England, Cheshire Workhouse Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
|Access the Records|
England, Cheshire, Workhouse Records, 1848-1967
|This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.|
|Flag of England|
|Flag of Cheshire|
|Location of Cheshire, England|
|Location of England|
|Cheshire Archives and Local Studies|
What is in This Collection?[edit | edit source]
The collection contains an index to various records associated with workhouses from the county of Cheshire for the years 1848-1967. The original records are held at the Cheshire Archives.
The workhouses started out housing the various types of poor separately. The records generated by the workhouses were kept according to the 1834 poor law act to help local authorities keep track of the poor and account for monies spent for their living expenses. In the later nineteenth century, the infirmaries attached to the workhouses were opened to the public, and therefore generated birth and death records for the wider community. The records for the Cheshire workhouses are from 1837 to the closure of each Poor Law Union; the Cheshire Poor Law Unions page contains information specific to each Union.
Image Visibility[edit | edit source]
Whenever possible FamilySearch makes images and indexes available for all users. However, rights to view these data are limited by contract and subject to change. Because of this there may be limitations on where and how images and indexes are available or who can see them. Please be aware some collections consist only of partial information indexed from the records and do not contain any images. For additional information about image restrictions see Restrictions for Viewing Images in FamilySearch Historical Record Collections.
What Can These Records Tell Me?[edit | edit source]
The following information may be found in these records:
How Do I Search This Collection?[edit | edit source]
Before searching, it is best to know the following information:
- Name of the person
- Date range for the record
Search the Index[edit | edit source]Search by name on the Collection Details Page.
- Fill in the search boxes in the Search Collection section with the information you know
- Click Search to show possible matches
How Do I Analyze the Results?[edit | edit source]
Compare each result from your search with what you know to determine if there is a match. This may require viewing multiple records or images. Keep track of your research in a research log.
What Do I Do Next?[edit | edit source]
I Found the Person I Was Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- Add any new information to your records
- If this is a birth record, search for church or civil registration to determine the names of parents
- If this is a death or burial record, use the age to estimate a birth year and search for church or civil registration for birth and christening
- Admission records only gives the date of admission but provides a residence location. Search in census records for the area
- Some birth records indicate the names of the parents. Use this information to trace the family in census records
- Continue to search the records to identify children, siblings, parents, and other relatives
I Can’t Find the Person I’m Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- When looking for an individual with a common name, look at all the search results before deciding which is the correct person
- Try variations of given names and surnames. An individual might have been listed under a middle name, a nickname, or an abbreviation of their given name
- Names were often spelled as scribes heard them. Pay attention to how the name should have been pronounced and try spelling variations that could have that pronunciation
- Vary the search terms. For example, expand the date range or search by either the given name or surname to return broader list results
- Search the records of nearby locations
- Lancashire to the north
- Derbyshire to the east
- Staffordshire or Shropshire to the south
- Welsh counties of Denbighshire and Flintshire to the west
Research Helps[edit | edit source]
The following articles will help you research your family in Cheshire.
Citing This Collection[edit | edit source]
Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.
The citation for this collection can be found on the Collection Details Page in the section Citing this Collection.
When looking at a record, the citation can be viewed by clicking the drop-down arrow next to Document Information.