Douglas County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Douglas County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Douglas County, Oregon | |
| Map | |
 Location in the state of Oregon, United States Genealogy | |
 Location of Oregon in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 7, 1852 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Roseburg |
| Courthouse | |
 | |
| Address | Douglas County Courthouse 1036 SE Douglas Street Rm 221 Roseburg, OR 97470 Phone: 541.440.4324 Douglas County Website |
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Stephen A. Douglas, an American politician who supported Oregon statehood. The County is located in the west central area of the state. [1]
Douglas County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1903 | 1853 | 1903 | 1853 | 1853 | 1853 | 1845 |
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has marriage, burial, divorce, land, probate, military discharge
and court records from 1853 and naturalization records from 1850.[3]
Records Held at the Courthouse[edit | edit source]
- County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Douglas County Court House as of June 2005.
- Record Loss:
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Oregon, Douglas County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Named for U.S. Senator Stephen A. Douglas of Illinois.
Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
7 January 1852: Created from the part of Umpqua County lying east of Coast Range summit. [4]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
11 January 1854: Part was taken to form Wasco County.
1856: Camas Valley of Umpqua County was annexed to Douglas County.
1862: Douglas County absorbed the remaining parts of Umpqua County.
1915: Boundary adjustments were made with Jackson and Lane counties.
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Native American communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Coos | Curry | Jackson | Josephine | Klamath | Lane
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| Tombstone Transcriptions Online | Tombstone Transcriptions in Print | List of Cemeteries in the county |
| Findagrave.com | Family History Library | Findagrave.com |
| ORGenWeb Archives | WorldCat | Billion Graves |
| Tombstone Project | FamilySearch Places | |
| ORInterment | ||
| ORGravestones | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| See Oregon Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 3,203 | — |
| 1870 | 6,066 | 89.4% |
| 1880 | 9,596 | 58.2% |
| 1890 | 11,864 | 23.6% |
| 1900 | 14,565 | 22.8% |
| 1910 | 19,674 | 35.1% |
| 1920 | 21,332 | 8.4% |
| 1930 | 21,965 | 3.0% |
| 1940 | 25,728 | 17.1% |
| 1950 | 54,549 | 112.0% |
| 1960 | 68,458 | 25.5% |
| 1970 | 71,743 | 4.8% |
| 1980 | 93,748 | 30.7% |
| 1990 | 94,649 | 1.0% |
| 2000 | 100,399 | 6.1% |
| 2010 | 107,667 | 7.2% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Territorial[edit | edit source]
- 1853 Territorial Transcription and Index
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
for more resources
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1833 – 1963 Oregon Wills and Probate Records 1833-1963 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has copies of some county records as following:
Douglas County coroner inquests, 1896 to 1946
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
- 1842-1917 Oregon, Oregon State Archives, Births, 1842-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images (*); Also at: Ancestry
- 1860 - 1952 Oregon Births, 1860-1952 at FamilySearch — index
Delayed Birth Certificates
Birth Registers
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 Oregon, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1842-1917 Oregon, U.S., State Births, 1842-1917 at Ancestry - index and images ($); Also at: FamilySearch
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- 1906-1968 Oregon, U.S., State Marriages, 1906-1968 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Douglas County Historical Society
544 Douglas St
Roseburg, OR 97470
541-672-4386
Website
Genealogical Society of Douglas County
1036 SE Douglas Ave Room 105B
Roseburg, OR 97470
541-460-6178
E-mail: info@GSDCI.org
Website
Roseburg Public Library
1409 NE Diamond Lake Blvd
Roseburg, OR 97470
541-492-7050
Website
Facebook Page
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Bandon Oregon Family History Center
- Chiloquin Oregon Family History Center
- Coos Bay Oregon Family History Center
- Cottage Grove Oregon Family History Center
- Eugene Oregon Family History Center
- Florence Oregon Family History Center
- Oakridge Oregon Family History Center
- Reedsport Oregon Family History Center
- Roseburg Oregon Family History Center
- South Umpqua Oregon Family History Center
- The Genealogical Forum of Oregon - an affiliate library
- Oregon Genealogical Society, Inc. - an affiliate library
- Siuslaw Public Library - an affiliate library
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Douglas County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Douglas County GenWeb Project; part of The ORGenWeb Project
- Linkpendium
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Douglas County.
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Oregon, Couglas County Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
Douglas County Oregon Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Douglas, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas_County,_Oregon accessed 27 Nov 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Douglas County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Douglas County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092 ▲ FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Douglas County, Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas_County,_Oregon, accessed 10 October 2018.