Dillon County, South Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Dillon County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for prosperous local citizen James W. Dillon (1826-1913), an Irishman who settled there and led a campaign to bring the railroad into the community. The County is located in the east area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Dillon County Courthouse
301 West Main Street
PO Box 1220
Dillon, SC 29536
Dillon County Website
Dillon County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- To view a cemetery list, see Dillon County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
- National Cemetery Administration
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1829-1920 South Carolina, State and Territorial Censuses, 1829-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Before 1785, residents of what is now Dillon County were served by these colonial parishes.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Learn more.
- Bethea - Cooper, John P.Sketches of John Purley Cooper and Wife Ethel Mae Bethea: With Notes on Their Ancestry, Descendants, Some Kindred and Random Collections. Ruxton, Md.: J.P. Cooper, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 C784cj
- Campbell - Campbell, Rachel M. and Charles Campbell McCall. Campbell and McCall Family History. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, n.d. FHL Book 929.273 C153cr.
- Carmichael - Carmichael, Roderick L. The Scottish Highlander Carmichaels of the Carolinas. Richmond, Va.: Whittet and Shepperson, 1935.
- Carmichael - Harrell, Elizabeth Jean. The Carmichaels: Archibald Carmichael (c. 1749-1830s) of Scotland and the Carolinas and His Descendants Who Migrated to Hinds County, Mississippi. Los Altos, Calif.: E.J. Harrell, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 C212h.
- Carmichael - Steele, Anita Martin and Lorena Martin Spillers. Martin and Carmichael Descendants in Georgia 1811-1994. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 M363st.
- Lewis Lewis, J.D. My Neck of the Woods: The Lewis Families of Southeastern North Carolina and Northeastern South Carolina. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2002. FHL Collection book 929.273 L585Ljd, CD-ROM no. 1036
- Moody - Moody, Mary C. The Moodys and Related Families. Arlington, Texas: M.C. Moody, 1979. FHL Book 929.273 M771mo.
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.
Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records.
|1769-1800||Georgetown District Records Lost|
|1710-1719||Proprietary Land Grants|
Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification.All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative. Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Dillon county was named for James W. Dillon, a local prominent resident from Ireland who was instrumental in bringing the railroad to the county. Learn more about the history of Dillon County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.
- Stokes, Durward T. The History of Dillon County, South Carolina (Columbia, South Carolina University of South Carolina Press, c1978), 523 pages. Comprehensive History of Dillon County. Book found at FHL 975.785 H2s and Other Libraries.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
War of 1812
- "Capt. Bethea's co.," Pee Dee Queue, May 1999, Volume 23, Issue 3. Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society Marion, SC.
Online Civil War Indexes and Records
- 1861-1865 South Carolina Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Dillon County did not exist during the Civil War. It was created 1910 from Marion County. During the Civil War, men from the area of Dillon County mostly would have served in various regiments recruited in Marion County. Counties were called districts during the Civil War.
- Stokes, Durward T. The History of Dillon County, South Carolina (Columbia, South Carolina: University of South Carolina Press, c1978), 523 pages. Comprehensive History of Dillon County. Civil War pages 88-111. Book found at FHL 975.785 H2s and Other Libraries.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry ($)
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Dillon County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.
University of South Carolina Library Catalog
- Historical Newspapers of South Carolina at University of South Carolina Libraries - not complete
- The Dillon Herald (Dillon, S.C.) Online edition.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.
- Pee Dee Queue
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1670-1980 South Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1670-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1671-1977 South Carolina Probate Records, Bound Volumes, 1671-1977 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Images Only
- 1732-1964 South Carolina Probate Records, Files and Loose Papers, 1732-1964 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Images Only
- 1782-1866 South Carolina, Will Transcripts 1782-1866 at Findmypast — index, ($) — $, index
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Dillon County.
- 1811, 1814, 1824 Holcomb, Brent H. and Silas Emmett Lucas. Some South Carolina County Records... 2 vols. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1976-1989. FHL Book 975.7 P2hbh and 975.7 P2hbh v. 2 Includes 1811, 1814, and 1824 tax lists for Marion District.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.
Birth[edit | edit source]
State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
- 1766-1900 South Carolina, Delayed Birth Certificates, 1766-1900 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
- 1915-1917 South Carolina, U.S., Births, 1915-1917 at Ancestry - index & images ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.
Online Marriage Records and Indexes
- 1895-1954 Dillon County, South Carolina Proofs of Marriage, ca. 1895-1954; Marriage Licenses and Marriage Registers, ca. 1911-1950  FHL Collection - records
- 1903-1929 Early Marriage Extracts from The Dillon Heraldat the Dillon County Library - index
- Dillon County Marriage Database
- Extracts from Dillon County Newspapers
- There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found insome counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death[edit | edit source]
State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Deaths - Indexes and Records
- 1816-1990 South Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1816-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1821-1969 South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969 at Ancestry - index & images ($)
- 1915-1943 South Carolina, Deaths, 1915-1943 at MyHeritage - index & images ($)
- 1915-1965 South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
- State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Dillon County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Camden South Carolina Family History Center
- Florence South Carolina Family History Center
- Pembroke North Carolina Family History Center
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Dillon County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.
The Dillon County Library System has three libraries and a bookmibile. The Dillon Library is the main branch.
Dillon County Library - Headquarters
600 East Main Street
Dillon, South Carolina 29536
Fax: (843) 774-0733
Hours: Monday to Tuesday 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., Wednesday to Friday 9:00a.m to 6:00 p.m., Saturday 9:pp a.m to 1:00 p.m Lake View Library Branch
207 South Main Street, P.O. Box 704
Lake View, South Carolina 29563
Hours: Monday to Friday 10:00 a.m to 6:00 p.m., Saturday 10:00 a.m - 1:00 p.m. Latta Library Branch
101 North Marion Street
Latta, South Carolina 29565
Fax: (843) 752-7457
Hours: Monday to Friday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Dillon County Museum
The Museum offers a turn of the twentieth century glimpse of life in Dillon County. Documents, photographs, and other memorabilia trace the history of the area.Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Dillon County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Dillon County, SCGenWeb
- Dillon County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Helen's Little Corner
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Dillon County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
References[edit | edit source]
- South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- Wikipedia contributors, Dillon County, South Carolina in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dillon_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 25/06/2019
- Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dillon County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
- South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- "South Carolina Districts and Parishes 1770" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_districts_parishes_1770.html (accessed 11 May 2011).
- Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
- Workers of the Writers' Program of the Works Projects Administration in the State of South Carolina, Palmetto Place Names (The Reprint Company: Spartanburg, S.C., 1975) 14.
- South Carolina, Probate Court (Dillon County), Dillon County, South Carolina Proofs of Marriage, ca. 1895-1954; Marriage Licenses and Marriage Registers, ca. 1911-1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2003-2004.