Essex County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Essex County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Tappahannock
Organized: 1692
Parent County(s): Rappahannock County, 1656-1696[1]
Neighboring Counties
Caroline  • King andQueen  • King George  • Middlesex  • Richmond  • Westmoreland
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaEssexCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Essex County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Essex County is located in the eastern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named either for the shire or county in England or for the Duke of Essex.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Essex County Courthouse
305 Prince Street
Tappahannock, VA 22560
Phone: 804-443-3541
Essex County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1814, divorce and land records from 1865, probate records from 1656 and court records from 1692.[3]

Essex County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1814 1853 1692 1865 1656 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. By George Barton Cutten. 1952. Richmond, Virginia : The Dietz Press, Incorporated. Online at: Hathitrust; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a section on Essex County (Ephesus Springs) silversmiths.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Essex County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 9,122
1800 9,508 4.2%
1810 9,376 −1.4%
1820 9,909 5.7%
1830 10,521 6.2%
1840 11,309 7.5%
1850 10,206 −9.8%
1860 10,469 2.6%
1870 9,927 −5.2%
1880 11,032 11.1%
1890 10,047 −8.9%
1900 9,701 −3.4%
1910 9,105 −6.1%
1920 8,542 −6.2%
1930 6,976 −18.3%
1940 7,006 0.4%
1950 6,530 −6.8%
1960 6,690 2.5%
1970 7,099 6.1%
1980 8,864 24.9%
1990 8,689 −2.0%
2000 9,989 15.0%
2010 11,151 11.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1783 Enumeration

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist

  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.

Church of England
go to See also North Farnham Parish
go to See also Piscataway Parish
go to See also St. Anne's Parish
go to See also St. George's Parish
go to See also St. Mary's Parish
go to See also Sittenburne Parish
go to See also South Farnham Parish

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

  • Essex County, Virginia, records, 1717-1722 : deeds, etc., no. 16, 1718-1721, wills, inventoires and settlements of estates, no. 3, 1717-1722. c1959. By John Frederick Dorman. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Library of Virginia's Chancery Records Index can be used to search for Essex County chancery records for the years 1728-1914. Records are located on microfilm and at the Clerk's Office.

County Court
Most Essex County, Virginia County Court Order Books have survived (starting in 1692). They have been abstracted from 1692 to 1729.[8]

Superior Court of Chancery
The Superior Court of Chancery of Fredericksburg (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over certain Essex County court cases. An index has been compiled:

  • Indexes of Court Records in the Clerk's Office, Fredericksburg, Virginia, 1782-1904. Original records, Fredericksburg City Courthouse, Fredericksburg, Va., microfilmed reproduction available at FHL. [Indexes the following records: District Court law book v. 8, 1782-1792; District Court law books 1790-1793, v. A-F 1789-1811; Superior Court of Law law order books v. G-H 1812-1831; Superior Court of Chancery chancery order books 1814-1831; Hustings Court orders v. A-O 1782-1871; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery law order books v. A-E 1831-1875; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery chancery order books v. A-D 1831-1872; Circuit Court chancery order books v. A2, B-C 1875-1904; Fredericksburg District Court (1789-1808) had jurisdiction over the following counties: Spotsylvania (including Fredericksburg), Caroline, King George, Stafford, Orange, and Culpeper; Superior Court of Chancery (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over the following localities: city of Fredericksburg and the counties of Caroline, Culpeper, Fauquier, Fairfax, Lancaster, Northumberland, Madison, King George, Orange, Prince William, Richmond, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Essex, and Westmoreland.]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Tappahannock, also known as Hobb's Hole, has been a port since colonial times. No official passenger lists survive for the seventeenth or eighteenth centuries.

  • 1769 Passenger List of Charming Molly Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. 2007. By Coldham, Peter Wilson. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. Includes wills of residents of Clydeside and Essex County proved in London. Land in Tappahannock is also mentioned. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

The original Register of Free Negroes, 1810-1861 for Essex County is kept at the County Courthouse. It has been microfilmed by the Library of Virginia FHL Collection 1929922 Item 6, 1929923 Item 1, and abstracted:

  • Register of Free Blacks, 1810-1843, Essex County. By Virginia Lee Hutcheson Davis. Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 8, No. 3 (November/December 1999):179-187; Vol. 8, No. 4 (February/March 2000):247-251; Vol. 9, No. 1 (May/June 2000):50-55; Vol. 9, No. 2 (August/September 2000):118-121; Vol. 9, No. 3 (November/December 2000):188-191. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t.

Additional Essex County African American resources include:

  • Essex County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1819. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. c2005. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans; At various libraries (WorldCat). Adams, Ailstock, Armfield, Atkins, Barton, Black, Bond, Bowden, Braxton, Breedlove (see introduction), Brooks, Bunday, Bush, Byrd, Cambridge (see introduction), Chandler, Clark, Cook, Day, Ellis, Fortune, Fry, Goings, Goldman, Gregory, Haithcock, Halestock, Hays, Hollinger, Jones, Kee, Lantor, Lawrence, Lawson, McCoy, McGuy, Mann, Mason, Meggs, Nickens, Rollins, Sampson, Simmons, Soleleather, Taylor, Twopence, Webb, Whistler, and Wilson families in pre-1820 Essex County, Virginia.
  • Uprooted and Transplanted From Africa to America Focus on African-Americans in Essex County, Virginia Oppressions, Achievements, Contributions, The 1600s-1900s. 1999. By Lillian H. McGuire. New York, NY : Vantage Press. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized images of African Americans of Essex County.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for multiple Families

  • Atkins, William. Genealogical Chart Concerning the Ryland Family. Donated 1987. Available at Virginia Historical Society. "Also, concerns the Atkins, Corbin, Dudley, Ellis, Fergerson, Griffith, Grosvenor, Peachy, and Webb families."[9]
  • Eastman, Hazel. Bywaters-Kuraner Family Tree, 1657-1955. Typescript, 1955. FHL Film 858672 Item 11. A history of the families of Ashby, Atchinson, Hartley, Ives, Luttrell, McCormack, Smith, Stallard, Summersall and Verrinder of England, Ireland, Stafford, Essex and Culpepper counties in Virginia.
  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. 2005-present. - free online book. Adams, Ailstock, Armfield, Atkins, Barton, Black, Bond, Bowden, Braxton, Breedlove (see introduction), Brooks, Bunday, Bush, Byrd, Cambridge (see introduction), Chandler, Clark, Cook, Day, Ellis, Fortune, Fry, Goings, Goldman, Gregory, Haithcock, Halestock, Hays, Hollinger, Jones, Kee, Lantor, Lawrence, Lawson, McCoy, McGuy, Mann, Mason, Meggs, Nickens, Rollins, Sampson, Simmons, Soleleather, Taylor, Twopence, Webb, Whistler, and Wilson families in pre-1820 Essex County, Virginia.
  • Pritchett, John W. Southside Virginia Genealogies. CD-ROM. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. Free online index, courtesy: Virginians - The Family History of John W. Pritchett. [Includes information about residents of Essex County, see discussion of cited sources.] FHL Collection CD-ROM no. 3887.
  • Yurechko, John Otto. Virginians Along and Near the Lower Rapphahannock River, 1607-1799. 2 vols. Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1997-1998. FHL Book 975.5 D2yj v. 1-v. 2. Contents: v. 1. Blake, Brooks (Brook), Churchill, Cook (Cock), Daniel, Dixon, Gore, Kidd, Lewis, Martin, Montague, Taylor and Wood -- v. 2. Brown, Clark, Elliott, Fox (Fowkes, Vaulx), Harrison, McTyre, Moore, Pate, Rawlins (Rollins), Rhodes, Sanders (Saunders) and Williams.
  • Colonial research regarding Newmans and their community near Occupacia Creek. Includes enslaved individuals.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Deeds

  • Essex County Records, 1703-1706. 1961. By Beverley Fleet. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. FHL; online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Essex County Records, 1711-1714. 1961. By Beverley Fleet. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. FHL; online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Essex County Wills and Deeds, 1714-1717. 1961. By Beverley Fleet. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. FHL; online at: Ancestry ($).

Grants and Patents

  • Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants 1694-1742. 1987. By Gertrude E. Gray. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., Vol. I. Available at FHL.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • History of Old Rappanhannock County, Virginia, 1656-1692: With Introduction, 1608-1656, Including the Present Counties of Essex and Richmond and Parts of Westmoreland, King George, Stafford, Caroline and Spotsylvania Counties. 1965. By Thomas Hoskins Warner. Tappahannock, Virginia : P.P. Warner. Available at FHL.
  • Settlers, Southerners, Americans: The History of Essex County, Virginia, 1608-1984. c1985 (1998). By James B. Slaughter. n.p.: Essex County Board of Supervisors. Available at FHL.
  • Some Emigrants to Virginia. 1915. Compiled by W.G. Stanard. Richmond, VA : The Bell Book and Stationery Co. Online at: Hathitrust.
  • The Colonial Virginia Register. A list of governors, councillors and other higher officials, and also of members of the House of Burgesses, and the revolutionary conventions of the Colony of Virginia. 1902. By William G. and Mary Newton Stanard. Albany, NY : J. Munsell's Sons. Online at: Hathitrust.
  • Virginia Colonial Abstracts. 1937. By Beverley Fleet. Richmond, VA : n.p. Vols 7-34. Online at: Hathitrust.
  • Virginia Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.

Historic Residences

  • Old Homes of Essex County. c1940, 1957. By Woman's Club of Essex County (Virginia). n.p.: Woman's Club of Essex County Virginia. Available at FHL.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Richmond CountyWestmoreland CountyMiddlesex CountyKing and Queen CountyCaroline CountyKing George CountyVA ESSEX.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1977):167-171. Available at FHL; online at: American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Essex County's 1788-1789 Delinquent Lists appear on pp. 169-170.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial Militia

  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL.
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.


French and Indian War

  • Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. By William F. Boogher. 2007. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Essex County, see p. 75.
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.
  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL.


Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Washington : Blair and Rives. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). See Virginia, Eastern District, Essex County on page 130.
  • Essex Militia [1781]. The Researcher: A Magazine of History and Genealogical Exchange. By Robert Armistead Stewart. Vol. 1, No. 4;(Jul. 1927):237. FHL Collection. Taken from Auditor's Public Claim Papers, Virginia State Archives.

Regiments. Service men in Essex County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Essex County supplied soldiers for the:

- 7th Virginia Regiment


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Essex County, pp. 77-78.

Regiments. Essex County men served in the 6th Regiment.[10]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Essex County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Essex County:

- 9th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F (Essex Light Dragoons).
- 9th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F (Essex Light Dragoons).[11]
- 47th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (1st) (Essex Sharpshooters) and Company I (1st) (Essex Grays).[12]
- 55th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies A (Essex Artillery), D (Essex Davis Rifles), F (Essex Sharpshooters), G (Essex Grays).[13]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Local Courts

  • Essex County Records, 1703-1706. 1961. By Beverley Fleet. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. FHL; online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Essex County Records, 1711-1714. 1961. By Beverley Fleet. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. FHL; online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Essex County Wills and Deeds, 1714-1717. 1961. By Beverley Fleet. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. FHL; online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Wills of Rappahannock County, Virginia 1656-1692. 1947. By William Montgomery Sweeny. Lynchburg, Virginia : Mrs. W.M. Sweeny. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.

London Courts

  • North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. 2007. By Coldham, Peter Wilson. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. Includes wills of residents of Clydeside and Essex County proved in London. Land in Tappahannock is also mentioned. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records
The original Essex County Personal Property Tax Lists are kept at the Library of Virginia. Microfilm copies for the years 1782 to 1852 are available at the Family History Library: FHL Films 2024527-2024529. Published abstracts:

  • 1704 Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704. Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 28 (1920):207-218, 328-339; Vol. 29 (1921):18-28, 337-343, 402-412; Vol. 30 (1922):21-30, 280-285, 341-347; Vol. 31 (1923):70-75, 153-163, 215-231, 314-318; Vol. 32 (1924):69-75, 144-158, 281-287, 338-343; Vol. 33 (1925):47-50, 359-370; Vol. 34 (1926):113-119, 252-258, 313, 321. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of VMHB at JSTOR($). Essex County appears in 33:359-370. "Thomas Leftwitch in Essex" appears on the King and Queen County list, see 32:151.
  • 1704 Essex County: An Annotated Copy of the Rent Roll of 1704. By John Bailey Calvert Nicklin. William and Mary College Quarterly, 2nd Series, Vol. 21(1941):397-405. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of W&MQ at JSTOR ($).
  • 1715 Quit Rent Roll of 1715 - Essex County, Va. By John Bailey Calver Nicklin. William and Mary College Quarterly, 2nd Series, Vol. 18 (1938):203-206. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1715 Quit Rents Rolls online at Genealogy Trails.
  • 1741 True and Exact Poll of the Election of Burgesses, Essex County, Va., November 20, 1741. 1983. By William Montgomery Sweeny. William and Mary College Quarterly, 2nd Series, Vol. 22(1942):54-60. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. Available at FHL; online at JSTOR ($).
  • 1782-1819 Essex County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1819. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans, Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1783 Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
  • 1787 The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). Essex County is included in Vol. 2.
  • 1788-1789 Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1977):167-171. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Essex County's 1788-1789 Delinquent Lists appear on pp. 169-170.
  • 1790, 1800 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Essex County, Virginia are available online at: Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. Online at: FHL. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Essex County is included in Vol. 3.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Essex County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Essex County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Middle Peninsula African-American Genealogical & Historical SocietyWebsite

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Essex County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Compiled genealogies are a good place to start research for this area, see Essex County, Virginia Genealogy. If you are researching families who lived in Essex County, Virginia between the 1690s and 1750s, the Sparacios' books are a great time saver. They comprehensively index several publications covering that period:

  • Surname Index of Antient Press Publications. 1993. By Ruth Trickey Sparacio and Sam Sparacio. 14+ vols. McLean, VA : R. S. Sparacio, Antient Press. FHL Collection 975.5 P22s v. 1-2.
  • Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties. By Virginia Lee Hutcheson Davis. Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t. For Essex County, see p. 57

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Virginia: Individual County and Independent City Chronologies; Copyright The Newberry Library 2003; Accessed (September 23, 2021)
  2. http://www.essex-virginia.org/visiting_essex/essex_county_history
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Essex County, Virginia. Page 713 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. VA Historical Boundary Changes- list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Essex_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Essex_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 12 January 2020.
  8. Sparacio
  9. Online Catalog, Virginia Historical Society, accessed 11 November 2011,https://www.virginiahistory.org/.
  10. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 78. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  11. Robert K. Krick, 9th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 2.
  12. Homer D. Musselman, 47th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 73.
  13. Richard O'Sullivan, 55th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 59.