Fauquier County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Fauquier County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Warrenton
Organized: May 1, 1759
Parent County(s): Prince William
Neighboring Counties
Clarke  • Culpeper  • Loudoun  • Prince William  • Rappahannock  • Stafford  • Warren
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaFauquierCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Fauquier County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Fauquier County was named for Francis Fauquier, Lieutenant Governor of the Colony of Virginia from 1758 to 1768. The county is located in the northern area of the Commonwealth of Virginia and is included in the Washington, DC Metropolitan area.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Fauquier County Courthouse
6 Court Street
Warrenton, Virginia 22186
Phone: 540-422-8035
Fauquier County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records from 1853-1896, Death records 1853-1896 and 1912-1917, marriage, land and probate records from 1759, Divorce Records from 1975 and military discharge records from 1944[2]

Fauquier County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1759 1853 1975 1759 1759 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Lt. Gov. Francis Fauquier (1703-1768)

The county is named after Virginia Lieutenant-Governor Francis Fauquier (1703-1768).

How to use this collection.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Directory of Fauquier Professional Men in 1851. (Attorneys, Physicians, and Hotel Keepers) The Newsletter of the Prince William County Genealogical Society, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jul. 1984). Available at FHL. Taken from the Fauquier Democrat - Special section for the Bicentennial Thursday, April 30, 1959, page E-8.
  • The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. 1952. By George Barton Cutten. Richmond, Virginia : The Dietz Press, Incorporated. Online at: Hathitrust; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a section on Warrenton silversmiths.
  • Warrenton Directory, 1844-1847. (Attorneys, Physicians, Dentists, Druggists, and Merchants) The Newsletter of the Prince William County Genealogical Society, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jul. 1984). Available at FHL. Taken from the Fauquier Democrat special section for the Bicentennial Thursday, April 30, 1959, page E-8.
  • Water Powered Mills of Fauquier County, Virginia. 1972. By Lee Moffett. Warrenton, Virginia: M.J. Moffett.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Fauquier County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

  • Fauquier Family Cemetery Foundation
  • 1800-1986 Virginia, Jewish Cemetery Records Index, ca. 1800-1986 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • Abstracts of Wills, Administrations, and Marriages of Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1800. 2001. By Junie Estelle Stewart King. Online at: Ancestry ($). Includes cemetery inscriptions.
  • Fauquier County, Virginia Tombstone Inscriptions. 1993. By Nancy C. Baird, Carol Jordan. V1. hb. 307 pp. IP-47.
  • Inscriptions of 2,000 People in Warrenton, Virginia, Cemetery, 1811-1998.
  • Along with a chronological history of Warrenton, sections group people according to their interests and careers: horse owners and trainers, volunteers, town merchants, fire department, restaurants, government, educators, construction, and other occupations. 118 Pages, Bibliography, Index, Paper, 1999. Details at Warrenton Cemetery.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 17,892
1800 21,329 19.2%
1810 22,689 6.4%
1820 23,103 1.8%
1830 26,086 12.9%
1840 21,897 −16.1%
1850 20,868 −4.7%
1860 21,706 4.0%
1870 19,690 −9.3%
1880 22,993 16.8%
1890 22,590 −1.8%
1900 23,374 3.5%
1910 22,526 −3.6%
1920 21,869 −2.9%
1930 21,071 −3.6%
1940 21,039 −0.2%
1950 21,248 1.0%
1960 24,066 13.3%
1970 26,375 9.6%
1980 35,889 36.1%
1990 48,741 35.8%
2000 55,139 13.1%
2010 65,203 18.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1820 Manufacturers Census

  • 1820 Manufacturers Census. Northern Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 2, No. 3 (Jul. 1997):125-126. FHL. [Includes Fairfax, Fauquier, and Loudoun counties.]

1890 Veterans Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Back Lick (1782).
  2. Brent Town (1773).
  3. Broad Run (1762). Church minutes (1762-1872) have been published: FHL Book 975.5275 K2m[7]; see also Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 26, No. 4 (Nov. 1988) available at Ancestry ($). See Morgan Edwards' 1772 digitized working manuscript, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists wherein he identifies a few early members and states some members of this congregation migrated to Pittsylvania County.
  4. Carter's Run (1768).[8] The mother church. See M. Edwards' pp 89-90: Materials Towards a History of the Baptists A history was published: Virginia Baptist Register, Issue 2 (1963).
  5. Goose Creek (1775), near Upperville, Va.[9] Records from 1775 to 1842 have been published: Northern Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 9 (2004): FHL Book 975.52 D25n v. 8-9 (2003-2004).
  6. Goose Creek (1799), Farrowsville, Va.
  7. Long Branch (1786), near Halfway, Va. A history, which includes church minutes and membership lists (1807-1868) has been published: FHL Book 975.5275 K2g.[10]
  8. Manor (by 1771).[11] See M. Edwards pp 39 : Materials Towards a History of the Baptists
  9. Mill Creek (1772).
  10. Thumb Run (1772), near Orlean, Va. Notes (1810) have been published: Northern Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 5 (2000): FHL Book 975.52 D25n v. 5-7 (2000-2002).
  11. Upper Carter's Run (1784). A history has been published: Virginia Baptist Register, Issue 29 (1990).
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Fauquier County fell within the bounds of the Culpeper Association and the Ketocton Association.
  • The Baptists of Fauquier County. By C. A. Hoppin. Tyler's Quarterly Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 2, No. 1 (Jul. 1920):329-330. FHL Book 973 B2t 1967 v. 2 (1920-1921). Religious petition (perhaps dated 1775).
  • The Baptists in Fauquier County, 1770-1771: Extracts from Peter Hitt's Account Book. By Charles E. Kemper. The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 35, No. 4 (Oct. 1927):390-392. Available at JSTOR ($).

Church of England

Lutheran

  • History of the Hebron Lutheran Church, Madison County, Virginia, 1717 to 1907. 1908. By W. P. Huddle, Margaret G. Davis, Hebron Lutheran Church, and Mt. Nebo Lutheran Church. New Market, VA : Henkel & Company. Available at FHL. Germantown settlers belonged to this congregation.
  • 1742-1775 Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants, 1742-1775. Vol. II. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1997. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Presbyterian

  • Abstracts of the Second Session Book of the Marshall Presbyterian Church, Marshall, Fauquier County, Virginia. 1957. By John K. Gott, Daughters of the American Revolution, Washington-Lewis Chapter (Virginia), and Marshall Presbyterian Church (Marshall, Virginia). MSS. Available at FHL. This church was organized in 1849 under the name Salem Presbyterian Church.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Minute Books Fauquier County, Virginia - Abstracts of Minute Books FQ. MB 01-93 1759-1761 FQ. MB 02-93 1761-1762 FQ. MB 03-93 1762-1763 FQ.MB 04-95 1763-1766 FQ.MB 05-95 1764-1766 The Antient Press
Chancery Court

  • Indexed images of Fauquier County, Virginia Chancery Records 1759-1919 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

County Court
Fauquier County, Virginia Court of Records 1776-1782. 1993\. By John K. Gott. Copies of the Minute Books are available on microfilm at the Fauquier County Public Library, Warrenton, or the Virginia State Library, Richmond. The original books are in various stages of deterioration and not available for public use. 180 pp. surname index, paper.

Dumfries District Court and Superior Court of Law

  • Dumfries District Court Order Books, 1793-1817. Original records, Prince William County Courthouse, Manassas, Va.; available on microfilm at FHL. Dumfries District Court encompassed Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, and Prince William counties.

Loose Papers

  • Researching the Fauquier County Clerk's Loose Papers. By Joan W. Peters. The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 27, No. 4 (Aug. 2001):1-4. Available at FHL; online at Virginia Genealogical Society.

Superior Court of Chancery
The Superior Court of Chancery of Fredericksburg (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over certain Fauquier County court cases. An index has been compiled:

  • Indexes of Court Records in the Clerk's Office, Fredericksburg, Virginia, 1782-1904.
  • Original records, Fredericksburg City Courthouse, Fredericksburg, Va., microfilmed reproduction available at FHL. Indexes the following records:
    • District Court law book v. 8, 1782-1792;
    • District Court law books 1790-1793, v. A-F 1789-1811;
    • Superior Court of Law - law order books v. G-H 1812-1831;
    • Superior Court of Chancery chancery order books 1814-1831;
    • Hustings Court orders v. A-O 1782-1871;
    • Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery law order books v. A-E 1831-1875;
    • Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery chancery order books v. A-D 1831-1872;
    • Circuit Court chancery order books v. A2, B-C 1875-1904;
    • Fredericksburg District Court (1789-1808) had jurisdiction over the following counties: Spotsylvania (including Fredericksburg), Caroline, King George, Stafford, Orange, and Culpeper;
    • Superior Court of Chancery (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over the following localities: city of Fredericksburg and the counties of Caroline, Culpeper, Fauquier, Fairfax, Lancaster, Northumberland, Madison, King George, Orange, Prince William, Richmond, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Essex, and Westmoreland.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • Ancestry and Descendants of the Nassau-Siegen Immigrants to Virginia, 1714-1750. 1964. By B. C. Holtzclaw and Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia. Harrisonburg, Virginia : Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia. Available at FHL.
  • North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. By Peter Wilson Coldham. 2007. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes wills of residents of Albemarle County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.
  • During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 6 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Fauquier County.[12]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American
In 1860, Fauquier County had the largest enslaved populations in the state (10,455 slaves).[13]

  • 1865-1872 Virginia, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • 1935-2009 Virginia, African-American Funeral Programs, 1935-2009 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • 1850 Fauquier County, Virginia, Slave Schedule. 2003. By Patricia B. Duncan. Westminster, Maryland : Willow Bend Books, Heritage Books. Available at FHL.
  • Afro-American Historical Association of Fauquier County Newsletter. 1992-2000. Midland, Virginia : Afro-American Historical Association of Fauquier County, Virginia. Available at FHL.
  • Fauquier County, Virginia, Register of Free Negroes 1817-1865. 1993. By Karen King Ibrahim, Karen Hughes White, Courtney Gaskins, and Afro-American Historical Association of Fauquier County. Virginia : K.K. Ibrahim, K.H. White, C. Gaskins. Available at FHL.
  • Fauquier County Personal Property Tax List 1786-1819. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans.
  • Fauquier Register of Free Negroes, 1817-1865. By Paul Heinegg. Free African Americans.
  • Local Sources for African-American Family Historians: Using County Court Records and Census Returns. 1993. By Joan W. Peters. Broad Run, Virginia : J.W. Peters. Available at FHL.
  • Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized images of African Americans of Fauquier County.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes in Fauquier and Loudoun Counties, Virginia
Joynes Funeral Home
phone 540-347-3331
29 N. Third St.
Warrenton, VA 20188
established since 1938

Moser Funeral Home, Inc.
phone 540-347-3431
233 Broadview Ave.
Warrenton, VA 20188
established since 1836

Colonial Funeral Home of Leesburg Inc.
(formerly Muse & Reed)
phone 703-777-1414
201 Edwards Ferry Rd., N.E.
Leesburg, VA 20176
established since 1877

Loudoun Funeral Chapel
phone 703-777-6000 or 1-800-761-5057
158 Catoctin Circle, S.E.
Leesburg, VA

Royston Funeral Homes, Inc.
phone 540-687-5400 Middleburg, VA
phone 540-364-1731 Marshall, VA

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Alcock, John P. Fauquier Families, 1759-1799 (Abstract of the 19th century Records of Fauquier County, Virginia. 1994. 445pp.
  • Holtzclaw, B.C. Ancestry and Descendants of the Nassau-Siegen Immigrants to Virginia, 1714-1750. Germanna Record No. 5. Harrisonburg, Va.: The Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia, 1964. Includes Back, Brumback, Coons, Crim, Fishback, Haeger, Hanback, Hitt, Holtzclaw, Kemper, Martin, Miller, Nay, Rector, Spilman, Utterback, Wayman, Weaver, Young, Whitescarver, and Huffman (2) families. Available at FHL.
  • Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia. http://www.germanna.org/
  • Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia. Germanna Heritage Book. Culpeper, Virginia: Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia, 2000. Available at FHL.
  • Peters, Joan. Local Records and Genealogy: A Primer for Family Historians. Albemarle Press, 1990. Available at FHL. ["In her book, Joan uses case studies from Fauquier County to show how to track a family through several generations."[14]]
  • United States. Work Projects Administration (Virginia). Old Homes and Families of Fauquier County, Virginia: (The W.P.A. Records). Compiled in 1930s. Berryville, Virginia: Virginia Book Co., 1978. Available at FHL.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records
Early settlers maps are available for Fauquier County. Cartographer plots the locations of pioneer tracts. The Family History Library has copies: FHL Map 975.52 E7p and FHL Map 975.5275 E7s. Fairfax Grant

Grants and Patents

Land Causes

  • Abstracts of Land Causes, Prince William County, Virginia. 1992. By Ruth Trickey Sparacio, Sam Sparacio, and Dumfries, Va. District Court. (1789-1793) 2 vols. McLean, VA : Antient Press. Available at FHL.
  • Deeds
  • Fauquier County, Virginia Deed Abstracts 1778-1785. 1992. By John K. Gott. Abstracts of all the documents found in the first six deed books. It includes a wide variety of records such as leases, bonds, contracts of sale such as leases, bonds, contracts of sale, mortgages, agreements and deeds. Each abstract gives the names of all grantors and grantees, and any other individuals mentioned. Index, paper, G578
  • Fauquier County, Virginia Deed Book No. 9 1785-1787
  • Fauquier County, Virginia Deed Book No. 10 1788-1792"
  • Northern Neck Warrants & Surveys Dunmore, Shenandoah, Culpeper, Prince William, FAUQUIER Stafford Counties 1710-1780. Volume III. By Peggy Shomo Joyner. 197 pages.
  • Prince William County Land Causes. By Donald L. Wilson. (1789-1793) The Newsletter of the Prince William County Genealogical Society, Vol. 3, No. 2 (Aug. 1984):5-7; Vol. 3, No. 7 (Jan. 1985):3-6; Vol. 3, No. 10 (Apr. 1985):6-7; Vol. 3, No. 12 (Jun. 1985):6-7; Vol. 4, No. 1 (Jul. 1985):4-6; Vol. 4, No. 2 (Aug. 1985):3-4; Vol. 4, No. 3 (Sep. 1985):5-7; Vol. 4, No. 7 (Jan. 1986):4-6; Vol. 4, No. 9 (Mar. 1986):3-4; Vol. 4, No. 10 (Apr. 1986):5-7; Vol. 4, No. 12 (Jun. 1986):5-7; Vol. 5, No. 1 (Jul. 1986):5-7; Vol. 5, No. 3 (Sep. 1986):6-9; Vol. 5, No. 6 (Dec. 1986):5-6; Vol. 5, No. 10 (Apr. 1987):5-7. Available at FHL.
  • TLC Genealogy

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • A History of Marshall (formerly Salem) Fauquier, Virginia. 1959. By John K. Gott. Middleburg,VA : Middleburg Press. Online at: Hathitrust.
  • An Old Timer in Warrenton and Fauquier County, Virginia. 1955. By M. Louise Evans and Charles F. Knox. Warrenton, Virginia : Virginia Pub. Available at FHL.
  • Boyhood Memories of Fauquier. c1979, 1980. By P.A.L. Smith and A. Maxim Coppage. Owensboro, Kentucky : McDowell Publications. Available at FHL.
  • Fairfax, Fauquier, and Prince William County, VA Records. By George W. Glass. n.p. : n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1959. c1959. By Fauquier County American Bicentennial Commission. Warrenton, Virginia : Fauquier County Bicentennial Committee. Includes two lists of early marriage bonds and soldiers in the Revolution.
  • Fauquier County, Virginia: Historical Notes. 1914. By Fauquier County (VA) Board of Trade and Harry Connelly Groome. Warrenton, VA : Board of Trade. Online at: Internet Archive, FHL.
  • Fauquier County, Virginia, Historical Notes: Published as a Supplement to the Map of Fauquier County. 1914. By Harry Connelly Groome. Warrenton, Virginia : Board of Trade. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust.
  • 1660-1800 Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 at Ancestry — index ($)
  • Fauquier County, Virginia, Records. By George W. Glass. n.p. : n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Fauquier Heritage and Preservation News: A Publication of the Fauquier Heritage and Preservation Foundation Inc. Marshall, Virginia : Fauquier Heritage and Preservation Foundation, Inc., 2002-present. Available at FHL.
  • Flint Hill Farm A History: George Washington's Tract on Chattins Run, Rectortown, Fauquier County, Virginia. 2004. By John K. Gott. n.p. : New Papyrus Publishing.
  • Germanna, Outpost of Adventure, 1714-1956. 1989. By John W. Wayland, Charles Herbert Huffman, and Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia. Culpeper, Virginia : Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies. Available at FHL.
  • Germantown Revived. 1962. By Woodford B. Hackley, B.C. Holtzclaw, and Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia. Harrisonburg, Virginia : Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia. Available at FHL.
  • High In Old Virginia's Piedmont: A History of Marshall. 1987. By John K. Gott. Marshall National Bank & Trust Company : (formerly Salem), Fauquier County, Virginia. pp.216.
  • Historical Collections of Virginia : Containing a Collection of the Most Interesting Facts, Tradition, Biographical Sketches, Anecdotes, etc. Relating to its History and Antiquities, Together with Geographical and Statistical Description, to which is Appended an Historical and Descriptive Sketch of the District of Columbia. 1847. By Henry Howe. Charleston, South Caroline : W.R. Babcock. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Old Homes and Families of Fauquier County, Virginia. 1978. By Cheryl Hepner. n.p. : Berryville, Virginia. (the W.P.A. records)
  • The Foothills of the Blue Ridge in Fauquier County, Virginia. 1974. By Clara S. McCarty. Warrenton, Va : Fauquier Democrat. WLU Rare F232.F3.
  • The Diary of Court House Square: Warrenton, Virginia U.S.A. From Early Times Through 1986, with 1987-1995 Reflections. By Lee Moffett. Revised Edition - The history set forth in this valuable text begins in the 1600s with the region's native inhabitants and European settlers, and chronicles events through the recent years - a gold mine of information about Court House Square in Warrenton, Virginia.
  • The Dixon Valley Its First 250 Years. By John K. Russell Gott, T. Triplett.
  • The Story of Germanna Descendants in Reunion at Siegen Forest, Virginia. 1957- 1972? By Charles Herbert Huffman and Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia. Harrisonburg, Virginia : Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia. Available at FHL.
  • The Women of the Debatable Land. c1912. By Alexander Hunter. Washington, DC : Cobden Publishing Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Google Books, Internet Archive.
  • The Year of Anguish Fauquier County, Virginia 1861-1865. c1965. By John K. Ramey Gott, Emily G.
  • Train Whistles and Hunting Horns: The History of the Plains, Virginia. 1994. pp 106. By John K. Gott and Anne Evans.
  • Virginia's First German Colony. 1961. By Elizabeth Chapman Denny Vann, Margaret Collins Denny Dixon. Richmond, VA : n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, FHL.
  • Water Powered Mills of Fauquier County, Virginia. By Lee Moffett. n.p. : n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Virginia Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.

Historic Residences[edit | edit source]

  • Flint Hill Farm: A History, George Washington's Tract on Chattins Run. 2004. By John K. Gott. Rectortown, Fauquier County, Virginia. Athens, Georgia : New Papyrus Pub. Co. Available at FHL.
  • Old Homes and Families of Fauquier County, Virginia: (The W.P.A. Records). Compiled in 1930s. 1978. By United States. Work Projects Administration (Virginia). Berryville, Virginia : Virginia Book Co. Available at FHL.
John Marshall Chief Justice
John Marshall born in Fauquier County, Virginia
John Marshall - Who Served Here?

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Manassas Park (Independent City)Prince William CountyStafford CountyCulpeper CountyRappahannock CountyWarren CountyClarke CountyLoudoun CountyVA FAUQUIER.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
  • A New and Accurate Map of the County of Fauquier, Virginia 1776. By Eugene M. Scheel. Falls Church, Virginia : Fauquier Historical Society, n.d. Available at FHL.
  • Bertrand Ewell's Survey of the Fauquier-Prince William Boundary Line April 14, 1759. Available at online. Includes names of residents.
  • Fauquier County, Commonwealth of Virginia. 1985. By Eugene M. Scheel. n.p.: Fauquier National Bank and E.M. Scheel. Available at FHL. Features include "old roads, mills, stores, plantations, churches, ruins, cemeteries, battles, historic sites, early stream names and boundaries."[15]
  • Fauquier County, Virginia, Historical Notes: Published as a Supplement to the Map of Fauquier County. 1914. By Harry Connelly Groome. Warrenton, Virginia : n.p. Available at FHL, Hathitrust.
  • Historical Map of the Northern Portion of Fauquier County and a Part of Loudoun County, Virginia. 1953; reprint, 198-?. By Meade Palmer and B. Curtis Chappelear. Original edition available at FHL; 1980s reprint at FHL.
  • Maps and Notes Of Upper Fauquier County, Virginia. 1954. By B. Curtis Chappelear, Esq. Warrenton, Virginia : The Warrenton Antiquarian Society.
  • Virginia, Old Stafford County, Established 1664. Concord, California : Tackitt Photographic, n.d. Available at FHL. Old Stafford County originally covered the area of the counties of Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, Prince William, and Stafford.
  • Garden, H. D. Map of Fauquier County, Virginia. [N.P, 1876] Map. https://www.loc.gov/item/73696164/. Available online at the Library of Congress.
  • FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1975):190-194. FHL 975.5 B2vg; CD available at: New England Ancestors ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Fauquier County's 1787 Delinquent List appears on pp. 124-126.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

General

  • Military Records, Certificates of Service, Discharge, Heirs, Pensions, Declarations and Schedules: From the Fauquier County, Virginia Court Minute Books, 1784-1840. 1999. By Joan W. Peters. Westminster, Maryland : Willow Bend Books. Available at FHL.
  • Military Records, Patriotic Service, Public Service Claims: From the Fauquier County, Virginia Court Minute Books 1759-1784. 1999. By Joan W. Peters. Westminster, Maryland : Willow Bend Books. Available at FHL.
  • Military Records, Pensions Applications, Heirs, At Law and Civil War Military Records: From Fauquier County, Virginia Court Minute Books 1840-1904. 1999. By Joan W. Peters. Westminster, Maryland : Willow Bend Books. Available at FHL.
  • Neglected & Forgotten: Fauquier County, Virginia, French & Indiana War, Revolutionary War, & War of 1812 Veterans; Muster Rolls, Pension Lists, Declarations & Certificates, Land Warrants, Heirs at Law, Court Martials, from the Military Record Series of the Fauquier County, Virginia, Clerks Loose Papers, 1759-1825. 2004. By Joan W. Peters. Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books. Available at FHL.


French and Indian War

  • Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. 2007. By William F. Boogher. Baltimore MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Fauquier County, see p. 108.
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.
  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. 1988. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL.


Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Washington : Blair and Rives. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). See Virginia, Eastern District, Fauquier County on page 130.
  • Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1959. 1959. By Fauquier County Bicentennial Committee. Warrenton, Virginia : Fauquier County Bicentennial Committee. Available at FHL. Includes two lists of early marriage bonds and soldiers in the Revolution.
  • Fauquier County in the Revolution. 1997. By Thomas Triplett Russell and John K. Gott. Westminster, Maryland : Heritage Books. Available at FHL.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War. 1913. By J.T. McAllister. Hot Springs, VA : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Internet Archive
  • Virginia Publick Claims By Janice L. Abercrombie. Athens, GA : Iberian
  • Wringing Northern Virginians Out of Final Pension Payment Vouchers, 1818-1864. By Alycon Trubey Pierce. Northern Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Apr. 1997):73-77. Available at FHL. Identifies married daughters and granddaughters of Revolutionary War Pensioners, and other persons mentioned in these records. Pierce abstracted entries for residents of Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, and Prince William counties.

Regiments. Service men in Fauquier County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Fauquier County supplied soldiers for the:

- 3rd Virginia Regiment
- 10th Virginia Regiment


War of 1812
War of 1812 in Virginia Fort Meigs Ohio War of 1812 Battlefield - Fauquier Men Fought and Died here Library of Virginia resources, War of 1812 Fauquier County men served in the 44th and 85th Regiments.[16]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Fauquier County, p. 79. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.


Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Fauquier County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 4th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)
- 6th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company H (The Wise Dragoons).[17]
- 7th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Ashby's) (Confederate). Company A (Fauquier Mountain Rangers) was presumably from Fauquier County.[18]
- 8th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Piedmont Rifles) and Company K (Scott's Company).[19]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate).[20]
- 49th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Flint Hill Rifles) (Markham Guards) and Company H (Fauquier Guards).[21]
- 60th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (3rd Regiment, Wise Legion) (Confederate). Company F (The James River Rifles).[22]

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Fauquier County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861 and 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

  • 1817-1820 Palladium of Liberty (Warrenton, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
  • 1907-present Fauquier Democrat (now Fauquier Times) Newspaper Index, 1907 to present, is available online.

Current issues of the Fauquier Times-Democrat are online.

  • 2001-present The Fredericksburg Free Lance Star carries many articles about people from Fauquier: 2001 to present, see: Fredericksburg site.

Historical issues of the Fredricksburg newspapers can be searched online.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

  • Edmonds Journals of Amanda Virginia Edmonds: Lass of the Mosby Confederacy, 1859-1867. 1984. By Amanda Virginia Edmonds Chappelear and Nancy Chappelear Baird. Delaplane, Virginia : N.C. Baird. Available at FHL.
  • Ficklin - Collection of Papers from Culpeper Co., VA: Dealing with the Payne, Tull, Stewart, Ficklin and Related Families, 1848-1859. Original documents, includes papers from Fauquier County, available at FHL.
  • Howison - Journal of Mary Jackson Howison, 1858-1870. 1985. By Mary Jackson Howison Laws. Lamesa, Texas : M.G. Beckham. Available at FHL.


Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Local Court

  • 1759-83 Abstracts of Wills available at Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • Abstracts of Fauquier County Virginia, Wills Inventories and Accounts 1759-1800. 1999. By John K. Gott. Baltimore, Maryland : Clearfield. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Abstracts of Wills, Administrations, and Marriages of Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1800. 2001. By Junie Estelle Stewart King. Available at FHL. Online at: Ancestry($).
  • Fauquier County, Virginia Guardian Bonds, 1759-1871. 1989. By John K. Gott. Abstracted from the Original Bonds, Where Extant and from the Minute Books Otherwise. The abstracts include names of guardinas, orphans deceased parents of orphans, value of the estates of the wards, securities, witnesses, etc.
  • Local Records and Genealogy A Primer for Family Historians. By Joan Peters. Broad Run, Virginia : Albemarle Press.
  • Oklahoma Genealogical Records. By Eunice Byram Roberts. D.A.R. Library : Washington, D.C. Available at FHL. Includes a few Maddux wills from Fauquier County, Virginia.

London Courts

  • North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. 2007. By Peter Wilson Coldham. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL BRITISH Book 942 P27c 2007. Includes will of a resident of Fauquier County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.
  • 1639-1850 Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 at Ancestry — index, incomplete ($)
  • 1783-1796 Digital Images of Wills, Estates, Inventories, Book 2 Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1796-1804 Images of Will Book 3 Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1804-1808 Images of Will Book 4 Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • An Index to Fauquier County, Virginia Will and Administration, 1744-1920/5. 1986. By Mildred Ames. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Part of The O'Bannon Genealogist. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1751 A List of Taxpayers for Hamilton Parish, 1751. The Newsletter of the Prince William County Genealogical Society, Vol. 10, No. 6 (Dec. 1991):43-45. Available at FHL. Taken from the Account Book of Captain John Crump, Sheriff of Prince William County. "The original book was presented to the Fauquier Historical Society in 1922, by Col. Malcolm H. Crump, Bowling Green, Kentucky," but has since been misplaced.
  • 1759 - Fauquier County, Virginia, Tax List of 1759. 1998? By TLC Genealogy. Miami, Florida : TLC Genealogy. Available at FHL.
  • 1759 Tithables List, 1759. Northern Virginia Genealogy. Vol. 2, No. 2 (Apr. 1997). Available at FHL.
  • 1759-1782 The Tax Man Cometh: Land and Property in Colonial Fauquier County, Virginia: Tax List from the Fauquier County Court Clerk's Loose Papers, 1759-1782. 1999. By Joan W. Peters. Westminster, Maryland : Willow Bend Books. Available at FHL.
  • 1759-1783 Fauquier Families, 1759-1799. 1994, 2001. By John P. Alcock. 2 vols. Athens, Georgia : Iberian Pub. Co. Available at FHL. Vol. 1. Comprehensive indexed abstracts of tax and tithable lists. Vol. 2 contains tithable and personal property tax lists 1759-1783.
  • 1759-1842 The Francis Surname Extracted from the Fauquier County, Virginia Minute (Order) Books, 1759-1842. n.p. : n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • 1759-1800 Abstracts of Wills, Administrations, and Marriages of Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1800. 2001. Digital book available at Ancestry($).
  • 1777 Tenants of the Manor of Leeds, Fauquier County - 1777. By Junie Estelle Stewart King.
  • 1782-1796 Images of the Fauquier County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1796 - Binns Genealogy ($)
  • 1782-1850 Fauquier County, Virginia Personal Property Tax Lists, 1782-1850. Available at FHL.
  • 1782 Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; 1978. By Augusta B. Fothergill and John Mark Naugle. Baltimore, Maryland : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL.
  • 1782 Tax List, 1782,Genealogical Reference Builders Newsletter. Vol. 12, No. 1 (1982). Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • 1783 Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
  • 1783-1791 Fauquier County, Virginia Land Tax Books - 1783-1791. 1997. By Ruth Trickey Sparacio and Sam Sparacio. 2 vols. McLean, Virginia : Antient Press. Available at FHL.
  • 1785-1786 Interust Warrants, 1785-86. Genealogical Tips, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Aug. 1967). Available at FHL.
  • 1786-1819 Fauquier County Personal Property Tax List 1786-1819. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: [Free African Americans.]]
  • 1787 The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. c1987. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. FHL; At various libraries (WorldCat). Fauquier County is included in Vol. 1.
  • 1787 Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1975):190-194. FHL 975.5 B2vg; CD available at: New England Ancestors ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Fauquier County's 1787 Delinquent List appears on pp. 124-126.
  • 1790, 1799 Images of the 1790 and 1799 Personal Property Tax Lists of Fauquier County, Virginia - Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Fauquier County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul. 1976); Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct. 1976); Vol. 21, No. 1 (Jan. 1977); Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr. 1977); Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul. 1977); Vol. 21, No. 4 (Oct. 1977). FHL 975.5 B2vg; CD available at: New England Ancestors ($).
  • 1815 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). c1997. By Roger D. Ward. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL 975 E4w. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • 1853 Fauquier County, Virginia Tax List, 1853. Afro-American Historical Association of Fauquier County. Vol. 1, No. 2 (Jan. 1993). Available at FHL.
  • Tithes and Personal Property Taxes of Free Negroes. 1996. Afro-American Historical Association of Fauquier County - Annual Publication. Issue 1. Available at FHL.
  • Deed Book 9, Taxables. 1963. Genealogical Tips. Vol. 1, No. 1. Available at FHL.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

The birth registers of Fauquier County, Virginia have been published multiple times:

Microfilmed reproductions of the original records are also available at the Family History Library:

Marriage[edit | edit source]

  • 1759-1790s Early Virginia Marriages. 1953. By William Armstrong Crozier. Baltimore, MD : Southern Book Co. Online at: Digital Library. Includes Fauquier County marriages 1759-1790s.
  • 1759-1786 Early Fauquier County Marriage Bonds (The USGenWeb Archives).
  • 1759-1790 Marriage Bonds in Fauquier County. The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 12, No. 4 (Apr. 1904):256-258. Digital version at JSTOR - free.
  • 1759-1854 Early Fauquier County, Virginia Marriage Bonds, 1759-1854. 1965. By Nancy Chappelear and John K. Gott. Washington, DC : N. Chappelear and J.K. Gott. FHL.
  • 1759-1854 Fauquier County, Virginia Marriage Bonds (1759-1854) and Marriage Returns (1785-1848). 1989. By John K. Gott. FHL.
  • 1759-1800 Abstracts of Wills, Administrations, and Marriages of Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1800. 2001. By Junie Estelle Stewart King. FHL. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • 1759-1854 Fauquier County, Virginia, Marriage Bonds 1759 to 1854. 1939. By Joel Ricks. FHL.
  • 1785-1940 Virginia, Select Marriages, 1785-1940 at Ancestry — index ($)
  • 1785-1940 Virginia Marriages, 1785-1940 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index ; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
  • 1853-1935 Virginia, Bureau of Vital Statistics, County Marriage Registers, 1853-1935 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
  • 1854-1896 Fauquier County, Virginia, Marriages. 1996. By Dee Ann Shipp Buck. (1854-1896). 2 vols. Fairfax, VA : D.A. Buck. FHL.
  • 1936-1988 Virginia, Marriage Certificates, 1936-1988 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • Fauquier County, Virginia Marriage Returns (not Bonds). 1965. By Mildred S. Ames. Brigham City, UT : n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library
  • Fauquier County Bicentennial Committee. Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1959. Warrenton, Virginia: Fauquier County Bicentennial Committee, 1959. FHL. Includes two lists of early marriage bonds and soldiers in the Revolution.
  • An Index to Fauquier County, Virginia Will and Administration, 1744-1920/5. 1986. By Mildred Ames. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Part of The O'Bannon Genealogist. Transcript of marriage records from Fauquier County covering November 1759 to 8 March 1766. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.

Death[edit | edit source]

Microfilmed reproductions of the original records are also available at the Family History Library:

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records from 1831.

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Fauquier County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Fauquier County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Virginia Room, Fauquier County Public Library, has many local resources and some online indexes.Website

Fauquier Historical SocietyWebsite

John K. Gott Library, operated by the Fauquier Heritage and Preservation Foundation, has many local and regional resources.Website

Prince William County, Virginia Public LibraryWebsite

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Fauquier County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Compiled genealogies are a good place to start research for this area, see Fauquier County, Virginia Genealogy. If you are researching families who lived in Fauquier County, Virginia between the 1750s and 1780s, the Sparacios' book indexes are a great time saver. The indexes are available for free online.

  • Local Sources for African-American Family Historians: Using County Court Records and Census Returns. 1993. By Joan W. Peters. Broad Run, VA : J.W. Peters. FHL Find in other libraries via Worldcat

References[edit | edit source]

  1. http://www.fauquiertourism.com/about-fauquier
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. VA Historical Boundary Changes- list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Fauquier_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fauquier_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 8 January 2020.
  7. Broad Run Baptist Church (Fauquier County, Virginia). "Minutes of the Broad Run Baptist Church near Warrenton, Fauquier County, Virginia 1762 - 1872," Genealogical Record, Vol. 7, No. 3 (Sep. 1965) to Vol. 9, No. 4 (Dec. 1967). Houston, Texas: Houston Genealogical Forum, 1965-1967. Available at FHL Book 975.5275 K2m.
  8. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 229-230, 386-387. Digital version at Google Books.
  9. Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1959 (Warrenton, Va.: Fauquier County Bicentennial Committee, 1959), 87-88. FHL Book 975.5275 H2f.
  10. John K. Gott, Wayland F. Dunaway, C. Wirt Trainham and Long Branch Baptist Church, History of Long Branch Baptist Church, Fauquier County, Virginia: from Centennial History by Rev. Wayland F Dunaway and Sesquicentennial History by Rev. C. Wirt Trainham (Richmond, Va.: Williams Printing Co., 1967). FHL Book 975.5275 K2g.
  11. Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772). Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
  12. British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812. 1979. By Kenneth Scott. [1] Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; online at: Ancestry ($).
  13. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  14. "Fauquier County Genealogist Joan Peters to Speak on Use of Local Records, 17 April," The Newsletter of the Prince William County Genealogical Society, Vol. 9, No. 10 (Apr. 1991):73.
  15. "Historic Prince William Sponsors New Historic Map by Eugene Scheel," The Newsletter of the Prince William County Genealogical Society, Vol. 10, No. 2 (Aug. 1991):10.
  16. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812. (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 82. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  17. Michael P. Musick, 6th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 66.
  18. Richard L. Armstrong, 7th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 88.
  19. John E. Divine, 8th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1983). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 6.
  20. Robert T. Bell, 11th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 20.
  21. Richard B. Kleese, 49th Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 2002). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 138.
  22. J.L. Scott, 60th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 130.
  23. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  24. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  25. Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  26. Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  27. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August 2012).
  28. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).