Dearborn County, Indiana Genealogy
Guide to Dearborn County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Dearborn County was named in honor of General Henry Dearborn, at that time Secretary of War.[1] The county is located in the southeastern area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Dearborn County Courthouse
215-B High Street
Lawrenceburg, In 47025
Phone: 812-537-8867
County Website
Dearborn County Health Department
165 Mary St
Lawrenceburg, IN, 47025
Health Officer: Gary Scudder, MD
Phone Number: (812) 537-8826
Fax: 812-537-1852
Email: mcalhoun@dearborncounty.in.gov
Health Department
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1826, Divorce, Probate and court records.
County Health Officer has birth and death records.
County Recorder has land records. [3]
Health Department has birth records and death records.
Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Dearborn County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1882 | 1837 | 1882 | 1837 | 1837 | 1855 | 1807 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
March 1826 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Dearborn County census records online, see: Indiana Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1810 | 7,310 | — |
| 1820 | 11,468 | 56.9% |
| 1830 | 13,974 | 21.9% |
| 1840 | 19,327 | 38.3% |
| 1850 | 20,166 | 4.3% |
| 1860 | 24,406 | 21.0% |
| 1870 | 24,116 | −1.2% |
| 1880 | 26,671 | 10.6% |
| 1890 | 23,364 | −12.4% |
| 1900 | 22,194 | −5.0% |
| 1910 | 21,396 | −3.6% |
| 1920 | 20,033 | −6.4% |
| 1930 | 21,056 | 5.1% |
| 1940 | 23,053 | 9.5% |
| 1950 | 25,141 | 9.1% |
| 1960 | 28,674 | 14.1% |
| 1970 | 29,430 | 2.6% |
| 1980 | 34,291 | 16.5% |
| 1990 | 38,835 | 13.3% |
| 2000 | 46,109 | 18.7% |
| 2010 | 50,047 | 8.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Agricultural Census Records for Dearborn County, (1850-1880) Indiana's Gore
- Index to Agricultural Schedule for Dearborn County, Indiana (1850-1880) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Dearborn County (1880) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Index to Manufacturing Schedules for Dearborn County (1850-1880) at Indiana's Gore
- Index to Mortality Schedule for Dearborn County (1850-1800) at Indiana's Gore
- Selected Residents of Dearborn County (1806) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Voters of Dearborn County (1809) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.
For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Church of Christ
- 1819-1842 - Church of Christ, Manchester, Baptism Index 1819-1842 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C534741 .
Lutheran
Dillsboro
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Dillsboro, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in the America database at Archives.com($)
St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Kelso
- 1873-1885 - St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Kelso, Marriage Index 1873-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M534761 .
St. Stephen's Lutheran Church, Manchester
- 1860-1885 - St. Stephen's Lutheran Church, Manchester, Marriage Index 1860-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M534751 .
Presbyterian
- 1854-1875 - First Presbyterian Church, Aurora, Baptism Index 1854-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C534771 .[8]
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1827 - Dearborn County Circuit Court Order Book 1 Index (1826-1827) at Indiana's Gore – Genealogy Resources
- 1827-1829 - Dearborn County Circuit Court Order Book 2 Index (1827-1829) at Indiana's Gore – Genealogy Resources
- 1826-1852 - Dearborn County Commissioners' Records Abstracts (1826-1852) at Indiana's Gore – Genealogy Resources
Directories[edit | edit source]
- Dearborn County Directories (1826-1916) at Indiana's Gore
- Directory of Businesses in Dearborn County, Indiana (1858, 1868) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Directory of Selected Residents of Dearborn County (1876) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.
After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Dearborn County courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- 1826-1848 - Dearborn County Deed Book Indexes (1826-1848) at Indiana Gore
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Dearborn County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.
- A short history of Dearborn County is located on the Dearborn County website - Dearborn County History.
- History of Dearborn County included as part of 1875 Atlas of Dearborn County, Indiana. Lake, Griffing & Stevenson, 1875. Digital Images. Historic Map Works
- History of Dearborn and Ohio Counties, Indiana. 1970. By F. E. Weakley. Evansville, Indiana : Unigraphic. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat). Reprint. Originally published: Chicago : F. E. Weakley & Co., 1885. Index: Every Name Index, compiled by Cathy O'Connor, 2007.
- History of Dearborn County, Indiana: Her People, Industries and Institutions. 1980. Archibald Shaw, Editor. Evansville, Ind. : Unigraphic. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat). Reprint. Originally published: Indianapolis, Indiana : B.F. Bowen & Co, 1915.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana
- 1872 Dearborn and Switzerland Counties, Indiana. E. T. Cox, 1872. Digital Image. Historic Map Works
- 1875 Atlas of Dearborn County, Indiana. Lake, Griffing & Stevenson, 1875. Digital Images. Historic Map Works. Note: this website includes on separate tabs images of directories, history and illustrations in this publication as well as maps.
- 1930c Atlas of Dearborn County, Indiana. W. W. Hixon & Co., 1930c. Digital Images. Historic Map Works
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Military Record Series Index at Indiana Digital Archives
- Soldiers/Veterans, various wars, from Dearborn County at IndianasGore
Civil War
Civil War service men from Dearborn County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dearborn County.
- 2nd Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 4th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company B
- 7th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies C, and D
- 7th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies D, E, G, and Reorganized Companies A, and K
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company K
- 10th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company K
- 16th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company G, I and Reorganized E, and K
- 18th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
- 24th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 26th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 30th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company C
- 37th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company A
- 50th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, C, and Reorganized Company B
- 68th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies E, H, and K
- 83rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, H, and I
- 134th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company I
- 139th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies C, and K
- 146th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies G, H, and I
- 148th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, and G
Civil War Book:
Civil War"Chapter 13 in History of Dearborn and Ohio Counties, Indiana: From Their Earliest Settlement, Containing a History of the Counties; Their Cities, Townships, Towns, Villages, Schools, and Churches ... Biographies; Preliminary Chapters on the History of the North-West Territory, the State of Indiana, and the Indians. (Evansville, IN: Whipporwill Publications, 1986.) page 203-225,977.21 H2h 1977 FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection; other library; Internet Archive
World War I
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.
- 1826-1829 - Naturalization (1826-1829) at IndianasGore
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- List of Dearborn County newspapers at IndianasGore
- Dearborn County Newspaper Index at IndianasGore
- Hoosier State Chronicles
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voting Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Dearborn County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.
- 1798-1999 Indiana Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry $
- The University of Mary Washington has indexed and transcribed probate inventories for Dearborn, Franklin, and Ripley counties.
School Records[edit | edit source]
- Dearborn County School Records at IndianasGore
- Faculty and Students of Moores Hill College, Dearborn County, Indiana (1894) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1882-1889 Dearborn County Births at IndianasGore
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1992 Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1800s-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($)
- 1802-1892 Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry ($)
- 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
- 1811-2007 Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
- 1750-1993 - Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1882-1900 - Deaths at IndianasGore
- 1882-1920 Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1899-2011 Indiana, Death Certificates, 1899-2011 at Ancestry ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Dearborn County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Batesville Indiana Family History Center
- Northern Kentucky Family History Center
- Lawrenceburg Public Library District - West Harrison branch - an affiliate library.
- Lawrenceburg Public Library District - Lawrenceburg branch - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Dearborn County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Lawrenceburg Public Library District
150 Mary Street
Lawrenceburg, IN 47025
Phone: 812-537-2775
Website
Library houses a genealogy section.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Carnegie Hall Museum
14687 Main St.
Moores Hill, IN 47032-9162
Phone: 812-744-4015
Email: Staff@TheCarnegieHall.org
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Dearborn County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.
Dearborn County Historical Society
508 W. High Street
Lawrenceburg, IN 47025-1916
Phone: 812-537-4075
Email: dearborncohis@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
- Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Search by county or keyword
- Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
- List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
- Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Free and Members-only. Select a county
- EveryNameIndex.com for Indiana Free online genealogy indexes for county histories. Select a county.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Dearborn County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Resources on IndianasGore
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Dearborn County, Indiana Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ind/dearborn/ accessed 3/02/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Dearborn County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dearborn_County,_Indiana accessed 3/02/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Dearborn County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dearborn_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Dearborn County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dearborn_County,_Indiana, accessed 04 December 2019.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/91/Igiindiana.pdf.
