Family History Center Portal

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Access to Family History Center Portal[edit | edit source]

Access to these online services is provided through the Family History Center Portal at fhc.familysearch.org and following the instructions provided there.

Note: Please follow the instructions found here if you have not yet installed the browser extension. The extension is necessary to access premium websites and limited-access records in centers.

The special access that family history centers have been granted to these databases only works when the online services are accessed through a computer in a Family History Center. Please note that entering the websites of these providers through their regular, public URLs will not provide access to the full versions that have been authorized for family history center use.

Premium Websites Available[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch has arranged for several premium online research services to be available at Family History Centers. Below is a list of these websites:

19th Century British Library Newspapers[edit | edit source]

This fully searchable database of the British Library's newspaper holdings provides a complete run of 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers for the 19th century from 1800 to 1900. These support the study of colonial history, genealogical research, politics, urban studies, and media courses.

Alexander Street Press - American Civil War[edit | edit source]

Research Data: Contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. http://asp6new.alexanderstreet.com/cwdb

  • Letters and Diaries: Contains approximately 100,000 indexed pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs, including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts, such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland planter William Claytor. http://solomon.cwld.alexanderstreet.com
  • Images, Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera : Provides a vivid history of the American Civil War with over 1,400 images. http://cpho.alexanderstreet.com
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States: Organized around the history of women in social movements in the United States between 1600 and 2000 A.D.

American Ancestors[edit | edit source]

Created by the New England Genealogical Society, the American Ancestors website allows searches in a variety of different databases including, 19th-century newspapers, court and probate records, genealogies, journals and periodicals, and immigration records.

Ancestry - Institution Version[edit | edit source]

Ancestry gives you access to thousands of collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court, land, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership, and much more. It is the largest for-profit genealogy company in the world.

ArkivDigital[edit | edit source]

ArkivDigital is the largest private provider of Swedish Church Records and other historical records online! All images are newly photographed color images of the original documents.

Click the link from the Premium Family History Websites page to install the current client version of ArkivDigital Online.

British Newspaper Archive[edit | edit source]

Only available at large Family History Libraries and Centers

The largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1607 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content.

FamNet[edit | edit source]

The online family history network for those who have New Zealand roots.

Findmypast[edit | edit source]

Findmypast makes it easy to research your UK ancestry and create your family tree. Search census records and trace births, marriages, and deaths to bring your family history to life. Please note that not all of the content from findmypast is available in family history centers.

1911 British Census (accessed through the findmypast website)-The 1911 UK Census is a record of everyone who lived in England and Wales in 1911. It provides a unique snapshot of the lives of those who lived at that time.

Fold3 - formerly Footnote[edit | edit source]

Search or browse millions of historical documents and photos. Fold3 has refocused their efforts on gathering the best online collection of military records and stories. The Fold3 name reflects military history and honor, since traditionally, the third fold in a flag-folding ceremony honors and remembers veterans for their sacrifice in defending their country and promoting peace in the world.

The Genealogist[edit | edit source]

Only available at large Family History Libraries and Centers

Contains English parish records, directories, census, civil registration, surname mapping, and selected army and navy lists.

Geneanet[edit | edit source]

This resource, available in centers in the United Kingdom only, contains English parish records, directories, census, civil registration, surname mapping, and selected army and navy lists.

MyHeritage - Library Edition[edit | edit source]

Used by millions of people worldwide to help research family history, build a family tree, and add photos, historical records, and more.

Newspaper Archive[edit | edit source]

Only available at Family History Library and large regional libraries

NewspaperArchive.com features articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world. Discover fascinating news in archived newspapers hundreds of years old-including obituaries, birth announcements, sports articles, comics, and more-to fill in the life stories you are interested in. All of our historical newspapers are full-page and fully searchable."

Newspapers.com (Institutional Version)[edit | edit source]

Institutional version only available at the Family History Library, regional libraries, and North American Family History Centers.

Historical newspapers from 1700s–2000s. Millions of additional pages added every month.

Paper Trail[edit | edit source]

Provides access to 19th-century westward American migration documents.

Puzzilla - Premium Services[edit | edit source]

Find new research opportunities on descendant lines in Family Tree.

Other helpful websites[edit | edit source]