Fairfield County, Connecticut Genealogy
Guide to Fairfield County, Connecticut ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- This article is about a county in Connecticut. For other uses, see Fairfield (disambiguation).
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named referring to the beauty of its fields. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[1] It was named for the hundreds of acres of salt marsh that bordered the coast.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
There is no county government. The government is at the town level: Fairfield Region
Fairfield County, Connecticut Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1700 | 1700 | 1700 | late 1600s | 1761 | 1648 | 1670 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Villages | ||
|
||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
|
||
|
Towns Organized before 1800:
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- William Willard Roberts, Pioneers and patriots of Pequannock, 1639-1799 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).Includes sections of old Fairfield, Stratford, and Stratfield."This historical synopsis...makes no pretense of being complete." Pequannock now known as Bridgeport, Connecticut.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6019422.
- J.H. Beers & Company, Commemorative biographical record of Fairfield County, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, and of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Illinois J.H. Beers, 1899).Includes fullname index.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1421858 Items 4-5, or FHL US/CAN Book 974.69 D3c pt.2.
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For online and statewide census resources and information, see: Connecticut Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 36,290 | — |
| 1800 | 38,208 | 5.3% |
| 1810 | 41,050 | 7.4% |
| 1820 | 42,739 | 4.1% |
| 1830 | 47,010 | 10.0% |
| 1840 | 49,917 | 6.2% |
| 1850 | 59,775 | 19.7% |
| 1860 | 77,476 | 29.6% |
| 1870 | 95,276 | 23.0% |
| 1880 | 112,042 | 17.6% |
| 1890 | 150,081 | 34.0% |
| 1900 | 184,203 | 22.7% |
| 1910 | 245,322 | 33.2% |
| 1920 | 320,936 | 30.8% |
| 1930 | 386,702 | 20.5% |
| 1940 | 418,384 | 8.2% |
| 1950 | 504,342 | 20.5% |
| 1960 | 653,589 | 29.6% |
| 1970 | 792,814 | 21.3% |
| 1980 | 807,143 | 1.8% |
| 1990 | 827,645 | 2.5% |
| 2000 | 882,567 | 6.6% |
| 2010 | 916,829 | 3.9% |
| Source: Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1804-1959 Connecticut, passenger and crew lists, 1804-1959 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1966-2002 Connecticut, Marriages, 1966-2002 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other documents are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee, no statewide index. Microfilm copies (early to the mid or late 1800s, with some up to the 1900s) are available at the Connecticut State Library and also online at FamilySearch.org.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- History of Fairfield County, Connecticut. Compiled under supervision of D. Hamilton Hurd. 1881. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania : J.W. Lewis. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library - Part 1, FamilySearch Digital Library - Part 2; Hathitrust; Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Fairfield County, Connecticut, 1639-1928. By Lynn Winfield Wilson. 1929. Chicago, Illinois : S. J. Clarke Pub. Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library - Vol. 1, FamilySearch Digital Library - Vol. 2, Hathitrust, FamilySearch Digital Library; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Connecticut Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War
- Naval history of Fairfield County men in the Revolution : a tale untold(*) at FamilySearch Catalog - digital book
Civil War
African American Civil War Memorial in Danbury, CT
World War I
- 1917 Connecticut, World War I, Military Census of Nurses, 1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
World War II
- 1940-1945 Connecticut, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
The records are kept at district courts. The County government does not exist. Not every town has a court. Some are included in a district making up from 1 to 5 towns. The Districts are: Avon, Berlin, Bristol, Burlington, Canton, East Granby, East Hartford, East Windsor, Enfield, Farmington, Granby, Hartford, Hartland, Manchester, Marlborough, Plainville, Simsbury, Southington, Suffield, and Windsor.
See Connecticut Probate Records. See also Connecticut State Library, Research Guide to Connecticut Probate Records.
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- Pre 1850 Connecticut, Vital Records, Prior to 1850 (Barbour Collection) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1639-1941 Connecticut, Births and Baptisms, 1639-1941 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1640-1955 Connecticut, Charles R. Hale Collection, Vital Records, 1640-1955 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- Pre 1850 Connecticut, Vital Records, Prior to 1850 (Barbour Collection) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1640-1955 Connecticut, Charles R. Hale Collection, Vital Records, 1640-1955 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1966-2002 Connecticut, Marriages, 1966-2002 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre 1850 Connecticut, Vital Records, Prior to 1850 (Barbour Collection) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1640-1955 Connecticut, Deaths, 1640-1955 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1640-1955 Connecticut, Charles R. Hale Collection, Vital Records, 1640-1955 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1949-2012 Connecticut Death Index, 1949-2012 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1720-1799 Divorce papers, 1720-1799, Fairfield County(*) at FamilySearch Catalog - images
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Fairfield County. For state-wide facilities, see Connecticut Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Newtown Connecticut Family History Center
- Southington Connecticut Family History Center
- Woodbridge Connecticut Family History Center
- Yorktown New York Family History Center
- Bethel Public Library - an affiliate library
- Bridgeport Public Library - an affiliate library
- New Fairfield Free Public Library - an affiliate library
- Wilton Library Association Inc. - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Fairfield County. For state-wide library facilities, see Connecticut Archives and Libraries.
Bethel Public Library
189 Greenwood Ave
Bethel, CT 06801
(203) 794-8756
E-mail: adult@bethellibrary.org
Facebook
Website
Bridgeport Public Library – History Center
925 Broad Street(3rd floor)
Bridgeport, CT 06604
203 576-7400, ext. #7
203 576-8255 fax
E-Mail: hclibrarian@bridgeportpubliclibrary.org
Website
The Brookfield Library
182 Whisconier Road
Brookfield, Connecticut 06804
203-775-6241
E-mail: info@brookfieldlibrary.org
Facebook
Website
C.H. Booth Library
25 Main Street
Newtown, CT 06470
(203) 426-4533
E-mail: dlord@chboothlibrary.org
Website
Danbury Public Library
170 Main Street
Danbury, CT 06810
203-797-4505
E-mail: comments@danburylibrary.org
Facebook
Website
Darien Library
1441 Post Road
Darien, CT 06820
203-655-1234
E-mail: askus@darienlibrary.org
Website
Easton Public Library
691 Morehouse Road
Easton, CT 06612
203-261-0134
E-mail: epl@eastonlibrary.org
Facebook
Website
Edith Wheeler Memorial Library
733 Monroe Turnpike
Monroe, CT 06468
203 452-2850
E-mail: lrhyins@ewml.org
Website
Fairfield Public Library
1080 Old Post Road
Fairfield, CT 06824
203.256.3155
E-mail: eref@fplct.org
Facebook
Website
Facebook
Website
Greenwich Library
101 West Putnam Avenue
Greenwich, CT 06830-5387
203 622-7948
Website
New Canaan Library
151 Main Street
New Canaan, CT 06840
(203) 594-5000
Website
New Fairfield Library
2 Brush Hill Road
New Fairfield, CT 06812
(203) 312-5679
Website
The Norfolk Library
9 Greenwoods Rd East
P.O. Box 605
Norfolk, CT 06058
(860) 542-5075
E-mail: norfolkdirector@biblio.org
Website
Norwalk Public Library
1 Belden Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06850
203-899-2780
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Fairfield Museum and History Center
370 Beach Road
Fairfield, CT 06824
203 259‑1598
Website
Facebook
Westport Museum For History and Culture
25 Avery Place
Westport, CT 06880
(203) 222-1424
E-Mail: archives@westporthistory.org
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Fairfield County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Connecticut Societies.
Bethel Historical Society
40 Main Street
Bethel, CT 06801
203-743-5893
E-mail: president@BethelHistoricalSociety.com
Facebook
Website
The Bridgeport Community Historical Society
P.O. BOX 1956
Bridgeport, CT 06601-1956
E-mail: audreywpca@gmail.com
Facebook
Website
Brookfield Museum and Historical Society
165 Whisconier Road
P.O. Box 5231
Brookfield, CT 06804
203 740-8140
E-Mail: brookfieldhistsoc@snet.net
Website
Danbury Museum and Historical Society
43 Main Street
Danbury, CT 06810
203 743-5200
E-Mail: p.wells@danbury-ct.gov
Facebook
Website
Darien Historical Society
45 Old Kings Highway North
Darien, CT 06820
203 655-9233
E-Mail:ukremer@darienhistorical.org
Website
Gaelic American Club, Inc.
74 Beach Rd
Fairfield, CT 06824
Website
Genealogy Club of Newtown, Connecticut
25 Main Street
Newtown, CT 06470
203 426-4533
E-Mail:newtowngenealogy@yahoo.com
Facebook
Greenwich Historical Society
47 Strickland Road
Cos Cob, CT 06807
203-869-6899
E-mail: cpandolfino@greenwichhistory.org
Historical Society of Easton
P.O Box 121
Easton, CT 06612
203 292-3533
E-mail: hseastonct@gmail.com
Facebook
Website
Middlesex Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 1111
Darien, CT 06820
203-964-4727
E-Mail: stevenaanderson@gmail.com
Website
Monroe Historical Society
PO Box 212
Monroe, CT 06468
203-261-1383
E-mail: society@monroecthistory.org
Website
New Canaan Historical Society
13 Oenoke Ridge Road
New Canaan, CT 06840
203 966-1776
203 972-5917 fax
E-Mail:info@nchistory.org
Website
New Fairfield Historical Society
2 Brush Hill Road
New Fairfield, CT 06812
(203) 312-5679
E-mail: mkaa4@aol.com
Website
Norfolk Historical Society
13 Village Green
P.O. Box 288
Norfolk, CT 06058
860-542-5761
E-mail: info@norfolkhistoricalsociety.org
Website
Newtown Historical Society
P.O. Box 189
Newtown, Connecticut 06470
203-426-5937
E-mail: info@newtownhistory.org
Website
Norwalk Historical Society
P.O. Box 1640
Norwalk, CT 06852
(203) 846-0525
E-mail: info@norwalkhistoricalsociety.org
Website
Redding Historical Society
P.O. Box 1023
43 Lonetown Road
Redding Center, CT 06875
E-Mail: reddinghistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Website
Ridgefield Historical Society
4 Sunset Lane
Ridgefield CT 06877
203 438-5821
Email::ridgefieldhistory@sbcglobal.net
Website
Shelton History Center
PO Box 2155
70 Ripton Rd.
Shelton, CT 06484
203-925-1803
Website
Sherman Historical Society
10 Route 37 Center
Sherman, CT 06784
860-354-3083
E-Mail: office@shermanhistoricalsociety.org
Website
Stamford Historical Society
1508 High Ridge Rd
Stamford, CT 06903
(203) 329-1183
E-Mail: history@stamfordhistory.org
Website
Stratford Historical Society
Box 382
Stratford, CT 06615
(203) 378-0630
E-Mail: judsonhousestfd@aol.com
Website
Trumbull Historical Society
P.O. Box 312
1856 Huntington Turnpike
Trumbull, CT 06611
(203) 377-6620
E-Mail: trumbullhistory@gmail.com
Website
Weston Historical Society
P.O. Box 1092
104 Weston Road
Weston, CT 06883
(203) 226-1804
E-Mail: info@westonhistoricalsociety.org
Website
Wilton Historical Society
224 Danbury Road
Wilton, CT 06897
203-762-7257
E-Mail: info@wiltonhistorical.org
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- ancestry.com($), Available databases for Fairfield County.
- Connecticut Genealogy, LDS Genealogy Fairfield County Genealogy
- Cyndi's List, Fairfield County General Resource Sites
- The Fairfield County CTGenWeb Project, an member of The CTGenWeb Project
- Linkpendium, Fairfield County Genealogy and Famiy History
- USGennet, accessed 28 Feb 2011), provides genealogical research links for the county of Fairfield, Connecticut.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- Websites at RootsWeb for Fairfield County,
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Fairfield County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fairfield_County,_Connecticut 04/27/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fairfield County, Connecticut . Page 113 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 104-110.
- ↑ Newberry
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Fairfield County, Connecticut," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fairfield_County%2C_Connecticut, accessed 25 September 2018.
