England, Cornwall Parish Registers - FamilySearch Historical Records
|Access the Records|
England, Cornwall Parish Registers, 1538-2010
|This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.|
|Flag of England|
|Flag of Cornwall|
|Location of Cornwall, England|
|Location of England|
|Record Type||Parish Registers|
|Cornwall Record Office|
What is in This Collection?[edit | edit source]
This collection contains select baptism, marriage, and burial records from the county of Cornwall for the years 1538-2010. Though the collection primarily contains Anglican records, it also includes some material for nonconformist chapels which were filmed at the Cornwall Record Office at the time of filming Church of England registers. There are also typed transcripts of Society of Friends marriages included for certain areas of the county.
Due to redrawing of diocese boundaries, this collection also contains records from the bordering county of Devon, particularly the perishes of St. Giles on the Heath and Werrington. Until 1876, the Diocese of Exeter covered the counties of Devon and Cornwall on the southwestern peninsula of Great Britain. After 1876, the Diocese of Exeter lost much of its territory to the newly created the Diocese of Truro. Exeter retained most of the county of Devon, and Truro was given the county of Cornwall plus the Devon parishes of Virginstow and St Giles on the Heath.
Parish registers have been kept at the local level across England since the mid-1500s. Due to this long and relatively stable tradition, these records are central to English genealogical research as they are often one of the only sources for finding families and individuals in England before the start of civil registration in 1837.
Image Visibility[edit | edit source]
Whenever possible FamilySearch makes images and indexes available for all users. However, rights to view these data are limited by contract and subject to change. Because of this there may be limitations on where and how images and indexes are available or who can see them. Please be aware some collections consist only of partial information indexed from the records and do not contain any images. For additional information about image restrictions see Restrictions for Viewing Images in FamilySearch Historical Record Collections.
To Browse This Collection[edit | edit source]
|You can browse through images in this collection using the waypoints on the Collection Browse Page for England, Cornwall Parish Registers, 1538-2010.|
What Can These Records Tell Me?[edit | edit source]
The following information may be found in these records:
Collection Content[edit | edit source]
For additional details about these records and help using them see England Parish Registers - FamilySearch Historical Records
Sample Images[edit | edit source]
How Do I Search This Collection?[edit | edit source]
Before searching this collection, it is helpful to know:
- Name of the person
- Approximate date of the event
Search the Index[edit | edit source]Search by name on the Collection Details Page.
- Fill in the search boxes in the Search Collection section with the information you know
- Click Search to show possible matches
View the Images[edit | edit source]View images in this collection by visiting the Collection Browse Page:
- Select County
- Select Town (with Parish)
- Select Event Type and Year Range (with Volume) to view the images
How Do I Analyze the Results?[edit | edit source]
Compare each result from your search with what you know to determine if there is a match. This may require viewing multiple records or images. Keep track of your research in a research log.
What Do I Do Next?[edit | edit source]
I Found the Person I Was Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- Add any new information to your records
- Save or print a copy of the image or record, if possible. The original may contain information that was not recorded in the index
- Use the information which you have found to estimate ages in other life events. For example, use a christening date to approximate a marriage date, or a burial record to calculate an estimated year of birth
- Once you have found a christening or a burial church record, you may want to search for birth and death in civil records (1837 and later)
- Use the information you have found to find the person and families in census records
- Continue to search the index to identify children, siblings, parents, and other relatives. Note that family members often appear on an individual's records, such as in the role of witnesses to a marriage
I Can’t Find the Person I’m Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- When looking for an individual with a common name, look at all the search results before deciding which is the correct person
- If your ancestor does not have a common name, collect entries for every person who has the same surname
- Be careful using the listed age on a marriage record to estimate a birth year. Rather than listing actual ages, clerks often wrote in 21 as the age of both the bride and groom to show that they each were of legal age
- Search the records of nearby locations
- Check for other names. An individual might have been listed under a middle name, a nickname, or an abbreviation of their given name
- Spelling was not standardized for much of the period of this collection, so names were often spelled as scribes heard them. Try searching based on how the name may have been pronounced
- Vary the search terms. For example, expand the date range or search by either the given name or surname to return a broader list of results
- The individual might not have records in the Church of England at all, but rather might have belonged to a nonconformist denomination
- When you search baptismal records, remember that it was not unusual for a child to be baptized weeks or even months after birth
- Some parish records might have been lost over time. Bishop's Transcripts can also be a good source of information
- Note that marriages often took place in the parish where the bride resided
Research Helps[edit | edit source]
The following articles will help you research your family in Cornwall.
Citing This Collection[edit | edit source]
Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.
The citation for this collection can be found on the Collection Details Page in the section Citing this Collection.
When looking at a record, the citation can be viewed by clicking the drop-down arrow next to Document Information.
When looking at an image, the citation is found on the Information tab at the bottom left of the screen.