Fayette County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to Fayette County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Marquis de Lafayette. The County is located in the west central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Fayette County Courthouse
200 Courthouse Square
Fayetteville, GA 30214-2198
Phone: 770-461-6041
Fayette County Website
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records.[3]
Fayette county's original courthouse was built in 1825 and is the oldest standing courthouse in Georgia. It is located at the intersections of GA Highways 85 and 54, "on the Square." former Fayette Courthouse History
Fayette County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1919 | 1823 | 1919 | 1823 | 1823 | 1823 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1983 On April 11, 1983 the upper floors of the Courthouse at Fayetteville burned, but no records were harmed in the vault in the basement.[5] |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Several neighboring counties were created in part from Fayette County lands: DeKalb (1822), Campbell (1828 - consolidated with Fulton County in 1932), Spalding (1851) and Clayton (1858). |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
Since the late 20th century, Fayette County has been part of the Greater Atlanta Metropolitan Area.
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Fayette County Bible Records at Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1830 | 5,504 | — |
| 1840 | 6,191 | 12.5% |
| 1850 | 8,709 | 40.7% |
| 1860 | 7,047 | −19.1% |
| 1870 | 8,221 | 16.7% |
| 1880 | 8,605 | 4.7% |
| 1890 | 8,728 | 1.4% |
| 1900 | 10,114 | 15.9% |
| 1910 | 10,966 | 8.4% |
| 1920 | 11,396 | 3.9% |
| 1930 | 8,665 | −24.0% |
| 1940 | 8,170 | −5.7% |
| 1950 | 7,978 | −2.4% |
| 1960 | 8,199 | 2.8% |
| 1970 | 11,364 | 38.6% |
| 1980 | 29,043 | 155.6% |
| 1990 | 62,415 | 114.9% |
| 2000 | 91,263 | 46.2% |
| 2010 | 106,567 | 16.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Baptist
Fayetteville Baptist Church
- 1903 Fayetteville Baptist Church Baptism Index 1903. Batch C712801 at FamilySearch
Methodist
Fayetteville Methodist Church
- 1869-1885 Fayetteville Methodist Church Marriage Index 1869-1885. Batch C712811 at FamilySearch
- 1869-1895 Fayetteville Methodist Church Marriage Index 1869-1895. Batch M712811 at FamilySearch
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1823-1860 Inferior Court Bonds, 1823-1860 [Fayette County, Georgia](*); Inferior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1823-1903 Minutes, 1823-1903(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1823-1941 Estray Records, 1823-1941 [Fayette County, Georgia](*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1824-1862 Minutes and Miscellaneous Court Records, 1824-1862(*); Inferior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1824-1914 Writs, Declarations, & Petitions, 1824-1914(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1827-1914 Minutes, 1827-1914(*); Superior Courtat FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1833-1882 Superior Court Records of Criminal Cases, 1833-1882 [Fayette County, Georgia](*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1835-1892 Account Books, 1835-1839, 1850, 1891-1892(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1857-1881 Chattel Deeds, 1857-1881 [Fayette County, Georgia](*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1869-1951 County Officer Bonds, 1869-1951 [Fayette County, Georgia](*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1874-1953 Administrator and Executor Bonds, 1874-1953 [Fayette County, Georgia](*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- Genealogical Resources in the Atlanta Area. 1994. By Gary M. Palgon. Atlanta, GA : Custom Enterprises, Ltd. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Carmichael-Hemperley Funeral Home and Crematory in Peachtree City
- H. Griner Funeral Home in Fayetteville
- Hope Funeral Home in Fayetteville
- Mowell Funeral Home and Cremation Service in Fayetteville and Peachtree City
- Rollings Funeral Service in Tyrone
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- 1735-1866 Georgian Colonial and Headright Plat Index, 1735-1866 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - alpha index
- 1783-1909 Headright and Bounty Plats, 1783-1909 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1805-1833 District Plats of Survey at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images organized by county and district
- Colonial Plats and Warrants at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
Early deeds are available online at Fayette Clerk. On the left under the Main Menu click Property Index Search. Under Disclaimer select "Click to Accept the Disclaimer and Proceed to the Website". From the top menu select "Online Index Books". Search the Grantor/Grantee Index, or enter the book and page number on the right hand side under "Search Record Book".
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Fayette County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- 1740s-? Historic Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1866 - 1935 County Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- Maps of Georgia (1758-1932)
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 Confederate Enlistment Oaths and Discharges at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images and alphabetical index
- 1861-1865 Confederate Muster Rolls at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images; filter by commanding officer, service branch and regiment
- 1861-1865 Confederate Pension Application Supplements - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
- 1864 Militia Enrollment Lists, 1864 - images; filter by county
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
- 1879-1920 Georgia, Confederate Pension Rolls, 1879-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1879-1960 Confederate Pension Applications - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
Regiments. Service men in Fayette County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Fayette County:
- - 10th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- - 13th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- - 27th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- - 28th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- - 30th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company H
- - 44th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company G
- - 53rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company C
- Fayette County Historical Society, and Carolyn C. Cary. 1977. The history of Fayette County, 1821-1971. [Fayetteville, Ga.]: Fayette County Historical Society. (page 344,350,354,356,359,362,365,371)975.8426 H2h, Film 1036079 item 7
- Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Fayette County). 1960. Pension 1861-1949, and, Soldiers' roll 1861-1865. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 209420
Spanish-American War
- 1898 Spanish-American War Service Summary Cards - images and alphabetical index; filter by residence, muster location and unit
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Casualties Scrapbooks - images and alphabetical index
- 1920-1929 Georgia, World War I, Statement of Service Cards, 1920-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940-1942 Georgia World War II Draft Registration Cards 1940-1942 at findmypast - index ($))
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Georgia Historic Newspapers at Digital Library of Georgia
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voting Records
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1733-1753 Colonial Wills at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1742-1990 Georgia Probate Records, 1742-1990(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1742-1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1754-1776 Colonial Will Books at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1828-1897 Wills 1828-1897 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1830-1850 Wills 1830-1850 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1837-1845, 1851-1856 Mixed Records, inventories, returns, etc. 1837-1845; 1851-1856 Georgia Pioneers ($)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
- 1787-1900 Georgia, Tax Digests, 1787-1900 at FamilySearch — How to use this collection, index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 - Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1560-1993 Georgia, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1699-1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1754-1960 Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1785-1950 Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1787-1962 Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index
- 1808-1967 Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch — index
- 1823-1849 Fayette County Marriage Books A and B Index 1823-1849. Batch M712791 at FamilySearch[8]
- 1828-1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1849-1881 Fayette County Marriage Books C and E Index 1849-1881. Batch M712792 at FamilySearch
- 1881-1892 Fayette County Marriage Book F Index 1881-1892. Batch M712793 at FamilySearch
- 1892-1912 Fayette County Marriage Books G and H Index 1892-1912. Batch M712794 at FamilySearch
- 1823-1832 Images of Book A. Georgia Pioneers($)
- 1832-1849 Index of Book B. Georgia Pioneers($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 - Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images
- 1914-1927 Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1919-1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1919-1930 Georgia Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - index and images
- 1928-1930 Georgia Non-Indexed Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1928-1942 Georgia Deaths, 1928-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1933-1998 Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch — index
The Georgia Archives has a few death certificates from 1919 through 1927. The collection also includes a number of certificates from 1914-1918, with the bulk dating from 1917 and 1918. Georgia Death Certificates - Georgia's Virtual Vault
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Fayette County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
- Georgia Archives
Georgia's Virtual Vault
University System of Georgia
Website
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Fayette County. For state-wide library facilities, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Fayette County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Georgia Societies.
The Fayette County Historical Society
P.O. Box 421
195 Lee Street
Fayetteville, GA 30214
Phone: 770-461-9270
The Fayette County Historical Society
National Society Daughters of the American Revolution
James Waldrop Chapter NSDAR
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb Fayette County, Georgia project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- GAGenWeb Archives
- Fayette County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
- The New Georgia Encyclopedia has an excellent thumbnail sketch of Fayette county here: Georgia Encyclopedia Articles Fayette County
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Fayette County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fayette_County,_Georgia accessed 31 Oct 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fayette County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fayette County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
- ↑ Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 31. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Fayette County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fayette_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 14 Febuary 2019.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
