Eccles, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Eccles, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Here is A Comprehensive List of Chapelries in Eccles St Mary Parish

Eccles, Lancashire
St marys parish church eccles greater manchester.png
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Salford
Registration District Barton upon Irwell; Salford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eccles
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ECCLES (St. Mary de Eccles), a parish, in the hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 4 miles (W.) from Manchester; containing,with the townships of Barton-upon-Irwell, Clifton, Pendlebury, and Worsley, and the chapelry of Pendleton. Other places in the parish include: Boothstown, Weaste, Cadishead, Charleston, Clifton, Croft, Dumplington, Ellenbrook, Foxhill, Higher Irlam, Hope, Irlam, Little Houghton, Lostock, Lower Irlam, Monton, Patricoft, Walkden, and Boysnope. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, Swedenborgians, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.

Chapelries of Eccles[edit | edit source]
  • Eccles St Andrews Chapelry - 1879
  • Eccles St James Chapelry - 1878
  • Barton upon Irwell St Catherine Chapelry - 1843
  • Ellenbrook St Mary the Virgin Chapelry - 1768
  • Farnworth St John the Evangelist (& Kearsley) Chapelry - 1826
  • Paddington St Paul the Apostle Chapelry - 1846
  • Patricroft Christ Church Chapelry - 1868
  • Pendlebury St Augustine Chapelry - 1874
  • Pendlebury Christ Church Chapelry - 1859
  • Pendlebury St John the Evangelist Chapelry - 1849
  • Pendleton St Ambrose Chapelry - 1880
  • Pendleton St Anne Chapelry - 1863
  • Pendleton St Barnabas Chapelry - 1887
  • Pendleton St George (Charlestown) Chapelry - 1858
  • Pendleton St James Chapelry - 1860
  • Pendleton St Luke Chapelry - 1865
  • Pendleton St Paul Chapelry
  • Pendleton St Thomas Chapelry - 1776
  • Swinton Holy Rood St Chapelry - 1865
  • Swinton St Peter Chapelry - 1791
  • Walkden Moor St Paul Chapelry - 1838
  • Worsley St Mark Chapelry - 1843

Online Parish Records Table

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Eccles Parish Records
All Chapelries Found in Eccles are included in these links.
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Todd, A. A. The Title Deeds of a Ramsbottom Terraced House. Title Deeds, History, Maps, Photos and family tree of Richard Markland and Betty surname unknown, with the following surnames: Wild, Warr, Heys, Collin, Parkinson, Ward, and hegen dating from 1862-1891, to be found in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. vol. 8, no.3, pages 32-41, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Salford, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 136-139. Date accessed: 06 August 2013.