Finland Civil Registration

Finland Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Guided Research Research Strategies Record Finder Finding Town of Origin
Record Types
Cemeteries Census Church Directories Church Records Civil Registration Court Records Directories Emigration & Immigration Genealogies Jewish Records Heraldry Land & Property	Merchant Marine Military Records Newspapers Nobility Occupations Online Records Periodicals Probate Records Public Records Religious Records School Records Taxation Websites
Finland Background
Biography Church History Finnish Word List Gazetteers Geography Handwriting Historical Geography History Languages	Letter Writing Guide Maps Personal Names Social Life & Customs Swedish Word List For Further Reading
Cultural Groups
Cultural Groups Sami People
Local Research Resources
Archives & Libraries Societies Family History Centers

Finland

Civil Registration

How to Find the Records

Offices to Contact

Väestörekisterikeskus
PL 7 (Kellosilta 4)
00521 Helsinki
Finland
Telephone: 011-358-9-229 161
Fax: 011-358-9-2291 6795
URL: http://www.vaestorekisterikeskus.fi/

Historical Background

Civil Registration Kept by the State Church

Records of births, marriages, and deaths are commonly referred to as vital records because they refer to critical events in a person’s life. Civil registration is the vital records made by the government. Vital records of Finland have traditionally been kept by the church.

See Finland Church Records for more information.

Civil Registration for People Without Religious Preference

In 1923 a freedom of religion law was passed. As a result, people who did not have a religious preference were recorded in a civil registry [Siviilirekisteri/Civil registret]. Later, people who belonged to churches other than the state churches were also included in the civil registry.

Census Records as Civil Registration

In 1970 the government’s census records [henkikirjat/mantalslängder] became the basis of a general population register [Väestörekisteri/ Befolkningsregistret] for all people in Finland. This population register also incorporated the information from the earlier civil registry [Siviilirekisteri/Civil registret].

For more information about Finnish censuses, see Finland Census.

The Väestörekisteri/Befolkningsregistret has local offices on a commune (parish) level. The central office has a computerized register that includes information on individuals nationwide. The central office can help you find living relatives in Finland.