Eccleston, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Eccleston, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Here is a List of Chapelries in Eccleston Parish.

Eccleston, Lancashire
The Parish Church of St Mary, Eccleston Lancashire.jpg
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leyland
County Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Chorley
Registration District Chorley; Wigan
Records begin
Parish registers: 1603
Bishop's Transcripts: 1616
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leyland
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives
v • d • e

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ECCLESTON (St. Mary) a parish, in the union of Chorley, hundred of Leyland, N. division of the county of Lancaster; comprising the townships of Eccleston, Heskin, Parbold, and Wrightington. It is beside the River Yarrow and was formerly an agricultural and later a weaving settlement. Other places in the parish include: Heskin, Wrightington, and Parbold.[1]

Do not confuse (this) Eccleston St Mary's Parish with Eccleston Christ Church, a chapelry only--and a separate place, lying near to and within the parish of Prescot ancient parish.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the Crown, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD which is an index to those certificates sent in to the Public Records Office.

Another index to those certificates held at each of the local superintendent registrar offices throughout the county is now online (no cost) at the Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths, or otherwise known as Lancashire BMD. Note that the marriages index provides the names of the parish or chapelry in which a marriage took place.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.

Chapelries of Eccleston[edit | edit source]
  • Eccleston Douglas Chapel - 1718
  • Parbold - see Douglas Chapel
  • Wrightington Chapelry - 1842

Online Parish Records Table

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Eccleston Parish Records
All Chapelries Found in Eccleston are included in these links.
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Catholic[edit | edit source]
  • 1628 - 1628 List of Recusants in Eccleston and Heskin (p. 186)[2]
  • 1628 - 1628 List of Recusants in Wrightington and Parbould (p. 187)[2]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Chorley Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

  • 1628 - 1628 Subsidy of Eccleston and Heskine (p. 169)[2]
  • 1628 - 1628 Subsidy of Wrightington and Parbowld (p. 169)[2]
  • 1665 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Leyland Hundred, Eccleston. E 179/132/351, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692. Also includes Heskin, Parbold, and Wrightington.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 139-144. Date accessed: 06 August 2013.
  2. ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
v • d • e
Links to Lancashire, England Genealogy-related articles
Topics
Parishes
and
Chapelries









(ancient
parishes
in bold)

Accrington St James  • Adlington  • Admarsh  • Aigburth  • Ainsworth  • Aldingham  • Altcar  • Altham  • Ancoats All Souls  • Ancoats St Andrew  • Angerton  • Ardwick St Thomas  • Arkholme  • Ashton in Makerfield St Thomas  • Ashton in Makerfield Holy Trinity  • Ashton under Lyne Christ Church  • Ashton under Lyne St Michael  • Ashton under Lyne St Peter  • Ashton upon Ribble St Andrew  • Ashworth  • Astley  • Astley Bridge  • Atherton  • Audenshaw  • Aughton  • Bacup  • Balderstone  • Bamber Bridge St Saviour  • Bardsley  • Barrowford  • Barton  • Barton upon Irwell  • Bedford Leigh  • Beswick  • Bevington  • Bickerstaffe  • Billinge  • Birch in Hopwood  • Birch in Rusholme  • Bircle  • Birtle  • Bispham  • Blackburn Holy Trinity  • Blackburn St John  • Blackburn St Mary  • Blackburn St Michael and All Angels  • Blackburn St Paul  • Blackburn St Peter  • Blackley St Peter  • Blackpool St John  • Blackrod  • Blawith  • Bolton le Moors All Saints  • Bolton le Moors Christ Church  • Bolton le Moors Emmanuel  • Bolton le Moors Holy Trinity  • Bolton le Moors St George  • Bolton le Moors St Peter  • Bolton le Sands  • Little Bolton St John  • Bootle St Mary  • Bradshaw  • Brathay  • Bretherton  • Briercliffe  • Brindle  • Broughton  • Broughton in Furness  • Burnley St Paul, Lancashire Genealogy  • Burnley St Peter  • Burnley St James  • Burscough Bridge  • Burton in Kendal  • Burton Wood  • Bury St John  • Bury St Mary  • Bury St Paul  • Butterworth  • Cartmel  • Cartmel Fell  • Castleton  • Caton with Littledale  • Chadderton St John  • Chadderton St Matthew  • Chatburn  • Cheetham Hill St Mark  • Cheetham Hill St Luke  • Childwall  • Chipping  • Chorley St George  • Chorley St Laurence  • Chorley St Peter  • Chorlton cum Hardy  • Chorlton upon Medlock All Saints  • Chorlton upon Medlock St Luke  • Chorlton upon Medlock St Saviour  • Church Coniston  • Church Kirk  • Claughton  • Claughton St Chad  • Clayton le Moors  • Clitheroe  • Clitheroe Castle  • Clitheroe St James  • Cockerham  • Cockersand Abbey  • Coldhurst  • Colne  • Colne Christ Church  • Colton  • Coniston  • Copp  • Coppull  • Croft with Southworth  • Crompton  • Crosby  • Crossens  • Croston  • Croxteth Park  • Dalton in Furness  • Darwen, Over  • Deane  • Dendron  • Denton  • Denton Christ Church  • Didsbury  • Dolphinholme, Lancashire Genealogy  • Downham  • Droylsden  • East Broughton  • East Crompton  • Eccles  • Eccleston St Mary (near Croston)  • Eccleston Christ Church (near Prescot)  • Eccleston St Thomas  • Edenfield  • Egton cum Newland  • Ellel  • Ellenbrook  • Elton  • Euxton  • Everton Christ Church  • Everton St Augustine  • Everton St George  • Everton St Peter  • Failsworth  • Farington  • Farnworth  • Farnworth and Kearsley  • Fence-in-Pendle  • Feniscowles  • Field Broughton St Peter  • Finsthwaite  • Flixton  • Flookburgh  • Formby  • Garstang  • Garstang St Thomas  • Garston  • Glasson  • Glodwick  • Golborne  • Goodshaw  • Goosnargh  • Gorton St James  • Great Crosby  • Great Eccleston, Lancashire Genealogy  • Great Harwood  • Great Lever  • Great Marsden  • Great Sankey  • Gressingham  • Grimsargh  • Habergham All Saints  • Habergham Eaves  • Haigh and Aspull  • Hale  • Halewood  • Halliwell St Paul  • Halliwell St Peter  • Halsall  • Halton  • Hambleton  • Harpurhey  • Harwood  • Haslingden  • Haverthwaite  • Hawkshead  • Healey  • Heapey  • Heaton Norris  • Henheads  • Hesketh with Becconsall  • Hey  • Heyhouses  • Heysham  • Heywood  • Heywood St James  • Hindley  • Hoghton  • Holcombe  • Hollinfare  • Hollinwood  • Holme Island  • Holme St John  • Hoole  • Hornby  • Horwich  • Houghton, West  • Hulme Christ Church  • Hulme St George  • Hulme St Mark  • Hulton, Little  • Hundersfield  • Hurst  • Hurst Green  • Huyton  • Inskip  • Kellet, Over  • Kirkby  • Kirkby Ireleth  • Kirkdale St Mary  • Kirkham  • Knotty Ash St John the Evangelist  • Knowsley  • Lancaster Castle  • Lancaster St Anne  • Lancaster St John  • Lancaster St Mary  • Lancaster St Thomas  • Lane Bridge  • Langho  • Latchford St James  • Lathom St James  • Leck  • Leesfield  • Leigh  • Lever Bridge  • Leyland  • Lindale  • Litherland Christ Church  • Little Bolton All Saints  • Little Bolton St John  • Little Crosby, Lancashire Genealogy  • Little Hulton  • Little Lever  • Little Marsden  • Littleborough  • Liverpool St Peter and St Nicholas  • Liverpool All Saints  • Liverpool All Souls Vauxhall  • Liverpool Blessed Virgin Mary  • Liverpool Christ Church  • Liverpool Holy Innocents  • Liverpool Holy Trinity  • Liverpool St Andrew  • Liverpool St Anne  • Liverpool St Barnabas  • Liverpool St Bartholomew  • Liverpool St Bride  • Liverpool St Catherine  • Liverpool St David  • Liverpool St George  • Liverpool St John  • Liverpool St John the Evangelist  • Liverpool St Luke  • Liverpool St Mark  • Liverpool St Martin in the Fields  • Liverpool St Martin Cemetery  • Liverpool St Mary's Cemetery  • Liverpool St Mary  • Liverpool St Matthew  • Liverpool St Matthias  • Liverpool St Michael  • Liverpool St Nicholas  • Liverpool St Paul  • Liverpool St Peter  • Liverpool St Philip  • Liverpool St Saviour  • Liverpool St Silas  • Liverpool St Simon  • Liverpool St Stephen  • Liverpool St Thomas  • Longridge  • Longton  • Lower Darwen St James  • Lowick  • Lowton  • Lumb  • Lund  • Lydgate  • Lydiate  • Lytham  • Lytham St John  • Maghull  • Manchester All Souls  • Manchester Cathedral  • Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys  • Manchester St Ann  • Manchester St Barnabas  • Manchester St Clement  • Manchester St George  • Manchester St James  • Manchester St John  • Manchester St Mary  • Manchester St Matthew, Campfield  • Manchester St Matthias  • Manchester St Michael  • Manchester St Paul  • Manchester St Peter  • Manchester St Peter, Oldham Road  • Marsden, Little  • Marton  • Mawdesley with Bispham  • Melling  • Melling (near Liverpool)  • Mellor  • Mellor-Brook  • Middleton  • Milnrow  • Mitton St Michael  • Morecambe Holy Trinity  • Mossley  • Much Woolton  • Musbury  • Newchurch  • Newchurch in Pendle  • Newchurch in Rossendale  • Newton All Saints  • Newton in Makerfield, Lancashire genealogy  • Newton in Makerfield St Peter   • North Meols  • Oldham St James  • Oldham St Mary  • Oldham St Peter  • Openshaw  • Ormskirk  • Oswaldtwistle  • Out Rawcliffe  • Over Darwen St James  • Over Darwen St John the Evangelist  • Over Darwen St Peter  • Over Darwen Holy Trinity  • Over Kellet  • Overton  • Paddington  • Padgate  • Padiham  • Parr  • Peel  • Pemberton  • Pendlebury  • Pendleton All Saints (near Clitheroe)  • Pendleton St Thomas (near Salford)  • Pendleton Hall  • Pennington  • Penwortham  • Pilling  • Poulton  • Poulton le Fylde  • Poulton le Sands  • Prescot  • Preston All Saints  • Preston Christ Church  • Preston Holy Trinity  • Preston St George  • Preston St James  • Preston St John  • Preston St Mary  • Preston St Paul  • Preston St Peter  • Preston St Wilfrid  • Prestwich St Mary  • Quernmore  • Radcliffe St Mary  • Radcliffe St Thomas  • Rainford  • Rainhill  • Rampside  • Ramsbottom  • Rawcliffe, Out  • Rawtenstall  • Reedley Hallows, Filly Close and New Laund Booth  • Ribby cum Wrea  • Ribchester  • Ringley  • Rivington  • Rochdale St Chad  • Royton  • Rufford  • Rusland  • Salesbury  • Salford Sacred Trinity  • Salford Christ Church  • Salford St Bartholomew  • Salford St Matthias  • Salford St Philip  • Salford St Simon  • Salford St Stephen  • Samlesbury  • Sandowne-Park, Lancashire Genealogy  • Sankey, Great  • Satterthwaite  • Scarisbrick  • Seaforth  • Seathwaite  • Sefton  • Shaw  • Shireshead  • Shore, South  • Shuttleworth  • Silverdale  • Singleton  • Skelmersdale  • Skerton  • Smallbridge  • South Shore Holy Trinity  • Southport Christ Church  • Southport Holy Trinity  • Spotland  • St Helens  • St Michael on Wyre  • Stalmine  • Stalybridge New St George  • Stalybridge Old St George  • Stand  • Standish  • Staveley  • Stidd  • Stockton Heath  • Stretford St Matthew  • Sutton  • Swinton St Peter  • Tarleton  • Tatham  • Tatham Fells  • Thornton  • Thornton in Lonsdale  • Tockholes  • Todmorden  • Tonge  • Tonge cum Alkrington  • Torver  • Tottington  • Tottington Higher End  • Toxteth Park  • Toxteth Park St Clement  • Toxteth Park St James  • Toxteth Park St John the Baptist  • Toxteth Park St Michael  • Toxteth Park St Thomas  • Trawden  • Tunstall  • Turton  • Tydesley cum Shakerley  • Ulverston Holy Trinity  • Ulverston St Mary  • Unsworth  • Upholland  • Urmston, Lancashire Genealogy  • Urswick  • Walmersley  • Walmsley  • Walney  • Walsden  • Walton le Dale  • Walton on the Hill St Mary  • Walton on the Hill St Mary, Edge Hill  • Walton Breck, Lancashire Genealogy  • Wardle St James  • Wardleworth St James  • Wardleworth St Mary  • Warrington Christ Church  • Warrington Holy Trinity  • Warrington St Elphin  • Warrington St Paul  • Warton (near Kirkham)  • Warton (near Lancaster)  • Waterhead  • Wavertree Holy Trinity  • Weeton  • Wennington  • Werneth  • West Broughton  • West Derby St Mary  • West Houghton  • Westleigh St Paul  • Whalley  • Whitechapel  • Whitewell  • Whittington  • Whittle le Woods  • Whitworth  • Wigan All Saints  • Wigan St Catherine  • Wigan St George  • Winwick  • Withnell  • Witton  • Woodland  • Woodplumpton  • Woolton, Much  • Worsley  • Worsthorne  • Wray  • Wyresdale  • Yate and Pickup Bank  • Yealand Conyers

Probate
Courts
Major
 Repositories

Digital images of Bishop's Transcripts are available in the FamilySearch Catalog

Various indexes of Birth/Christening, Marriage, and Death/Burial records are available on Ancestry.

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Eccleston,_Lancashire_Genealogy&oldid=4877753"