England and Wales Census, 1891 - FamilySearch Historical Records
|Access the Records|
England and Wales Census, 1891
|This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.|
|England and Wales|
|Flag of England|
|Flag of Wales|
|The National Archives|
What is in This Collection?[edit | edit source]
The 1891 census taken on the night of 5 April 1891 gave the total population as 33,015,701.
Census schedules consist of large sheets with preprinted rows and columns. The schedules are arranged by county and then divided by civil parish, while some are further subdivided into smaller enumeration districts, each district being an area that could be enumerated in a day. Enumerators went door to door collecting the data in census books. Censuses taken between 1851 and 1931 were conducted on a single day, sometime between March 31 and April 8. The census takers listed only those who spent the night in each household, so individuals who were traveling or at school were listed where they spent the night. Almost all the residents of England are included in the census. Noncitizens were also included.
Census records are a good source to use as you search for your relatives. Use census records to help you find the age of your ancestor, as well as birthplace, occupation, and address. The records can also help you define relationships between individuals.
Image Visibility[edit | edit source]
Whenever possible FamilySearch makes images and indexes available for all users. However, rights to view these data are limited by contract and subject to change. Because of this there may be limitations on where and how images and indexes are available or who can see them. Please be aware some collections consist only of partial information indexed from the records and do not contain any images. For additional information about image restrictions see Restrictions for Viewing Images in FamilySearch Historical Record Collections.
What Can These Records Tell Me?[edit | edit source]
The following information may be found in these records:
- Marital status
- Relationship to the Head of Household
- Physical limitations
Collection Content[edit | edit source]
Sample Record[edit | edit source]
|Ecclesiastical Parish||ST MARY|
|Residence Note||Paddington Basin North Side|
|Relationship to Head of Household||Crew|
|Birth Year (Estimated)||1838|
How Do I Search This Collection?[edit | edit source]
Before searching this collection, it is helpful to know:
- The name of the person you are looking for
- The location of residence
Search the Index[edit | edit source]Search by name on the Collection Details Page.
- Fill in the search boxes in the Search Collection section with the information you know
- Click Search to show possible matches
|More images are available in the FamilySearch Catalog England and Wales census, 1891, 1891. Click on camera icon to see images.|
How Do I Analyze the Results?[edit | edit source]
Compare each result from your search with what you know to determine if there is a match. This may require viewing multiple records or images. Keep track of your research in a research log.
What Do I Do Next?[edit | edit source]
I Found the Person I Was Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- Add any new information to your records
- Look at an image of the original record. The original may contain information that was not recorded in the index
- You may have to read around marks made by the clerks who compiled the census data. These marks sometimes obscure the information
- Use the information to find additional family members in other censuses
- Use the ages listed to determine an approximate birth date and to find other records such as birth, marriage, christening, and death records
- Birthplaces can tell you former residences and can help to establish a migration pattern for the family
I Can’t Find the Person I’m Looking for, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- If your ancestor does not have a common name, collect entries for every person who has the same surname. This can help you find possible relatives
- If you cannot locate your ancestor in the locality in which you believe they lived, try searching records of a nearby locality
- Check for other names. They might have been listed under a middle name, a nickname, or an abbreviation of their given name
- Standard spelling of names typically did not exist during the periods our ancestors lived in. Try searching based on how the name may have been pronounced
- Individuals missing from a family may be listed elsewhere in the census
Research Helps[edit | edit source]
The following articles will help you research your family in England.
The following articles will help you research your family in Wales.
Citing This Collection[edit | edit source]
Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.
The citation for this collection can be found on the Collection Details Page in the section Citing this Collection.
When looking at a record, the citation can be viewed by clicking the drop-down arrow next to Document Information.
When looking at an image, the citation is found on the Information tab at the bottom left of the screen.