Denver County, Colorado Genealogy
Guide to Denver County, Colorado ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for James W. Denver. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Denver County Courthouse
1437 Bannock Street Ste 200
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: 303-630-3012
Denver County Website
The county clerk has marriage records from 1902 and land records from 1859.
The clerk of the district court has divorce records from 1967, probate and court records from 1858.[3]
Clerk and Recorder's Office
City and County Building
1437 Bannock Street, Rm 391
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: 720-865-8400
City of Denver Vital Records
605 Bannock Street, Rm 302
Denver, CO 80204
Phone: 303-436-7351
Denver County, Colorado Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1872 | 1902 | 1887 | 1858 | 1859 | 1858 | 1860 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
Denver is the state capital of Colorado, as well as a consolidated city-county. This means that the City of Denver and the County of Denver have the same government and jurisdictions. The only city in Denver County is Denver. There are, however, several neighborhoods within the City of Denver.
| Cities | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Moffat Family Bible Records at Denver Library
- Carver Family Bible Records at Denver Library
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
In 1860, present-day Colorado was enumerated in the Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, and Utah Territories. Colorado Territory was created in 1861 and was enumerated as such in the 1870 Census. A state census was taken in 1885 for Colorado.[6] See links listed below.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 4,749 | — |
| 1870 | 4,759 | 0.2% |
| 1880 | 35,629 | 648.7% |
| 1890 | 106,713 | 199.5% |
| 1900 | 133,859 | 25.4% |
| 1910 | 213,381 | 59.4% |
| 1920 | 256,491 | 20.2% |
| 1930 | 287,861 | 12.2% |
| 1940 | 322,412 | 12.0% |
| 1950 | 415,765 | 29.0% |
| 1960 | 493,887 | 18.8% |
| 1970 | 514,678 | 4.2% |
| 1980 | 492,686 | −4.3% |
| 1990 | 467,610 | −5.1% |
| 2000 | 554,636 | 18.6% |
| 2010 | 600,158 | 8.2% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State and Territory Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1860 United States Census, 1860 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Colorado was included in the 1860 Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, and Utah Territories Censuses - How to Use this Collection
- 1870 United States Census, 1870 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Colorado Territory Census - How to Use this Collection
- 1885 Colorado State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch - Index and images
- 1885 - Colorado State Census, 1885 at Ancestry - ($), Index and images
Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]
The 1880 Census was the first Federal Census for Colorado after it became a state in 1876.[7] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Colorado Census.
- 1860-1940 Colorado Census Records from 1860 to 1940 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.
Online Church Records
- 1692-1942 Colorado, Church Records, 1692-1942 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Presbyterian Church
- 1743-1970 - U.S., Presbyterian Records, 1743-1970 at Ancestry — ($); Index and images; Dates vary for each county
'Dutch Reformed Church
1955-1974 - U.S., Selected States Dutch Reformed Church Membership Records, 1701-1995 at Ancestry — ($); Index and images; Montclair Reformed Church in Denver, 1955-1974
Lutheran Church
- Various Dates - U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church of America, Records, 1875-1940 at Ancestry — ($); Index and images; Various churches for various dates in Denver
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Numerous records are available at Colorado Archives. To use this link scroll down the page to where it asks for Record Type. Click there and scroll down the list to the records you want and select. The next field asks for county. Select the county you want and then click on Search. You can narrow the search by adding the additional information it asks for.
1933-1936 Numerous records are available at Colorado Archives. Denver County Old Age Pension Records 1933-1936. An Index compiled from the offical record of the applications granted by the Denver County Commissioners during these years. Record may show the following:
- Name of Applicant
- Date and Amount of pension payment
- Any adjustments to the pension
- Person's age
- Town nearest to where they lived
- Other Actions done by the County
Directories[edit | edit source]
Online Directories
- 1862-1923 - Denver, Colorado, City Directories at Fold3 - ($), Images only, various dates
- 1866-1979 - U.S. City Directories, 1822-1995 at Ancestry - ($), Index and images, Denver City Directories, various dates
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- A Better Place Funeral and Cremation Service in Denver
- All-States Cremation in Denver
- All Veterans Funeral and Cremation in Denver
- Burns-Curl Funeral Home and Cremation Services in Denver
- Catholic Funeral and Cemetery Services of Colorado in Denver
- Clearly Mortuary Services in Denver
- Colorado Burial and Cremation in Denver
- Colorado Mortuary Service in Denver
- Encore Funeral and Cremation Services in Denver
- Envision Cremation in Denver
- Fairmount Funeral Home, Cemetery and Crematory in Denver
- Feldman Mortuary in Denver
- Garcia Family Funeral Homes in Denver
- Harwood Cremation and Funeral in Denver
- Horan and McConaty Cremation and Burial in Denver
- Hoy-Baker Funeral Home in Denver
- Latina Funerals and Cremation in Denver
- Mile High Mortuary And Cremation Service in Denver
- Morningstar Cremation Providers in Denver
- Pipkin Braswell Funerals - Cremation - Receptions in Denver
- Rose Cremation Society in Denver
- Shalom Funeral Service in Denver
- Shannon and Malone Chapel of Peace Funeral Home in Denver
- Stork-Bullock Family Mortuary in Denver
- Transition Mortuary of Peace in Denver
- Taylor Funeral and Cremation Services in Denver
- Trinity Funeral Home and Cremation Services in Denver
- Two Rivers Cremation in Denver
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.
Online Land Records
- Colorado DPA Land Records - Index only; Choose Record Type, and search either "Land Patents" or "Land Records."
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796-1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1863-1908 - U.S. Homestead Records 1863-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
- 1862-1908 - Denver Land Office Records, 1862-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index only
- 1862-1917 Denver Lot and Block Index 1862-1917 at Colorado State Archives - index, select record type for search
For more information see Colorado Land and Property
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Online County Histories
- History of Denver, with Outlines of the Earlier History of the Rocky Mountain Country. 1971, digitized 2013. Evansville, Indiana : Unigraphic. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library-Vol. 1., FamilySearch Digital Library-Vol. 2., Hathitrust, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Error: No valid link was found at the end of line 8.
for more resources
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Colorado - shows boundary changes for Colorado Counties
- Colorado Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1917 Denver War Risk Insurance Applications at Colorado State Archives - index, select record type for search
Online Collections[edit | edit source]
These collections are unique to Colorado. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Colorado Military Records.
All Veterans
- Colorado State Archives Veterans Grave Registration Index at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Military - Grave
Civil War
- Colorado Civil War Casualties Index at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Civil War Casualty
- 1861-1865 - Colorado State Archives Volunteers Transcript of Record Index (1861-1865) at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Transcript of Record
Spanish-American War (1898)
- 1898 - Colorado Volunteers in the Spanish American War, 1898 - at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Span-Am War Soldiers
World War I
- 1916-1919 - Colorado State Archives Denver War Risk Insurance Applicants, 1916-1919 - at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, War Risk Insurance
- 1917-1922 - Colorado State Archives World War I Civilian Service Questionnaires, 1917-1922 - at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, WWI Questionnaire
- 1917-1918 - Colorado Soldiers in WWI, 1917-1918 at Ancestry.com — ($), index
World War II
- 1940-1945 Colorado, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Vietnam War
- 1966 & 1968 - Colorado State Archives Vietnam War Casualties - June-December 1966 & January-December 1968 - at the Colorado State Archives website - Index only; In the Record Type field, select, Vietnam Deaths
For further information see Colorado Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1868-1990 - Colorado, State and Federal Naturalization Records, 1868-1990 at Ancestry ($); Index and images
- 1876-1990 Colorado Naturalization Records, 1876-1990 at FamilySearch — index and images; District Court records - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
For more information, see Colorado Newspapers.
Colorado Newspapers Online
- Colorado Online Historical Newspapers online - in the Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection by the Colorado State Library
- Colorado Newspapers at Ancestry.com - ($)
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of Colorado newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of Colorado newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some Colorado newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
Colorado Newspaper Catalogs
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Pension Records
- 1933-1936 Denver Old Age Pension 1933-1936 at Colorado State Archives - index, select record type for search
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.
You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1860-1934 Denver County, Colorado Probate Packet Index(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1873-1986 Index to Lodged Wills of the Denver County, Colorado Probate Court, 1873-1986(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1875–1974 Colorado Wills and Probate Records 1875-1974 at Ancestry.com — ($); Index and images
- 1900-1920 Denver County, Colorado Probate, Cases Closed Index, 1900-1920(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1900-1925 Colorado, Denver County Probate Case Files, 1900-1925(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1900-1946 Probate Records, Denver County, Colorado, 1900-1946(*); Clerk of the County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1910-1942 Inheritance Tax Records, 1910-1942(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.
1909-1912 Colorado State Archives has put the Denver County Inheritance Tax Records Index for the years 1909-1912 on-line.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [8]
- 1875-1909 Denver Birth Index 1875-1909 at Colorado State Archives - index, select record type for search
Marriage[edit | edit source]
1858-1939 The Colorado Genealogical Society and the Denver Library have compiled a free Marriage Index in a scanned PDF format listing 456,000+ marriages conducted between 1858 and 1939, cross listing the names of both bride and groom, with the date and place of marriage and the license number. Accessible free online at: Colorado Marriages
Online Records
- 1784-2007 - Colorado, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1809-2011 - Western States Marriage Index, 1809-2011 - Index, incomplete, list of counties included
- 1853-2006 Colorado Statewide Marriage Index, 1853-2006 at FamilySearch.org - Index and images
- 1858-1939 Colorado Marriages 1858-1939 at Denver Public Library - index
- 1862-2006 - Colorado, County Marriages and State Indexes, 1862-2006 at Ancestry ($), Index and images
- 1863-2018 - Colorado, Select County Marriages, 1863-2018 at Ancestry.com - index and images, ($)
- 1864-1995 Colorado, County Marriages, 1864-1995 at FamilySearch - Index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1900-1939 - Colorado, Statewide Marriage Index, 1900-1939 at Ancestry.com - ($); Browseable images of original index
- 1940-1974 Denver Public Library City and County of Denver Marriage Application Index 1940-1974 at Denver Public Library - index
- 1975 - 2004 Colorado, Marriages, 1975 - 2004 at MyHeritage - index and images ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [8]
- 1870-1909 Denver Death Index 1870-1909 at Colorado State Archives - index, select record type for search
Divorce[edit | edit source]
All divorces and divorce records are handled by the Denver County Courts, Colorado Judicial District 2. Please contact their office directly at 720-865-8301.
Online Records
- 1851-1985 Colorado, Divorce Index, 1851-1985 at Ancestry - ($); Index only
- 1861-1941 Denver Public Library Colorado Divorce Index 1861-1941 at Denver Public Library - index
- 1878 - 2004 Colorado, Divorces, 1878 - 2004 at MyHeritage - index ($)
- 1900-1939 Colorado Statewide Divorce Index, 1900-1939 at FamilySearch - Browseable images of original index - How to Use this Collection
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Denver County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Colorado Archives and Libraries.
The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Denver County, Colorado Genealogy in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
1880-1939 Divorce Index
1883-1900 Mine Accidents, Non - fatal
1897-1920 Horseshoers
1936-1942 Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments
1966-1968 Vietnam Deaths
1862-1917 Denver Lot and Block Index
1870-1909 Denver Death Index
1875-1909 Denver Birth Index
1909-1912 Denver Inheritance Tax
1914-1917 Denver War Risk Insurance Applications
1933-1936 Denver Old Age Pension
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Denver County. For state-wide library facilities, see Colorado Archives and Libraries.
Denver Public Library
10 W Fourteenth Ave Prkwy
Parkway Denver, CO 80204
720-865-1111
Email: info@denverlibrary.org
Website
Facebook
Stephen H. Hart Research Center
History Colorado Center
1200 North Broadway
Denver, CO 80203
303-866-2305
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Black American West Museum
3091 California St
Denver, CO 80205
720-242-7428
Email: bawmhc@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
History Colorado Center
1200 North Broadway
Denver, CO
303-447-8679
Website
Lakewood Heritage Center
801 S Yarrow St
Lakewood, CO 80226
303-987-7850
Email: hca@lakewood.org
Website
Facebook
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in {{{1}}} County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Colorado Societies.
Denver, South Park & Pacific Historical Society
PO Box 371373
Denver, CO 80237-5373
E-mail:dspphs@gmail.com
Website
W.I.S.E. Family History Society
(Wales, Ireland, Scotland, England)
PO Box 40658
Denver, CO 80204-0658
Email: info@wise-fhs.org
Website
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Denver City and County, Colorado Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Denver County Genealogy (Colorado Genealogy)
- Denver Public Library (Genealogy & Obituaries Database)
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Denver, Colorado," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Denver 6/28/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Denver County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Denver County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 92.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 51-54; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 86. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
- ↑ William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 54.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov
