Essex County, New Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Essex County, New Jersey ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Newark
Organized: March 7, 1683
Parent County(s): Colonial Lands [1]
Neighboring Counties
Bergen  • Hudson  • Morris  • Passaic  • Union
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Jersey, Essex County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nj-essex.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Essex County is located in the northeast region of the state. It was created on March 7, 1683. Newark is the county seat. The county was named for Essex, England.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Essex County Courthouse
465 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd
Newark, NJ 07102
Phone: 973-776-9300
Essex County Website

County Clerk has marriage records 1795-1879, divorce and court records from 1948 and naturalization records 1779-1929.
City Clerks have birth and death records.
County Surrogate has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records[3]

Essex County, New Jersey Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1901 1795 1901 1783 1783 1697 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1 May 1848. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Boroughs
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1675, part of East Jersey
  • History of Essex County as stated on official Essex County, New Jersey government site
  • 1710, New Barbadoes twp. to Bergen County
  • 1741, part to Somerset County.
  • 1822, water boundry defined
  • 1837, part to Passaic County.
  • 1857, part to Union County.
  • 1871, Union County boundary clarified
  • 1876, some changes with Union boundary
  • 1882, Union County boundary further clarified
  • 1891, Part of Millburn twp. to to Union County's Springfield twp
  • 1892, more minor changes with Union boundary
  • 1907, parts of Acquackanonk & Little Falls twps. of Passaic County to Montclair
  • 1958, some of Springfield twp., Union County to here.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Essex County, New Jersey online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Jersey Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: New Jersey Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 17,785
1800 22,269 25.2%
1810 25,984 16.7%
1820 30,793 18.5%
1830 41,911 36.1%
1840 44,621 6.5%
1850 73,950 65.7%
1860 98,877 33.7%
1870 143,839 45.5%
1880 189,929 32.0%
1890 256,098 34.8%
1900 359,053 40.2%
1910 512,886 42.8%
1920 652,089 27.1%
1930 833,513 27.8%
1940 837,340 0.5%
1950 905,949 8.2%
1960 923,545 1.9%
1970 932,526 1.0%
1980 851,304 −8.7%
1990 778,206 −8.6%
2000 793,633 2.0%
2010 783,969 −1.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.

Dutch Reformed

  • 1694 Zabriskie, George Olin. "Resident of North-Eastern New Jersey in 1694," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 108, No. 3 (Jul. 1977):157-158. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 108. List of residents in Dutch Reformed congregation of Acquackanonk Township and New Barbados.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • East Orange
  • Newark

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Your relatives may be included in biographies, in church, school and government history, or in military events and lists. For more information, see New Jersey History and scroll to Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Morris CountyPassaic CountyBergen CountyHudson CountyUnion CountyNJ ESSEX.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


  • United States Geographic Survey Place Names - GNIS for Essex County(over 1180 entries)
    (may not always be present in alphabetic order on first try.)
  • FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Civil War service men in Essex County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in this county:

- 70th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company K
- 71st Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A, D and E

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas and may have earlier records. In 1852, most of those records were transferred to the Essex County Probate Court. For more complete information and for online and other resources, see New Jersey Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Essex County Hall of Records
465 Martin Luther King Blvd, Rm #405
Newark, NJ 07102
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Montclair Historical Society
108 Orange Road
Montclair, NJ 07042
Telephone: 973-744-1796
E-mail:mail@montclairhistorical.org
Website

Millburn-short Hills Historical Society
PO Box 243
Short Hills 07078
Website

Nutley Historical Society
65 Church Street
Nutley NJ 07110
Telephone: 973-667-1528
Website

Roseland Historical Society
126 Eagle Rock Avenue
Roseland
Facebook
Verona Historical Society
PO Box 191
Verona 07044
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Essex County, New Jersey" in Wikipedia : the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Essex_County,_New_Jersey accessed 29 August 2018.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cumberland County, New Jersey page 464, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Essex County, New Jersey . Page 464-465 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 460.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Essex County, New Jersey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Essex_County, New Jersey#Communities accessed 8 March 2020.

Essex County, New Jersey References