Douglas County, Nebraska Genealogy
Guide to Douglas County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Douglas County was named after Stephen A. Douglas (1813-1861), U.S. Senator from Illinois. The County is located in the east central area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Douglas County Courthouse
Hall of Justice
1701 Farnam Street, #300
Omaha, NE 68102
Douglas County Website
County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
County Clerk has military discharge records. 
Douglas County, Nebraska Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Douglas County Bible and Family Records at Rootsweb-Nebraska Ancestree
- Omaha and Douglas County, Nebraska, pioneers & Bible records(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.
For tips on accessing Douglas County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
State Census Records
- 1854 - 1870 Nebraska, Compiled Census Index, 1854-1870 at Ancestry.com - index ($)
- 1860 - 1885 Nebraska State Census Collection 1860-1885 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
- 1885 Nebraska State Census 1885 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1885 Nebraska State Census 1885 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Online Church Records
Google maps shows many Douglas County churches
- Records of St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Millard, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records
- Omaha Branch Record of Members 1929-1942 at Family History Library
- Omaha South Branch Record of Members 1941 at Family History Library
- Winter QuartersBishops Accounts 1840-1859 for Bishop Edward Hunter. Also includes Nauvoo, Illinois 5th Ward and Salt Lake City, Utah 13th Ward,
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- In the Supreme Court of Nebraska : Marjorie H. Baker, Plaintiff and Appellee, Erna Mae Bradley ... [and Others], Intervenors and Appelles vs. Gertrude L. Somerville, Robert S. Somerville, and Emil Holmstrom, Defendants and Appellants : Brief of Appellants. By Somerville, Gertrude L. Douglas County, Nebraska : Douglas County, Nebraska. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- Italians of Omaha Online version of book written and compiled by workers of the Writers' Program Work Projects Administration in the State of Nebraska; sponsored by Order of Sons of Italy. Published: Omaha : Independent Printing Company, 1941.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Braman Mortuary and Cremation Services in Omaha
- Forest Lawn Funeral Home and Mausoleum in Omaha
- Good Shepherd Funeral Home and Cremation Services in Omaha
- Heafey Hoffman Dworak Cutler Mortuaries and Crematory in Omaha
- John A Gentleman Mortuaries and Crematory in Omaha and Ralston
- Korisko Larkin Staskiewicz Funeral Home in Omaha
- Kremer Funeral Home in Omaha
- Murray Funeral Services in Omaha
- Reichmuth Funeral Homes in Bennington, Elkhorn, and Omaha
- Roeder Mortuaries in Omaha
- Thomas Funeral Home in Omaha
- Westlawn-Hillcrest Funeral Home and Westlawn-Hillcrest Memorial Park in Omaha
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- Douglas County land viewer(page a little slow at coming up) Geographical Information Systems for Douglas County. Locate addresses and land parcels in the county
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1863 - 1908 U.S. Homestead Records 1863-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
For more information see Nebraska Land and Property
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Douglas County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories. It is also noted as part of the local history that there are "Mormon Cemetery" in this area. Burials here are largely from the late 1840s, when the Latter-day Saints began their trek west, this general area very close to this spot is where they stopped for the winter of 1846 and subsequent groups heading for what is now known as Utah staged from this general area. This area is also known as "Winter Quarters" due to the fact that the first group stopped for the winter around this location. There may be a very few later than that here as well.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- Nebraska Gazetteer - database for all known places found in 1890 and 1911 Nebraska gazetteers
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nebraska - shows boundary changes for Nebraska Counties
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Douglas County for European and African American settlers included:
In December 1863 the First Transcontinental Railroad started from Omaha, Nebraska.
- Union Pacific Railroad
- American Memory from Library of Congress has maps of the Union Pacific Railroad
- Wikipedia article on the Union Pacific Railroad
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- 1775 - 1783 United States Rosters of Revolutionary War Soldiers and Sailors, 1775-1783 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- For more nationwide Revolutionary War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 Nebraska Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1861 - 1948 Nebraska, Grand Army of the Republic, Burial Records, 1861-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- Grand Army of the Republic in Douglas County, Nebraska -- Provisional Organization - July 10, 1867 -- Permanent Organization June 12, 1877
- 1891 Nebraska Resident Military Roster on June 1, 1891 at Ancestry.com - ($), Roster of Soldiers, Sailors, and Marines of the War of 1812, the Mexico War, and the War of the Rebellion, residing in Nebraska June 1, 1891
- 1893 Roster of Nebraska Veterans - list of veterans in 1893
- For more nationwide Civil War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
- History of Nebraska GAR
- GAR information is available through the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War
- Original Post
- Post # 1 OMAHA Chartered Dec. 13, 1866 by National Headquarters 15 members
- Later Posts
- Post #2 FT. OMAHA Phil Kearny Jan. 1, 1876-1896 Post moved to South Omaha Membership: Total-136+
- Post #2-A South Omaha Phil Kearny Oct 5, 1896-1924 Charter surrendered April 30, 1924 Membership: Total-304+
- Post # 7 Omaha George Custer June 5, 1876-1946 Changed Jan 9, 1922 when last 3 Omaha posts were combined to Old Guard (A reference to their being the last of their kind) Membership: Total-477+
- Post #110 Omaha Aug. 18, 1882-1921 Combined with Post #7 Omaha, changed on July (23), 1888 to U.S.Grant, Membership: Charter-18 Total-344+
- Post # 262 Omaha April 6, 1888-1921, Combined with Post 7 Gate City , (Post originally requested name of Thomas J. Potter) changed January 30, 1889 to Phil Sheridan, changed March 21, 1890 to George Crook, Membership: Total-400+
- Post # 282 South Omaha R.R. Livingston May 7, 1889-1896 Combined with Post 2-A 1827-1888 Membership: Charter-N/A Total-66+
- Post # 300 Florence James Isom March 29, 1890-1890 Charter surrendered 1/29/189,1Membership: Total-12
- Post # 337 South Omaha Samuel Dennis April 16, 1895-1896 Combined with Post 2-A Membership: Charter-27 Total-34
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917 - 1918 World War I Drafts 1917-1918 - index only
- For more nationwide World War I databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940 - 1945 Nebraska, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1855-1989 Nebraska, Naturalization Records, 1855-1989 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1867-1991 Naturalization Index, Omaha, Nebraska, Records of the U.S. District Court, District of Nebraska, Record Group 21- index of records available from National Archives, Kansas City
- 1867-1964 Douglas County Declarations of Intention : Request Naturalization records online or email firstname.lastname@example.org
- 1881-1936 Douglas County Petitions for Citizenship, : Request Naturalization records online or email email@example.com
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.
- Library of Congress Chronicling America newspaper project contains digital copies of newspapers for Douglas County, Nebraska. Some are foreign language newspaprs. Years of publication vary.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Omaha Obits - site with obituary listings that includes the Omaha Bee, the Omaha Star (African-American paper) and the Jewish Press; provided by the Greater Omaha Genealogical Society. Nearly 19,000 listings from Omaha newspapers.
Other Records[edit | edit source]
- 1870 - 1990 — Nebraska Prisoner Records 1870-1990 — index only
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Douglas - Probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1806-1989 Nebraska Wills and Probate Records 1806-1989 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1912-1970 Probate Records, 1912-1970(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- Douglas County births from early Omaha newspapers at the W. Dale Clark Library in Omaha. These birth announcements were extracted by those looking for obituaries in the same papers.
- 1873-1910 Douglas County Birth Registers. An index of the records is in progress that will include most of the information on the records. The records include the full name, sex, race, date of birth, place of birth, names of parents, and residence of parents. There are five volumes of the birth registers on three reels of microfilm with over 40,000 records in the collection. Available at the W. Dale Clark Library in Omaha, Nebraska. Call number Nebraska Reference 929.3782254.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1855 - 1995 — Nebraska Marriages, 1855-1995 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index only
- 1856 - 1898 — Nebraska Marriages 1856-1898 at Ancestry.com ($), index only
- Marriage License Indexes for Douglas County, Nebraska: Licenses since 1988 plus some earlier
- Marriage License Indexes for Omaha, Nebraska
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1948 Nebraska, Grand Army of the Republic, Burial Records, 1861-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1873-1915 Douglas County Death Register Indexes at Omaha Public Library; index
- 1904-1968 Nebraska, U.S., Index to Deaths, 1904-1968 at Ancestry — index, ($)
- The Nebraska Death Index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Douglas County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Nebraska Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Blair Nebraska Family History Center
- Omaha Nebraska Family History Center
- Omaha Public Library FamilySearch Affiliate
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Douglas County. For state-wide library facilities, see Nebraska Archives and Libraries.
- Baright Public Library
5555 South 77th St
Ralston, NE 68127-2899
- Creighton University
Carl M. Reinert/Alumni Memorial Library
2500 California Plaza
Omaha, NE 68178
Phone: 402-280-2227; Archives: 402-280-2746
- Omaha Public Library
215 South 15th St
Omaha, NE 68102-1629
- Baright Public Library
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Douglas County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Nebraska Societies.
- Valley Community Historical Society
218 West Alexander
P.O. Box 685
Valley, NE 68064
Phone: 402-359-5544; 402-359-2678
- Valley Community Historical Society
- Greater Omaha Genealogical Society
720 N. 87th Street
P.O. Box 4011
Omaha, NE 68104-0011
- Greater Omaha Genealogical Society
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Linkpendium links for Douglas County, Nebraska
- Linkforum for Douglas County, Nebraska
- Cyndi's List For Nebraska then scroll to Douglas County. Links to websites for multiple subjects
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- http://genealogytrails.com/neb/douglas/ accessed 09/29/2016
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Douglas County, Nebraska. Page 428-435 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 417-420.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Douglas County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas_County,_Nebraska, accessed 24 January 2019.
- Jim Tompkins, Oregon Trail Landmarks, The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I (accessed 18 July 2011).
- "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at https://newsroom.churchofjesuschrist.org/article/pioneer-trek (accessed 18 July 2011).