Fairfax County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Fairfax County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: City of Fairfax
Organized: 01 Dec 1742[1]
Parent County(s): Prince William
Neighboring Counties
Alexandria (Independent City)  • Arlington  • Charles (MD)  • District of Columbia (DC)  • Fairfax (Independent City)  • Falls Church (Independent City)  • Loudoun  • Montgomery (MD)  • Prince George's (MD)  • Prince William
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaFairfaxCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Fairfax County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Fairfax County Virginia is located in northern part of Prince William County Virginia. It was named for Thomas Fairfax, 6th Lord Fairfax of Cameron (1693–1781), proprietor of the Northern Neck. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Fairfax County Courthouse'
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone: 703-691-7320
Fairfax County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1853-1912, marriage records from 1853, divorce records from 1850, probate, court and land records from 1742.[3]

Fairfax County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1853 1853 1742 1742 1742 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

6th Lord Fairfax of Cameron.JPG

The county is named after Thomas Fairfax, 6th Lord Fairfax of Cameron (1693-1781), Proprietor of the Northern Neck.
Fairfax County was formed in 1742 from the northern part of Prince William County. Prince William County was created in 1731 from a portion of Stafford County (and a part of King George County), Stafford County was created in 1664 from Westmoreland County, which was created in July 1653 from the northern portion of Northumberland County, itself formed in 1648.

In 1757, the northwestern two-thirds of Fairfax County became Loudoun County. The current border between Fairfax and Loudoun was re-established in 1957. In 1789, the area that now encompasses Alexandria City and Arlington County was donated to the Federal Government during the creation of the District of Columbia in 1791 and designated Alexandria County of the District of Columbia until 1846, when it was returned to Virginia as the independent county of Alexandria. In 1870, the city of Alexandria seceded as an independent Virginia city and in 1920, Alexandria County was renamed Arlington County.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (Together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes sections on Alexandria and Fairfax silversmiths.]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Fairfax County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 12,320
1800 13,317 8.1%
1810 13,111 −1.5%
1820 11,404 −13.0%
1830 9,204 −19.3%
1840 9,370 1.8%
1850 10,682 14.0%
1860 11,834 10.8%
1870 12,952 9.4%
1880 16,025 23.7%
1890 16,655 3.9%
1900 18,580 11.6%
1910 20,536 10.5%
1920 21,943 6.9%
1930 25,264 15.1%
1940 40,929 62.0%
1950 98,557 140.8%
1960 275,002 179.0%
1970 455,021 65.5%
1980 596,901 31.2%
1990 818,584 37.1%
2000 969,749 18.5%
2010 1,081,726 11.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782 Enumeration

1785 Enumeration

1820 Manufacturers Census

  • "1820 Manufacturers Census," Northern Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 2, No. 3 (Jul. 1997):125-126. Available at FHL. [Includes Fairfax, Fauquier, and Loudoun counties.]

1850

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Alexandria (1803). Minutes begin in 1803: FHL Films 985599-985600. Includes lists of members and baptisms.
  2. Back Lick (1782).[9]
  3. Bull Run (1775)
  4. Difficult (1775).
  5. Frying Pan (1791).
  6. Hedgeman's River (1791), Jeffersonton, Va. A history was published in Virginia Baptist Register, Issue 13 (1974).
  7. Popeshead (1775).
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.

Fairfax County fell within the bounds of the Ketocton Association.

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Cameron Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Fairfax Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Truro Parish

Quaker

Quaker Burial Ground, Alexandria, Va. database at Find A Grave. (81+ entries)
  • Woodlawn Monthly Meeting (begun 1846)

General

  • Hiatt, Marty and Craig Roberts Scott. Loudoun County, Virginia, Tithables, 1758-1786. 3 vols. Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1995. FHL. [Volume 1 includes a 1749 tithables list for Fairfax County which identifies tithe payers and many of their religions.]

Scheel's map of Fairfax County, Virginia identifies the locations of early churches and meetinghouses circa 1776. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.53 E7s.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

General

  • Horrell, Joseph. "George Mason and the Fairfax Court," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 91, No. 4 (Oct. 1983):418-439. Digital version at JSTOR ($).

County Court
Searches of Fairfax County Court Orders should begin with the Fairfax County History Commission and Edith Moore Sprouse's:

  1. A Surname and Subject Index of the Minute and Order Books of the Courts, Fairfax County, Virginia, Parts I-III
  2. A Surname and Subject Index of the Minute and Order Books of the Courts, Fairfax County, Virginia, Part IV, 1807-1829
  3. Fairfax County, Va. Court Records, 1835-1860.

They also created A Cumulative Subject Index to the Court Order Books of Fairfax County, Virginia, 1749-1802.

  • Mitchell, Beth. Fairfax County Road Orders 1748-1800. 2003. Digital version at Smitherman.net - free. Includes name index.

Chancery Court

  • Indexes (1803-1963) and images (1803-1913) to Fairfax County, Virginia Chancery Records are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Dumfries District Court and Superior Court of Law

  • Dumfries District Court Order Books, 1793-1817. Original records, Prince William County Courthouse, Manassas, Va.; available on microfilm at FHL. Dumfries District Court encompassed Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, and Prince William counties.

Fredericksburg Superior Court of Chancery
The Superior Court of Chancery of Fredericksburg (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over certain Fairfax County court cases. An index has been compiled:

  • Indexes of Court Records in the Clerk's Office, Fredericksburg, Virginia, 1782-1904. Original records, Fredericksburg City Courthouse, Fredericksburg, Va., microfilmed reproduction available at FHL. Indexes the following records: District Court law book v. 8, 1782-1792; District Court law books 1790-1793, v. A-F 1789-1811; Superior Court of Law law order books v. G-H 1812-1831; Superior Court of Chancery chancery order books 1814-1831; Hustings Court orders v. A-O 1782-1871; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery law order books v. A-E 1831-1875; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery chancery order books v. A-D 1831-1872; Circuit Court chancery order books v. A2, B-C 1875-1904; Fredericksburg District Court (1789-1808) had jurisdiction over the following counties: Spotsylvania (including Fredericksburg), Caroline, King George, Stafford, Orange, and Culpeper; Superior Court of Chancery (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over the following localities: city of Fredericksburg and the counties of Caroline, Culpeper, Fauquier, Fairfax, Lancaster, Northumberland, Madison, King George, Orange, Prince William, Richmond, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Essex, and Westmoreland.

Fairfax County Circuit Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road, Room 315
Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone: (703) 246-4168
Web Site: http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/courts/circuit/archives.htm
E-mail: arch@fairfaxcounty.gov
Types of Records: Marriage info (1742 to mid 1800s); marriage records (1860s to 1957); birth and death info (1700s, 1800s); birth and death records (1912-1917); deed books (1742-1944); will books (1742-1948); tax records (1853-1920); court minute books (1749-1903); other early court files, pension records, war records, etc.

Petitions[edit | edit source]

  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Internet Archive. Includes a chapter titled "Petition from Fairfax County, Virginia, for Importation of Salt, November 23, 1775," see pp. 172-173.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Alexandria, along the Potomac River, and Belvoir Plantation, have been ports since colonial times.[13] Unfortunately, no official passenger lists survive for the eighteenth century.

  • Cantwell, John A. "Imported Indentured White Servitude in Fairfax and Prince William Counties, 1750-1800," unpub. M.A. Thesis, George Mason University, 1986. Cantwell identifies many of the servants he found by name. The individuals Cantwell identifies by name have been indexed in the Immigrant Servants Database (see below).
  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. Includes will of a resident of Fairfax County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.
  • The Port of Alexandria, MSS. Contains correspondence between the Secretary of the Treasury and the Collectors Office in Alexandria. A few are addressed to the Custom House in Alexandria. Letters cover 1789-1815. FHL Film 850091 Item 6.
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American
In 1870, the town of Alexandria had one of the largest African American populations in Virginia.[14] Guide to African-American Resources, Alexandria Library Local History/Special Collections is available online, courtesy: Alexandria Library, Local History/Special Collections.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • The family of George Mason is treated in detail at the website Gunston Hall: Home of George Mason.
  • Liddle, Chester A. and Patricia H. Osisek. Families of Pohick Church, Truro Parish, Fairfax County, Virginia. Baltimore, Maryland: Gateway Press, 1991. FHL Collection has original edition and two supplements.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records
An early settlers map is available for Fairfax County. The cartographers plot the locations of pioneers from the 1760 era. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map Collection.

Grants and Patents

Land Causes

  • Sparacio, Ruth Trickey, Sam Sparacio, and Dumfries, Va. District Court. Abstracts of Land Causes, Prince William County, Virginia. [1789-1793] 2 vols. McLean, Va.: Antient Press, 1992. Available at FHL. [Includes Fairfax County.]
  • Wilson, Donald L. "Prince William County Land Causes," [1789-1793] The Newsletter of the Prince William County Genealogical Society, Vol. 3, No. 2 (Aug. 1984):5-7; Vol. 3, No. 7 (Jan. 1985):3-6; Vol. 3, No. 10 (Apr. 1985):6-7; Vol. 3, No. 12 (Jun. 1985):6-7; Vol. 4, No. 1 (Jul. 1985):4-6; Vol. 4, No. 2 (Aug. 1985):3-4; Vol. 4, No. 3 (Sep. 1985):5-7; Vol. 4, No. 7 (Jan. 1986):4-6; Vol. 4, No. 9 (Mar. 1986):3-4; Vol. 4, No. 10 (Apr. 1986):5-7; Vol. 4, No. 12 (Jun. 1986):5-7; Vol. 5, No. 1 (Jul. 1986):5-7; Vol. 5, No. 3 (Sep. 1986):6-9; Vol. 5, No. 6 (Dec. 1986):5-6; Vol. 5, No. 10 (Apr. 1987):5-7. Available at FHL.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Fairfax County Board of Supervisors. Industrial and Historical Sketch of Fairfax County, Virginia. Newell Printing Co., 1907. Digital version at Internet Archive.

Historic Residences

  • Moxham, Robert Morgan. Belmont Plantation on the Occoquan, Fairfax County, Virginia. North Springfield, Virginia: Colonial Press, 1975. Available at FHL.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Falls Church (Independent City)Alexandria (Independent City)Arlington CountyFairfax (Independent City)Manassas Park (Independent City)Prince William CountyLoudoun CountyMontgomery CountyPrince George's CountyCharles CountyVA FAIRFAX.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
  • Mitchell, Beth and Donald M. Sweig. An Interpretive Historical Map of Fairfax County, Virginia, in 1760: Showing Landowners, Tenants, Slave Owners, Churches, Roads, Ordinaries, Ferries, Mills, Tobacco Inspection Warehouses and the Towns of Alexander and Colchester. Virginia: Office of Comprehensive Planning, County of Fairfax, 1987. Available at FHL.
  • FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1977):167-171. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Fairfax County's 1787-1790 Delinquent Lists appear on pp. 170-171.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Fairfax Parish and Fairfax County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Internet Archive. Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Fairfax County, see p. 76-79.
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.
  • Mayo, Sandra. "Fairfax and Prince William Counties in the French and Indian War," Northern Virginia Heritage, Vol. 9, No. 1 (Feb. 1987). Digital version at Historic Prince William.


Revolutionary War

  • Pierce, Alycon Trubey. "Wringing Northern Virginians Out of Final Pension Payment Vouchers, 1818-1864," Northern Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Apr. 1997):73-77. Available at FHL. Identifies married daughters and granddaughters of Revolutionary War Pensioners, and other persons mentioned in these records. Pierce abstracted entries for residents of Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, and Prince William counties.
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. Digital versions at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). See Virginia, Eastern District, Fairfax County on page 130.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War. By J.T. McAllister. 1913. Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Internet Archive

Regiments. Service men in Fairfax County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Fairfax County supplied soldiers for the:

- 3rd Virginia Regiment
- 10th Virginia Regiment


War of 1812
Fairfax County men served in the 60th Regiment.[15] Library of Virginia resources, War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital version at Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Fairfax County, pp. 78-79. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.


Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Fairfax County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).
- 6th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F (Fairfax Company aka Washington's Home Guard aka The Powell Troop aka General Johnston's Bodyguard Company).[16]
- 8th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Scott's Company).[17]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry. Company I (Fairfax Cavalry or Chesterfield Troop).[18]
- 17th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Fairfax Riflemen).[19]

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Fairfax County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861 and 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Online Newspapers
Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Indexes
Fairfax County Historical Newspaper Index (1785-2000 nonconsecutive) index only - Free; includes:

  • Alexandria Gazette (1785-1788; July 25, 1854-December 31, 1855; and May 3, 1860-January 20, 1865)
  • Arlington County Record (1932-1933)
  • Fairfax City Times (1961-1968)
  • Fairfax County Independent (1929-1932)
  • Fairfax Herald (1886-1973)
  • Fairfax News (1872-1875)
  • Fairfax News - Herndon Observer (1925-1943)
  • The Local News (1861-1862)
  • The Rambler, Washington Star (1912-1928)
  • Reston Times (1965-1973; 1975-January 6, 1977; 1978; 1980-1983; 1985; and 2000)


Obituaries[edit | edit source]

  • 1784-1915 Obituary Notices from the Alexandria Gazette, 1784-1915. Rev. ed. Willow Bend Books.


Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Local Court
King's abstracts are a good place to start:

Some individual's wills have appeared in print or in manuscript collections:

  • Holbrook, E. Richardson. Copies of the Wills of General George Washington: The First President of the United States and of Martha Washington, His Wife, and Other Interesting Records of the County of Fairfax, Virginia Wherein They Lived and Died. Washington, D. C.: National Capital Press, 1904. Available at FHL. [2 copies at FHL.]
  • Roberts, Mrs. Arthur John and Daughters of the American Revolution. Oklahoma Old Wills and Family Records. [Includes will of Charles Thrift, Sr., Fairfax Co., Va.] Available at FHL.
  • Will of John Littleton of Fairfax Co., Va. 1745, Photocopy, available at FHL.
  • Pierce, Alycon Trubey. "Fairfax County, Virginia, Administration Bonds, 1752-1782," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 74 (1986):189-195. Digital version at National Genealogical Society website ($); FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 74 (1986).

London Courts

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes will of a resident of Fairfax County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • 1639-1850 Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 at Ancestry — index, incomplete ($)
  • Images of Wills and Estates, Book A-1, 1742 – 1752; Book B-1, 1752 – 1767; Book C-1, 1767 – 1776 Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • Images of Wills - Book D 1776-82; Book E 1783-91; Book F 1791-94; Book G 1794-99; Book H 1799-1801; Book I, 1801-1806 Virginia Pioneers ($)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Online School Indexes and Records

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1744 Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Internet Archive. Poll List for the Election of Burgesses for Fairfax County, 1744, see pp. 116-125.
  • 1748/1749 Steadman, Melvin Lee. Falls Church by Fence and Fireside. Falls Church, Virginia: Falls Church Public Library, 1964. Available at FHL. 1748/1749 tithables list for Fairfax County.
  • 1749, 1758-1786 Hiatt, Marty and Craig Roberts Scott. Loudoun County, Virginia, Tithables, 1758-1786. 3 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1995. Available at FHL. Volume 1 includes a 1749 tithables list which identifies tithe payers and many of their religions. Online at Ancestry ($), courtesy: Fairfax County Chapter NSDAR.
  • 1761, 1774 King, Junie Estelle Stewart. Abstracts of Wills and Inventories, Fairfax County, Virginia 1742-1801. 1936; reprint, Baltimore, MD, USA: Clearfield, 1996. Original edition and 1959 reprint available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records($). Includes 1761 and 1774 rent rolls.
  • 1770, 1772, 1774] Sparacio, Ruth and Sam Sparacio. Fairfax County, Virginia Deed Books K-L (1772-1774). McLean, Va.: R. & S. Sparacio, 1988. FHL US/CAN 975.5291 R2s v. 4. Includes 1770, 1772, and 1774 Fairfax rental lists.
  • 1782-1805 Fairfax County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1805 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Fairfax County is included in Vol. 2.
  • 1787-1800 Alexandria Personal Property Tax Lists 1787-1800 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1787-1790 Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1977):167-171. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Fairfax County's 1787-1790 Delinquent Lists appear on pp. 170-171.
  • 1789, 1799 Indexed images of the 1789 and 1799 Personal Property Tax Lists of Fairfax County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [This source is based on the 1815 land tax. Fairfax County is included in Vol. 4.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

  • Virginia Department of Health
  • Office of Vital Records
    P.O. Box 1000
    Richmond, VA 23218-1000
    Phone: (804) 662-6200
    Web Site: http://www.vdh.state.va.us/vitalrec/index.asp
    Types of Records: Birth and death records (1853 to 1896; since June 14, 1912); marriage records (since 1853); divorce records (since 1918)

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Fairfax County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Fairfax County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

  • Alexandria Library
    Kate Waller Barrett Branch
    717 Queen Street
    Alexandria, VA 22314-2420
    Phone: (703) 838-4577
    Website
  • The Fairfax County Public Library
    10360 North Street
    Fairfax, VA 22030-2514
    Phone: (703) 293-6383
    Email: va_room@fairfaxcounty.gov
    Website
  • The Library of Virginia
    800 East Broad Street
    Richmond, VA 23219-8000
    Phone: (804) 692-3500
    Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

  • Fairfax City Museum and Visitor's Center
    10209 Main Street
    Fairfax, VA
    Phone: (703) 385-8414
    Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Fairfax County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

  • Gum Springs Historical Society and Museum
    8100 Fordson Road
    Alexandria, VA 22306
    Phone: (703) 799-1198
    Website
  • Mount Vernon Genealogical Society Resource Center
    Hollin Hall Senior Center
    1500 Shenandoah Road, Room 214
    Alexandria, VA 22308
    Email: libraryasst@mvgenealogy.org
    Website
  • Fairfax Genealogical Society (FxGS)
    P.O. Box 2290
    Merrifield, Virginia 22116-2290
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Compiled genealogies are a good place to start research for this area, see Fairfax County, Virginia Genealogy. If you are researching families who lived in Fairfax County, Virginia between the 1740s and 1790s, the Sparacios' books are a great time saver. They comprehensively index several publications covering that period:

  • Sparacio, Ruth Trickey and Sam Sparacio. Surname Index of Antient Press Publications. 14+ vols. McLean, Va.: R. & S. Sparacio, Antient Press, 1993-. FHL Collection 975.5 P22s v. 1-2; publisher's website: Antient Press.
  • Grundset, Eric G. "Fairfax County Genealogy," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 10, No. 3 (May-Jun. 1984):1-2. FHL; digital version at Virginia Genealogical Society website ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fairfax_County,_Virginia
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 2, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  6. Newberry
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Fairfax _ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,[https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fairfax_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 15 January 2020.
  9. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Richmond, Va.: Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 386-387. At various libraries (WorldCat)..
  10. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  11. William Wade Hinshaw, Thomas W. Marshall and John Cox, Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy (Ann Arbor, Mich.: Edwards Bros., 1950). Vol. 6. FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.
  12. F. Edward Wright, Early Church Records of Alexandria City and Fairfax County, Virginia (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1996). FHL Book 975.529 K2w.
  13. Donald G. Shomette, Maritime Alexandria: The Rise and Fall of an American Entrepôt (2003).
  14. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 280. FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  15. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 80. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  16. Michael P. Musick, 6th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 66.
  17. John E. Divine, 8th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1983). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 6.
  18. Richard L. Armstrong, 11th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 52.
  19. Lee A. Wallace, 17th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 67.
  20. Heritage Preservation Services, [www.nps.gov/hps/abpp/battles/va004.htm Civil War Battle Summaries by State], (accessed 2 August 2012)
  21. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  22. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)
  23. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  24. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)