Elmore County, Alabama Genealogy
Guide to Elmore County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named is in honor of General John A. Elmore.[2] The County is located in the central area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Elmore County Courthouse
8935 Hwy 231, Judicial Complex
PO Box 310
Wetumpka, AL 36092
Phone: 334-514-3116
Fax: 334-567-5957
Elmore County Website
Probate Judge has marriage and land records from 1867, birth and death records 1909-1913, probate records from 1866 and military discharge records.[4]
Elmore County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1884 | 1867 | 1909 | 1867 | 1867 | 1866 | 1816 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Elmore County:[7]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
| Census-designated places | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Elmore County, Alabama Bible Records at Access Genealogy
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographies of many notable residents of Elmore County were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library. Begins on page 933.
- Elmore County Biographies at The USGenWeb Archives Project
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1870 | 14,477 | — |
| 1880 | 17,502 | 20.9% |
| 1890 | 21,732 | 24.2% |
| 1900 | 26,099 | 20.1% |
| 1910 | 28,245 | 8.2% |
| 1920 | 28,085 | −0.6% |
| 1930 | 34,280 | 22.1% |
| 1940 | 34,546 | 0.8% |
| 1950 | 31,649 | −8.4% |
| 1960 | 30,524 | −3.6% |
| 1970 | 33,661 | 10.3% |
| 1980 | 43,390 | 28.9% |
| 1990 | 49,210 | 13.4% |
| 2000 | 65,874 | 33.9% |
| 2010 | 79,303 | 20.4% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1855 Alabama State Census, 1855 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1866 Alabama State Census, 1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1907, 1921, 1927 Alabama, Census of Confederate Veterans, 1907, 1921, 1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.
- 1831-1994 Alabama, Church Records, 1831-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1842-1903 Chancery Court Records (1842-1900) and Sheriff's Book (1881-1903), Elmore County, Alabama(*); Chancery Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African-American
- 1865-1872 Alabama, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
Linda Blankenship published graves from the following African American cemeteries: Davis Cemetery, Draper Correctional Center Cemetery, Harrogate Springs Cemetery, Hurd-Grey Cemetery, Mt. Canaan Missionary Baptist Church, Old Bingham Cemetery, Rose Hill - Black Section, Thrash Cemetery, and Wetumpka City Cemetery - Black Section. See website online access.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Brookside Funeral Home in Millbrook
- Gassett Funeral Home and Crematory in Wetumpka
- Hillside Memorial and Gardens in Wetumpka
- Jeffcoat Funeral Home in Tallassee
- Liberty Mortuary in Wetumpka
- Linville Memorial Funeral Home Monuments and Cemetery in Eclectic
- Wetumpka Memorial Funeral Home in Wetumpka
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Elmore County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.
- Golden, Virginia Noble. A History of Tallassee for Tallasseeans. Tallassee, Ala.: Tallassee Mills of Mount Vernon-Woodberry Mills, 1949. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Alabama (1799-1980)
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Alabama Maps and Blueprints Collection at Alabama Department of Archives and History – maps can be browsed by location or subject
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- ca.1918-ca.1962 Alabama, Military Discharge Records, ca.1918 - ca.1962 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 Alabama Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Alabama Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Civil War Service Database at Alabama Department of Archives and History - index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry $
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry $
- 1871-1880 Alabama, Southern Claims Commission Approved Claims, 1871-1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1930 Alabama, Confederate Pension Applications, ca. 1880-1930's at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1907, 1921, 1927 Alabama, Census of Confederate Veterans, 1907, 1921, 1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1867 Loyalty Oath Index: Elmore County, Alabama. n.d.
- Alabama Civil War and Reconstruction Newspapers at Alabama Department of Archives and History
Regiments. Men in Elmore County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Elmore County:
- - 13th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
World War I
- 1917-1919 Alabama, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1917-1918 Alabama World War I Service Records at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
- 1917-1918 Alabama World War I Gold Star Files at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
World War II
- 1940-1945 Alabama, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1940-1966 Alabama Active Military Service Reports at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- 1839-1913 Blankenship, Linda. Abstracted Newspapers of Elmore County, Alabama. 13 vols. n.d.
- Alabama Civil War and Reconstruction Newspapers at Alabama Department of Archives and History
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration
- 1834-1981 Alabama Voter Registration and Poll Tax Cards, 1834-1981 at FamilySearch - How to use this collection, index and images
Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Elmore County lists 2 books:
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1753-1999 Alabama Wills and Probate Records 1753-1999 at Ancestry ($)
- 1809-1985 Alabama Probate Records, 1809-1985(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images
- 1830-1976 Alabama Estate Files, 1830-1976(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1864-1915 Elmore County, Alabama. Probate Estate Case Files, 1864-1915(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1866-1949 Probate Records, 1866-1928; Probate Minutes, 1890-1935; Wills, 1866- 1949; Administration Records, 1869-1947(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1884 Probate Docket and Fee Book, 1884, Elmore County, Alabama(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1881-1930 Alabama Births and Christenings, 1881-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1881-1930 Alabama, County Birth Registers, 1881-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, and some images
- 1909-1913 Blankenship, Linda. Elmore County, Alabama Birth & Death Records 1909-1913. n.d.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1733-2013 Alabama, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($)
- 1800-1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 Ancestry ($)
- 1809-1920 Alabama Marriages, 1809-1920 (Selected Counties) Ancestry ($)
- 1809-1950 Alabama, County Marriages, 1809-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, and some images
- 1816-1957 Alabama Marriages, 1816-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1818-1936 Alabama County Marriages, 1818-1936 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry ($)
- 1867-1873 W.P.A Files Elmore County Alabama Marriages 1867-1873, Volume A. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library
- 1867-1900 Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920 Ancestry ($)
- 1867-1901, 1920, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1881-1952 Alabama Deaths and Burials, 1881-1952 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1881-1974 Alabama, Deaths and Burials Index, 1881-1974 Ancestry ($)
- 1908-1959 Alabama Deaths, 1908-59 Ancestry ($)
- 1908-1974 Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- Elmore County, Alabama Birth & Death Records 1909-1913. By Linda Blankenship. n.d.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Elmore County. For state-wide library facilities, see Alabama Archives and Libraries.
Elmore Wetumpka Public Library
212 S. Main Street
P.O. Box 249
Wetumpka, Al 36092
Phone: 334-567-1308
Fax: 334-567-1309
Email: library@cityofwetumpka.co
Website
Millbrook Public Library
3650 GRANDVIEW ROAD
MILLBROOK, AL 36054
Phone: 334-285-6688
FAX: 334-285-0152
Facebook
Museums[edit | edit source]
Elmore County Historical Society and Museum
P. O. Box 587
112 S Main Street
Wetumpka, AL 36092
Facebook
Societies[edit | edit source]
West Elmore Co. Historical Society
(334) 462-2852
Email: westelmorehissoc@gmail.com
Facebook
Talisi Historical Preservation Society
Email: talisihistoricalpreservation@gmail.com
Facebook
Elmore County Historical Society
(334) 567-5097
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Elmore County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Elmore County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Elmore Co. AL
- United States Resources: Alabama
- Al Gen Web
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Elmore County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/elmore/ 06/05/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Elmore, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elmore_County,_Alabama 06/05/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Elmore County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elmore_County,_Alabama, accessed 14 October 2018.
