Desha County, Arkansas Genealogy
Guide to Desha County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Captain Benjamin Desha, a landowner who fought in the War of 1812.[2] It is located in the southeast of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Desha County Courthouse
Robert Moore Avenue
PO Box 188
Arkansas City, AR 71630
Phone: 870.877.2323
Desha County Website
County Clerk has marriage records from 1865 and probate records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]
Desha County, Arkansas[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1914 | 1865 | 1914 | 1840 | 1839 | 1852 | 1830 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| * Tillar | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Desha County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [6]
- 1838 December 12 - Created by legislative act , Desha County was detached from Arkansas and Chicot counties.
- 1860-1865 - During the war, county records were moved by wagon to Richland Township and later to Clarksville, Texas. Some records were never recovered.
- 1927 - Desha County’s greatest tragedy came in the spring of 1927, when a flood inundated 478,000 acres after levee breaks occurred on the Arkansas and Mississippi rivers. Many of the county’s 26,684 citizens were forced to flee to hill counties or to live on second floors, in tent cities, and in boxcars on the levee.
- 1930-1931 - The Drought of 1930–31 and the Great Depression, with unemployment over thirty percent, added to economic woes.
- 1940-2010 - The population of Desha County peaked in 1940 at just over 27,000. By 2010, it had dropped to 13,000.
Additional Information
Desha County is Arkansas's 40th county, formed on December 12, 1838, and named for Captain Benjamin Desha who fought in the War of 1812.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1840 | 1,598 | — |
| 1850 | 2,911 | 82.2% |
| 1860 | 6,459 | 121.9% |
| 1870 | 6,125 | −5.2% |
| 1880 | 8,973 | 46.5% |
| 1890 | 10,324 | 15.1% |
| 1900 | 11,511 | 11.5% |
| 1910 | 15,274 | 32.7% |
| 1920 | 20,297 | 32.9% |
| 1930 | 21,814 | 7.5% |
| 1940 | 27,160 | 24.5% |
| 1950 | 25,155 | −7.4% |
| 1960 | 20,770 | −17.4% |
| 1970 | 18,761 | −9.7% |
| 1980 | 19,760 | 5.3% |
| 1990 | 16,798 | −15.0% |
| 2000 | 15,341 | −8.7% |
| 2010 | 13,008 | −15.2% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
1840 Federal Census Index - USGenWeb Project Archives
1850 Federal Census Index - USGenWeb Project Archives
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1875-1899 - Nebraska, Church Records, 1875-1899 at FamilySearch — index- How to Use this Collection
- Dumas Churches - churchangel.com
- McGehee Churches - churchangel.com
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1840-1885 Circuit Court Records, 1840-1885(*); Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1856-1859 Justice Docket, 1856-1859(*); Justice of the Peace Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1858-1882 County Court Record, 1858-1882(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1886-1955 Court Records, 1886-1955(*); Chancery Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans[edit | edit source]
- 1867-1872 - Desha County Marriage Index 1867-1872 in Arkansas, County Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch - free.[7]- How to Use this Collection
- 1866-1868 — Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, Napoleon at FamilySearch.org — browsable images only; letters, contracts
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Brown Funeral Home in Dumas
- Griffin-Culpepper Funeral Service in McGehee
- Griffin Funeral Home in Dumas
- Serenity Gardens Funeral Services in Dumas
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Desha County Federal Land Records - USGenWeb Archives Project
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Desha County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.
- Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. 2 volumes. 1890. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing. Online at: Vol. 1 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 2 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 1 - Internet Archive, Vol. 2 - Internet Archive, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat). Desha County history begins on Page 997 in Vol. 2.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Arkansas (1813-1925)
- 1895 Desha County Map - livgenmil.com
- Township Map - Desha County USGenWeb
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Arkansas State Archives State Maps Collection at Arkansas Digital Archives
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
War of 1812
Military Land Grants War of 1812 (partial list) - USGenWeb Project Archives
Civil War
Regiments. Men in Desha County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:
- - 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), [8]
- - 5th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate)
- - 6th Regiment, Arkansas Militia (Confederate) , Napoleon Cavalry
- - 8th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate)
- - Carlton's Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate)
Online Records
- 1861-1865 - Arkansas Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index- How to Use this Collection
- 1890-1963 - Arkansas Confederate Soldier Home,1890-1963 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
- 1891-1939 - Arkansas Ex-Confederate Pension Records, 1891-1939 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
- Civil War Amnesty List - Desha County ARGenWeb
- 1901-1929 - Arkansas Confederate Pensions, 1901-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
World War II
Rohwer Relocation Center - Desha County ARGenWeb
World War II Enlistees A-F - USGenWeb Project Archives
World War II enlistees G-L - USGenWeb Project Archives
World War II Enlistees M-R - USGenWeb Project Archives
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Desha newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Desha County, Arkansas Genealogy Place-name search for these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see, FamilySearch Catalog Places Search).
- Fayetteville Democrat at Ancestry.com ($)
- Fayetteville Daily Democrat at Ancestry.com ($)
- Daily Fayetteville Democrat at Ancestry.com ($)
- Northwest Arkansas Times at Ancestry.com ($)
- Courier Times at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Desha County Newspapers - Desha County ARGenWeb
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1783–1998 Arkansas Wills and Probate Records 1783-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1817-1979 Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; images
- 1852-1885 Index to Probate Records, 1852-1885(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1860-1863 Probate Court Records, 1860-1863(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
| Y | M | |
| Name of Child | 
|
|
| Birth Date and Place |
|
|
| Parent's Names |
|
|
| Mother's Maiden Name |
| |
| Parent's Ages |
|
|
| Father's Occupation |
|
|
| Current Residence |
|
|
| Name of Doctor or Midwife |
|
|
In 1877, a few county and city clerks[9] started keeping birth and death records.
In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.
- Arkansas Births and Christenings, 1812-1965 at FamilySearch. (Free, index only)
- Small file, but worth searching. Most entries were user-submitted.
See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1779-1966 - Arkansas, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1856 - 1952 - Desha County Marriage Books A-Z, A1-I1 Index 1856-1952 in Arkansas, County Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch - free.[7]- How to Use this Collection
- 1860 - 1976 - Arkansas Church Marriages, 1860-1976 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
- 1917-1969 Arkansas, Marriage Certificates, 1917-1969 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1969 Arkansas, Death Certificates, 1914-1969 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
- 1935-1961 Arkansas, Death Index, 1935-1961 at MyHeritage - index and images ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1923-1969 Arkansas, Divorces, 1923-1969 at Ancestry.com - index ($)
Voter Records[edit | edit source]
- 1868-1910 - Arkansas, County Voter Registration Records, 1868-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Desha County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Arkansas Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Central Arkansas Library System - Adolphine Fletcher Terry Library - an affiliate library
- Central Arkansas Library System - Dee Brown Library - an affiliate library
- Central Arkansas Library System - Hillary Rodham Clinton's Children Library and Learning Center - an affiliate library
- Central Arkansas Library System - Sidney S. McMath Library - an affiliate library
- Central Arkansas Library System - Sue Cowan Williams Library - an affiliate library
- Pine Bluff/ Jefferson County Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Desha County. For state-wide library facilities, see Arkansas Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Desha County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Arkansas Societies.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
- USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
- RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
- Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
- CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Desha County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/desha/
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Desha County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desha_County,_Arkansas
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Desha County, Arkansas. Page 67 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 65.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Desha County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desha_County%2C_Arkansas, accessed 10 September 2018.
- ↑ Charlotte Tillar Schexnayder, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=765&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Desha County.”
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages - FamilySearch Historical Records," in FamilySearch Wiki.
- ↑ Calvin L. Collier, They'll do to Tie To: the story of the Third Regiment, Arkansas Infantry, C.S.A.,(Little Rock, Arkansas: Civil War Round Table Associates, 1959) p. 10. FHL book 976.7 M2c
- ↑ such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
