Essex County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Essex County, Vermont ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Guildhall
Organized: November 5, 1792
Parent County(s): Orange
Neighboring Counties
Caledonia  • Orleans  • Coös (NH)  • Grafton (NH)  • Compton (QB)  • Stanstead (QB)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Vermont, Essex County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Vt-essex.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the county of Essex in England. The County is located in the northeast area of the state. [1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Essex County Courthouse
81 Main Street
Essex Junction, VT 05452-3209
Phone: 802-676-3910
Fax: 802-676-3463
Essex County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1884, marriage and burial records, a few divorce records, court records from 1800 and land records from 1762.
Probate Judge has probate records from 1800.[2]

Essex County, Vermont Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1884 1800 1884 1800 1762 1791 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1857. General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

VermontGrafton CountyCaledonia CountyEssex CountyOrleans CountyQuebecNew HampshireCoos CountyConcordVictoryEast HavenFerdinandBrightonAvery’s GoreWarren’s GoreWarner's GrantNortonAverillCanaanLemingtonBloomfieldLewisBrunswickMaidstoneGranbyGuildhallLunenburgLittletonBethlehemLymanMonroeBarnetWaterfordSaint JohnsburyKirbyLyndonBurkeSuttonNewarkWestmoreCharlestonMorganHollandDerbyStanstead EstBarnston OuestCoaticookDixvilleSaint HermenegildeEast HerefordPittsburgClarksvilleStewartstownColebrookColumbiaStratfordOdellNorthumberlandStarkLancasterKilkennyBerlinRandolphJeffersonWhitefieldDalton
Modern town borders in Essex County, Vermont.

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places

Extinct Towns[6]

Towns Organized before 1800:

  • Bloomfield 1762
  • Brunswick 1761
  • Canaan 1782
  • Concord 1780
  • Guildhall 1761
  • Lunenburg 1763
  • Maidstone 1761
  • Victory 1781 [7]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Essex County, Vermont online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Vermont Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 1,479
1810 3,087 108.7%
1820 3,284 6.4%
1830 3,981 21.2%
1840 4,226 6.2%
1850 4,650 10.0%
1860 5,786 24.4%
1870 6,811 17.7%
1880 7,931 16.4%
1890 9,511 19.9%
1900 8,056 −15.3%
1910 7,384 −8.3%
1920 7,364 −0.3%
1930 7,067 −4.0%
1940 6,490 −8.2%
1950 6,257 −3.6%
1960 6,083 −2.8%
1970 5,416 −11.0%
1980 6,313 16.6%
1990 6,405 1.5%
2000 6,459 0.8%
2010 6,306 −2.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Jeffrey, William H. Successful Vermonters; a modern gazetteer of Caledonia, Essex, and Orleans Counties. East Burke, Vermont, The Historical Publishing Company, 1904. Internet Archive.
  • Child, Hamilton Gazetteer of Caledonia and Essex Counties, Vt. 1764-1887. Caledonia County, Vermont, Syracuse Journal Company, Printers and Binders, 1887. Google Books.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Quebec, CanadaOrleansCaledoniaCoos, New HampshireVT ESSEX.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The following historical newspapers cover Essex County.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Town Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Early Vermont vital records were kept on the town level, and beginning dates varied from place to place. Statewide requirements started in 1779. Statewide registration began in 1857, with town clerks sending copies of the previous year’s vital events to the secretary of state. For online indexes, collections, and more information, see Vermont Town Records and Vermont Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Essex County. For state-wide facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Essex County. For state-wide library facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Essex County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Vermont Societies.

  • Bakersfield Historical Society
    Bakersfield, VT 05441
    Phone: 802-827-3042
  • Canaan Historical Society
    27 Park Street
    Canaan, VT 05903
    Phone: 802-266-3989
  • Concord Historical Society
    PO Box 301
    Concord, VT 05824-0301
    Phone: 802-695-3330
  • Island Pond Historical Society
    PO Box 408
    Island Pond, VT 05846
    Phone: 802-723-4345
  • Lunenburg Historical Society
    PO Box 195
    Lunenburg, VT 05906
    802-274-6836
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Essex, Vermont" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Essex_County,_Vermont accessed 6 Dec 2018
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Essex County, Vermont . Page 698-699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 686-687.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vermont.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Essex County, Vermont," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Essex_County%2C_Vermont, accessed 28 June 2022.
  6. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 394-95. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.