Guide to Finland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Finland Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Finland is a Nordic country in Northern Europe bordered by Sweden, Norway, Russia, and Estonia. Before 1809 Finland was a part of Sweden. From 1809 to 1917 it belonged to the Russian Empire. Finnish and Swedish are the official languages.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Finland Research
Links to articles on getting started with Finnish research.
Finland Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Finland research.
Finding Your Ancestors' Town in Finland[edit | edit source]
- Genealogical records are organized by geographical locality. Civil registration (government birth, marriage, and death records) and church records (christenings/baptisms, marriages, and burials) were kept at the local level. To search these records, you must know the town where your ancestors lived.
- If you do not know your ancestors' town, follow the advice in the Wiki article, Finland Finding Town of Origin, to search a variety of records that might provide that information.
Finland Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
In 1998, new regions and names of regions were organized. If you look at a modern map of Finland, it does not match this. However, the Family History Library catalog and FamilySearch Historical records are organized by this map.
Counties[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the county and parish level in Finland. Click on a county below to go to the county wiki article listing more information. In 1998, new regions and names of regions were organized. If you look at a modern map of Finland, it does not match this. However, the Family History Library catalog and FamilySearch Historical records are organized by these counties.
|Ahvenanmaa||Åland||1918 - 2009|
|Häme||Tavastland||1831 - 1997|
|Keski-Suomi||Mellersta-Finland||1960 - 1997|
|Kuopio||Kuopio||1776 - 1997|
|Kymi||Kymmene||1947 - 1997|
|Lappi||Lappland||1938 - 2009|
|Mikkeli||St. Michel||1831 - 1997|
|Oulu||Uleåborg||1634 - 2009|
|Pohjois-Karjala||Norra-Karelen||1960 - 1997|
|Turku-Pori||Åbo och Björneborg||1634 - 1997|
|Uusimaa||Nyland||1831 - 1997|
|Vaasa||Vasa||1776 - 1997|
|Viipuri||Viborg||1634 - 1947|
Parishes[edit | edit source]
More Finland Research Strategies[edit | edit source]
Research strategies give guidance on how to research or what records to search for first. Below are additional wiki articles about research strategies in Finland.
More Finland Research Tools[edit | edit source]
Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools for Finland.
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Finland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Finland, accessed 23 March 2016.
- Valtioneuvoston päätös maakunnista (Government decision on provinces), https://www.finlex.fi/fi/laki/alkup/1997/19971159
- Maakuntajakolaki tuli voimaan 1 päivänä maaliskuuta 1998 (The Provincial Law entered into force on 1 March 1998), https://www.finlex.fi/fi/laki/alkup/1998/19980147