Fayette County, Indiana Genealogy
Guide to Fayette County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Fayette County is named after Revolutionary War hero, the Marquis de Lafayette (1757-1834). It is located in the east-central area of the state.[1]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Fayette County Courthouse
401 N Central Ave; PO Box 607
Connersville, IN 47331-0607
Phone: 765-825-1813
County Website
Fayette County Health Department
401 N. Central Ave. (Lower Level)
Connersville, IN, 47331
Health Officer: Wayne White, MD
Phone Number: 765-825-4013
Fax: 765-825-7189
Email: health@co.Fayette.in.us
Health Department
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, probate, divorce and court records from 1819 and naturalization records from 1924. [2]
Health Department has birth records and death records.
Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Fayette County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1883 | 1819 | 1829 | 1819 | 1816 | 1819 | 1807 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Fayette County census records online, see: Indiana Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 5,950 | — |
| 1830 | 9,112 | 53.1% |
| 1840 | 9,837 | 8.0% |
| 1850 | 10,217 | 3.9% |
| 1860 | 10,225 | 0.1% |
| 1870 | 10,476 | 2.5% |
| 1880 | 11,394 | 8.8% |
| 1890 | 12,630 | 10.8% |
| 1900 | 13,495 | 6.8% |
| 1910 | 14,415 | 6.8% |
| 1920 | 17,142 | 18.9% |
| 1930 | 19,243 | 12.3% |
| 1940 | 19,411 | 0.9% |
| 1950 | 23,391 | 20.5% |
| 1960 | 24,454 | 4.5% |
| 1970 | 26,216 | 7.2% |
| 1980 | 28,272 | 7.8% |
| 1990 | 26,015 | −8.0% |
| 2000 | 25,588 | −1.6% |
| 2010 | 24,277 | −5.1% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Fayette County, Indiana at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.
For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.
After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Fayette County courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Fayette County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.
- Biographical and Genealogical History of Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties, Indiana. 2 volumes. 1899. Chicago, Illinois : Lewis Pub. Co. Online at: Vol. 1 -FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 2 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 1 - Internet Archive, Vol. 2 - Internet Archive, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Fayette County, Indiana. 1917. By Frederic Irving Barrows. Indianapolis, Ind. B.F. Bowen. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat). Index: Every Name Index, compiled by Cathy L. O'Connor, 2007.
- History of Fayette County, Indiana: Containing a History of the Townships. 1885. Chicago, Illinois : Warner, Beers & Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Historic Indiana Maps at IUPUI University Library
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
Civil War service men from Fayette County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Fayette County
- 2nd Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company L
- 3rd Battery, Indiana Light Artillery,
- 5th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry (90th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers), Company C
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company E
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company C
- 11th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized I, and K
- 16th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company E, and Reorganized Company A
- 20th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company C
- 36th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 91st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 104th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 111th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C, and L
- 124th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
- 139th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company F
- 144th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 147th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 148th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Civil War Book:
- Barrows, Frederick Irving, Chapter 10, "Military Annals," History of Fayette County, Indiana(Indianapolis, Ind. B.F. Bowen),page 301-323. Online at: FamilySearch Digital;Internet Archive
- Every Name Index to History of Fayette County, Indiana. Every Name Index compiled by Cathy L. O'Connor, 2007; original text by Frederic Irving Barrows, Editor-in-Chief, 1917; reproduction by Unigraphic, Inc., 1973. EveryNameIndex.com
World War I
- 1919 Indiana, World War I, Enrollment Cards, 1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Hoosier State Chronicles
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Fayette County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.
- 1798-1999 Indiana Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry $
School Records[edit | edit source]
- Students of Bentonville, Fayette County (1925) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Teachers of Bentonville, Fayette County (1925) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Directory of Teachers of Fayette County (1936) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1992 - Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1800s-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at Findmypast$
- 1802-1892 - Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry $
- 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
- 1811-2007 - Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
- 1750-1993 Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1882-1920 Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1899-2011 Indiana, Death Certificates, 1899-2011 at Ancestry ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Fayette County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Batesville Indiana Family History Center
- Richmond Indiana Family History Center
- Franklin County Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Union County Public Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Fayette County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Historic Connersville History Museum
200 West 5th Street
P.O. Box 197
Connersille, IN 47331
Phone: 765-825-1281
Facebook
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Fayette County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.
Historic Connersville, Inc.
200 West Fifth Street
Connersville, IN 47331
Phone: 765-825-0946
Facebook
Website
Whitewater Valley Genealogical Association
P.O. Box 941
Connersville, IN 47331
Email: wvgenealogy@gmail.com
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
- Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Search by county or keyword
- Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
- List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
- Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Free and Members-only. Select a county
- EveryNameIndex.com for Indiana Free online genealogy indexes for county histories. Select a county.
- InGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Fayette County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Fayette County, Indiana (Genealogy Trails History Group)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Fayette County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fayette_County,_Indiana 3/28/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Ancestry.com wiki contributors, "Adams County, Ohio" in Ancestry.com: Wiki at http://www.ancestry.com/wiki/index.php?title=Monroe _County,_Ohio (accessed 4 August 2012).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Fayette County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fayette_County,_Indiana, accessed 07 December 2019.