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative. Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

Local Histories

The county is named after Florence Harllee.

• King, G. Wayne. "The Emergence of Florence, South Carolina, 1853-1890," The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 82, No. 3 (Jul., 1981), pp. 197-209. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
• Gregg, Alexander.History of the Old Cheraws Containing an Account of the Aborigines of the Pedee, the First White Settlements, their Subsequent Progress, Civil Changes, the Struggle of the Revolution, and the Growth of the Country Afterward, Extending from About A.D. 1730 to 1810 with Notices of Families and Sketches of Individuals (Baltimore, Maryland Genealogical Pub. Co., 1967 ), 629 pages. Book at FHL 975.7 F2g 1967
• King, G. Wayne. Rise Up So Early a History of Florence County, Sourth Carolina (Spartanburg, South Carolina Reprint Company, 1981), 452 pages. Includes bibliographical references and index. Book found at FHL 975.784 H2k

Maps and Gazetteers

• FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military Records

General

• "Mars Bluff Light Dragoons, votes," Pee Dee Queue, November 1985, Volume 9, Issue 11. Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society Marion, SC.
• "Mars Bluff Light Dragoons, roll, 1837," Pee Dee Queue, September 1985, Volume 9, Issue 9. Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society Marion, SC.

Civil War
Online Civil War Indexes and Records

• 1861-1865 South Carolina Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
• 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
• 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)

Florence County did not exist during the Civil War. It was created on 22 December 1888 from Marion, Darlington, Clarendon and Williamsburg Counties. During the Civil War, men from the area of Florence County mostly would have served in various regiments recruited in those counties. Counties were called districts during the Civil War.

Other Resources

• King, G. Wayne. Rise Up So Early: a History of Florence County, South Carolina (Spartanburg, South Carolina: Reprint Company, 1981), 452 pages. Includes bibliographical references and index. Civil War pages 45-58. Book found at FHL 975.784 H2k

Newspapers

• 1800s-1999 Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry ($)

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Florence County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

• Black Sun (Columbia, S.C.) 1977-current.
• Florence County Journal (Timmonsville, S.C.) 1925-1929.
• Florence Morning News (Florence, S.C.) 1945-current.
• Florence Times (Florence, S.C.) 1876-1896.
• Florence Times (Florence, S.C.) 1965-1970.
• Lake City News (Lake City, S.C.) 1910-1972.
• Lake City News and Post (Lake City, S.C.) 1972-current.
• Morning News (Florence, S.C.) 1929-1945.
• Pee Dee Times (Florence, S.C.) 1987-1992.
• The Advertiser (Timmonsville, S.C.) 1934-1934.
• The Banner Messenger (Florence, S.C.) 1896-1896.
• The Dewey Eagle (Lake City, S.C.) 1898-1901.
• The Evening Herald (Florence, S.C.) 1903-1904.
• The Examiner (Florence, S.C.) 1977-1978.
• The Farmers' Friend (Timmonsville, S.C.) 1887-1889.
• The Florence Advertiser (Florence, S.C.) 1932-1932.
• The Florence Daily Times (Florence, S.C.) 1894-1925.
• The Florence Evening Star (Florence, S.C.) 1939-1941.
• The Florence Journal (Florence, S.C.) 1978-1983.
• The Florence Messenger (Florence, S.C.) 1889-1896.
• The Florence Pioneer (Florence, S.C.) 1872-1876.
• The Florence Star (Florence, S.C.) 1941-1941.
• The Florentine (Florence, S.C.) 1957-1958.
• The Lake City Post (Lake City, S.C.) 1968-1972.
• The Morning News Review (Florence, S.C.) 1923-1929.
• The Olanta Observer (Olanta, S.C.) 1915-1920.
• The Reform Advocate (Florence, S.C.) 1893-1914.
• The Rutledge County News (Lake City, S.C.) 1908-1910.
• The Times (Florence, S.C.) 1992-current.
• The Times-Herald (Lake City, S.C.) 1949-1967.
• The Times-Messenger (Florence, S.C.) 1896-1919.
• The Timmonsville Enterprise (Timmonsville, S.C.) 1895-1925.
• The Timmonsville News (Timmonsville, S.C.) 1875-187?.
• The Timmonsville News (Timmonsville, S.C.) 1925-1933.
• The Timmonsville News (Timmonsville, S.C.) 1964-1972.
• The Timmonsville Times (Timmonsville, S.C.) 1946-1958.
• The Watchman and Defender (Timmonsville, S.C.) 1920-1931.
• The Weekly News Review (Florence, S.C.) 1922-1923.
• Timmonsville News-Argus (Timmonsville, S.C.) 1937-1937.
• Ancestry.com. The Morning News Review [1924-1928] (Florence, South Carolina) [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 2006. Available at Ancestry ($).
• Ancestry.com. Florence Morning News [1929-1977] (Florence, South Carolina) [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 2007. Available at Ancestry ($).
• Ancestry.com. Morning News [1936] (Florence, South Carolina) [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 2006. Available at Ancestry ($).

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

• Historical Newspapers of South Carolina at University of South Carolina Libraries - not complete

Current

• SC Now Morning News (Florence, S.C.) Online edition.
• Florence County Information Portal

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

• Pee Dee Queue
• Three Rivers Chronicle

Probate Records

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

• Florence County, South Carolina estate papers, ca. 1884-1916 at FamilySearch.
• South Carolina, Florence County, Probate Court at Ancestry.com.
• Cheraws or Chesterfield Distict wills, 1750-1865 and abstracts from the court of common pleas, 1823-1869. By James C. Pigg.(included today's Chesterfield, Marlboro and Darlington Counties and parts of Florence and Lee counties. These are Work Projects Administration (WPA) transcripts.
• 1670-1980 South Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1670-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
• 1671-1977 South Carolina Probate Records, Bound Volumes, 1671-1977 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Images Only
• 1732-1964 South Carolina Probate Records, Files and Loose Papers, 1732-1964 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Images Only
• 1782-1866 South Carolina, Will Transcripts 1782-1866 at Findmypast — index, ($) — $, index

Social Security Records

• 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
• 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007

Tax Records

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

• South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Florence County.
  

Published abstracts
Holcomb and Lucas's publication includes the area that later became Florence County:

• 1811, 1814, 1824 Holcomb, Brent H. and Silas Emmett Lucas. Some South Carolina County Records... 2 vols. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1976-1989. FHL Collection Includes 1811, 1814, and 1824 tax lists for Marion District.
• 1930s Grandma's Trunk, Tax Receipts, 1930s, Three Rivers Chronicle, Vol. 22, No. 2 (Summer 2001).

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

• 1766-1900 South Carolina, Delayed Birth Certificates, 1766-1900 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
• 1915-1917 South Carolina, U.S., Births, 1915-1917 at Ancestry - index & images ($)

Birth Substitutes - Indexes

• 1800s-1900s Births, Deaths and Marriages from Timmonsville, South Carolina Newspapers: Late 19th ; 20th Century by Robert M. DeFee FHL Collection WorldCat - index
  

Marriage

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

• 1800s Deaths and Marriages from 19th Century Florence, S.C. Newspapers by Robert M. DeFee FHL Collection WorldCat - index
  
• 1800s-1900s Births, Deaths and Marriages from Timmonsville, South Carolina Newspapers: Late 19th ; 20th Century by Robert M. DeFee FHL Collection WorldCat - index
  
• 1911-1955 Florence County, South Carolina Marriage Registers: Whites ; Afro-Americans, ca. 1911-1955 FHL Collection - records
  
• 1917-1950 Florence County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses; Affidavits, ca. 1917-1950 FHL Collection - records
• There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found insome counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

• Florence, South Carolina Area Obituaries by John M. Gregg FHL Collection
• 1800s Deaths and Marriages from 19th Century Florence, S.C. Newspapers by Robert M. DeFee WorldCat 44734096, FHL Collection - index
• 1800s-1900s Births, Deaths and Marriages from Timmonsville, South Carolina Newspapers: Late 19th and 20th Century by Robert M. DeFee WorldCat 70902566, FHL Collection - index
• 1816-1990 South Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1816-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
• 1821-1969 South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969 at Ancestry - index & images ($)
• 1889-1915 Extracts from Florence County Coroner's Inquisitions, 1889-1915 by Robert M. DeFee FHL Collection WorldCat - Index
  
• 1915-1943 South Carolina, Deaths, 1915-1943 at MyHeritage - index & images ($)
• 1915-1965 South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
• State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Research Facilities

Archives

Listed below are archives in Florence County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

• Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
• FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
  

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

• Camden South Carolina Family History Center
• Columbia South Carolina Family History Center
• Florence South Carolina Family History Center
• Sumter South Carolina Family History Center

• Richland County Public Library - an affiliate library

Libraries

Listed below are libraries in Florence County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Libraries
Florence County Library System consists of a Main Library, five branch facilities, and a bookmobile.
The library systen is on Flickr, Facebook, and Twitter.Website

Florence - Main Library
Address:
509 South Dargan Street
Florence, South Carolina 29506
Phone: (843) 662-8424
Fax: (843) 661-7544
Hours: Monday to Thusday 9:00 a.m. to 8:30 p.m., Friday to Saturday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Sunday 2:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. The E.N. Zeigler South Carolina History Room in the Florence Library contains many genealogical resources. Researchers will find one the largest genealogical collections in northeastern South Carolina. Cemetery surveys for most South Carolina counties, as well as deed, probate, and newspaper abstracts that include South Carolina, North Carolina, Georgia. It is home to the Graham Collection, purchased in 1927 by the Library from the estate of Samuel A. Graham, State Senator from Williamsburg County. This unique collection of rare Americana is especially rich in South Carolina items and includes several exceedingly rare maps.
SC Room Phone: 843-413-7073/7060
SC Room email: scroom@florencelibrary.org. Johnsonville - Doctors Bruce ; Lee Foundation Library
Address:
242 South Georgetown Highway
Johnsonville, South Carolina 29555
Phone: (843) 386-2052
Fax: (843) 380-1302
Hours: Mon and Thu: 9:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Lake City
Address:
221 East Main Street
Lake City, South Carolina 29560
Phone: (843) 394-8071
Fax: (843) 394-1033
Hours: Monday to Wednesday 9:00 a.m. to 7:30 p.m., Thursday and Friday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Olanta - Dr. John M. Thomason Public Library
Address:
210 E. Hampton Street
Olanta, South Carolina 29114
Phone: (843) 396-4287
Fax: (843) 396-9317
Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Tuesday and Thursday 11:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., Sunday 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Pamplico - Dozier M. Munn Pamplico Public Library
Address:
100 East Main Street
Pamplico, South Carolina 29583
Phone: (843) 493-5441
Fax: (843) 493-0361 MWF: 10:00 - 5:00
Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., Saurday 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Timmonsville - Baker Memorial Public Library
Address:
298 W. Smith Street
Timmonsville, South Carolina 29161
Phone: (843) 346-2941
Fax: (843) 346-2931
Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Tuesday and Thursday 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., Satuday 9:00 a.m to 1:00 p.m.

Museums

Florence Museum
Address:
558 Spruce Street Florence SC 29501
Telephone: 843.662.3351
Email: florencemuseum@me.com
Hours: Tuesday to Saurday 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Sunday 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.Website

The Florence Museum contains primarily art and artifacts from many times and places. Among its collections are a few historic documents

Societies

Listed below are societies in Florence County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

• Old Darlington District Chapter, SCGS
  P.O. Box 175
  Hartsville, SC 29551
  Email: leemlw@aol.com
  Website
• Darlington County Historical Commission and Museum
  204 Hewitt Street
  Darlington SC 29532
  (843) 398-4710
  Email: dchc@darcosc.net
  Website
  Facebook

Websites

• Florence County SCGenWeb
• Florence County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
• Friends of the Florence Stockade
• FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides

• South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Florence County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.