Fannin County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Fannin County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Fannin County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas, United States Genealogy
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||December 14, 1837|
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for James Fannin, who commanded the group of Texans killed in the Goliad Massacre during the Texas Revolution. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Fannin County Courthouse
101 Sam Rayburn Drive
Bonham, TX 75418
County Clerk has birth records from 1903 with a few 1874-1876,
death records from 1903, marriage records from 1852, probate,
land and court records from 1838
101 E. Sam Rayburn Dr. Ste. 102
101 E. Sam Rayburn Dr. Ste. 201
Fannin County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
1836--The first permanent settlement was at Tulip in 1836.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1837--Fannin County was created 14 December 1837 from Red River County.
- County seat: Bonham 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
See an interactive map of Fannin County border changes. The county borders have not changed since 1846.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1929 -- Courthouse caught fire on December 31, 1929. Records in the District Clerk's office and County Clerk's office were saved. Many other county records were destroyed. The courthouse was rebuilt.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- African American Griots ~ USGenWeb
- AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy
- Texas African American Genealogy ~ Access Genealogy
- 1865 - 1870 Texas, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870 (images) - How to Use this Collection
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Names in Stone|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Fannin County TXGenWeb- This is the most complete collection of Fannin County, TX cemetery information on the web. You will find photographs, obituaries and many other catagories of information.
Additional Cemetery Sources
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1840 Texas Slave Holders
- 1850 Fannin County Slave Holders
- 1850 Fannin County Mortality Index
- 1850 Fannin County Census A-J
- 1850 Fannin County Census K-Z
- 1850 Fannin County Census 142a - 153b
- 1850 Fannin County Census 154a - 166a
- 1850 Fannin County Census 166b - 178b
- 1850 Fannin County Census 179a - End
- 1860 Texas Slave Holders
- 1860 Mortality Index
- 1860 Fannin County Census Index with active links to images
- 1860 Fannin County Census - Partial Transcription
- 1860 Census - 168A to 184A
- 1860 Census - 185A to 194A
- 1860 Census - 194B to 204A
- 1870 Fannin County Mortality Index
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Land Abstract Indicies ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1906-1989 Texas, Naturalization Records — index and images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Fannin County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Texas Museums ~ List of all museums in Texas ~ Wikipedia
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Fannin County Maps ~ TXGenWeb
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1838 - 1900 - Texas Muster Roll Index Cards at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Fannin County Interments with War Related Inscriptions ~ TXGenWeb
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Confederate Indigent Families List ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917 - 1920 Texas, World War I Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II[edit | edit source]
- Fightin' Men of Texas, WWII ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fannin County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Wikipedia has a list of online newspaper archives for Texas.
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has The Paris News from 1925 that may include residents from Fannin County.
- Texas Digital Newspaper Program at The Portal to Texas History
[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas, United States Genealogy have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1800–1990 Texas Probate Records at FamilySearch — images
- 1800–2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
- 1846-1910 Texas, County Tax Rolls 1846-1910 at findmypast ($) — index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1903 - 1935 Texas Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - How to Use this Collection
- 1903 - 1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index only) - How to Use this Collection
- 1926-1995 Texas Births, 1926 - 1995 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 Texas, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 Texas Marriage Collection at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1837 - 1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1837 - 1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1837-1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2005 Texas Marriage Records - Hidden Ancestors
- 1966 - 2010 Texas Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection - How to Use this Collection
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890-1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 with images - How to Use this Collection
Name index and images of statewide death certificates. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1903-1982 Texas Death Certificates at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1903 - 2000 Texas Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - How to Use this Collection
- 1964 - 1998 Texas Death Index, 1964-1998 (no images) - How to Use this Collection Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths, 1977-1986 — index - How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968-2005 Texas Divorce Records ~ Hidden Ancestors
- 1968 - 2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1968-2011 Texas Divorces at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1850-1930 USGenWeb Census Project Texas
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Tri-county Genealogical Society
PO Box 107
Fannin County Genealogical Society
204 West 10th Street
Bonham, Texas 75418
Website Society is currently not operating, but will take names to join an email list 1/25/21.
Fannin County Genealogical and Historical Society
Bertha Voyer Memorial Library
500 N 6th St
Honey Grove, TX 75446
Telephone Number: 903-378-2206
Bonham Public Library
305 E 5th St
Bonham, TX 75418
Telephone Number: 903-583-3128
Leonard Public Library
102 S Main
Leonard, TX 75452
Telephone Number: 903-587-2391
Society Hill ~ Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
Webs Sites[edit | edit source]
- Fannin County TXGenWeb site ~ This website contains the largest collection of Fannin County information on the internet. The Cemetery collection is the most complete and there are more than 10,000 obituaries and the numbers are climbing regularly. No other website compares to this one for Fannin County research.
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- Honey Grove Preservation League ~ This website contains a lot of historical information about the Honey Grove area. It includes directories as well as photographs and other information.
- Fannin County Historical Commission
- FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Fannin County, Texas," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fannin_County,_Texas. accessed 08/08/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fannin County, Texas. Page 663 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fannin County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Bonham, TX Fannin County Courthouse Fire, Dec 1929 http://www.gendisasters.com/texas/10007/bonham-tx-courthouse-fire-dec-1929
- Wikipedia contributors, "Fannin County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fannin_County,_Texas, accessed 9 April 2019.