Elmore County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Elmore County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Idaho County, Idaho|
Location in the state of Idaho, United States Genealogy
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
|Founded||February 7, 1889|
|County Seat||Mountain Home|
|Address||Elmore County Courthouse |
150 South 4th East Suite 5
Mountain Home, Idaho 83647
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for the Ida Elmore mines. The County Seat is Mountain Home and was founded February 7, 1889. It is located in the south west area of the state.
Elmore County, Idaho Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Elmore County Courthouse
150 South 4th East Suite 5
Mountain Home Idaho 83647
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1907-1911 marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1889. 
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
- Named for Ida Elmore mines, the area's greatest silver and gold producer in 1860s.
- The Oregon Trail crossed the Snake River near Glenns Ferry.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Resources[edit | edit source]
The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Elmore County, Idaho Genealogy entries with names, images, or information.
|Don't overlook Elmore County, Idaho Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries.|
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Elmore County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Mountain Home.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
There are many cemeteries in Elmore County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Elmore County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
United States, Cemetery Abstracts, 1949-1969
US Vol. 24 page 68 - Mayfield (mistaken listed in Boise County.)
Census[edit | edit source]
The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Historical Society Public Archives and Research Library is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894 1890 census reconstruction . This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census.
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
Church[edit | edit source]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)[edit | edit source]
- List of Elmore County stakes and wards to about 1948.
- The following are local congregations (wards) of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints which existed in Elmore County, Idaho prior to 1950. Many of the original records of these church units are in the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Many of the membership records covering these units from the date of their creation to about 1948 have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
- Glenn's Ferry
- Mountain Home
List of Churches and Church Parishes
County Commissioners' Records[edit | edit source]
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Online County Records
- 1889-1972 Idaho, Elmore County Records, 1889-1972 at FamilySearch — index and images
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Some of the early court records of Elmore County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Elmore County courthouse in Mountain Home, Idaho, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Elmore County that have been microfilmed include:
- Patents, 1889-1911; general index, 1891-1965 Idaho.
- Power of attorney, 1898-1930; general index, 1898-1985
- Idaho genealogical records (contains Elmore County court records 1874-1899 taken from a Boise Idaho newspaper.)
See also the Elmore County Miscellaneous Series.
History[edit | edit source]
Published historical works include: (See WorldCat.org for library holdings.)
- Crossroads: a History of the Elmore County Area, by Sandra Ransel and Charles Durand
- A Glimpse at Early Elmore County, by Olive De Ette Jensen Groefsema
- Elmore County, its Historical Gleanings, a Collection of Pioneer Narratives, Treasured Family Pictures, and Early Clippings about the Settling of Elmore County, Idaho, by Olive de Ette Jenson Groefsema
A history and current facts of Elmore County are available at the county website.
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and Property records are generally held in the county in which the transaction took place. For Elmore County this would be at the courthouse in Mountain Home and would require a visit to access the records.
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many of the county records of Elmore County, among them the land and property records, which can be viewed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has also microfilmed some deeds and homestead records of Elmore County. These films are available for viewing at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of itsFamily History Centers.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- An 1895 map of Elmore and surrounding counties is available online.
- A digital Elmore County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Elmore County, Idaho is available online.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Elmore County, Idaho Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
Military[edit | edit source]
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Elmore County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452214) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.
Another resource is the book In Camp and Trench, a History of Elmore County's Part in the World War [I] by American War Mothers.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 Idaho, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Series[edit | edit source]
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Elmore County. The originals are held in the Elmore County courthouse in Mountain Home, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
The original naturalization records of Elmore County that have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise have been indexed in their Index to Naturalization.
- 1892-1990 Idaho Naturalization Records, 1892-1990 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Current[edit | edit source]
Historical[edit | edit source]
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed the following issues of Elmore County newspapers which are available at their facility in Boise, Idaho:
Atlanta News:1885: 5:16-1886: 5: 8
Elmore Bulletin: 1889:6:1-1905:6:1
Elmore County Republican: 1894:8:23, 1900:4:17-5:29
Elmore County Republican: 1910:5:17-1917:12:29
Elmore Times: 1914:4:3-1915:12:31
Gazette, Elmore: 1908:9:30-1971:4:16
Glenns Ferry Gazette: 1996:1:9-9999
Glenns Ferry Pilot: 1974:7:25-1995:6:6
Glenns Ferry Signal: 1905:9:1
Mountain Home Bulletin: 1888:6:2-1889:5:25
Mountain Home Maverick: 1906:5:10-1911:8:3
Mountain Home News: 1946:8:8-9999
Mountain Home Republican: 1918:1:5-1946:8:1
Mountain Home Republican: 1908:4:22
New Time: 1910:6:17-1914:3:17
New Time: 1913:2:28
Phantom Photogram: 1970:4:24
Range and Valley, Elmore: 1891:6:1
South Idaho Herald: 1906:12:1-1907:4:27
South Idaho Herald: 1905:12:23, 1906:1:13, 3:13
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1943-2013 Idaho, Southern Counties Obituaries, 1943-2013 at FamilySearch — index and images
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
Probate records are generally housed in the county in which the transaction took place, and can be accessed by contacting the Elmore county courthouse which is located in Mountain Home.
The Family History Library has microfilmed some probate records from Elmore County (Wills 1892-1936) and the films are available in the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of itsFamily History Centers.
The Idaho State Archives has these same films for Elmore County Wills (1892-1936) which can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Elmore County should be in the courthouse in Mountain Home and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1911 Idaho, Birth Index, 1861-1911 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883-1929 Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
The Birth Registers for Elmore County, 1907-1911, have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in the Elmore County area are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1987 - Idaho, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1864-1976 Idaho Church Marriages, 1864-1976 at FamilySearch — index
- 1864-1950 Idaho County Marriages, 1864-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1878-1898; 1903-1942 Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1947-1963 Idaho Marriage Index, 1947-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1947-1963 Idaho Divorce Index, 1947-1963 at FamilySearch — index
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1883-1929 Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1938-1961 Idaho Death Certificates, 1938-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- Glenns Ferry Public Library
298 S Lincoln
Glenns Ferry, ID 83623
Phone: (208) 366-2045
- Mountain Home Public Library
790 N 10th E
Mountain Home, ID 83647
Phone: (208) 587-4716
- Prairie District Library
71 Smith Creek Rd
Prairie, ID 83647
Phone: (208) 868-3246
- Mountain Home Historical Museum
180 South 3rd East
Mountain Home, ID 83647-3019
- State Historical Society
2205 Old Penitentiary Rd
- Idaho Historical Society Facebook Page Website
- Idaho State Archives Digital Collections - Enter County in Search Bar
- The Idaho Welsh Society -- excellent cultural and historical site
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Boise Idaho Amity Family History Center
- Boise Idaho Family History Center
- Caldwell Idaho Family History Center
- Eagle Idaho Family History Center
- Glenns Ferry Idaho Family History Center
- Grand View Idaho Family History Center
- Hailey Idaho Family History Center
- Kuna Idaho Family History Center
- Meridian Idaho East Family History Center
- Meridian Idaho West Family History Center
- Mountain Home Idaho Family History Center
- Nampa Idaho Family History Center
- Shoshone Idaho Family History Center
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Elmore County ID GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Elmore County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Elmore County, Idaho Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ida/elmore/
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Elmore County, Idaho. Page 177-180 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 180-181.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Elmore, Idaho page 178, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- Wikipedia contributors, "Elmore County, Idaho," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elmore_County,_Idaho#Communities, accessed 4 June 2019.
- Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03
- Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map V" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at (accessed 18 July 2011).