Douglas County, Illinois Genealogy
Guide to Douglas County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Douglas County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
 Location in the state of Illinois, United States Genealogy | |
 Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded: | February 8 and 16, 1859 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Tuscola |
| Courthouse | |
 | |
| Address | Douglas County Courthouse 401 S. Center Tuscola, Illinois 61953 (217) 253-2411 Douglas County Website |
Douglas County Organization[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1859 | 1859 | 1859 | 1859 | 1859 | 1859 | 1810 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Douglas County are kept, see the Douglas County Courthouse page
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Douglas County was named for Stephen A. Douglas who was an American politician and was a candidate for United States President in 1860. He lost to Abraham Lincoln.
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Stephen A. Douglas, then United States Senator from Illinois. The county seat is Tuscola and the county was organized on 1857.[2] The County is located in the Central part of the state.[3]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
| |||||||||||||||||||
To see a list of places in Douglas County, click on [Show] in the bar, above. The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Records and Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Douglas County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Douglas County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census[edit | edit source]
Federal[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 7,140 | — |
| 1870 | 13,484 | 88.9% |
| 1880 | 15,853 | 17.6% |
| 1890 | 17,669 | 11.5% |
| 1900 | 19,097 | 8.1% |
| 1910 | 19,591 | 2.6% |
| 1920 | 19,604 | 0.1% |
| 1930 | 17,914 | −8.6% |
| 1940 | 17,590 | −1.8% |
| 1950 | 16,706 | −5.0% |
| 1960 | 19,243 | 15.2% |
| 1970 | 18,997 | −1.3% |
| 1980 | 19,774 | 4.1% |
| 1990 | 19,464 | −1.6% |
| 2000 | 19,922 | 2.4% |
| 2010 | 19,980 | 0.3% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Evangelical and Reformed[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1885 - Zion's Evangelical and Reformed Church, Arthur, Baptism Index 1861-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches C524681 and C524682 .[5]
- 1865-1895 - Zion's Evangelical and Reformed Church, Arthur, Marriage Index 1865-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches M524681 and M524682 .
United Church[edit | edit source]
- 1871-1885 - Atwood United Church, Atwood, Baptism Index 1871-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches C533852 and C533853 .[6]
- 1871-1895 - Atwood United Church, Atwood, Marriage Index 1871-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches M533852 and M533853 .
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
USGenWeb, Douglas County, Illinois (ILGenWeb), Prairie Farmer's Reliable Directory of Douglas County, Illinois, 1918.
Ethnic Research[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Genealogy (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African American Resources for Illinois
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Mailing Lists[edit | edit source]
Message Boards[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Douglas County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Douglas County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online, through the Family History Library
- [No land and property record holdings noted in IRAD-EIU Douglas County Listing.] Search for Douglas County records. Information about how to use IRAD
- 1839-1910 Deed indexes FHL Film 1316893 First of 21 films.
- 1856-1891 Deeds FHL Film 1316893 First of 21films
Online Resources
- 1796-1907U.S General Land Office Records at Ancestry–($)
- Illinois Public Land Purchase Records at Ancestry–($)
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales See Illinois Land and Property for more information about this database. Also available at Ancestry ($)
- Douglas County Federal Township Plats
- Federal Township Plats of Illinois
- 1800s – Present - Use the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Land Patent Index to obtain original federal land transfer records, including homestead, military warrants, and cash entry patents. These records help a researcher establish location and lead to National Archives’ records which may include genealogical information. Earlier land transfer records are at the National Archives.
Maps[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
- 1860s - 1960s Illinois, Military Discharge Records, ca.1862 - ca.1965 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Clark County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Clark County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- Civil War service men from Douglas County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Douglas County.
- - 13th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Companies G and H.
- - 21st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 25th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- - 54th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- - 55th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- - 57th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- - 70th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- - 79th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, E, G, and K.
- - 135th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company G.
- - 149th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Company F.
- - 154th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- Soldiers discharge record, 1865-1890, 1919-1950 FHL film 1295955, 1295956
Book A 1865-1890
Book B 1919-1950
Book C 1940-1945
World War I[edit | edit source]
- Soldiers discharge record, 1865-1890, 1919-1950 FHL film 1295955, 1295956
Book A 1865-1890
Book B 1919-1950
Book C 1940-1945
World War II[edit | edit source]
- Soldiers discharge record, 1865-1890, 1919-1950 FHL film 1295955, 1295956
Book A 1865-1890
Book B 1919-1950
Book C 1940-1945
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1800-1998 Illinois, County Naturalization Records, 1800-1998 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1856-1991 Illinois, U.S., Federal Naturalization Records, 1856-1991 at Ancestry.com - index and images, ($)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Arthur Graphic-Clarion - full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1953-2009
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Places and Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1772 - 1999 Illinois Wills and Probate Records 1772-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1819 - 1988 Illinois Probate Records 1819-1988 at FamilySearch.org — images
- See Illinois Probate Records for more information.
- 1869-1927 Wills and Probates FHL Film 1302752 First of 2 films.
Repositories[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Douglas County are kept, see the Douglas County Courthouse page.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
There are over 4500 Introduction to Family History Centers worldwide which serve as branch facilities of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Volunteers provide research assistance to help patrons identify their ancestors. Some microfilms may be available at local family history centers. Locate your nearest Family History Center at the FamilySearch website. Call ahead to verify operating hours. All are welcome.
The following centers are accessible to residents of Douglas County, Illinois:
Champaign Illinois Family History Center
604 W Windsor Rd
Champaign, Champaign, Illinois
Phone: 217-352-8063
Hours: Thur-Sat 9:30-12:30pm; Thur 7pm-9pm; or by appt
Danville Illinois Family History Center
1941 N Bowman Ave
Danville, Vermilion, Illinois
Phone: 217-446-5887
Hours: Sat 9:30am-2pm
Decatur Illinois Family History Center
3955 Lourdes Ln
Decatur, Macon, Illinois
Phone: 217-875-9396
Hours: T, Sat 10am-3pm; Th 6pm-9pm
Please note: Addresses posted are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)[edit | edit source]
The Illinois State Archives administers a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD) to manage the archival records of local governments. Local governments which have transferred records to the regional depositories include counties, townships, municipalities, and school districts. The records of Douglas County come under the jurisdiction of the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) regional depository.
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University (EIU)
600 Lincoln Avenue
Charleston, IL 61920
Telephone: (217) 581-6093
Hours: Monday – Friday, except state holidays
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.; 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Note: The depository is staffed by graduate student interns. Because of class scheduling conflicts, hours may vary somewhat from the published schedule. Researchers are urged to call before planning a visit.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Arcola Public Library
407 E Main
Arcola, IL 61910-1513
(217) 268-4477
Arthur Public Library
225 S Walnut
Arthur, IL 61911-1269
(217) 543-2037
Camargo Township District Library
14 N Main St
Villa Grove, IL 61956-1517
(217) 832-5211
Newman Regional Library District
101 W Yates St
Newman, IL 61942
(217) 837-2412
Tuscola Public Library
112 E Sale St
Tuscola, IL 61953-1496
(217) 253-3812
Social Groups Online[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
- We have a research and genealogy library open to the public. Also some resources are available online.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.
Births[edit | edit source]
- 1860-1917 Index IRAD-EIU Search for Douglas records. How to use IRAD
- 1860-1885, 1896-1899 - Douglas County Birth Index 1860-1885 and 1896-1899 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[8]
- 1877-1901 IRAD-EIU Search for Douglas records. How to use IRAD
- 1859-1915 Birth index FHL Films 1293663, 1293658
- 1877-1918 Birth register and certificates FHL Film 1293658 One of 3 films.
- Arthur Local Registrar's Birth Cerificates Index (1868-1925)
Marriages[edit | edit source]
- 1587-1959 Illinois, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1805-1985 Illinois, Church Marriages, 1805-1985 at FamilySearch — index
- 1810–1934 Illinois, County Marriages, 1810-1934 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1833-1889 Illinois, Civil Marriages, 1833-1889 at FamilySearch — index
- 1857-1899 - Douglas County Marriage Index 1857-1899 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1859-1980 Marriage index FHL Films 1293660 and 1293661
- 1857-1911 Marriage record FHL Film 1293661 One of 4 films.
- 1859-1879 Marriages FHL Book 977.368 V2c and FHL Fiche 6017786 fiche 2-3
- 1859-1980 Index IRAD-EIU Search for Douglas records. How to use IRAD
- 1859-1911 IRAD-EIU Search for Douglas records. How to use IRAD
- Illinois Statewide Marriage Index
Deaths[edit | edit source]
- 1749-1999 Illinois Deaths and Burials, 1749-1999 at FamilySearch — index, some images
- 1850-1880 Illinois Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 1916-1950 at Illinois State Archives - index; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- Early to 1917 Death index FHL Film 1293660 One of 2 films.
- 1877-1902, 1917 - Douglas County Death Index 1877-1902 and 1917 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches B732133 and B533969 .[9]
- 1877-1902 Death register FHL Film 1293660
- 1877-1895 Stillbirth register FHL Film 1293660
- 1916-1947 Deaths and Stillbirths
- 1877-1917 Index IRAD-EIU Search for Douglas records. How to use IRAD
- 1877-1900 IRAD-EIU Search for Douglas records. How to use IRAD
- 1877-1899 Stillbirths IRAD-EIU Search for Douglas records. How to use IRAD
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates
Online Resources
- 1916-1950 Illinois Deaths, 1916-1950 at MyHeritage - index, ($)
Websites[edit | edit source]
Databases pertinent to Douglas County
- Douglas County, IL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Douglas County IL Genealogy
- Illinois Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Local Governmental Records Database IRAD
- Name Index to Illinois Local Governments IRAD
- USGenWeb Project, Douglas County, Illinois (ILGenWeb)
- Douglas County, Illinois genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Douglas County, Illinois genealogy and history presented by Illinois Genealogy Trails. This website includes biographies, births, cemeteries, death records, family bibles, county histories, marriages, military, obituaries, and newspaper gleanings.
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Douglas County, Illinois. Page 192-199 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 194-197.
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Douglas County, Illinois Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ill/douglas/ accessed 04/12/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Douglas County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas_County,_Illinois 04/012/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.; Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002 WorldCat 50140092, FHL Book 973 D27e 2002
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/9c/Igiillinoisd.pdf.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/9c/Igiillinoisd.pdf.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Douglas County, Illinois," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas_County,_Illinois, Last accessed 19 December 2019.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/9c/Igiillinoisd.pdf.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/9c/Igiillinoisd.pdf.