El Paso County, Colorado Genealogy
Guide to El Paso County, Colorado ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named of "the pass," referring to the Ute Pass west of Colorado Springs.[2] The county is located in the central area of the state on the Front Range.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
El Paso County Courthouse
270 S. Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80901
Phone:719-452-5000
El Paso County Website
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1861 and military discharge records from 1919;
Clerk District Court has divorce and probate records;
County Court has court records[4]
El Paso County, Colorado Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1890 | 1861 | 1893 | 1861 | 1861 | 1861 | 1860 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
|
||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
| Census-designated places | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Records at Pikes Peak Library District
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
In 1860, present-day Colorado was enumerated in the Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, and Utah Territories. Colorado Territory was created in 1861 and was enumerated as such in the 1870 Census. A state census was taken in 1885 for Colorado.[8] See links listed below.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1870 | 987 | — |
| 1880 | 7,949 | 705.4% |
| 1890 | 21,239 | 167.2% |
| 1900 | 31,602 | 48.8% |
| 1910 | 43,321 | 37.1% |
| 1920 | 44,027 | 1.6% |
| 1930 | 49,570 | 12.6% |
| 1940 | 54,025 | 9.0% |
| 1950 | 74,523 | 37.9% |
| 1960 | 143,742 | 92.9% |
| 1970 | 235,972 | 64.2% |
| 1980 | 309,424 | 31.1% |
| 1990 | 397,014 | 28.3% |
| 2000 | 516,929 | 30.2% |
| 2010 | 622,263 | 20.4% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State and Territory Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1860 United States Census, 1860 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Colorado was included in the 1860 Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, and Utah Territories Censuses - How to Use this Collection
- 1870 United States Census, 1870 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Colorado Territory Census - How to Use this Collection
- 1885 Colorado State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch - Index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1885 Colorado State Census, 1885 at Ancestry - ($), Index and images
Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]
The 1880 Census was the first Federal Census for Colorado after it became a state in 1876.[9] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Colorado Census.
- 1860-1940 Colorado Census Records from 1860 to 1940 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.
Online Church Records
- 1692-1942 Colorado, Church Records, 1692-1942 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Presbyterian Church
- 1743-1970 U.S., Presbyterian Records, 1743-1970 at Ancestry — ($); Index and images; Dates vary for each county
Lutheran Church
- 1937-1986 U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church of America, Records, 1875-1940 at Ancestry — ($); Index and images; Our Savior in Colorado Springs, 1937-1986
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Numerous records are available at Colorado Archives. To use this link scroll down the page to where it asks for Record Type. Click there and scroll down the list to the records you want and select. The next field asks for county. Select the county you want and then click on Search. You can narrow the search by adding the additional information it asks for.
- 1946-1961 El Paso County Civil District Court at Colorado State Archives - index, select record type for search
Directories[edit | edit source]
Online Directories
- 1897-1988 U.S. City Directories, 1822-1995 at Ancestry - ($), Index and images, Colorado Springs City Directory, various dates
- 1940 Colorado Springs and Manitou Springs, Cripple Creek and Victor, Drennan, Fountain, Cascade, Chipita Park, Green Mountain Falls, Woodland Park, and Yoder, 1940 Telephone Directory - Residential listings only
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- 1897-1940 Beyle Brothers Undertakers (Colorado Springs, Colorado(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1922-1937 Nolan Funeral Home in Colorado Springs, Colorado(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- All-States Cremation in Colorado Springs
- All Veterans Funeraland Cremation in Colorado Springs
- Angelus Funeral Directors and Crematory in Colorado Springs
- Blunt Mortuary in Colorado Springs (Facebook)
- Cappadona Funeral Home in Colorado Springs
- Evergreen Funeral Home in Colorado Springs (Facebook)
- Garcia Family Funeral Homes in Colorado Springs
- Shrine of Remembrance in Colorado Springs
- Simply Cremation in Colorado Springs
- The Springs Funeral Services in Colorado Springs
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.
Current El Paso County, Colorado, property owners may be searched by name or address at the El Paso County Assessor's website.
Online Land Records
- Colorado DPA Land Records - Index only; Choose Record Type, and search either "Land Patents" or "Land Records."
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796-1907 U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1863-1908 U.S. Homestead Records 1863-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
- 1862-1908 Denver Land Office Records, 1862-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index only
For more information see Colorado Land and Property
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Online County Histories
- History of the Arkansas Valley, Colorado. (Includes History of El Paso County, by A. Z. Sheldon.) 1881. Chicago : O.L. Baskin & Co. Online at: Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Colorado - shows boundary changes for Colorado Counties
- Colorado Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Online Collections[edit | edit source]
These collections are unique to Colorado. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Colorado Military Records.
All Veterans
- Colorado State Archives Veterans Grave Registration Index at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Military - Grave
Civil War
- Colorado Civil War Casualties Index at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Civil War Casualty
- 1861-1865 Colorado State Archives Volunteers Transcript of Record Index (1861-1865) at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Transcript of Record
Spanish-American War (1898)
- 1898 Colorado Volunteers in the Spanish American War, 1898 - at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Span-Am War Soldiers
World War I
- 1916-1919 Colorado State Archives Denver War Risk Insurance Applicants, 1916-1919 - at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, War Risk Insurance
- 1917-1922 Colorado State Archives World War I Civilian Service Questionnaires, 1917-1922 - at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, WWI Questionnaire
- 1917-1918 Colorado Soldiers in WWI, 1917-1918 at Ancestry.com — ($), index
World War II
- 1940-1945 Colorado, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Vietnam War
- 1966 & 1968 Colorado State Archives Vietnam War Casualties - June-December 1966 & January-December 1968 - at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Vietnam Deaths
For further information see Colorado Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1868-1990 Colorado, State and Federal Naturalization Records, 1868-1990 at Ancestry ($); Index and images
- 1876-1990 Colorado Naturalization Records, 1876-1990 at FamilySearch — index and images; District Court records - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
For more information, see Colorado Newspapers.
Colorado Newspapers Online
- Colorado Online Historical Newspapers online - in the Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection by the Colorado State Library
- Colorado Newspapers at Ancestry.com - ($)
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of Colorado newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of Colorado newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some Colorado newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
- Pikes Peak NewsFinder, provided by Pikes Peak Library District's Special Collections, contains citations to local news articles and obituaries from the Colorado Springs Gazette and Gazette-Telegraph from January 1872 to the present and other local newspapers. Free copies of articles are available online from PPLD. Ongoing project with additional sources being indexed.
Colorado Newspaper Catalogs
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Pikes Peak NewsFinder contains citations to obituaries from the Colorado Springs Gazette and Gazette-Telegraph from January 1872 to the present and other local newspapers, including the Colorado Springs Sun and the Free Press. Free copies of articles are available from PPLD.
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Pension Records
- 1933-1936 El Paso County Old Age Pension at Colorado State Archives - index, select record type for search
Mining Records
- 1892-1942 El Paso County Placer Mine Location Certificates at Colorado State Archives - index, select record type for search
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.
You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1875–1974 Colorado Wills and Probate Records 1875-1974 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($).
- 1880-1969 El Paso County Probates at Colorado State Archives - index, select record type for search.
School Records[edit | edit source]
- 1911 El Paso County School Census Dist. 3 at Colorado State Archives - index, select record type for search
- 1910, 1920 El Paso County School Census Dist.11 (Colo. Spgs.) at Colorado State Archives - index, select record type for search
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.
See also Colorado Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [10]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1784-2007 Colorado, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1809-2011 Western States Marriage Index, 1809-2011 - Index, incomplete, list of counties included
- 1853-2006 Colorado Statewide Marriage Index, 1853-2006 at FamilySearch.org - Index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1858-1939 Colorado Marriages 1858-1939 at Denver Public Library - index
- 1862-2006 Colorado, County Marriages and State Indexes, 1862-2006 at Ancestry ($), Index and images
- 1863-2018 Colorado, Select County Marriages, 1863-2018 at Ancestry.com - index and images, ($)
- 1864-1995 Colorado, County Marriages, 1864-1995 at FamilySearch - Index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1900-1939 Colorado, Statewide Marriage Index, 1900-1939 at Ancestry.com - ($); Browseable images of original index
- 1984-1991 El Paso County Official Public Records Search, 1 January 1984 to present (includes marriages for 1984 to 1991 period not covered in database below)
- 1991-Present El Paso County Marriage/Civil Union Records Search, 1 May 1991 to present
- 1975 - 2004 Colorado, Marriages, 1975 - 2004 at MyHeritage - index and images ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [10]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1851-1985 Colorado, Divorce Index, 1851-1985 at Ancestry - ($); Index only
- 1861-1941 Denver Public Library Colorado Divorce Index 1861-1941 at Denver Public Library - index
- 1878 - 2004 Colorado, Divorces, 1878 - 2004 at MyHeritage - index ($)
- 1900-1939 Colorado Statewide Divorce Index, 1900-1939 at FamilySearch - Browseable images of original index - How to Use this Collection
- 1903-1941 El Paso County Divorce at Colorado State Archives - index, select record type for search
The Colorado State Archives has put a name only Index to the El Paso County Divorce Records for the period 1903 to 1941 on-line.
All divorces and divorce records are handled by the El Paso County Courts, Colorado Judicial District 4. Please contact their office directly at 719 452-5000.
Voter Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-1962 Colorado, Manitou Springs, Voter Records, 1935-1962 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection — index and images
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in El Paso County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Colorado Archives and Libraries.
The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for El Paso County, Colorado Genealogy in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
1880-1939 Divorce Index
1883-1900 Mine Accidents, Non - fatal
1897-1920 Horseshoers
1936-1942 Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments
1966-1968 Vietnam Deaths
1880-1969 El Paso County Probates
1892-1942 El Paso County Placer Mine Location Certificates
1903-1941 El Paso County Divorce
1910, 1920 El Paso County School Census Dist.11 (Colo. Spgs.)
1911 El Paso County School Census Dist. 3
1933-1936 El Paso County Old Age Pension
1946-1961 El Paso County Civil District Court
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Colorado Springs Colorado Family History Center
- Colorado Springs Colorado East Family History Center
- Colorado Springs Colorado North Family History Center
- Fountain Colorado Family History Center (Colorado Springs)
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in El Paso County. For state-wide library facilities, see Colorado Archives and Libraries.
Calhan Library
600 Bank Street Calhan
CO 80808
719-531-6333 x7013
Website
Charles L Tutt Library
1021 N Cascade Ave
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
719-389-6668
Email: tuttspec@coloradocollege.edu
Website
Cheyenne Mountain Library
1785 S 8th St, Suite 100
Colorado Springs, CO 80905
719-531-6333, x7001
Website
East Library
5550 N Union Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO 80918
719-531-6333, x7014
Website
Fountain Library
230 S Main St
Fountain, CO 80817
719-531-6333, x7002
Website
High Prairie Library
7035 Old Meridian Rd
Peyton, CO 80831
719-531-6333, x7003
Website
Manitou Springs Library
515 Manitou Ave
Manitou Springs, CO 80829
719-531-6333, x7004
Website
Monument Library
1706 Lake Woodmoor Dr
Monument, CO 80132
719-531-6333, x7005
Website
Old Colorado City Library
2418 W Pikes Peak Ave
Colorado Springs, CO 80904
719-531-6333, x7006
Website
Palmer Lake Library
66 Lower Glenway
Palmer Lake, CO 80133
719-531-6333, x7007
Website
Penrose Library
20 North Cascade Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
719-531-6333 x7015
Website
Pikes Peak Library District
1175 Chapel Hills Drive
PO Box 1579
Colorado Springs, CO 80901
719-531-6333
Website
Facebook
- Special Collections contains extensive resources for research into the history of the Pikes Peak region, including books, maps, manuscripts and archives, photographs, oral histories, films, government documents, periodicals and much more.
Rockrimmon Library
832 Village Center Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80919
719-531-6333, x7008
Website
Ruth Holley Library
685 N Murray Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO 80915
719-531-6333, x7009
Website
Sand Creek Library
1821 S Academy Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO 80916
719-531-6333, x7018
Website
Security Public Library
715 Aspen Drive
Security, CO 80911
719-391-3191
Email: spl@wsd3.org
Website
Facebook
Ute Pass Library
8010 Severy
Cascade, CO 80809
719-531-6333, x7011
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Colorado Springs Pioneers Museum
215 S Tejon St
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
719-385-5990
Website
- "The only institution researching, collecting and interpreting the robust history of Colorado Springs and the Pikes Peak region."
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in El Paso County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Colorado Societies.
African-American Historical & Genealogical Society of Colorado Springs
1620 W Bijou St
Colorado Springs, Colorado 80904
(719) 385-7920 Ext 202
Email: aahgscs@gmail.com
Website
Manitou Springs Historical Society
517 Manitou Ave.
Manitou Springs, CO 80829
719-685-1454
Email: ManitouHeritage@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
Negro Historical Association of Colorado Springs, (NHACS)
5180 Mountain Villa Grove
Colorado Springs, CO 80917
719-574-8332
Old Colorado City Historical Society and History Center
1 South 24th Street
Colorado Springs, Colorado 80904
719-636-1225
Email: info@occhs.org
Website
Facebook
Palmer Lake Historical Society
66 Lower Glenway
PO Box 662
Palmer Lake, CO 80133
719-559-0837
Email: PLHSPresident@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
Pikes Peak Genealogical Society
PO Box 1262
Colorado Springs, CO 80901
E-mail:info@ppgs.org
Website
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb Archives
- El Paso County, Colorado Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Pikes Peak Genealogical Society
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, "El Paso County, Colorado Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/colo/elpaso/ 6/28/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "El Paso, Colorado," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/El_Paso_County,_Colorado 6/28/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), El Paso County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), El Paso County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 92.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "El Paso County, Colorado," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/El_Paso_County,_Colorado, accessed 28 May 2017.
- ↑ William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 51-54; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 86. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
- ↑ William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 54.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov