Ethiopia Genealogy

Africa

Ethiopia

Guide to Ethiopia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Ethiopia Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Research Strategies Record Finder
Record Types
Adoption Cemeteries Church Records Civil Registration Colonial Records Compiled Genealogies	Court Records Military Records Online Records Religious Records
Ethiopia Background
Gazetteers History Jurisdictions Languages	Maps Personal Names Social Life & Customs
Local Research Resources
Archives & Libraries Societies Family History Centers

Country Information

Ethiopia is a country in Africa bordered by Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, and Kenya. The official language is Amharic.

Getting Started

Getting Started with Ethiopia Research Links to articles on getting started with Ethiopia research. How to Find Birth Records How to Find Marriage Records How to Find Death Records

Ethiopia Research Tools Links to articles and websites that assist in Ethiopia research. Ethiopia Mailing List (RootsWeb) Beteseb Felega - Ethiopian Family Search Adoption Registry Eritrean (an ethnic group) Archive information The records are not searchable online though there is contact information for the Archives

Ethiopia Online Genealogy Records

Ask the Community

Ethiopia Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Ethiopia.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

• Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
• Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
• Historical Records
• Family History Center locator map